4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

LHDN email audit request? (Update 12/4)

TSmafioso
post Apr 12 2021, 12:52 PM

6,130 posts

QUOTE(synical @ Apr 12 2021, 11:44 AM)
Just make another copy/set of whatever you're submitting, especially a covering letter, for yourself.

Bring everything to LHDN, go to the kaunter saringan/front counter/the counter that give the queue numbers, and tell them you want to submit said document. They'll definitely go through them to see if they can take it from you or they send you someplace else to submit in person.

If they take your stuff there and then, ask them to cop terima/acknowledge receipt your set of documents can already.
Ok i think i will ask for the chop

Because the staff did say i wont be able to meet. Can only pass to counter.

Thanks! nod.gif

I may also send her an email to reply on my phone number. The reason she asked for it was because i didnt put. Lol so weird although my profile has it sweat.gif
TSmafioso
post Apr 12 2021, 12:55 PM

6,130 posts

Quick question guys,

Do you think it's fine to explain I've lost some receipts towards the counter staff?

Or wait for the staff who handles my case to call me then explain I've lost it?

Just realised i lost some so... im prepared to pay the penalty nod.gif

This post has been edited by mafioso: Apr 12 2021, 01:09 PM
romuluz777
post Apr 12 2021, 01:50 PM

1,447 posts

In my case, I received a letter from LHDN to submit supporting docs and receipts for parents medical claims relief, medical insurance and EPF, as well as gaya hidup relief. There was an email address in the letter, so I scanned all docs/receipts and emailed to the officer.
It was not mentioned in the letter that the required paperwork needs to be submitted in hardcopy, in person to the LHDN office where the letter originated from.

darkmusses
post Apr 12 2021, 02:20 PM

565 posts

Did you filed differently which prompt the audit ..
yhtan
post Apr 12 2021, 02:30 PM

8,547 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Apr 12 2021, 10:05 AM)
UPDATE 12/4:

so i just called, the staff picked up and said its legit

i proceeded to ask why is there no official letter, the staff said sama saja hantar email

then ok, i proceeded to say i will go to the office branch to submit, is it okay

the staff said can also.

so i guess its legit. nod.gif
Better to email the supporting copy and send the photostat copy via hand/courier (registered post), in case they said didn't receive.
TSmafioso
post Apr 12 2021, 03:32 PM

6,130 posts

QUOTE(James Moriarty @ Apr 12 2021, 01:28 PM)
no because we're supposed to keep all receipt for LHDN purpose for 7 years

it's already list and reminded us long time ago, and probably every year during our income tax submission

one of the reason why i rather forego the rm1k (or is it rm2k now) of claim under books/reading material...as usually i misplace receipts for frequent purchase.
yea i think next year onwards i will choose pay more than claim more.

even if i did buy the item and its claimable.

dont want the hassle. since we can never run away from random tax audits for the rest of our working lives..

QUOTE(darkmusses @ Apr 12 2021, 02:20 PM)
Did you filed differently which prompt the audit ..
what do you mean by that?

QUOTE(yhtan @ Apr 12 2021, 02:30 PM)
Better to email the supporting copy and send the photostat copy via hand/courier (registered post), in case they said didn't receive.
hmm you are right.

actually was thinking if i really need to go to the branch to submit hard copy.

as the staff did verify its a legit email.

should i just explain that i lost the receipt in the email? or explain in person is better over the counter?

This post has been edited by mafioso: Apr 12 2021, 03:32 PM
TSmafioso
post Apr 12 2021, 03:34 PM

6,130 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Apr 12 2021, 01:50 PM)
In my case, I received a letter from LHDN to submit supporting docs and receipts for parents medical claims relief, medical insurance and EPF, as well as gaya hidup relief. There was an email address in the letter, so I scanned all docs/receipts and emailed to the officer.
It was not mentioned in the letter that the required paperwork needs to be submitted in hardcopy, in person to the LHDN office where the letter originated from.
thinking if i should just email the LHDN staff my details instead of going to the branch to submit hard copy and scared it'll go into limbo

anyway, just wondering if i am able to explain that i lost my receipt in reply to the email (of course im ready to accept the penalty since its my fault)
KingArthurVI
post Apr 12 2021, 03:36 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,040 posts

If you lose receipt but you still have it in CC statement or other bank statements, would that work I wonder?
TSmafioso
post Apr 12 2021, 03:41 PM

6,130 posts

QUOTE(James Moriarty @ Apr 12 2021, 03:33 PM)
true sir

it is a hassle always when being asked to produce receipts to justify our claim
yea but im just wondering how much penalty i will kena this time sweat.gif

hope its not over 1k-1.5k

my tax range 14% only for 2020 and 8% for 2019.

thanks to the pay jump.

do you have any idea how the penalty works?

lets say you claim RM520, but no receipt

do they charge 520 + total taxable income that year (assuming 14% max at 2800) * 10-40%?

means (520 + 2800 + 300 fine) * 40%?

not sure how it works.

also will they be lenient to first time offenders with ciput salary? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by mafioso: Apr 12 2021, 03:42 PM
loserguy
post Apr 12 2021, 04:03 PM

462 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Apr 12 2021, 03:41 PM)

thanks to the pay jump.

do they charge 520 + total taxable income that year (assuming 14% max at 2800) * 10-40%?

not sure how it works.

