Acoustic or Digital Piano, For new starter / beginner / newbie.

TSgkl83
post Mar 29 2021, 08:08 PM, updated 5y ago

8,377 posts

Hi all, i planned to get a piano for my daughter as she using keyboard for home practices.
Recently her teacher commented that she are ready for proper piano unit for "true feels" from the sense of finger and music tones.

Among acoustic or digital piano, which is much suitable for beginners?
As digital piano, seem Korg B2SP much nearer to actual acoustic piano which come with table stand and 3 pedals may learn till grade 4/5 at least?
zuozi
post Mar 29 2021, 08:15 PM

1,267 posts

Go for digital piano , once she good and old enough will looking for more expensive
TSgkl83
post Mar 29 2021, 08:31 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Mar 29 2021, 08:15 PM)
Go for digital piano , once she good and old enough will looking for more expensive

thanks for advice as her teacher recommended acoustic as thought of long run but still can go for digital but make sure choose the right 1.
beside of Korg B2SP, any other brand / model of digital piano of can suggest for the budget around RM3-4k? Roland, Kawai, etc.
pipedream
post Mar 30 2021, 12:55 AM

2,353 posts

a good acoustic piano is a returning investment in the long run

one proper acoustic piano is approximately 2-3x of a basic digital piano (around 3k)

for that value, you get an unit that could last you even after your daughter grown up

comparatively, a digital piano last maybe around 3-4 years before it gets wonky (my 5k casio dp spoilt after few years)

and the touch and feel of an acoustic is way different than a digital

you can't get the organic feel from a digital, the way the keys respond, the way the sustain decays, its vastly different from an emulated thing from a digital piano, you will get bad habits when getting too used on a digital

its the same thing as buying a pair of shoes

u can spend rm 10 today and buy one cheap pair of shoes or 100 for a quality one

after 2 weeks the rm 10 shoes spoilt and you have to change them for another rm 10

at the end of the day, you spent almost as much as a quality one but with diminishing return

This post has been edited by pipedream: Mar 30 2021, 12:59 AM
zuozi
post Mar 30 2021, 01:50 AM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Mar 29 2021, 08:31 PM)
thanks for advice as her teacher recommended acoustic as thought of long run but still can go for digital but make sure choose the right 1.
beside of Korg B2SP, any other brand / model of digital piano of can suggest for the budget around RM3-4k? Roland, Kawai, etc.
close enough hammer action fully weighted digital piano 3-4k budget example Roland FP-30
but digital never close enough to proper acoustic
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UO8eUinFl3o

for your reference digital and acoustic
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hqyx7Hrs9C0

try ask her teacher if UPRIGHT PIANO ok too because acoustic really overkill for beginner XD long run are great what if she old enough and never touch it LOL ,

This post has been edited by zuozi: Mar 30 2021, 01:57 AM
ktek
post Mar 30 2021, 09:12 AM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

voscar u can sell him
TSgkl83
post Mar 30 2021, 01:36 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Mar 30 2021, 12:55 AM)
comparatively, a digital piano last maybe around 3-4 years before it gets wonky (my 5k casio dp spoilt after few years)

I also thought of wear and tear of acoustic since it made of metal (rust) and wood (rot)?

assumed a new acoustic piano for 1st 5 year for beginner learning but underutilized.
Once reached the certain professional level like grade5 and above does the aged piano still can produce good sound and last for another 10 years?

if second set of acoustics piano still required when later stages, that why i thought of digital piano instead for early stage to "buy and throw" laugh.gif
df569
post Mar 30 2021, 01:48 PM

