Anyone know about foreign FD?

BboyDora
post Sep 5 2011, 02:57 PM

2,361 posts

I would like to put in Singapore dollar FD for really long time. Let say 10 years. Is it recommended?

BboyDora
post Sep 5 2011, 03:51 PM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 5 2011, 03:35 PM)
There is no such thing UT, bond fund or which is better than foreign currency or not.

The risk undertaken is different to start with.

UT, you stand a chance to lose your initial capital.
Yes, there are many UT gain quite handsome over the long term, but at the same time, there are UT that make you a loss (I had seen a number of fund registered 30% loss) even after 3-5 years as well.

While for foreign currency FD, if you put SGD 10k, it will remain SGD 10k, you won't lose a single cent in SGD.
Thank you cherroy,
this allocation is for my super low risk portfolio as I
had already invest in stock ( which I consider high risk).

Or is there any other alternatives?
(still learning about silver n gold)

Added on September 5, 2011, 4:00 pm
QUOTE(kucingfight @ Sep 5 2011, 03:24 PM)
or better, why not bond fund..@ least 6-8% return..sometimes even more
Thanks. But it will fluctuate as well. Looking for low risk to be added in my portfolio.

This post has been edited by BboyDora: Sep 5 2011, 04:00 PM
BboyDora
post Dec 4 2016, 10:19 PM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(AznRicy @ Dec 3 2016, 01:00 AM)
Now is the time?
Long term investment - checked
Buy low - checked
which currency - SGD< AUD?
if earning malaysia ringgit definitely is not the time now