Anyone know about foreign FD?

Mr Gray
post Feb 4 2023, 11:37 AM

924 posts

I just had an idea. Foreign FDs in Malaysia generally have high interest rates, but not really favourable to us because we need to exchange MYR to foreign currency at bad FX rate. Eg right now USD 12 month FD rate at CIMB MY is 5.3%.

However I just noticed that CIMB MY foreign deposit account does allow deposit via TT/Swift

Also, it is possible to send USD or EUR direct to Malaysian bank account from Wise, via TT/Swift. It won't be instant, takes several days. (Only these two currencies available to send to Malaysia this way). In the app, Wise told me that it would cost USD2.90 extra.

As far as I understand, the only MYR to USD conversion using CIMB rate, that is required as per cimb website is the initial deposit of RM10,000.

If cimb can accept directly USD from Wise via TT/Swift, then I think it's really worthwhile to do it. Inward remittance fee at CIMB MY is also 0, just like CIMB SG. Other costs would probably the other additional TT costs charged by intermediaries etc.

This post has been edited by Mr Gray: Feb 4 2023, 11:53 AM
Mr Gray
post Feb 4 2023, 11:26 PM

924 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Feb 4 2023, 10:17 PM)
Not possible because BNM doesn’t allow direct FX currencies into the banking system hence RM is the only way to go 🤦‍♀️

Which is why we all been opening overseas to direct deposit the currencies rather using useless banks in Malaysia which charge you arm and leg 🤦‍♀️
Where does it say bnm doesn't allow direct FX currency into the banking system? Is this your opinion or a fact?

I found no such limitation in BNM website.

Regardless, I will go to cimb branch and get confirmation.
Mr Gray
post Feb 4 2023, 11:48 PM

924 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 4 2023, 10:27 PM)
What about transferring out? Say to Wise USD cash balance. Any charges?

Banks usually advertise 0 fees for receiving TT monies, but they usually don't tell you the intermediary correspondent banks will charge 10-35 USD per transfer. tongue.gif

Your SG friends learnt that the hard way and is now grumbling. https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/...#post-146097120

I also learnt that the hard way too... a few months back... Can anyone confirm that Wise will cover the correspondent bank charges? (I don't think so personally.)
According to Wise. It will only charge USD2.90 for transferring USD to countries outside US. I tried input the transfer inside my wise app, and it shows only USD2.90 additional cost. (didn't complete the transfer, only tried input the amount)

https://wise.com/help/articles/2946451/send...-outside-the-us

This post has been edited by Mr Gray: Feb 5 2023, 12:33 AM
Mr Gray
post May 26 2023, 06:52 PM

924 posts

For those who are thinking of investing in foreign currency FD and don't mind doing so in the domestic banks, I think RHB MCA account is really a good option.

Pros
1. Possibly the best rate in the market, it's even better than Wise for sure.
2. All balances receive very competitive interest, calculated daily, credited monthly. (no lock-up period, but rate is lower than FD).
3. Insured by PIDM up to RM250k.

Cons
1. Only useful for keeping foreign currencies in your own RHB account
2. Outward TT will incur fees, inward TT is free though. So conversion from different currencies between different bank accounts across countries, Wise would be better.
3. Limited to 24 currencies, Wise have more currencies.
4. Each conversion must involve Ringgit. IE say to convert between USD and EUR, U need to convert USD to MYR first, then MYR to EUR, so you lose on the double spread. Wise is better for direct conversion between any pair of currencies not involving ringgit.

Every month, on salary date, I just put some money into the high yielding currencies of AUD, CAD, GBP, NZD, SGD and USD.

Call rate as of today: AUD (3.25%), CAD (4%), GBP (4.1%), NZD (4.5%), SGD (3.4%), USD (4.95%).

Comparison of rates between RHB and Wise as at 25 May 2023 morning, of conversion from Ringgit into the respective currencies. Rate from Wise website is taken at the same time I did conversion from Ringgit.

USD125: RHB (RM576.13), Wise (RM580)
AUD125: RHB (RM377.66), Wise (RM380.21)
GBP125: RHB (RM712.16), Wise (RM716.59)
CAD125: RHB (RM424.40), Wise (RM427.94)
NZD125: RHB (RM352.58), Wise (RM355.36)
SGD125: RHB (RM427.59), Wise (RM431.47)

I don't put into FD in RHB MCA account as it required 2000unit foreign currency for initial deposit, and interest will only be credited after tenure is completed. Plus, there's only small difference in interest rate between call account and FD account for most currencies.

https://www.rhbgroup.com/personal/deposits/...view/index.html

This post has been edited by Mr Gray: May 26 2023, 07:13 PM
Mr Gray
post May 26 2023, 07:42 PM

924 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ May 26 2023, 07:39 PM)
You can use weekly Term Deposit rather letting the money to sit idle 🤦‍♀️ as certain currencies have weekly term for it
term deposit requires a minimum of 2000 units of foreign currency for initial deposit. My monthly deposit and total deposit is way smaller than that. Any balances still generates interest, the money is not sitting idle. If you have more than 2000 units of FC, feel free to put it into term deposit and get higher interest rate. Your choice.

