ASUS M2N-E, overclock

ongbs
post Nov 22 2007, 03:36 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

I owned an Abit AN9 32X and the max Vdimm is 2.3 to 2.4V.

I Vmd it to 2.7V max and able to OC my AM2 3800 F3 to 3.7GHz, DDR2 >1200Mhz.

Maybe someone should try Vmod on it smile.gif
ongbs
post Jan 28 2008, 04:47 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

Hi, how many mobo revision do we have for M2N-E?

Added on February 9, 2008, 3:02 amOC test Asus M2N-E, x2 F3 3800@3.3GHz, DDR2@1100MHz Super PI 32M and OCCT test smile.gif
Vdimm mod to 2.45V thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Feb 9 2008, 03:03 AM

ongbs
post Feb 9 2008, 06:52 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

I believe this is the limit of my M2N-E icon_rolleyes.gif

x2 F3 3800@3.43GHz Vcore 1.5V, Micron D9DMH DDR2@1140MHz Vdimm mod to 2.50V.
The DDR2 timings should be able to tighten slightly better tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Feb 9 2008, 06:53 AM

ongbs
post Feb 10 2008, 02:02 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(Ciku @ Feb 10 2008, 01:32 PM)
nice oc result.. How do you mod Vdimm to 2.50V? Max Vdimm in bios only 1.95V
hard mod it by solder a preset on the mobo smile.gif
can mod to 2.6V if you want tongue.gif
ongbs
post Feb 10 2008, 03:13 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(Ciku @ Feb 10 2008, 02:48 PM)
can do 2.6V..got any picture or review about mod? interested  rclxms.gif
try goggle for the link in 1st or 2nd page in this thread....got link there.
but keep in mind that if do the mod wrongly it may burn your mobo or DDR2 module (maybe both)! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Feb 10 2008, 03:14 PM
ongbs
post Feb 12 2008, 03:08 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(fatalynx05 @ Feb 12 2008, 10:40 AM)
bro did u mod like this using adjustable resistor??

but this mobo is SLI version not ultra...still can?? mind if senior share  notworthy.gif
Yes, the same mod.
Just make sure your MUST adjust the preset to higher ohm side before fire up...
If you start your system with the preset at minimum resistant (about 0 ohm) you gonna fry yr ddr2 as the Vdimm >3V sweat.gif

btw, I believe you may adjust the Vdimm without DDR2 module installed. Safety 1st icon_rolleyes.gif

p/s:

bro,

sorry coz didn't exchange the mobo with you...
I seriously wanna exchange with you but you took too long time to trade and hardly online sad.gif

btw, no need to sell it off lah...it is a good mobo, just need Vdimm mod icon_rolleyes.gif

I can do 3.40GHz stable after Vdimm mod to 2.55V, but you still need a good DDR2 in order to do >1000MHz DDR2 speed. Mine stable at 1100MHz DDR2.
for OC>3.2GHz for sure you need a good proc like AM2 X2 3800 F3.

Recommended speed for 7/24 not >3.2G and temp keep below 50C idle or 60C max load.

Refer screenie for my 7/24 rig with CnQ enable tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Feb 12 2008, 03:19 PM

ongbs
post Feb 13 2008, 12:53 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(fatalynx05 @ Feb 13 2008, 11:43 AM)
owhh...any kind of resistor also can aslong its 20k adjustable...the ground point attached at NB-Fan bottom left as shown at picture rite...huhu a bit nervous  sweat.gif ...
my web site design still not done yet..everyday keep updating..my boss rape me later if not up to date the site...sowey bro wait me too long....btw can u show me some screenshot of ur mod moobo  notworthy.gif
refer to the pic, actually that one is GROUNG point.
Just solder the wire to the round solder point surrounding the screw hole will do.

You may use ohm meter to check the continuity for the "hole" and fan header (black color pin when plug in fan connector).

ongbs
post Feb 13 2008, 07:40 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(Ciku @ Feb 13 2008, 02:30 PM)
what range adjustable resistor u use? 0 - 20Kohm? And how to set Vdimm til get =<2.6V? Set in bios or use third party software, or get reading by using ohmmeter
I am using 20k but I believe 10k will do better (easier to control).

Well, just remove the DDR2 and measure the Vdimm while turning the preset toward the lower resistance range till the Vdimm you want.
I set the BIOS Vdimm to 1.80 first (before remove your DDR lah) so max Vdimm is the measured voltage +0.15V (1.95V setting in BIOS).

This post has been edited by ongbs: Feb 13 2008, 10:14 PM
ongbs
post Feb 13 2008, 10:17 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(alive88 @ Feb 13 2008, 09:45 PM)
so complicated..need to see live tutorial to learn how to vmod..i got this mobo at home..wan vmod one day
if you got electronic knowledge it is simple.
If not sure better leave to someone who know what he is doing...just my advise icon_rolleyes.gif
ongbs
post Feb 14 2008, 10:05 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(Ciku @ Feb 14 2008, 09:16 AM)
I dont understand how to get Vdimm value after done make circuit mod  rclxub.gif  Btw,need some tutorial picture here.. better you show your Vdimm mod picture here,step by step to do that
aiyo...bro, after solder just a few steps more lah...still need tutorial huh? sweat.gif

refer to pics, make sure you solder the right points.

1. Before solder set your Vdimm in BIOS to 1.80V.
2. Remove all the DDR2 modules for safety purpose (make sure you get the right Vdimm then only you install the DDR2 modules)
3. After solder, measure the Vdimm measure point for actual Vdimm reading.
4. Turn the preset toward the lower resistance range till the Vdimm you want. (glue the preset with double-sided tape to avoid it from moving)

simple as that.... tongue.gif

0.0228sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:41 AM