21 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Military Thread V28

alexz23
post Sep 30 2021, 08:32 PM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Sep 30 2021, 08:26 PM)
Now I'm not sure whether you are playing with nuance to win internet argument or just suck at understanding your own national language.

Sure sure, whatever floats your  gunboat lah. All general Bodo Bodo punya. That's why they buy gunboats.

Oh wait. Where the official source that NGPC a gunboats again? As someone wisely said to me few minutes ago. If you have opinions, own up to them. Nothing wrong to have opinions. Don't say that it is in the defence white paper .🤣😂😆😊
I always clearly say which is my own opinion, and which is from official documents.

You talk about destroyers, AAW destroyers to give cover to allies, but suddenly it is not from you but from hishamuddin.

I even praised the 15 to 5 plan, how that is saying the generals bodoh? So who started calling those people bodoh?

I can say that in my opinion that something that they did is wrong, but never called them bodoh.

Also the gunboat thingy is started by you. you say the NGPV is a warship not a gunboat.

I always call the NGPV as an OPV.

This post has been edited by alexz23: Sep 30 2021, 08:37 PM
alexz23
post Sep 30 2021, 09:05 PM

QUOTE(nasi lemak 20 sen @ Sep 30 2021, 08:45 PM)
About the defense white paper, that is essentially a wish list.

When the Japanese publishes the defense white paper, the cabinet and PM would support. Budget will be allocated. Procurement will be done according to the plan. They have very capable local contractors. Things that they don't have can ask US for help.

In Malaysia, they run thing differently. Prioritize own pocket. But that is not my point here.

ON paper they wish MY has proper homeland security, safe from air borne threat. So they propose medium range SAM. So stuff like Aster-30 and the like are the ideal asset they want the govt to buy.

Then they also would like the military to extend the "envelope of engagement" so that any conflict will happen far from homeland. Preferable somewhere in SCS.

That is on paper.

IN practice, the govt is sh*t. Our ship builder is sh*t as well. The real plan they gonna execute is, retreating to territorial water. Defending this only. They gonna leave EEZ. Station assets around territorial waters hoping that CCP will give face to us or the US already started pounding them before they are grabbing our EEZ.

In contrast, look at what Indonesia is buying. Large warship capable to operate around the edge of EEZ. Not a single inch of EEZ they are going to give CCP. This is the correct attitude.

MY is doomed if we have the same monkeys running the show.
As an ex navy guy, what do you think of the 15 to 5 plan?

Is it good that TLDM keeps buying expensive but lightly armed ships?

Should the government empower the MMEA to properly do its tasks to counter the Chinese Coast Guard?

How would you executive the plan to defend our EEZ?

This post has been edited by alexz23: Sep 30 2021, 09:06 PM
alexz23
post Sep 30 2021, 09:12 PM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Sep 30 2021, 09:01 PM)
You see. At this moment I can either be a man and accept your explanation as it is because who care, it's an internet forum.

or I can be a literal dick who would keep on insisting for 2 or 3 or more Post  (i think that certain someone do it for 8 or 10 post ) that what's you are claiming your opinion is you putting your own words as an official position. Then say everyone else can see what you wrote and you should be ashamed of yourself

Quick Guess which action would i took?
great

you mentioned M346 is the best but when i aked why you cannot justify it

you mentioned about TLDM should get destroyers and put it to Hishamudin when I asked the rationale.

You say sweden respose is not asymmetric but when i listed out the reasonings no reply from you.

And congratulations today you knew about the DWP text.

so i am also leaving it at that.
alexz23
post Oct 1 2021, 12:25 AM

QUOTE(jwst1313 @ Sep 30 2021, 09:55 PM)

In 2014 during service life extension program, the radar system of both Lekiu Class also change to Terma C 6000 series, same as the radar of new philippines corvette and KCR40 m and 60 m missile  opv. All use western made (Denmark made) Terma C series radar.

Any report of  Lekiu Class fail in test firing or tracing using Terma 6000 radar?
The new terma radar on Lekiu class is primarily used as a navigation radar, and for helicopter control, ie guiding the helicopter to land in bad weather. "targets" means other ships that is sailing around it.

It should work as advertised, it is a mature radar system.

Main surface search radar for the frigate is the Saab Sea Giraffe. Main air search radar is the Thales/Signaal DA-08.
alexz23
post Oct 1 2021, 01:09 AM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Sep 30 2021, 09:55 PM)
Simple.

Pull all military man behind the territorial water and send in the coast guard to the Chinese.

Is NOT something he would likely says 🤣
Issue with malaysian defence planning, and also defence enthusiasts.

When we read USA doctrines, we then put ourselves in USA shoes.

Words like peer adversaries are thrown about.

It really clowds our view.

We cannot live in a delusion and talk about peer adversary as if we are a superpower. We are not. We are against a superior adversary. We are clearly an inferior force. We are a small weak country facing against a raising superpower economically and militarily.

Which is why we should look to counties such as Sweden, Finland or even Vietnam on how they plan on taking the fight to a superior force. We should learn more from Vietnam, as they are among a few small countries that has fought a superpower, and won.

That should always be in our mind. It is impossible for us to go head to head against a superior adversary like china. Forget about "extended envelope". Forget about "forward deployment". Can we do that in a fight against China? Impossible.

