Filter for Canon 400D, man..having the hard time

TSentrapnet
post Aug 30 2007, 10:32 PM, updated 19y ago

258 posts

hi there.... after getting my 28-135 mm lense... its time for me to get the filter...any recommendation? drool.gif
etsuko
post Aug 30 2007, 10:35 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

If i'm not mistaken, filters are selected by their usage..

I'm still learning, but what will you be using the lens mostly for..?
TSentrapnet
post Aug 30 2007, 10:50 PM

258 posts

most of the time... i will be using the lense to take scenary and portrait....

i'm looking at polaris fliter and UV filter.... not sure which one to go for first....

the next thing that i noted is the size...

i heard that i should get 77 diameter filter as the max size for my lense and get "size up" filter to lock on my 72 diamond lense...

any opinion abt that?

snowmei
post Aug 30 2007, 11:33 PM

Skilless
632 posts

QUOTE(entrapnet @ Aug 30 2007, 10:50 PM)
most of the time... i will be using the lense to take scenary and portrait....

i'm looking at polaris fliter and UV filter.... not sure which one to go for first....

the next thing that i noted is the size...

i heard that i should get 77 diameter filter as the max size for my lense and get "size up" filter to lock on my 72 diamond lense...

any opinion abt that?
first at all is polarize not polaris..... is diameter not diamond..... rclxub.gif

there are many range of filter from cheap RM30 to RM 200 UV filter..
from RM60-RM500+ polarize filter.....
so it depends on your budget and the diameter of the filter...

and the diameter of the filter should follow the size mentioned on the lens....
for 28-135mm is 72mm diameter filter.. so get 72mm diameter filter..
why you wanna get a 77mm diameter filter where is more expensive than 72mm and you also need one adapter to screw into 72mm diameter filter size lens (if there are such adapter)

This post has been edited by snowmei: Aug 30 2007, 11:35 PM
Mavik
post Aug 30 2007, 11:38 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Well if you are into scenery and landscape photography especially shots at the beach with nice skies, a CPL filter (circular polarizer) would be a good start.

UV filters are usually used to protect your lens as well as provide extra benefits as well. Most people get this when they get their lens.
TSentrapnet
post Aug 31 2007, 06:55 AM

258 posts

QUOTE(snowmei @ Aug 30 2007, 11:33 PM)
first at all is polarize not polaris..... is diameter not diamond.....  rclxub.gif

there are many range of filter from cheap RM30 to RM 200 UV filter..
from RM60-RM500+ polarize filter.....
so it depends on your budget and the diameter of the filter...

and the diameter of the filter should follow the size mentioned on the lens....
for 28-135mm is 72mm diameter filter.. so get 72mm diameter filter..
why you wanna get a 77mm diameter filter where is more expensive than 72mm and you also need one adapter to screw into 72mm diameter filter size lens (if there are such adapter)
whistling.gif sorry for the spelling mistake...

i think money is not really a concern for me as I think quality should be put into priority. I heard Hoya brand is better compare to the rest but I wonder if it will fit into my Canon lense. Some even comment that I should get UV + polarize filter..... what is ur opinion?

As for the step up ring, I found out in this web site. http://shashinki.com/shop/hakuba-7277mm-step-ring-p-244.html

Added on August 31, 2007, 6:56 am
QUOTE(Mavik @ Aug 30 2007, 11:38 PM)
Well if you are into scenery and landscape photography especially shots at the beach with nice skies, a CPL filter (circular polarizer) would be a good start.

UV filters are usually used to protect your lens as well as provide extra benefits as well. Most people get this when they get their lens.
good point.....

do i need to get the UV filter first or directly go for CPL filter or get both together? Can you recommend a brand or model that I can look into?

This post has been edited by entrapnet: Aug 31 2007, 06:56 AM
wKkaY
post Aug 31 2007, 07:39 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

Bear in mind that although a UV filter looks clear, it's really not - a poor filter reflects more light than a good one, increasing the likelihood of flare. Here's a picture I took that illustrates the difference:

snowmei
post Aug 31 2007, 07:45 AM

Skilless
632 posts

QUOTE(entrapnet @ Aug 31 2007, 06:55 AM)
whistling.gif sorry for the spelling mistake...

i think money is not really a concern for me as I think quality should be put into priority. I heard Hoya brand is better compare to the rest but I wonder if it will fit into my Canon lense. Some even comment that I should get UV + polarize filter..... what is ur opinion?

As for the step up ring, I found out in this web site. http://shashinki.com/shop/hakuba-7277mm-step-ring-p-244.html

Added on August 31, 2007, 6:56 am

good point.....

do i need to get the UV filter first or directly go for CPL filter or get both together? Can you recommend a brand or model that I can look into?
if money is not really a concern to you..
you should get B+W filter....
i think you get both... when you need polarize effect, only screw your polarize filter on top of UV filter...
i don`t think there are anyone using polarize filter all the time....

as the step up ring or adapter whatever they call it...
i don`t think you need it as you have none of the 72 nor 77mm filter yet....
why go so much trouble get 77mm filter with step up ring to convert it to 72mm filter where you can just get single 72mm filter ?
this step up ring i believe is for those user that have 77mm filter and wanna use it for 72mm diameter filter lens...

oh ya.. forgot to say.. get B+W brass one.. don`t get alloy..
how to differentiate it..?? my way is by holding it as brass are more heavier than alloy...