112 posts

Learning piano is a big big investment but that being said, I think its best to go straight to an acoustic piano as you will not need to worry about upgrading it in the future. The high quality digital pianos are upwards of a few thousand ringgit already so might as well go for acoustic.
TSgkl83
post Mar 30 2021, 01:48 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Mar 30 2021, 01:50 AM)
close enough hammer action fully weighted digital piano 3-4k budget example Roland FP-30
but digital never close enough to proper acoustic
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UO8eUinFl3o

for your reference digital and acoustic
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hqyx7Hrs9C0

try ask her teacher if UPRIGHT PIANO ok too because acoustic really overkill for beginner XD long run are great what if she old enough and never touch it LOL ,

so far the shop seller recommended Roland FP10 (1pedal) and Korg B2SP (3pedal) if expecting Natural Weighted Hammer Action
acoustic sound is secondary as i believe my daughter still cannot differentiate the tones of DoReMi by her ears

it was another concerns in case my daughter hardly touch acoustic piano when she getting older but taking up house space permanently, my house do have acoustic drum taking some spaces now sweat.gif with digital piano, i can dump it into her room instead later. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gkl83: Mar 30 2021, 01:52 PM
TSgkl83
post Mar 30 2021, 01:58 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(df569 @ Mar 30 2021, 01:48 PM)
Learning piano is a big big investment but that being said, I think its best to go straight to an acoustic piano as you will not need to worry about upgrading it in the future. The high quality digital pianos are upwards of a few thousand ringgit already so might as well go for acoustic.

her teacher suggested acoustic more than digital in facts.
acoustic piano cost about RM5k at least but digital piano about RM3k and unsure how long is the lifespan of that acoustic piano. 10 years? and second set later?

but i cant guarantee the investment worth for it or not as i unsure my daughter committed for piano life for another 5-20 years? sweat.gif
maybe one day she may hint us for stop learning piano once she involved with more activities later.

This post has been edited by gkl83: Mar 30 2021, 02:00 PM
df569
post Mar 30 2021, 02:46 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Mar 30 2021, 01:58 PM)
her  teacher suggested acoustic more than digital in facts.
acoustic piano cost about RM5k at least but digital piano about RM3k and unsure how long is the lifespan of that acoustic piano. 10 years? and second set later?

but i cant guarantee the investment worth for it or not as i unsure my daughter committed for piano life for another 5-20 years?  sweat.gif
maybe one day she may hint us for stop learning piano once she involved with more activities later.
Yea, I myself have learned piano for 10 years and it has gotten to a point where you really have to spare 2 hours daily for practice. It is a real commitment that takes a lot of time.
Then again, your child has to ask herself what does she want to achieve in music, to play the piano for a living (professional pianist or music teacher) or just personal recreational hobby? But piano is a good foundation for all instruments so it will be relatively easy if she wants to transition to other instruments.
zuozi
post Mar 30 2021, 04:34 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Mar 30 2021, 01:48 PM)
so far the shop seller recommended Roland FP10 (1pedal) and Korg B2SP (3pedal) if expecting Natural Weighted Hammer Action
acoustic sound is secondary as i believe my daughter still cannot differentiate the tones of DoReMi by her ears

it was another concerns in case my daughter hardly touch acoustic piano when she getting older but taking up house space permanently, my house do have acoustic drum taking some spaces now sweat.gif  with digital piano, i can dump it into her room instead later. tongue.gif
Hahahaha I'm confused now , your acoustic also digital? I thought you asking something like electric drum and drum

Sorry if my misunderstanding your digital piano aka electric keyboard? Like roland fantom series

Then acoustic digital piano like your shop recommend fp 10

I thought you asking proper acoustic piano XD my bad my bad

This post has been edited by zuozi: Mar 30 2021, 04:35 PM
pipedream
post Mar 30 2021, 05:02 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Mar 30 2021, 01:36 PM)
I also thought of wear and tear of acoustic since it made of metal (rust) and wood (rot)?

assumed a new acoustic piano for 1st 5 year for beginner learning but underutilized.
Once reached the certain professional level like grade5 and above does the aged piano still can produce good sound and last for another 10 years?

if second set of acoustics piano still required when later stages, that why i thought of digital piano instead for early stage to "buy and throw" laugh.gif
my acoustic piano was bought used aged 35 years old

still sounds good to this day

with proper maintenance, even a 100 year old acoustic piano can sound good

of course if u put the piano expose to extreme enviroment like humidity it will rot like all other wood stuff biggrin.gif

i just have a dehumidifier on mine 24/7
pipedream
post Mar 30 2021, 05:06 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Mar 30 2021, 01:58 PM)
her  teacher suggested acoustic more than digital in facts.