With our current strength, caring more about songlap that actual capability, yes clearly what we can do is to just retreat to our territorial waters when the shooting starts. No malaysian surface ship will survive an engagement with China. Even when operating with allies, plenty of surface ships will be sunk in a just the opening hours. A lot of scenario we can study, like the Falklands War where an inferior force (Argentina) went against a superior force (UK). Even then, against the Royal Navy the Argentinian fleet were tied up in the harbour, with only a lone submarine scaring the hell out of the britsh fleet.

Which is why for me TLDM should just concentrate on getting a few well armed frigates and try to get as many submarines and large UUVs as the budget allows. OPVs however heavily armed, are not going to be useful against a force with hypersonic anti ship missiles, stealth fighters, stealth bombers and stealth UAVs. The only thing survivable are the underwater assets.

Why I would prefer OPVs just run by MMEA, Cheaper, no missile pretensions. Just for operations other than war.

So our maritime domain defence needs to be prepared for 2 scenarios

1. day to day security

2. deterrence and operations in war.

In the event of a war, all our offshore stations will be hit by ballistic missiles. Any of our surface ships found offshore will be quickly hit by hypersonic anti ship missiles. Even our main bases will be hit. Only subs and large UUV already on patrol will survive to strike back at china.

That is what could happen when the shooting starts. But what if it doesn't go that far?

China keeps sending their coast guard to our waters. It is our MMEA duty to shadow and prevent them from harassing our oil and gas and fising activities. No shooting or misssile slinging will happen. What will happen is a lot of ramming and water cannon shooting. Our MMEA and TLDM must need to always be out there, to show that we do control the area. TLDM frigates must always scan the water for any chinese submarine activity, and with active sonars remind them that we know that they are there. If we don't go out there and china is always there instead, china can show that they have a de facto control of the area even if it is against international law. We cannot allow that, which is why we need to have more ships to be present enduringly in our EEZ.
alexz23
post Oct 1 2021, 01:25 AM

QUOTE(Kakwen @ Oct 1 2021, 12:36 AM)
So if want to shot missile will used sea giraffe? What the max range can detect other ship
yes

About 150km. Other detection methods such as ESM can also be used.

But even data from the scanter radar can be used for anti ship missile firing solution, no problem.

alexz23
post Oct 1 2021, 08:55 AM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 1 2021, 06:27 AM)
A short summary of above statement is.

"Let give china our EEZ"

Oh boy.

You cannot even understand what I wrote. And it is me that is difficult to have a discussion with?

If you think my statement is that, please give me a statement that I can summarize as "lets defend our EEZ from China"

alexz23
post Oct 1 2021, 10:39 AM

QUOTE(Kakwen @ Oct 1 2021, 10:09 AM)
Im thought horizon only 20km how come radar can detect over horizon
that is the instrumented radar range.

if you want to detect something that floats barely about the water surface, yes, just 20km to horizon.

but other ships are also tall, with their own radar masts for example. So it (and other radars) can detect other ships way over 20km.

alexz23
post Oct 1 2021, 06:11 PM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 1 2021, 05:42 PM)
No you can't.

You would never build enough CG ship fast enough or big enough to challenge the Chinese CG & maritime militia to a water canon & ship ramming fight. You re playing a game where Chinese get the upper hand.
That's is exactly what Philippines did before and they lose Access to plenty of reefs. Which is now being use to threaten the Philippines on a daily basis.

China is a super power but they are alone just like USSR of old. The whole point of NATO is to standardized equipment & strategies so smaller army can work together to defense against a larger foe. That's why most of their military look like a cookie cutter of one another which is what DWF suggest but you don't like it, preferring to be creative, asymmetrical or whatever that's limited your ability to not just work with western powers but also your own neighbors.

When you work with neighbors & friend, you do not need to acquired everything under the sun on day 1, but you don't wanna it, saying something about having sovereignty of equipment or something. Working with neighbors & other mean you have to be committed to at least acquired the equipment to help them and they aquire equipment that can help us. You meanwhile Don't want to do any of that, prefer to work alone thus you retreat behind Territorial water an area the Chinese never claimed. You can't help others, others won't help you. Exactly what the Chinese hope & wanted.

The whole let buy low quality in high quantities equipment is also playing into the advantage of Chinese. You have access to technological advantage but you throw it out the door and reach technology parities with the Chinese who at the same time has the numbers. Again you are not winning anything with this strategy.

So who actually is delusional? The DWP author or you?
If I am delusional, if the DWP author is delusional, then what is your suggestion? Just surrender our sovereignty to China?

Even though currently the Philippines Coast Guard has less ships than our MMEA, they are still out there protecting their EEZ.

Lets see what Indonesia is doing.

https://www.benarnews.org/english/news/indo...2021152208.html

Earlier this week, the Indonesian government announced a budget proposal for 2022 in which 12.2 trillion rupiah, or $853 million, would be allocated to develop the security infrastructure in the Natuna Sea.

Indonesian media report that the budget will be used to build up defense infrastructure on strategic islands and procure maritime security equipment including unmanned aerial vehicles or drones.

The budget would be divided equally between the Indonesian Navy and the Maritime Security Force, which is known as Bakamla.

