Lost sound after lightning strike., USB external speaker.

SUSRagingBalls
post Apr 8 2021, 05:39 PM, updated 5y ago

282 posts

Hi Sifus,

Last week we had some heavy rains and there was a lightning strike that caused a power trip in my home. It was pitch black before I went down to reset the power. However before I could get down I could smell wire burning smell. I made a mental note of it and came back up to see what happened after resetting the power. It became clear that my external speaker that was attached to my Desktop via USB was not working anymore. Found that the power indicator was blank on the 3 pin plug, so I knew that the 3 pin plug was burnt. It was of those cheap China made plugs without a fuse (I think). There were no screws to open and check if the fuse was blown so I guessed this must be the non-fused types. Anyways I bought the same type of plug again from Lazada for the same rating and received it today. When I replaced the plug I was happy that the speaker was able to be powered on. However there were no sounds. When I played on an audio file or the Youtube videos, there is no sound even though the speaker icon is under working condition and not disabled. We can also see the mixer bars moving up and down as the music played. Only thing is there is no sound coming from the speaker.

Here is what I did on my own;

1. Deleted the sound driver and re-installed it using the Device Manager.
Didn't work.

2. Used System Restore to set the PC to an earlier date where everything was working.
Didn't work.

The drivers had been updated to the latest ones. Still didn't work at all.

What went wrong and how to get the sound to be working again? I have attached the pic of the plug and the sound icon with the working mixer bar - to show that it works but no sound is coming.

Appreciate any ideas. Thanks a lot.

MRS_consultant
post Apr 8 2021, 05:42 PM

227 posts

plug speaker into your phone to confirm the speakers are working, if speakers are working, u need to buy the below

https://shopee.com.my/Vention-External-USB-...6286.1482027902

This post has been edited by MRS_consultant: Apr 8 2021, 05:47 PM
SUSRagingBalls
post Apr 8 2021, 05:48 PM

282 posts

Summary is;

1. Lightning strike caused the power plug (3 pns) of my USB speaker to be damaged. The speaker cannot be powered ON.

2. Replaced the plug and now can power ON the speaker. However there is no sound. All else is working correctly. The speaker icon is enabled, there is movement of the mixer bars when the music is played but still no sound.
SUSRagingBalls
post Apr 8 2021, 06:03 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(MRS_consultant @ Apr 8 2021, 05:42 PM)
plug speaker into your phone to confirm the speakers are working, if speakers are working, u need to buy the below

https://shopee.com.my/Vention-External-USB-...6286.1482027902
This means the audio output at the back of the PC also gone?

I tried connecting to the front panel audio output also doesn't work.
MRS_consultant
post Apr 8 2021, 06:16 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(RagingBalls @ Apr 8 2021, 06:03 PM)
This means the audio output at the back of the PC also gone?

I tried connecting to the front panel audio output also doesn't work.
ic on your motherboard fried, either you replace ic or use external usb sound card

thats why always use surge protector for all pc and accessories

This post has been edited by MRS_consultant: Apr 8 2021, 06:17 PM
SUSRagingBalls
post Apr 8 2021, 06:40 PM

282 posts

I see. Tq for the feedback.
sHawTY
post Apr 8 2021, 07:44 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

1. Is your speaker still making a sound if you connect it to a different device?
If yes, that means your speaker is still working
If no, that means that the speaker is dead

2. Have you tried connecting an earphone/headphone/different speaker to the computer? What's the result? Can you hear anything from the other speaker/earphone/headphone?
If yes, that means either the old speaker is dead or the cable connecting your speaker to the PC is faulty
If no, that means the onboard audio in your PC is dead, you need to buy a soundcard. Either a USB or a PCI-e soundcard
kllonely1
post Apr 8 2021, 07:52 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(RagingBalls @ Apr 8 2021, 05:39 PM)
Hi Sifus,

Last week we had some heavy rains and there was a lightning strike that caused a power trip in my home. It was pitch black before I went down to reset the power. However before I could get down I could smell wire burning smell. I made a mental note of it and came back up to see what happened after resetting the power. It became clear that my external speaker that was attached to my Desktop via USB was not working anymore. Found that the power indicator was blank on the 3 pin plug, so I knew that the 3 pin plug was burnt. It was of those cheap China made plugs without a fuse (I think). There were no screws to open and check if the fuse was blown so I guessed this must be the non-fused types. Anyways I bought the same type of plug again from Lazada for the same rating and received it today. When I replaced the plug I was happy that the speaker was able to be powered on. However there were no sounds. When I played on an audio file or the Youtube videos, there is no sound even though the speaker icon is under working condition and not disabled. We can also see the mixer bars moving up and down as the music played. Only thing is there is no sound coming from the speaker.

Here is what I did on my own;

1. Deleted the sound driver and re-installed it using the Device Manager.
    Didn't work.

2. Used System Restore to set the PC to an earlier date where everything was working.
    Didn't work.

The drivers had been updated to the latest ones. Still didn't work at all.

What went wrong and how to get the sound to be working again? I have attached the pic of the plug and the sound icon with the working mixer bar - to show that it works but no sound is coming.

Appreciate any ideas. Thanks a lot.
beli baru je,

SUSRagingBalls
post Apr 8 2021, 07:55 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 8 2021, 07:44 PM)
1. Is your speaker still making a sound if you connect it to a different device?

2. Have you tried connecting an earphone/headphone/different speaker to the computer? What's the result? Can you hear anything from the other speaker/earphone/headphone?
If yes, that means either the old speaker is dead or the cable connecting your speaker to the PC is faulty
If no, that means the onboard audio in your PC is dead, you need to buy a soundcard. Either a USB or a PCI-e soundcard
Will try that out.
SUSRagingBalls
post Apr 8 2021, 08:04 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 8 2021, 07:44 PM)

I connected my headphones to the audio line out on the side of the speaker and the sound can be heard using the headphones.

Does this mean the speaker is OK?
The problem is with what if I can hear the sound thru my headphones connected to the speaker side?
SUSRagingBalls
post Apr 8 2021, 08:06 PM

282 posts

Going to find another audio cable to test out and see if its the audio cable problem.
SUSRagingBalls
post Apr 8 2021, 08:10 PM

282 posts

I have a feeling its either the audio cable or the sound card.
metalfire
post Apr 8 2021, 08:14 PM

1,306 posts

looks like speakers gone...replace new speakers.
ktek
post Apr 10 2021, 08:34 AM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

speaker cucuk fone see got sound?
be aware & stop using cpu if ur area has strong kilat2

0.0186sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:28 PM