but i cant guarantee the investment worth for it or not as i unsure my daughter committed for piano life for another 5-20 years?  sweat.gif
again the old 'i don't trust my daughter to persist learning'

shes your daughter, have some faith biggrin.gif

anyway, u can resell the acoustic with good price in any case, provided its well maintained
TSgkl83
post Mar 31 2021, 10:12 AM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Mar 30 2021, 05:06 PM)
shes your daughter, have some faith  biggrin.gif

in fact, she want learn music (piano) when she knew his bro learning drum. dry.gif

i still can see her interest but still no strong enough, maybe the instrument (using cheap keyboard) cant fulfil much and though of "better" piano to catch her interests. Still, i preferably my kids have additional skillset rather than school education only.
pipedream
post Mar 31 2021, 11:21 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Mar 31 2021, 10:12 AM)
in fact, she want learn music (piano) when she knew his bro learning drum.  dry.gif

i still can see her interest but still no strong enough, maybe the instrument (using cheap keyboard) cant fulfil much and though of "better" piano to catch her interests. Still, i preferably my kids have additional skillset rather than school education only.
its incredibly important to learn music, in fact i think it should be compulsory for every kids, helps to develop mental and motor skills. not a placebo.

kids are impressionable, its your job as well to nurture their interest. one way i could think of is that you learn or at least attempt to learn the piano together with her as a motivation, could help yourself too.

i self taught at around 21-22 year old, even then, i could still feel the effect. i was a slow learner when i was a kid, would take me ages to understand maths, today i am doing statistics.
cawan
post Apr 1 2021, 11:30 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Mar 29 2021, 08:08 PM)
Hi all, i planned to get a piano for my daughter as she using keyboard for home practices.
Recently her teacher commented that she are ready for proper piano unit for "true feels" from the sense of finger and music tones.

Among acoustic or digital piano, which is much suitable for beginners?
As digital piano, seem Korg B2SP much nearer to actual acoustic piano which come with table stand and 3 pedals may learn till grade 4/5 at least?
share me experience here aaa.. my kids learn piano since 9 years old.. from start to 3-4 months with hands on training, teacher recommend to buy for home practise.

as 3 years of class, currently she now with level 2 yamaha.

must practise practise and practise..

for selection of Digital piano, with your budget. please have your model review, youtube.. or you can touch touch it.. buy with most "high end" u can.. i tell u why later here..

the same, my wife and i did learn a little bit by own.. yes ipad/ios apps.. just for fun laa..

when u get the high end model, the similarity of acoustic / classic piano play roles here..

- first the weighted keys.. acoustic / classic piano key are very very heavy.. u play play 20min, fingers are tired.. yes we in learning process. from current piano level she are, she could feel "other model that very cheap".. she will feel meh, no good, not feel with lower end model..
remember, piano are using fingers memory.. u need to feel it..

- second the sound .. yes for digital , almost none able to have perfect match sound.. but must choose which are very very good laaa.. from class, she learn to light finger and heavy key press.. here come to play, once u with lower end model, the sound are very out. light or heavy key press sound same! it totally failed there..

- next quality ofcos, and extraaa port, usb, bluetooth..

i tell u, when she at level 2, she can play a bit of own song.. she can play new sound on radio.. practise without book.. and for me, a reminder that, she start ask acoustic / classic piano here already..

fuhshssss.. till level 5 or above, yes laaa can target upright piano.. now not yet..