The government said 41 percent of the budget was used to meet the weapon system needs of the navy in Natuna and 44 percent was used to fulfill Bakamla's marine security equipment needs.

So is Indonesia delusional??

Just for 2022, Indonesian government has allocated 853 million dollars to beef up the security of Natuna islands, and 44% or about 375 million dollars allocated to buy equipment for Indonesian Coast Guard or BAKAMLA.

They are going to defend their EEZ from the chinese coast guard. Why can't we do the same?

What is wrong for malaysia to buy more Tun Fatimah OPV or even this Korean OPV?

This huge 140m long, 4000 tonnes Korean Ship just cost about 40 million dollars, when the chinese LMS cost 61 million dollars. We can more than afford to buy these ships to fulfil the 18 OPV requirement of Malaysia.

alexz23
post Oct 1 2021, 06:27 PM

Brand New chinese 6x6 IFV

The Norinco VN22.

This is a model specifically for export.

alexz23
post Oct 1 2021, 06:51 PM

China has unveiled a new UCAV, called the FH-97.

This UCAV is meant for export.

It has a very close resemblance to the American Kratos XQ-58A Valkyrie. The Valkyrie, meant as a cheap attritable UCAV, is priced at just 3-4 million dollars each.

More pictures of the FH-97

alexz23
post Oct 1 2021, 06:53 PM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 1 2021, 06:42 PM)
Not at the expenses of their navy like you suggested.

I am suggesting a heavier armed navy, instead of 18 expensive toothless NGPV OPV.

I am suggesting bigger OPVs for MMEA, at a cost a fraction of the price of TLDM LMS and NGPV.

I am suggesting a total of 12 Frigates by 2040, and a total of 12 submarine and large UUV combination.

alexz23
post Oct 2 2021, 01:00 AM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 1 2021, 08:09 PM)
Again per DFW.
3GPV is a kapal perang & 2LMS has at the very least FFBNW.

One do not keep harping over the original plans when they have updated their plans.
Lets just assume all the 70+m length RM250 million LMS is armed with anti ship missiles

Lets just assume all 90+m length RM500 million NGPV is armed with anti ship and air defence missiles.

18 LMS and 18 NGPV. 36 armed ships. Minus those already built, 14 more LMS and 12 more NGPV. A total spending of RM9.5 billion.

Do they need all those missiles against the Chinese coast guard?
No they don't.

What can they do with all those missiles aganst the Chinese Navy surface fleet, with aircraft carriers, super large destroyers and such?
Nothing much.

What can all those less than 25knots speed ship that are basically OPVs with missiles attached bring to a fight with the Chinese Navy? Can slow large ships do FAC hit and run missions? Can it do something MMEA cannot do like track submarines? No they can't. So what is the purpose of these ships anyway? Why can't cheaper ships do the tasks of these expensive ships?

Exactly 80 years ago, HMS Repulse and HMS Prince of Wales was sunk in South China Sea off Kuantan. Now with ballistic and hypersonic anti ship missiles, with stealthy carrier based fighters that will fly in a few weeks time, can the LMS and NGPV bring the fight to the Chinese Navy? What did the DWP say about this?

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Sep 24 2021, 03:05 PM)

XXX quote=darth5zaft,Sep 24 2021, 04:27 AM XXX
Afterwards is AAW capabilities. This is where GBAD, BVR capable LCA, hibah hornets, ESSM  ship comes in. Having all 3 allowed us to extend an umbrella of protection not just for ourselves, for the merchant ship but also to our allies who would use our EEZ as the staging stage. It's  has to be sufficient enough to severely restrict, slow down, or endanger the opponent. And as such we solved the  Arial intrusion problem. They can fly or sail around according to the international law that we recognize and with A2/AD abilities to impose.

XXX quote XXX

ESSM corvette is survivable? Against Ballistic anti-ship missiles, Hypersonic anti-ship missiles or even latest Chinese Destroyers? We extend air defence umbrella to our allies? Probably should be the other way round with proper Air Defence Destroyers. ESSM on a corvette or frigate at best a self protection against conventional anti-ship missiles. No enemy figher jets is going to stray anywhere less than 100km from our corvettes or frigates, all anti-ship missile attacks would be made at ranges more than 100km. Can ESSM intercept Ballistic anti-ship missiles or Hypersonic anti-ship missiles? Can you even do A2/AD with corvettes/frigates/destroyers against superior threat like China?

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 1 2021, 08:09 PM)

Would be great if we know what CG plans are. I been googling their masterplan but nothing comes up that's available in the public domain.

I have written it before.

Probably you don't realise that even currently MMEA has a lot of boats in its fleet. But as you even just recently realise about the DWP, I would not be surprised that you have never heard about MMEA plans.

Let me cut and paste it back for you

PPSM 2040 turut menggariskan 5 matlamat strategik dan 10 objektif strategik dalam usaha menjadikan MM sebagai penguatkuasa tunggal yang versatil dengan imperatif operasinya berkisar kepada menjalinkan kerjasama dengan komuniti maritim bagi mewujudkan suasana maritim yang kondusif dan rasa aman sekali gus dapat mengurangkan risiko kehilangan nyawa dan harta benda di laut.