Erm, sorry bro
https://www.hasilnet.org.my/income-tax-offe...ines-penalties/
TSmafioso
post Apr 12 2021, 04:13 PM

6,130 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Apr 12 2021, 04:03 PM)
means my penalty is RM300-10000? depending how much they want to charge?

This post has been edited by mafioso: Apr 12 2021, 04:13 PM
loserguy
post Apr 12 2021, 04:20 PM

462 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Apr 12 2021, 04:13 PM)
Not a tax expert, but should be more than RM300 since you claimed RM520 biggrin.gif
TSmafioso
post Apr 12 2021, 04:21 PM

6,130 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Apr 12 2021, 04:20 PM)
Not a tax expert, but should be more than RM300 since you claimed RM520 biggrin.gif
ah damn have to accept anyhow. lol.
bill11
post Apr 12 2021, 04:29 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Apr 12 2021, 03:41 PM)

thanks to the pay jump.

not sure how it works.

No need to worry that much la,

last time they did send letter asking me to prove, so i went to branch and told them i wrongly fill in, They just let me go like that.

Maybe i'm small fish.
mini orchard
post Apr 12 2021, 04:43 PM

13,913 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Apr 12 2021, 03:34 PM)
thinking if i should just email the LHDN staff my details instead of going to the branch to submit hard copy and scared it'll go into limbo

anyway, just wondering if i am able to explain that i lost my receipt in reply to the email (of course im ready to accept the penalty since its my fault)
Yes you can ..... the officer just add back tbe amount to the taxable income and new revised tax imposef plus penallty.

It is the most common reason by a tax payer under audit.

Normally, a tax payer will oredi know himself why his tax file is call out for an audit.
csting87
post Apr 12 2021, 04:44 PM

501 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Apr 12 2021, 04:13 PM)
119A - Fail to comply with an order to keep proper records and documentation.
TSmafioso
post Apr 12 2021, 04:53 PM

6,130 posts

QUOTE(bill11 @ Apr 12 2021, 04:29 PM)
No need to worry that much la,

last time they did send letter asking me to prove, so i went to branch and told them i wrongly fill in, They just let me go like that.

Maybe i'm small fish.
i only have 2-3 years of record so far

just lucky lompat few jobs until salary is decent. haha

hope wont kena too high.

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Apr 12 2021, 04:43 PM)
Yes you can ..... the officer just add back tbe amount to the taxable income and new revised tax imposef plus penallty.

It is the most common reason by a tax payer under audit.

Normally, a tax payer will oredi know himself why his tax file is call out for an audit.
ah okay.. was thinking to go to the office tomorrow to submit hard copy (i called and the officer said can) and explain, will the counter officer relay my message to the lhdn officer in charge?

QUOTE(csting87 @ Apr 12 2021, 04:44 PM)
119A - Fail to comply with an order to keep proper records and documentation.
i did check threads on lowyat.

seem some kena 4k-7k.

wonder what they did to get that amount. hmm.gif
mini orchard
post Apr 12 2021, 05:29 PM

13,913 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Apr 12 2021, 04:53 PM)
ah okay.. was thinking to go to the office tomorrow to submit hard copy (i called and the officer said can) and explain, will the counter officer relay my message to the lhdn officer in charge?
i did check threads on
Is better to see the officer personally. It shows your seriousness is sorting out whatever issues.

You can try to plea for his kind consideration not to impose too high penalty if is some 'mistakes'. Show a sad face ... you might have a considerate officer to handle your case....lol. Not all tax audit officer are penalty face type if you can explain.

Email is ok too but to them, is just another 'tax evader' file ...not much consideration...I would say. He would just imposed the max and wait for you to show up to appeal.
TSmafioso
post Apr 12 2021, 05:30 PM

6,130 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Apr 12 2021, 05:29 PM)
Is better to see the officer personally. It shows your seriousness is sorting out whatever issues.

You can try to plea for his kind consideration not to impose too high penalty if is some 'mistakes'. Show a sad face ... you might have a considerate officer to handle your case....lol. Not all tax audit officer are penalty face type if you can explain.

Email is ok too but to them, is just another 'tax evader' file ...not much consideration...I would say. He would just imposed the max and wait for you to show up to appeal.
i did call, but the officer mentioned wont be able to see her. lol

can only deal with people at the counter sweat.gif

but maybe tomorrow i will try to get an appointment through the counter or something.

This post has been edited by mafioso: Apr 12 2021, 05:31 PM
mini orchard
post Apr 12 2021, 05:33 PM

13,913 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Apr 12 2021, 05:30 PM)
i did call, but the officer mentioned wont be able to see her. lol

can only deal with people at the counter sweat.gif

but maybe tomorrow i will try to get an appointment through the counter or something.
Try your luck ... it is worth the 1 trip.

You must try to wriggle your way past the counter.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0205sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:03 PM