Guys, can share your views on leasehold landed terrace?
This post has been edited by MAC5: Mar 24 2021, 11:38 PM
Leasehold landed cannot buy?, Leasehold landed
Mar 24 2021, 11:36 PM, updated 2y ago
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
194 posts Joined: Jan 2021 |
Guys, can share your views on leasehold landed terrace?
This post has been edited by MAC5: Mar 24 2021, 11:38 PM |
Mar 24 2021, 11:41 PM
Mar 25 2021, 05:40 PM
Bandar Rimbayu is an example. The entire township is leasehold whereas neighbouring township-Kota Kemuning is freehold.
Mar 25 2021, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(Donidoni @ Mar 25 2021, 10:23 PM) You should train your kids to be capable and independent enough to buy their own properties. You do not owe your adult kids a living. If can make kids’ life easier, a good thing too. Imagine how tough for future generations to buy a landed property. perplexedstill and Wynne2219 liked this post
Mar 25 2021, 10:46 PM
Mar 25 2021, 10:51 PM
Well. It also depends on that particular area.
If the area you want to live in is 100% leasehold, then you have no choice. Likewise, in future, people who love living in this area also has no choice but to buy leasehold property also. But if that area has both freehold and leasehold, then perhaps it is wise to select freehold if price range is not too much. |
Mar 25 2021, 10:54 PM
Perhaps what is interesting is there is no leasehold high rise in Malaysia which is 80-90 years old yet.
Wondering what will happen to leasehold high rise when it is 80-90 years old. |
Mar 25 2021, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(chainyong @ Mar 25 2021, 11:02 PM) no matter LH or FH , after 80 years, I don't think the high rise building still safe to stay, especially now all the high rise building built by foreign workers, some even less than 5 years already many problem, some just VP already come with waterfall For high rise, it is the land underneath matters most. For leasehold landed, individual owner can apply to renew the lease. Whereas for high rise, I guess you need to get agreement from all unit owners before you can renew the lease. If one owner does not agree, then cannot proceed. Anyone can clarify this? |
Mar 25 2021, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(chainyong @ Mar 25 2021, 11:08 PM) If you really want to pass the property to your kids, I dont think the freehold condo is a good idea, after 60 years i think your kids also don't want to stay in that condo, high chance to become a dangerous building In that case, a 60 years old high rise condo can only wait for developers to acquire the whole condo, demolish it and rebuild another new high rise? |
Mar 26 2021, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Mar 26 2021, 10:01 AM) if before renew price at 1.8m, after you renew it.........market price simply 2m above what was the ending? Renewed lease successfully?I working nearby old town, initial offer by local authorities is 100k renewal, it shock to the resident. end up negotiate till very low price |
Mar 26 2021, 10:16 AM
Mar 26 2021, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Mar 26 2021, 10:36 AM) I kena similar case back in 2009. Freehold still have "restriction in interest". What is the restriction stated in the Title?Owned a freehold condo with "restriction in interest" in Bkt Jalil. Needed to get approval from Jab. Tanah & Galian KL before can transfer. Took quite a few months. |
Mar 28 2021, 11:14 PM
QUOTE(harrywilsome @ Mar 27 2021, 11:12 AM) As a property investor with more than 10 landed properties over a period of more than 20 years time frame. Great sharing.I would say the location, concept, and township potential are more important than leasehold/freehold. I own both leasehold and freehold landed properties. I can affirm that some of my leasehold properties yield better returns ( rental and capital appreciations) than my freehold landed properties. Developers nowadays are putting a premium pricing on their freehold properties compared to leasehold properties. One example, a freehold landed property I was considering is priced 200k-300k more than a similar size (built up and land size) leasehold landed property. One has to pay extra 200k-300k money to get a freehold property. On top of that, not to forget, with a bigger loan is more interest payment. A 300k more loan principal could cost an average 12k per annum worth of interest payment (assumption interest rate is 4%) At the end of it, I went with the leasehold property because I feel the area the leasehold property is located has a greater long-term potential. The cost of renewing the lease in Selangor is $1k (if ones plan to continue to stay or pass on the next generation). If one plan to sell after 10-30 years, there is always an option to renew the land lease back to 99 years. One only needs to pay the number of years difference between 99 years - remaining years left on the lease. (don't need to pay the full 99 years lease premium) . The land lease renewal premium is much lower compared to the premium price and its corresponding interest of a freehold property. So the choice is between paying the freehold premium price upfront + interest vs land lease renewal premium if and when one decides to sell. If the property is mainly for own stay and passing on to next generation, no need to worry so much about the land lease premium lah (to be honest) My advise to folks, just buy a property that you like and can afford. Leasehold vs freehold is not the be-all end-all. Location and township potential are more important. This post has been edited by MAC5: Mar 28 2021, 11:16 PM |
Apr 2 2024, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(scongi @ Apr 2 2024, 03:57 PM) Is it feasible to buy commercial leasehold individual shoplot? From what i have checked with land office, the premium to renew is 75% of market value of the land as compared to the residential leasehold which is 25% of market value of the land. (as per guideline in Selangor State Government) Big hassle.If we bought leasehold shoplot at RM2 mil now, Assuming after 30 years, the market value of shoplot is RM6 mil and the market value of land is RM3 mil (assume half of market value of the shoplot). If we extend it for 30 years back to it original 99 years, the premium we need to pay is almost RM477k (calculated based on formula : 75% x RM3 mil / 99 years x 30 years [no of extension years] x 70% [assuming we have discount 30% if we made full payment in lump sum]) If we divide RM477,000 / 30 years, it gives premium of RM15,900 per year or RM1,325 per month. Basically, if leasehold commercial land is appreciate more, the more premium we need to pay. If my calculation is not correct, please do comments |
| Change to: | 0.0253sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:22 AM |