Adalah dijangkakan dalam tempoh ini MM akan dilengkapi dengan perjawatan dan sumber manusia aset udara, aset laut, sistem pengawasan, sistem pemerintahan kawalan dan perisikan yang dapat melaksanakan tugas penguatkuasaan carilamat, bantuan melawan kebakaran dan pencemaran maritim yang menyeluruh dan berkesan.

Dalam tempoh ini juga MM dijangka dapat mengekalkan sebanyak 116 kapal ronda iaitu 96 buah bersaiz sederhana dan 20 buah bersaiz besar. 228 bot saiz 20 meter ke bawah (95 bot pemintas, 133 RHIB/RIB) dan sebanyak 15 pesawat helikopter, 12 buah pesawat kepak kaku, sistem pengawasan perairan yang meliputi seluruh perairan negara yang juga merangkumi teknologi penggunaan satelit, sistem C4ISR yang lengkap berteraskan teknologi satelit. 34 unit stesen udara, pangkalan MM yang dilengkapi dengan kemudahan dan insfrastruktur terkini. Kekuatan sumber manusia untuk mengoperasikan aset-aset MM ialah dijangka berjumlah 9,414 orang menjelang tahun 2040.
Official MMEA plans for:
- 20 large OPV
- 96 medium patrol boats (NGPC, PZ class, Bahtera etc) something 25m to 70m in length
- 228 boats smaller than 20m (FICs, RHIBs etc)

alexz23
post Oct 2 2021, 06:41 PM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 2 2021, 10:48 AM)

you still harping over the original plan & BNS wet dream again
As per H20, they plans are 8 2LMS & 6  3GPV in the next 2 RMK.
It's easy to conclude that reduction in numbers of ship = increase the price per ship.

This is what your problem. Your assumption does not tally with what the real thing is.

I don't care about BNS ships. I don't even like them. The main thing is that from the requirements of TLDM themselves, they are expecting a 70+m ship with helipad and guns at RM250 milllion for the LMS batch 2, and 90+m OPV at RM500 million for the NGPV batch 2.

H2O statement does not contradict the DWP or even the 15to5 plan, unlike your assumption/conclusion.

As per H20, their plans are 8 LMS batch 2 & 6 NGPV batch 2 in the next 2 RMK. But DWP and 15to5 isn't a plan just until 2030 only. There are still ongoing plans to build 6 more LMS and 6 more NGPV from 2031-2040. Your assumption that the budget for 14 LMS and 12 NGPV now suddenly available for just 8 LMS and 6 NGPV is totally wrong. A budget meant for a plan spread over more than 20 years aren't suddenly going to be available in a short span of just 10 years. there will be no increase in the budget of the ships H2O talks about like your assumption

The Chinese aren't going to send their warship over if we have competent  A2/AD just like western power don't sail along the Taiwan straits anymore.HMS repulse & POW sunk as the empire of Japan get a foothold in Indochina. It just there to show the flag, they all know it's toothless again full japanese aggression. Jaoanese occuption of indo china Allowing them to establish supplies lines that sinks those ship and the then the invasion of Malaya then afterwards the invasion of ID.
That is the problem of your assumption.

We cannot afford to build a competent A2/AD just like western power. we are not a western power. we cannot fight a war head to head with china. we don't have the budget for it

Your assumption of budget for 12 NGPV available for just 6 NGPV to able to have missiles etc. is also not going to happen.

Indonesia is going to spend more than 850 million dollars in just 1 year to defend the Natuna Islands. Our development budget for TLDM is going to be about 4 billion dollars for 10 years, that is just an average of 400 million dollars each year. What can we buy with that budget? After buying expensive but lowly armed LMS and NGPV, what is left to buy real fighting ships? What kind of A2/AD frigates like what western powers have can our meagre budget buy and effectively field against the Chinese Navy that are fielding aircraft carriers with stealth fighter jets, destroyers the size of cruisers, ballistic anti ship missiles, hypersonic anti ship missiles, advanced UCAVs?

You know what is the irony of your suggestions?
According you it is impossible for MMEA to face with the chinese coast guard, which even Philippines and Indonesia is able to do. But TLDM by all means should face the might of the Chinese Navy head on with superpower A2/AD tactics.

That's is why most country in silence agreed to US containment of china strategies. They do not want further southern expansion of PLA. You really think in an event of something happening, ID are going to wait beging territorial water and aren't going to forward deploy their FREMM & type 31 to prevent the war ever happens in their back yard?

MY alone would never be able to counter china. But MY work together with her neighbor backed by western powers would. Exactly what DWP want to do. MY can't do anything to Chinese long range missiles but western & japanese aegis destroyer could, MY can't treaten china directly but refueling and escorting US bombers would. MY is not a nuclear power like china but F35 are certified to carry someone's else nuclear bomb

Your strategies of everyone falls back behind Territorial water, priorities quantity over quality, priorities CG over navy, everyone don't cooperate and do their own shit,  everyone wait in their territorial water waiting their turn to fight the Chinese one by one is the wettest wet dream the Chinese could ever hope for. Pecah & perintah at it finest. Instead what you want to do is to do the opposite of what they wanted. write a strategy that involves working with your neighbor & outsiders.

