Military Thread V28

Lampuajaib
post Oct 6 2021, 10:35 AM

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Oct 6 2021, 10:26 AM)
Want them to succeed?

Do like Korea. Buy local even if it is not cost effective.

Like just buy 100+ new Surion even if need to retire still perfectly operational Blackhawks.

Want deftech to survive? Buy Gempita 8x8 second batch.

Want SMEO to survive? Buy ammo from SMEO periodically, and sell old ammo overseas.

Want BNS to survive? Continue the Gowind project.
Like Proton?
No thanks.
Lampuajaib
post Oct 6 2021, 11:02 AM

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Oct 6 2021, 10:34 AM)
So compare PTDI to Embraer?

Brazil Embraer is many times more successful than PTDI.

Business jets (Phenom, Praetor), passenger jets (E-Jet), trainer (super tucano) all very popular all over the world.

Yes ..PT Di can be compared to Embraer, why not?
PT Di is smaller than Embraer....certainly nothing to discuss.

Your problem is if you compare PT DI to CTRM or UMW...No company in MY can design and make plane.

Even PT DI can build the whole body of EC725, they can not make them fly.....where do you think MY aero tech level? They waiting repeat order and can make if they are given parts spesification and dimension.
Maybe the raising Vietnam can replace us later as subcon because can make cheaper parts. Why not? All tech to make parts belong to the parent company.
Even if MY can still make those parts where want to sell?

This post has been edited by Lampuajaib: Oct 6 2021, 11:13 AM
Lampuajaib
post Oct 7 2021, 12:09 PM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 6 2021, 08:27 PM)
I don't get it?..

Is he's talking about creating domestic military industrial complex or to seek timbang balas from foreign purchase?
ToT is priority...
ToT--->local production--->reduced import--->export--->win
Lampuajaib
post Oct 8 2021, 07:59 AM

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Oct 7 2021, 10:32 PM)
the technical side of me has always searching and looking at the latest technologies that can be fitted/implemented into.

For my alexLMS, although I have never said about this, I have been closely looking and studying about this technology since early this year. And I am amazed to see it included on this Damen concept.

Under the hull is stabilizer I think.
It is not new tech....it just an optional if needed
Lampuajaib
post Oct 8 2021, 08:23 AM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 8 2021, 01:00 AM)
Well, don't overestimated them then 😉

While our politikus are disinterest their politicians give impression that's they going to get everything under the sun. Doubt they going to get 30ffm  on top of fremm nor Rafale on top of f15. It would likely be one or the other, rather than both.
Probably both...
This is my calculation about ID navy and AF

ID navy need replacement for 6 van speijk class and 16 parchim class. Total of 22 units need to be replaced gradually.
Even if fremm and AH140 are ordered, they still need more than they already ordered.

For ID AF, they already retired F5 which replaced by SU35. But I think the deal will be canceled due to CAATSA.
IMO, the Rafale is set to replace their F5. The F15 is for their new squadron. ID has plan to have 10-11 Sq of fighter. Even their current F-16s are only a refurbished that need to be replace in 20 years. Rafale, F15, Boramae are still not enough to fill their 10-11 Sq.ID will be busy shopping gradually in the future.

This post has been edited by Lampuajaib: Oct 8 2021, 08:27 AM
Lampuajaib
post Oct 8 2021, 08:51 AM

This is ID long term modernization plan. Maybe it can give us something to think. Lets.focus on the amount of money.

ndonesia reveals USD125 billion military modernisation plan
by Jon Grevatt & Andrew MacDonald Jun 1, 2021, 11:12 AM

A draft regulation from Indonesia’s presidential office has outlined the requirement for investment of USD125 billion in military modernisation through to the mid-2040s. The funding proposal is indicative of Indonesia’s military ambitions and its growing concerns about regional security.

The draft regulation – entitled ‘Fulfilling the Defence and Security Equipment Needs of the Ministry of Defence and Indonesian Armed Forces (TNI) 2020-24’ – was issued recently but requires various approvals from ministries and the House of Representatives before enactment. The investment plan also highlights Indonesia’s continuing dependency on foreign loans.

Indonesia has stated a requirement for funding worth USD125 billion in military investment through to the mid-2040s. The country’s modernisation requirements are thought to include Lockheed Martin F-16V fighter aircraft.  (Lockheed Martin)
Indonesia has stated a requirement for funding worth USD125 billion in military investment through to the mid-2040s. The country’s modernisation requirements are thought to include Lockheed Martin F-16V fighter aircraft. (Lockheed Martin)

The proposed regulation details the requirement for USD124.9 billion for TNI modernisation funding over a period of five ‘strategic plans’ each lasting five years. The first strategic plan runs 2020–24 and coincides with the final phase of the TNI’s Minimum Essential Force (MEF) programme, while the last will be 2040–44.

