119 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Bottom

Home Theatre pls recommend me lcd/plasma tv thread, please use this thread :)

scotty
post Mar 5 2008, 02:30 PM

THX Certified Conman
4,380 posts

QUOTE(Kinster @ Mar 4 2008, 05:22 PM)
Not sure if this is the right place to ask this, but an LCD TV isn't really a PC hardware...

Here's the story, I want a 32" LCD TV to hook up to my PC. Since PC monitors don't go up to 32", my other option is the TV. It's too bad TV's resolution isn't as high as PC LCD monitors, so I'm left with 768 or 1080p (if affordable).

So my question is, what are the 32" LCD TV options available with fast response time? I'm stuck with 32", can't go bigger because I can't sit too far away, need to reach the keyboard.

For PC gaming, I will need the fastest response time possible. I'm a newbie in this area, just noticed this new 100hz technology, will that help?

Also, which is better, D-Sub (VGA) or component? These are my only options, as my video card doesn't have HDMI. Or, if the TV has DVI, that would work too.

Thanks!
get those 30" lcd monitor from dell or samsung. u can go up to 2*** x 1*** resolution if i not mistaken.
ronnie
post Mar 5 2008, 02:43 PM

Not enough stars
21,311 posts

If uising for PC gaming, might as well invest in >24" LCD monitor for better response time and resolution
Kinster
post Mar 5 2008, 03:08 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 5 2008, 02:43 PM)
If uising for PC gaming, might as well invest in >24" LCD monitor for better response time and resolution

Thanks for the replies!

Aside from gaming, I'd want to use the large screen for movies too. 24" isn't big enough for that.

QUOTE(scotty @ Mar 5 2008, 02:30 PM)
get those 30" lcd monitor from dell or samsung. u can go up to 2*** x 1*** resolution if i not mistaken.

There are actually 30" LCD monitors? The biggest Samsung monitor that are available now is only 22", no? I'll go check out Dell...
scotty
post Mar 5 2008, 03:14 PM

THX Certified Conman
4,380 posts

http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/c...dhs1&l=en&s=dhs

i got a fren using a 30 inch with two 22 inch side by side. if i remember correctly, he got the 30" for around 5k or lesser smile.gif
Kinster
post Mar 5 2008, 03:27 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(scotty @ Mar 5 2008, 03:14 PM)
http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/c...dhs1&l=en&s=dhs

i got a fren using a 30 inch with two 22 inch side by side. if i remember correctly, he got the 30" for around 5k or lesser smile.gif

Thanks Scotty, but that's expensive! The 32" LCD TVs I'm looking at are all 2k+ to 3k+ only... I wonder why the Dell monitor is so much higher in price. It's probably the much higher resolution. However, its contrast ratio, brightness and response time are all poorer than most LCD TVs... tough decision!
kancheong
post Mar 5 2008, 04:46 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Mar 3 2008, 09:52 AM)
Noooo......... I want kuro 40".
Yeah me too now got enuf $ to buy they stop producing.
Adrian got any nice price for the last few units of 42" kuro ?
drool.gif
adrian0229
post Mar 5 2008, 06:14 PM

3,913 posts

haha...no le..price still same..kuro bcome unique jor... tongue.gif antique
clngu
post Mar 5 2008, 08:16 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 4 2008, 11:51 PM)
didikl, get projector lor... anytime bigger than 50 biggrin.gif
yeah ... minimum investment 50k laugh.gif
rx330
post Mar 6 2008, 09:11 AM

11,809 posts

for me less than 5k will be sufficient
htkaki
post Mar 6 2008, 09:24 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Mar 5 2008, 08:16 PM)
yeah ... minimum investment 50k  laugh.gif

ohmy.gif Going for ultra high end Full HD projector, bro?

No need that much of money. tongue.gif

for me less than 5k will be sufficient

Ditto smile.gif
yehui
post Mar 6 2008, 10:36 AM

Hello guys. This is the first time I post here. I just bought a set of LCD TV and mini home theater system. SAM-HTX30. I was torn between a philip 37 full HD and toshiba 37A3500E. The different is RM1k. So I decided the toshiba. I got quite good deal for R81 but I didn't choose because the panel is too glaring for my liking. Sony, too high for my budget. I didn't choose LG because I got one in my work place. I didn't like the noise. Toshiba is quite smooth and warm for my eye.

Any comments from sifu here. If you are the one who make decision, which one would you go for, philip (full HD) or Toshiba (cheaper). How about the samsung HTS?
rx330
post Mar 6 2008, 01:19 PM

11,809 posts

yehui, welcum
just stating the obvious lar, why still ask for comments wen u aredi bought? be happy with wat u bought, if not sure sendiri headche one

just enjoy it
Synco
post Mar 6 2008, 01:41 PM

CCB
667 posts

what other brand have 100hz and FULL HD 40" under 12k btw?
most i see like sharp/Bravia X abt 13-15k
was tempted to buy bravia X but after trying yesterday with COD 4 , with those smearing effect kinda turn me off.
corez
post Mar 6 2008, 03:03 PM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

This is a good read. Face off between 7 TV's. 6 1080p and 1 720p

The winner is the 720p due to excellento black levels.

http://www.hometheatermag.com/lcds/208hdface/index.html

Hmm, Kuro (Cue Homer Simpsons extended tounge) tongue.gif
JiauBoy
post Mar 6 2008, 04:15 PM

727 posts

thanks for the info
yehui
post Mar 6 2008, 05:25 PM

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 6 2008, 01:19 PM)
yehui, welcum
just stating the obvious lar, why still ask for comments wen u aredi bought? be happy with wat u bought, if not sure sendiri headche one

just enjoy it
No lah. Just want to know others opinion. The TV just arrived. Quite happy. Better than the 42" LG LCD I had in work place. Less noise, colour better, clearer. The sound of the samsung mini HTS is amazing for my standard and budget.

The TV comes with 1.0 HDMI-HDMI cable. The sales recommended me a 1.3 HDMI-HDMI cable from Swiss. Don't know what he was talking about. Is there a marked difference?
htkaki
post Mar 6 2008, 05:45 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

No need such branded HDMI cable. What AV gears that you are hooking up with it?
yehui
post Mar 6 2008, 05:53 PM

Toshiba 37A3500e to samsung mini HTS SAM-HTX30
adrian0229
post Mar 6 2008, 09:29 PM

3,913 posts

how much u buy it?
clngu
post Mar 6 2008, 09:58 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 6 2008, 09:24 AM)
ohmy.gif Going for ultra high end Full HD projector, bro?

No need that much of money.  tongue.gif 
Ditto  smile.gif
if getting projector ... I think better go for Full HD one ... otherwise get Full HD Plasma/LCD with smaller screen smile.gif

119 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:49 AM