*ohhh dont buy digital piano through music class / teacher (ehemmm they receive commission, or bias to finished stock)
cawan
post Apr 1 2021, 11:39 AM

404 posts

oh mine model Roland F-140R
TSgkl83
post Apr 3 2021, 10:44 AM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Mar 31 2021, 11:21 AM)
kids are impressionable, its your job as well to nurture their interest. one way i could think of is that you learn or at least attempt to learn the piano together with her as a motivation, could help yourself too.

agreed, kids capabilities are beyond my imagination in fact. I tried to learn acoustic drum as hard as i can but both of hands and legs cant listen to my brain well. I tell my son this the tempo of that i expecting from Hi-hat (drum), he can instantly play right in front of me. innocent.gif so far i learn 1-2 song from acoustic drum but other kind of music kinda a lot of "patterns" and i such an old man cant catch up easily. rclxub.gif

Still, best to unleash your kids potential when they are young before the feel the living pressure when 20+ years old. Maybe that skills that they learnt when young would help them a lot in career in the future. that why i dont mind spending some bucks to buy instrument and music class.

QUOTE(cawan @ Apr 1 2021, 11:30 AM)
share me experience here aaa.. my kids learn piano since 9 years old.. from start to 3-4 months with hands on training, teacher recommend to buy for home practise.

as 3 years of class, currently she now with level 2 yamaha.
must practise practise and practise..
for selection of Digital piano, with your budget. please have your model review, youtube.. or you can touch touch it.. buy with most "high end" u can.. i tell u why later here..

the same, my wife and i did learn a little bit by own.. yes ipad/ios apps.. just for fun laa..
when u get the high end model, the similarity of acoustic / classic piano play roles here..

- first the weighted keys.. acoustic / classic piano key are very very heavy.. u play play 20min, fingers are tired.. yes we in learning process. from current piano level she are, she could feel "other model that very cheap".. she will feel meh, no good, not feel with lower end model..
remember, piano are using fingers memory.. u need to feel it..

- second the sound .. yes for digital , almost none able to have perfect match sound.. but must choose which are very very good laaa.. from class, she learn to light finger and heavy key press.. here come to play, once u with lower end model, the sound are very out. light or heavy key press sound same! it totally failed there..

- next quality ofcos, and extraaa port, usb, bluetooth..

i tell u, when she at level 2, she can play a bit of own song.. she can play new sound on radio.. practise without book..  and for me, a reminder that, she start ask acoustic / classic piano here already..

fuhshssss.. till level 5 or above, yes laaa can target upright piano.. now not yet..
*ohhh dont buy digital piano through music class / teacher (ehemmm they receive commission, or bias to finished stock)

I bought from Music Bliss last few days, so far they recommended Korg or Roland which below RM3k which "near" to acoustics piano setup, weighted keyboard, piano stand, pedals, bench.

Best part is digital piano can have different kind of piano sounds even included with those rare piano like pipe organ. it is good exposure to educate kids what kind of pianos available in this world before stepping into professional level.

This post has been edited by gkl83: Apr 3 2021, 10:45 AM
power911
post Apr 3 2021, 11:13 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

Digital piano is great only after you are familiar with acoustic.

I used to dream of the digital piano so I could practice all day without bothering family or neighbors. Use headphone and play all-day
But learning in digital will never get your muscle and ears in tune with the dynamics of an acoustic piano. Very hard to control how loud or soft even with professional Roland or Yamaha Clavinova style digital pianos.

My friend who learns piano from some classic Clavinova couldn't grasp the feel of an acoustic piano. She can play so well on her Clavinova or any other digital piano but sounds super wonky and not consistent when applied on acoustic eventho she learns all her skills off a weighted hammer digital piano.
Took around 3 years plus for her to get accustomed to acoustic then only she can adapt. But anyone who started on acoustic only takes a minute or two to get used to a digital piano.

Then I have some hired pianists to compose some songs for a job. All 3 digital piano players had their keyboard set so differently. The sustain pedal was the wrong way round. (You press to hold notes you wanna sustain but they flip it so they are forever on hold unless they tap it)
No complaints from their playing since they sound good but they did say they couldn't play well on acoustic too due to their weird habits of using digital piano as their composing tool

Long story short, just get a used or refurbished upright piano if can. Should be plenty good. Don't need to be new. Good digital piano is more expensive than a 2nd hand upright anyway. And upright also have the wonderful feature of an extra desk to decorate stuff on top hahaha

0.0204sec    0.98    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:54 PM