The document proposes funding of USD79 billion for defence equipment during this 25-year period, USD32.5 billion for sustainment, and the remaining USD13.4 billion for interest payments on foreign loans.

The regulation prioritises sourcing TNI modernisation requirements from local industry. However, it states, “In the event that domestic products cannot be [procured], then foreign products can be used.”

When defence equipment is imported, the regulation identifies the requirement to enforce “technology transfers and offsets” to support local industry’s involvement in the procurement. This industrial strategy also includes the provision of countertrade through which Indonesia seeks to export local commodities in part exchange for materiel.
Lampuajaib
post Oct 8 2021, 09:03 AM

Fremm, AH140, F15EX,Rafale....all of them will not exceed $15 billion....where the other $110 billion will be spent?

Lampuajaib
post Oct 8 2021, 09:44 AM

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Oct 8 2021, 09:39 AM)
That is a plan budget until up to around 2045. A budget for 15 years.

All the buy that you mention is only to about 2024.

of what you mention

FREMM would be about 7 billion dollars
AH140 should be less than 1 billion dollars
F-15EX should be at least 5 billion dollars, similarly for the Rafale.

next would be submarines, at least 50 KFX/IFX, more C-130J hercules, hundreds of the expensive Harimau tanks, 8-10 Mogami Frigates..
To compare, Malaysian defence development budget for 10 years up till 2030 is expected to be just about 7-9 billion dollars.
And more.......ID will have better which they never have before.
At least ID prepare for the worst but not for MY....MY will not be ready in 30 years if this shit happened..

World War III with China ‘possible’: Taiwan asks Australia for help

China is increasingly acting out its long-stated intention to invade Taiwan, and the West needs to be ready should the conflict escalate into World War III, experts say.
https://www.skynews.com.au/australia-news/p...7da8b9bc8d66c62
ID prepare for this although they never say it...meanwhile...........

This post has been edited by Lampuajaib: Oct 8 2021, 09:54 AM
Lampuajaib
post Oct 8 2021, 10:02 AM

Maybe...if in 30 years WWIII is happened many Malaysian will cross the border and become PATI in indon
Helang boleh pigi mana mana tempat depa mahu, rakyat marhaen mana nak pigi?

This post has been edited by Lampuajaib: Oct 8 2021, 10:10 AM
Lampuajaib
post Oct 8 2021, 10:27 AM

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Oct 8 2021, 10:15 AM)
In the next GE, if there is a 3rd choice other than the current government or opposition, better pick the 3rd choice.
The economy crisis 97 and embargoed had knock ID head very hard that they learned the lesson a lot.
It is a blessing in the long run. They walk step by step.

Meanwhile MY always proud and feel strong that Malaysia boleh.....maybe it is MY turn to be knocked harder.
Lampuajaib
post Oct 8 2021, 12:05 PM

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Oct 8 2021, 11:27 AM)
For malaysian future MRCA requirements, I have no issues if TUDM go for the KF-X. We need a fighter that we can afford not just to buy, but a fighter that we can afford to fly, of which the F-35 is probably not. F-35 is single engined, while KF-X is twin engined, for redundancy on overwater missions. The fact that Indonesia is going to use it should not be a factor at all.
I think MY will get F35 or others 5th gen fighter later.
If MY want to buy KFX, we should look at SK-ID agreement first who has the right to sell to us. MY is closer to ID.

ID is the producer that will make TNI is initial user of KFX. The good thing for ID that ID can make changes/ modification/upgrade by themselves without any permission needed.

This post has been edited by Lampuajaib: Oct 8 2021, 12:10 PM
Lampuajaib
post Oct 9 2021, 09:15 AM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 8 2021, 05:37 PM)
In my opinion,

ID or at the very least Probowo ain't stupid to continue with large military footprint doctrines. They are well versed in western doctrines of few platforms to acquired a technological edge. They afterall spend as much as SG but have no power projection capabilities compared to SG.

If you are tallking about power projection then you should look into support capabilities. Logistics is the key of power projection. Front liners need close and immediate support to survive.
Why US needs Guam? Why China builds artificial island is SCS?
How many support ship and plane ID compare to SG?
LST, LPD, Oiler ship?
Gen. McArrhur used "Leap frog" strategy to cut supply chain of Japanese forces in WWII and it was very effective. US don't need to attack every Japanese position.
So keeping large military footprint doesn't do ID any favors at all. It just something they do before because terpaksa rather than they wanted too. ID back then has bad record in human right abuse. But most of their human right abuse stem from their inability to provide wealth to their citizens beyond java.