This post has been edited by Mr Gray: May 26 2023, 07:44 PM
Mr Gray
post May 31 2023, 06:49 PM

924 posts

QUOTE(Ethan @ May 31 2023, 02:58 PM)
Inward TT is free of charge?
Meaning, if I transfer US$1000 from an oversea bank into this account, I would receive US$1000?
Of course we don't take into account the fee charge by the overseas bank.
Correction. There's only RM5 fee.

https://www.rhbgroup.com/others/highlights/...0908/index.html

So yup, u should get US1000, minus RM5
Mr Gray
post May 31 2023, 08:27 PM

924 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 31 2023, 08:06 PM)
rhb mca has no inward fee... u get full 1k
Yes you're right

https://www.rhbgroup.com/files/personal/mul...account-faq.pdf

Mr Gray
post Jun 11 2023, 05:59 PM

924 posts

QUOTE(vanitas @ May 31 2023, 08:42 PM)
Do you know if RHB MCA or any MCA can be used to receive Google Adsense income specifically? Wise doesn't work for me, and I am getting high inward TT / conversion fee on local currency bank account.
I see no reason why u can't. Go ahead and open RHB MCA account

Mr Gray
post Jun 11 2023, 08:47 PM

924 posts

QUOTE(vanitas @ Jun 11 2023, 08:11 PM)
I actually sent an email to inquire, and it recommended me to open a Non-Export Proceeds Account (NEPA) MCA account. Now I am not sure if an individual is able to open it, or if it has to be a company. I have already sent another email to ask, or if I can't wait, I will go directly to the branch. Thanks for your reply nonetheless.
Of course individual can open it.

When I open at an RHB branch, I can select between the two options. INDA or NEPA.

https://www.rhbgroup.com/personal/deposits/...ount/index.html

Clearly stated here on the website too. INDA/NEPA

Just go an RHB branch and open it.
Mr Gray
post Jun 12 2023, 04:53 AM

924 posts

QUOTE(vanitas @ Jun 11 2023, 10:32 PM)
Link 404.

The working link: https://www.rhbgroup.com/personal/deposits/...view/index.html only got 2 types there - EDEA and INDA.

The links mentioned NEPA https://www.rhbgroup.com/islamic/deposits/m...ount/index.html and https://www.rhbgroup.com/business/sme-banki...ount/index.html stated it was for non-individuals or companies.

That's why I am a bit confused. FYI, currently PBB required invoice / receipt each time when there is foreign inward TT, it doesn't come automatically, so I think I better clarify with RHB's policy first.
It's best that u just go a branch and talk to RHB rep.

Even if only non-individual is allowed to do that, what's stopping you from incorporate as an enterprise or LLP?

If your income from AdSense is getting significant every month, perhaps it makes more sense to incorporate?

This post has been edited by Mr Gray: Jun 12 2023, 04:57 AM
Mr Gray
post Jul 5 2023, 09:36 PM

924 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 4 2023, 11:53 PM)
that means if people willing to do this despite all the spread and bank commissions, that says alot on their future outlook of the country, this is basically like calling for short for the country

but yeah, the development of recent affairs really made me disappointed enough

i might join in the bandwagon of the fund outflow of the country icon_idea.gif
Just put in RHB MCA. The rate is super good. No stupid 2% extra spread. Better than Wise for sure.

[url=https://pictr.com/image/EwCmJcuser posted image[/url]

Gbp call rate on rhb mca is now 4.7%

Mr Gray
post Jul 21 2023, 06:03 PM

924 posts

QUOTE(Soul Seeker @ Jul 21 2023, 12:49 AM)
How was the RHB Mca account vs HLB wallet MCA ? In term of fee , spread and charges ?
RHB gives better exchange rate. And got interest also

HLB Wallet exchange rate is quite bad. No interest
Mr Gray
post Jul 25 2023, 12:06 AM

924 posts

QUOTE(Toku @ Jul 23 2023, 03:46 PM)
A bit disappointed that RHB MCA do not support online oversea transfer. Need to go to the branch to do it with a fee. I guess this is only viable for slowly converting and save up to a big sum before go to the branch to do transfer.
For overseas transfer, I think wise beats rhb hands down

Mr Gray
post Apr 3 2024, 10:21 AM

924 posts

QUOTE(Thasmita @ Apr 3 2024, 12:46 AM)
What’s the conversion rate
Quite bad. Can't beat RHB MCA for sure.
Mr Gray
post Apr 4 2024, 12:52 AM

924 posts

QUOTE(leagueoflegend @ Apr 3 2024, 08:09 PM)
I just look at Foreign Currency Interest Rate....so far Alliance Bank is around 5.4% and above for USD

https://www.alliancebank.com.my/Personal/Ba...t-Fixed-Deposit
U have to look at conversion rate. Ie USDMYR for example.

Alliance usdmyr rate is worse than RHB. So even if interest rate is slightly higher than RHB, in totality you're worse off with alliance
Mr Gray
post Apr 4 2024, 05:20 PM

924 posts

QUOTE(leagueoflegend @ Apr 4 2024, 04:17 PM)
Thank you so much on the info, never thought of this  notworthy.gif

hmm which RHB FD is good for USD?

https://www.rhbgroup.com/treasury-rates/mul...card/index.html >> im looking at this but im not sure which column i should looking

What is your advice of the tenure period if invest USD into RHB USD FD?
Go to any RHB branch and say you want to open multicurrency account. Make sure you ask for conventional account.

Islamic mca doesn't have foreign FD.

0.0697sec    1.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:56 PM