Firstly, it was not my strategy as you say " of everyone falls back behind Territorial water ". So don't attribute that to me.

I would want a malaysian navy that is able to hit hard to an aggressor even as big as china. That I would like it to be with submarines, large UUVs, with support of TUDM SU-30MKM.

I would want a malaysian navy able to contribute to allied activities like UK, Australia and USA. I would like to see us contributing a very capable shallow water and near shore ASW capabilities (complementing open ocean ASW capability of allies), fleet replenishment support, SF with PASKAL.

Your assumption of TLDM buying RM1 billion ringgit per ship NGPV batch 2 is not ever going to happen. Our RMK12 and RMK13 budget is finite. NGPV batch 2 armed with just with 57mm guns as per TLDM requirements isn't going to be able to do anything to China, and it also aren't going to contribute much to the operation of our allies. Which is why I say we cannot waste money even on RM500 million OPVs, and use that to buy additional frigates and submarines instead.

Malaysia does not have, and not going to have air tankers that can refuel USAF bombers. No other countries tankers are cleared to refuel USAF strategic bombers.

So you are expecting malaysia to be able to carry and employ nuclear weapons? Do you know about ZOPFAN that malaysia champions? Do you know about SEANWFZ?

They can buy us a whole lot of deterrence if all 20 OPV, 96 FAC size craft & all 228 small boat are choosen & fitted correctly even if all it got are guns. Get a cb90 for their small boat for example.
This is another issue about your train of thoughts. As i have said before

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Oct 1 2021, 01:09 AM)

1. day to day security

All you talk about, just relates to number 2.

It does not say anything about number 1.

Even if all MMEA got big guns, what can it do against Chinese Navy in a war scenario?

alexz23
post Oct 2 2021, 06:52 PM

A feasible plan must be just as big as how much $$$ that you can spend.

A plan that does not consider $$$ is just a dream or wish.

for example, as planned for RMK12. My mistake, as planned for RMK13 2026-2030.

- 6 NGPV for RM3 billion or 714 million dollars.

The same amount of money can be used for

- 1 scorpene for 500 million dollars + 5 Korean 140m 4000 tonnes OPVs for 200 million dollars.

Prudent planning of spending can give us much more better overall defence capabilities. Planning things outside of our budget isn't.

This post has been edited by alexz23: Oct 3 2021, 02:03 AM
alexz23
post Oct 3 2021, 01:20 AM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 2 2021, 10:03 PM)
Facts.
*There's no NGPC going to be ordered by RMK12
*.NGPC as per latest DWP is a warship not a gunboat.
*There's no price given for NGPV price, not even a reporter speculation, all he got is the numbers from BNS wetdream of selling gunboat for rm500 mil a pop.
Please write opinion as an opinion, because as someone said, please write opinions as opinion, because there's nothing wrong with having an opinion but please state it's an opinion 🤣

And your prudent planning is buying more gunboats?  How is gunboats better than RMN actually plan for RMK12

Kapal Misi Pesisir (Littoral Mission Ship, LMS) yang boleh menjalankan pelbagai misi termasuk SAR dan HADR, antikeganasan dan antipelanunan, pengumpulan risikan dan peninjauan, hidrografi dan antiperiuk api. LMS adalah reka bentuk modular dan boleh dilengkapi dengan senjata dan sistem tambahan untuk memenuhi keperluan operasi masa hadapan
And more  Scorpene, the subs who aquatic signature documents had been leaked in full glory?

It's really weird for bean counter like yourself to recommend Scorpene when German & it's Korean derivatives are half the price. Or the fact Scorpene has been leak is the reason you want it?
my typo mistake. I fully admit.

Actually 6 NGPV batch 2 in RMK13 2026-2030.

The NGPV batch 2 requirements does not ever mention missiles. None.

The only mention on armament is regarding the current NGPV batch 1 which is built from the start as FFBNW can be armed if needed

Also rather than slandering me, give me proof when did I did plan for gunboats for TLDM?

Obviously if we want additional subs, we should go for scorpenes so that all our submarine crew can be interchangeable for all submarines. I plan with the reality in mind, and the reality is just that, even if there are other cheaper subs. Submarines are specialised ships with specialised systems, unlike OPVs. We cannot afford to have to train for 2 different submarine types.

Currently scorpene are still one of the best conventional submarines out there. Which is why Philippines and Indonesia aspires to get them. Also why US Navy is training with scorpenes.

https://www.philstar.com/headlines/2019/10/...est-suited-navy

https://independensi.com/2020/01/21/digangg...duksi-eropa-as/

https://www.thedrive.com/the-war-zone/41387...rs-in-san-diego

on the scorpene leak. it is just a user manual. how to use the scorpenes. no technical details of acoustic performance of the submarine is there. Its like a manual how to use your handphone.

https://newsable.asianetnews.com/india/new-...e-documents-out

However, the new set of documents, with Indian Navy insignia on it and marked "Restricted Scorpene India", gives details about the sonar system of the submarines which is used to gather intelligence underwater.

It talks about a wide range of technical specifications of the sonars and at what degree and frequency it will function.

The documents detail the "Operating Instruction Manual", which talks about how to select a target for weapon firing, weapon configuration selection, among others.

Though the Navy has not yet officially reacted to the release of new documents, sources maintained that it does not compromise national security.

