A poor kid that wants to earn money

digitalz
post Apr 8 2021, 09:24 AM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

QUOTE(peerlessmonarch @ Apr 7 2021, 06:19 PM)
Thanks for the response everyone!

So, basically right now what i can do is do some part time during sem breaks or easy semester and build my resume and cv.

It seems like i cant invest with no income for property...

My plan is to work and save for 4-5 years and resume scouting properties then. I also try to have about 5-8k income by then hopefully, idk about salary expectation for an actuarial graduate.

Many elders advice take it slow as im still young haha XD

But, inflation and everything, damn sad...

Meanwhile, also maybe improve my coding skills on my free time bah...
Don't always think that property can make you rich. There are a lot of failed investments around. It's just that those gurus won't tell you those since they are not the ones failing.
digitalz
post Apr 8 2021, 12:14 PM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Apr 8 2021, 11:20 AM)
Direct property investment especially buying residential property for resale or rental is actually very hit and miss. There are more failures to profit then there are those that genuinely profit in nett ringgit once you take into account maintenance and bank interest.

to put it in perspective, a RM350k loan at 3% p.a. for 30 years of repayment will incur around RM200k of interest over the full repayment, and that's assuming interest rate stays stagnant. You'd save interest if you sell/pay off early, of course, but how many areas out there will appreciate at least RM200k in value within 15 years? it's a massive commitment with little gain. On surface level it looks nice to boast about how subsale price increase several hundred K, but it doesn't really account for hidden costs.

in actual fact property is more for wealth holding/preservation than wealth building

if you really want to profit from property, invest in REITs laugh.gif
To add more to it, that is only on loan. Not including expenses on renovation (furniture etc), wear & tear, maintenance/sinking funds and other types of payments.

If owner rents it out, it can cover some here and there but when its not rented out, owner has to bear all sorts of payments + instalments.

0.0192sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:07 AM