Anyone know about foreign FD?
b00n
Jan 25 2008, 12:17 AM
delusional
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...6&hl=PB+Foreignhttp://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...7&hl=PB+ForeignAnyway since you're going over to Aussie, once you reached there; just open one FD account there. I'm sure there's something for student FD. If you invest it via PB, you'll be loosing out on management fees and currency exchange.
b00n
Apr 22 2008, 03:27 PM
delusional
There's basically similar threads just that this is specifically mentioning on Aussie. from previous to the most recent: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=465571http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=512136 (longest discussion) http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=600251http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=602867 (some calculations and terms discussed) http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=673996 (another technical discussion) To summarize the concern is the actual "earning" after exchange rate and service charges whereby is it really worth it to park the money overseas rather than invest locally. This post has been edited by b00n: Apr 22 2008, 03:32 PM
b00n
Apr 23 2008, 02:59 AM
delusional
QUOTE(Zarth @ Apr 22 2008, 03:02 PM) Dear forumers, Since the previous thread was in violation of the rules, I'll open it up for for discussion. What do you guys think of a AUD Savings plan with 20.22% returns in 3 years? Currency risk wise, personally I feel AUD is quite stable and have been growing strong the past few years. In the local front, I don't think ringgit is all that strong at all compared to other major Asian currencies, while globally, there's worry on US recession and economic slowdown which more or less, affects the rest of the world. Disclaimer: This is not meant to be an advertisement nor advice, just for discussion only. For those whom want more info, it can be provided upon request.
Again, is the 20.22% a guaranteed return or expected return? Also, is the 20.22% after the fluctuation of FD rates and service charges?!
b00n
Sep 30 2008, 01:30 PM
delusional
b00n
Sep 30 2008, 08:03 PM
delusional
Read the threads I provided and start from understanding the discussion going on there. Than ask again on what you do not understand from there. Further threads if you're interested upon: QUOTE(b00n @ Apr 22 2008, 03:27 PM) There's basically similar threads just that this is specifically mentioning on Aussie. from previous to the most recent: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=465571http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=512136 (longest discussion) http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=600251http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=602867 (some calculations and terms discussed) http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=673996 (another technical discussion) To summarize the concern is the actual "earning" after exchange rate and service charges whereby is it really worth it to park the money overseas rather than invest locally. You can see I've previously listed the top 3 topics you can refer to. This post has been edited by b00n: Sep 30 2008, 08:04 PM
b00n
Jan 25 2009, 05:12 PM
delusional
As requested topic merged. Pls continue discussion here.