They said the same information about a submarine was on "many naval defence websites".

"On the face of it, these documents are basic operating manual. You buy any goods from the market; it will come with an operating manual," defence analyst Commodore Uday Bhaskar (Retd), Director of Society for Policy Studies told PTI. If the question is if tonight's revelation has made our submarines vulnerable, "then the answer is no", he said.

"It is more like basic operating instructions for the user," he said.

If you know how a submarine functions, it does not usually use active sonar to search for targets. If you use active sonar, then everyone will know that you are there, leaked documents or not. So even knowing detail about the submarine active sonars it does not compromise the stealthiness of the submarine itself.

For a person who misunderstood lots of things, still want to prove me wrong or my ideas are absurd?

This coming from a person who suggests destroyers for TLDM.

This post has been edited by alexz23: Oct 3 2021, 01:55 AM
alexz23
post Oct 3 2021, 02:00 AM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 2 2021, 09:29 PM)
Everyone know that Chinese coast guard & their maritime militia are them doing their small stick diplomacy. They are not capable of projecting power yet but they wanted to do it now and so they send out lightly arms ship for low intensity conflicts for now.Make no mistake, once those navy ship are complete it would replace those CG & maritime militia for  a proper power projection.

Using all our money to fund CG to fight their CG are just a anjing mengejar bayang bayang. We would never able to match them in numbers and as we do that, their actual navy would show up. Their CG are just a distraction. Why blow money chase a distraction while ignoring the big bad wolf over the horizons? Winter are  coming so to speak, you care too much about the zombie horde but not the night king himself.

CG should acquired enough vessel to do their enforcement job first then think of how those vessel can contribute to national defense. Not go around building ship for the sole purpose of babysitting them Chinese. Those ship are useless once their navy comes.

Everyone know we don't have enough money. Why do you think US gifts us those radar in the first place? Play out card right and we could get patriot that they pull out of Saudi place here. Nothing wrong enlisting Jap & US aegis destroyer to pusing pusing around here. Again you are playing all by myself something that grant Chinese the advantage.

And you really expect your idea of cooperation in which you expect other to fight the Chinese on your behalf for your own EEZ while you wait by the shore line going to work? Which idiots going to do that?

And also acquiring nuclear delivery platforms  like Sinki just did with f35A & escorting foreign operators who carry nuclear bomb like we did few days ago is NOT aqusition of nuclear weapons nor despite both being public knowledge not like any of our ZOFAN neighbors bangkang it.

Ps. I also noticed someone with the same name as you get pissed off at possible legacy hornet acquisition in another media platforms. What's wrong with getting 10 to 28 jet as interim solution until we can get F35?

Why exactly do you keep going back to strategies that always give them Chinese the upper hands again & again? After being told it's would play on Chinese strength and you are at a disadvantage, you keep insisting we do it again and again. Isn't all the asymmetrical warfare you like about is all about exploiting adversery weakness & avoiding their strength. And yet you are doing the complete opposite of playing into their strength, discarding your advantage nor take advantage of their weakness?
Again you go back to the original 1525 As usual.

How exactly is the Chinese LMS going to be renovated to fullfil all the requirements of LMS outline in the DWP? You yourself said it's impossible to install minesweeper in the CLMS. Why thrown away all the supposed contenders of 2LMS RFI? Why would people offered >1000 tons ship id what they wanted is a 700 tons ship. Why ignore all reports that 2LMS would cost RM500 mil? Why  ignore the fact DWP called NGPC a kapal perang. Why ignore DWP calling 2LMS can be FFBNW weapon?

Why you always go Back to the original 1525 even after the DWP,RFI & so on? Seem you currently just pusing pusing  to OG 1525 and ignore everything afterwards just to justified your own confirmation biases that RMN general are idiots for ordering gunboat even after the DWP mention it's not going to be a gunboats.

They are not ordering anymore gunboat. Just move on already.
This is the OG 1525

Fact.
* Navy usually has a fixed RM 7 billions ish budget every RMK
* There's no LMS for 2031-2040 period as you claim
* 8 LMS for 2026 - 2030 have all but disappear as per H20 statement.
If more LMS & NGPV going to be order beyond the current  2 RMK then it would be build using funding from those period. How exactly money from this RMK going to pay for ship 10 -20 years in the future?

At best you could only say the money from RMK14 going to supliment RMK13 acquisition of 6 3GPV. or they going to order 5 more NGPV in RMK14.
Anyway you the one who scared shit of Chinese missiles & complain about relative weakness of CG current gun. What wrong with getting plenty of big guns that can be put offshores to shoot stuff down from the air. protecting bases & escorting vessel is basically what USCG do when they join overseas war campaign.
I am explaining the original DWP plans to you.

that is not my plan.

CG is not a distraction. That is our peacetime security challenge. day in day out that is what we need to face.

that is what you cannot fathom.

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Oct 1 2021, 01:09 AM)

1. day to day security

Fact.
Which is why i say our 10 year budget is 4 billion dollars. If you just want to play fantasy fleet yes you can just buy whatever you want with that money. But reality is much more complicated than that. You need to consider allocating money to complete the Gowinds for example.