Human right issue is a tool of pressing in diplomatic or an excuse to invade foreign land. You have human right issue in arabs but no in Israel.
Bebas aktif is just a nice name to we are scared of sanction to secure own country create an almost juche situation that spill to their economic situation. The lack of intergration with other countries, export & FDI created a unstable economic environment & rupiah values resulting in the lack of ability to acquired debt and thus no ability to develop their economy & infrastructure. Which created a pocket of dissented that seek seperation in the first place.

But ID economy is flourish....their public debt compare to gdp is much lower than MY.
I don't expect modernization in TNI-AD because it's dual roles is defense & protecting the 'intergtity' of kesatuan Indonesia. They can't afford it for as long as the other islands aren't develop and wealthy. But for AF & navy they can and should modernize.

But ID army is already modernized and economy is spread across the nation.
ID objective is to take advantage of US desperation to counter china to strengthen themselves and so by 2040 they can play abang besar kawasan. US want ID help to counter china but not to overdo it and allowed ID to be a abang besar kawasan without any kind of a leashes to tie ID.

Nothing wrong....taking advantage is a smart move.
Do you think othet nations in kawasan not doing it?
It is not the time yet to decide to support who, better prepare if war is happened.
So they do want to move away from bebas aktif doctrines that comes at the expenses of their economy & military might. Remember the difference in MY & ID aerospace industry size? They can be bigger than us if they choose not to be bebas aktif anymore. They like us are seeking US relationship not just for defense but more so for economic purposes.

Bebas aktif is just a tool in general, but if we are at war there is no bebas aktif anymore. We join to who protect our interest and sovereignity.
the rafales deal is there because US refuse to sell them f15 initial. F16 has limited range which make it less than ideal for operation in ID.  They would need to buy a lot of F16 to cover their entire country, but they can reduce the number of jet  they need by using  F15 or Rafale or keep the same number of jet and be very powerful. US are reluctant to sell them F15 because of it range & technology advantage mean it can threaten Aussie & SG as well.  Off course ID would ceases to be a threats when they join in and intergrated their economy & defense platforms to their neighbors & western powers. Which is what ID want to do probably.

Why Rafael and why F15? Why not only Rafael or F15?
It is ID policy to get rojak platform after they have learned what embargoed can do to them. They know they can not trust US or anyone. ID is too big to rely on someone. ID see themselves as India or Turkey. Self sufficiency is the only comfort solution.
ID have bargain position on economy and military. US and China preffer to make friend with ID.
Buying both F15 & Rafale doesn't help ID to be more powerful, it make them weak due to the high cost of supporting multiple platforms and buying multiple missiles something that our AF has experience before. If they wanted to be strong they just choose 1 over the other like what we currently plans to do. If they ddidn't .& still acquired both then it mean they don't want to be as strong as possible. Which is good for us ( & SG too) in economics terms i guess.

Buying Rafale and F15 Will make ID strong, why not?
Logistic nighmare? Only if you can not deal with it.
Even if ID operates F-16 and F15 the logistic issue is there.You can not eliminate logistic issue. Just deal with it.

This post has been edited by Lampuajaib: Oct 9 2021, 09:27 AM
Lampuajaib
post Oct 9 2021, 09:33 AM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 8 2021, 05:44 PM)
I think you know it already

KFX is exactly what people buy if they don't wish to pew pew china.
What?
Is there a sign on KFX that it can not pew pew China?

This post has been edited by Lampuajaib: Oct 9 2021, 09:34 AM
Lampuajaib
post Oct 9 2021, 09:34 AM

QUOTE(azriel @ Oct 9 2021, 08:05 AM)
RMAF CN235 MPA conversion during test flight at PT Dirgantara Indonesia facility. Credit to Ali Fahmun.

https://www.instagram.com/p/CUwv-gZPGJb/
Nice...
Soon will be delivered.
Lampuajaib
post Oct 13 2021, 12:12 PM

Meko A300 for Polish...
Tell me again why Gowind is chosen? Meko is not good enough?

Nice sigma 11515...improved version sigma 11514

This post has been edited by Lampuajaib: Oct 13 2021, 12:15 PM
Lampuajaib
post Oct 23 2021, 07:20 AM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 22 2021, 08:10 PM)
Big win for the Philippines.
12 F16 for half the previous price

WTF....
Filipina? Rupiah?

9 Pages « < 7 8 9Top

0.1115sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:43 PM