This post has been edited by snowmei: Aug 31 2007, 08:23 AM
clemong_888
post Aug 31 2007, 08:49 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(snowmei @ Aug 31 2007, 07:45 AM)
if money is not really a concern to you..
you should get B+W filter....
i think you get both... when you need polarize effect, only screw your polarize filter on top of UV filter...
i don`t think there are anyone using polarize filter all the time....

as the step up ring or adapter whatever they call it...
i don`t think you need it as you have none of the 72 nor 77mm filter yet....
why go so much trouble get 77mm filter with step up ring to convert it to 72mm filter where you can just get single 72mm filter ?
this step up ring i believe is for those user that have 77mm filter and wanna use it for 72mm diameter filter lens...

oh ya.. forgot to say.. get B+W brass one.. don`t get alloy..
how to differentiate it..?? my way is by holding it as brass are more heavier than alloy...
uv is pretty much useless.. gave up using one. a cpl will do. stacking will increase vignetting. on the contrary, ive seen quite a few photogs with their cpl on 90% of the time, me included. only take it off at night tongue.gif

other filters to consider are nd grads and nd filters.
TSentrapnet
post Aug 31 2007, 10:28 AM

258 posts

B+W filter....? all i have to do is to tell the shopkeeper that i wan b+w brass CPL filter?

sorry for this type of question as i'm a noob here

Added on August 31, 2007, 10:29 am
QUOTE(wKkaY @ Aug 31 2007, 07:39 AM)
Bear in mind that although a UV filter looks clear, it's really not - a poor filter reflects more light than a good one, increasing the likelihood of flare. Here's a picture I took that illustrates the difference:

which one is better? the left or right one?

This post has been edited by entrapnet: Aug 31 2007, 10:29 AM
wlcling
post Aug 31 2007, 01:50 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(entrapnet @ Aug 31 2007, 10:28 AM)

which one has less flare?
snowmei
post Aug 31 2007, 08:10 PM

Skilless
632 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Aug 31 2007, 08:49 AM)
uv is pretty much useless.. gave up using one. a cpl will do. stacking will increase vignetting. on the contrary, ive seen quite a few photogs with their cpl on 90% of the time, me included. only take it off at night tongue.gif

other filters to consider are nd grads and nd filters.
laugh.gif then at night no protection lor??? dangerous oh.. later free one more come out....

QUOTE(entrapnet @ Aug 31 2007, 10:28 AM)
B+W filter....? all i have to do is to tell the shopkeeper that i wan b+w brass CPL filter?

sorry for this type of question as i'm a noob here

Added on August 31, 2007, 10:29 am
no lah... at the market there are alloy and brass version...
i dare not say alloy is imitation but i know that brass is the actual B+W filter...

QUOTE(wlcling @ Aug 31 2007, 01:50 PM)

which one has less flare?
for me is the right side yellow one are better... not sure correct or not....

This post has been edited by snowmei: Aug 31 2007, 08:11 PM
TSentrapnet
post Aug 31 2007, 09:07 PM

258 posts

after spending the whole day from QueensBay, Komtar and Gurney..... doh.gif I can't find any B+W filter. They say its too expensive and nobody really wan those filter and need special order. vmad.gif

Somewhere near Komtar, there are a pro shop selling only SLR acc. Trust me...anything you wan... its there. Eventhough they don't have any B+W, they do recommended me Kenko. They mention to me that Kenko is the same as Hoya. Is this true?

This is the filter that they recommended to me
Kenko Pro 1 Digital Protector (UV) W - RM130
Kenko CPL - RM145

Do you think I should get those?

As I was chating with the shop keeper, they show me some demo on the expensive tripod and lense "L". They sell it for very cheap price for lenses. Some thing come into my interst.... cokin... anybody know anything about that? So I look into those filter?
clemong_888
post Aug 31 2007, 11:52 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(snowmei @ Aug 31 2007, 08:10 PM)
laugh.gif then at night no protection lor??? dangerous oh.. later free one more come out....
no lah... at the market there are alloy and brass version...
i dare not say alloy is imitation but i know that brass is the actual B+W filter...
for me is the right side yellow one are better... not sure correct or not....
don need filter la, protection for what? better than putting cheap glass in front of my lens

QUOTE(entrapnet @ Aug 31 2007, 09:07 PM)
after spending the whole day from QueensBay, Komtar and Gurney.....  doh.gif  I can't find any B+W filter. They say its too expensive and nobody really wan those filter and need special order.  vmad.gif

Somewhere near Komtar, there are a pro shop selling only SLR acc. Trust me...anything you wan... its there. Eventhough they don't have any B+W, they do recommended me Kenko. They mention to me that Kenko is the same as Hoya. Is this true?

This is the filter that they recommended to me
Kenko Pro 1 Digital Protector (UV) W - RM130
Kenko CPL - RM145

Do you think I should get those?

As I was chating with the shop keeper, they show me some demo on the expensive tripod and lense "L". They sell it for very cheap price for lenses. Some thing come into my interst.... cokin... anybody know anything about that? So I look into those filter?
kenko=hoya smile.gif
ifer
post Sep 1 2007, 04:21 PM

4,637 posts

some people do not believe in having a UV filter and some do...
so, it is best to give one's reason why one do not believe in having a UV filter as a protection.

i personally believe that having a good UV filter as a protection is ok... all my lenses are protected by pro one digital UV. its better to scratch (by accident) a rm 130 filter than scratching (by accident) the front element of an L lens... right?

entrapnet...
kenko pro one digital is good... probably one of the best out there currently in terms of coating and reducing flares. B+W is good... but it's hard to find. others to consider will be Heliopan, Nikon, Leica...

the image wkkay posted, it is the one on the left which is a better filter. you can see thru more because the reflection has been reduced by the coating of the filter.

0.0173sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:45 AM