Fact.
* There's no LMS for 2031-2040 period as you claim
My bad. It is in RMK17 2046-2050. The fact is, the overall TLDM plan is still for a total of 18 LMS and 18 NGPV. Not cancelled and budget for each ship significantly increased as your assumption.

Fact.
* 8 LMS for 2026 - 2030 have all but disappear as per H20 statement.
From H2O statement 8 LMS is for RMK12 2021-2025. No LMS for RMK13 2026-2030.

That means 4 LMS RMK11 + 8 LMS RMK12 = 12 LMS. It does not mean 6 LMS is deleted, but just moved to other RMKs. As you can see original RMK11 plans for just 2 LMS, but we got 4 LMS paid for in RMK11. It also does not mean the allocation for each LMS has been increased as you suggested.

From H2O statement, he explicitly say that this plan is a continuation of the DWP and 15to5.
Kertas Putih Pertahanan (KPP) telah menetapkan bahawa strategi pertahanan negara perlu dilaksanakan mengikut tiga tonggak utama iaitu Cegah Rintang Berpadu, Pertahanan Komprehensif dan Perkongsian
Berwibawa. Lanjutan itu, KPP juga telah menggariskan pelan jangka panjang bagi pembangunan Angkatan Masa Hadapan untuk Angkatan Tentera Malaysia ( ATM).

Bagi segmen keupayaan tentera laut, selari dengan aspirasi KPP ini, Tentera Laut Diraja Malaysia (TLDM), kini sedang melaksanakan beberapa inisiatif seperti:

1. Pelan pembangunan keupayaannya melalui Program Transformasi Armada TLDM 15ke5. Pelan ini dijangka akan dapat mengatasi cabaran yang dihadapi TLDM dalam menguruskan aset-aset yang mengalami keusangan dengan mentransformasikan 15 kelas kapalyang lama kepada hanya 5 kelas kapal yang baharu. 5 kelas kapal tersebut terdiri daripada Littoral Combatant Ship (LCS), Littoral Mission Ship (LMS), Multi Role Support Ship (MRSS), New Generation Patrol Vessel (NGPV) dan Kapal Selam.

Anyway you the one who scared shit of Chinese missiles & complain about relative weakness of CG current gun.
Why are you making up stories? Where did I even complain about CG guns????

It is you that has a deep fascination on upgunning and uparming the MMEA, wanting MMEA to be able to support TLDM in wartime roles. I was asking you if all MMEA ships was upgunned, what can those ships do against the might of the Chinese Navy?

Ps. I also noticed someone with the same name as you get pissed off at possible legacy hornet acquisition in another media platforms. What's wrong with getting 10 to 28 jet as interim solution until we can get F35?
Where? Give me the links.

To be clear. I have no problems for us getting extra used Legacy Horents as intrim MRCA. No issues at all.

What I always stress is.

Getting additional legacy hornets should not be the substitute for our buy of LCA/FLIT. This must be very clear.

We cannot afford to fly MRCAs for daily missions. The flying costs are enormous. We need to fly fighters with affordable operating costs but having the performance to do supersonic interceptions if needed.

This post has been edited by alexz23: Oct 3 2021, 02:59 AM
alexz23
post Oct 3 2021, 02:29 AM

Fact.
okay you know about this fact right?

so how can this fact obtain the ships that you wanted? How can TLDM be the things you say with this budget?

lay it out for me.

for RMK12 + RMK13. 2021-2030. RM14 billion total budget.

Make me say yes this plan is good. Better than DWP. Better than H2O.
alexz23
post Oct 4 2021, 10:33 AM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 3 2021, 06:20 AM)
Still pusing pusing lagi? DWP called 3GPV a kapal perang and put it in the same categories as LCS. You failure to understood your own national language is not my fault. You deny what terang terang written in DWP to satisfied your own cognitive biases that ATM is stupid is also not my fault.

Who is the one who pusing?

I fully understand the KPP in Malay. If you cannot understand malay properly, I will also post the official english version of the KPP, of the paragraph that you quoted.

English version

Malaysia’s MMZ is very vast, covering the EEZ, continental shelf and the airspace above them.
Air and maritime capabilities are needed to enhance the MDA for better operating picture
within the extended area. The MAF needs to achieve Sea Control on the surface and sub-surface
through Sea Denial and Sea Assertion. Therefore, the MAF relies on two classes of warships
which are the Littoral Combat Ships (LCSs) and the New Generation Patrol Vessels (NGPVs)
that are able to operate in these areas with the required range, endurance and capabilities.
The new LCS will be complemented by helicopters and enhanced Anti-Air Warfare (AAW),
Anti-Surface Warfare (ASuW) and Anti-Submarine Warfare (ASW) capabilities to support its
missions. Meanwhile, the current NGPV can be retrofitted with additional weapon systems if
required. The new LCS will replace the older classes of frigates and corvettes in stages.
Malay version

ZMM sangat luas meliputi ZEE, pelantar benua dan ruang udara di atasnya. Keupayaan udara
dan maritim diperlukan untuk meningkatkan MDA untuk memberi gambaran operasi yang
lebih baik di kawasan lanjutan. ATM perlu mencapai Kawalan Laut (Sea Control) di permukaan
dan bawah permukaan melalui Penafian Laut (Sea Denial) dan Penegasan Laut (Sea Assertion).
Justeru, ATM bergantung pada dua kelas kapal perang iaitu Kapal Tempur Pesisir (Littoral
Combat Ship, LCS) dan Kapal Ronda Generasi Baru (New Generation Patrol Vessel, NGPV) yang
mampu melaksanakan operasi di kawasan ini dengan jarak, ketahanan dan keupayaan yang
diperlukan. LCS baru yang dilengkapi dengan helikopter memiliki keupayaan Peperangan Anti
Udara (Anti-Air Warfare, AAW), Peperangan Anti Permukaan (Anti-Surface Warfare, ASuW) dan
Peperangan Anti Kapal Selam (Anti-Submarine Warfare, ASW) untuk kegunaan setiap misi yang
dilaksanakan. Sementara itu, NGPV sedia ada juga boleh dilengkapi dengan sistem senjata
tambahan jika diperlukan. LCS baru ini bakal menggantikan frigat dan korvet yang lebih
berusia secara berkala.
ATM needs to achieve Sea Control (mencapai Kawalan Laut) with 2 ways, 1. sea denial (penafian laut) and 2. sea assertion (penegasan laut).

To achieve that, it will depend on
1. LCS - for sea denial

2. NGPV for sea assertion

LCS - the new LCS to have helicopters and enhanced Anti-Air Warfare (AAW), Anti-Surface Warfare (ASuW) and Anti-Submarine Warfare (ASW) capabilities. The new LCS will replace the older classes of frigates and corvettes in stages.

NGPV - no explicit mention of future NGPV capabilities. Only mention that the existing, current NGPV can be retrofitted with additional weapon systems if required (NGPV sedia ada juga boleh dilengkapi dengan sistem senjata
tambahan jika diperlukan).
Existing NGPV means the current 6 ships of the KEDAH class, which is built from the start with FFBNW provisions.

Plenty of other publications has written about TLDM requirements for NGPV Batch 2 and 3.

From JANES

The RMN has a stated requirement for an additional 12 Kedah-class corvettes, which are expected to be built through two additional batches. The acquisition forms part of the RMN’s ’15 to 5’ modernisation programme, through which the RMN plans to consolidate its fleet of 15 ship classes into five to improve cost efficiencies.

Ghazali said that in line with this programme, the batch-two proposal is “budget driven with a cost ceiling we cannot exceed”. Jane’s understands that the targeted unit price of the second-batch ships is less than MYR500 million (USD129 million).

Although most of the proposed dimensions and specifications of the batch-two class are the same as the batch-one vessels, Ghazali added that cost efficiencies will be achieved by “scaling down” some of the configurations and capabilities, including weapons systems
From malaysian defence

Unlike the original batch, the navy wants the NGPV Batch 2 as a gun ship only to reduce cost

Scorpene are due to retirement under the OG 1525 during 2030s. After 20 years of service. Even if it didn't, at most you can only squeeze out 10 more years out of it . There's no point buying it for the sake of commonalities. There's no saving whatsoever. Surely you know that already.
Our current scorpenes will still have at least 20 more years of service left. If that is the case, the earliest out of service date would be around 2039-2041. I suggest to buy a 3rd scorpene in 2026-2030. That would entail around 15 years of service alongside the current scorpene submarines. Plus 3 more submarines and 6 large UUVs from 2031 onwards.

So far it's doesn't matter to you how DWP describe the 2lms nor the DWP called 3GPV a kapal perang. You keep coming back to its being a gunboat and go on a full rant on how stupid RMN is.  Then you keep on claiming your gunboat is in the DWP. Then you go on a pusing of how budget from RMK12 going to pay for boat in RMK14. Seriously how far down the retard hole do you want to dig yourself into?

I am not the one who does not understand the DWP. Read my explanation above.

My point is, if TLDM wants a 120+ million dollars NGPV as per their requirements, it is better to actually buy 40 million dollars 140m 4000 tonnes OPV from Korea for MMEA instead. Money saved not buying 120+ million dollars NGPV could better used to buy TLDM proper fully armed Frigates and Submarines instead.

Also when did I even say budget from RMK12 going to pay for boat in RMK14???

This post has been edited by alexz23: Oct 4 2021, 10:48 AM
alexz23
post Oct 4 2021, 01:47 PM

Orang bosan ni ada info tentang Tunisia.

Tunisian air force chief Mohamed Hajjem, who urgently needs to replace his fighter jets, has finally ditched plans to purchase the F-18s that Kuwait is preparing to withdraw from service.

The Tunisian air force is not going add US-made F-18 Hornet fighter-bombers to its fleet after all. According to our information, its chief of staff, Mohamed Hajjem, has drawn a definitive line through a plan to the buy second-hand jets, which Kuwait had offered to sell to Tunisia at a knock-down price. Tunisian officers went to Kuwait a few weeks ago to closely examine the planes. But the Kuwait Air Force has meanwhile embarked on talks with another, better-off potential client (this should be TUDM). And the Tunisian military has deemed that the per flight-hour and maintenance costs of these very complex aircraft would be prohibitive for its budget (which is why I always stress that used hornets are not to replace our LCA/FLIT requirements, but more as an additional to them)

21 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.1059sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:47 PM