53 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Anyone know about foreign FD?

WingDeSole
post Aug 18 2010, 07:54 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Aug 18 2010, 07:45 PM)
now, that's the problem.

you are attempting to minimise the risk.

risk averse investors are trying to eliminate risk completely.

australian banks (and banks globally) are typically guaranteed by the federal government
Well, I cant denied with that.

I do believe we have a word "high risk high return"

As you guys looking for foreign FD because intend to get higher return from more than a local FD could provide.

Most people put in FD for long term but in unit trust/fund is looking for long term for stabilize the portfolio.

I cant say it;s risk free, everything had their risk, just lower risk.

Just an opinion because with low return, your money became smaller because of inflation. I believe everyone hope their saving at least be able to kept their value .
MilesAndMore
post Aug 18 2010, 08:05 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(bubbl3t3a @ Aug 18 2010, 02:34 PM)
I heard from another friend who follow the currency quite closely said Malaysia is trying to bring down USD back to 2.6 by end of this year. He said RM now is quite strong and by end of years will have 27 countries pumping in RM507b to Malaysia for investment. With this money coming in will surely make RM going up. This is why i am bit concern. If we can minimize losing/risk of course we'll try to avoid even though i know market is hard to predict.
That is highly unlikely. Besides, the fundamental of RM is actually quite weak.

nokia2003
post Aug 18 2010, 11:35 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(WingDeSole @ Aug 18 2010, 07:54 PM)
Well, I cant denied with that.

I do believe we have a word "high risk high return"

As you guys looking for foreign FD because intend to get higher return from more than a local FD could provide.

Most people put in FD for long term but in unit trust/fund is looking for long term for stabilize the portfolio.

I cant say it;s risk free, everything had their risk, just lower risk.

Just an opinion because with low return, your money became smaller because of inflation. I believe everyone hope their saving at least be able to kept their value .
can't say the same about malaysia.

but over in australia, RBA is committed to maintain annual inflation rates in the region of 2-3%.

hence if your interest rate earned from saving, exceeds that, you are actually doing alright.

Added on August 18, 2010, 11:36 pm
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 18 2010, 08:05 PM)
That is highly unlikely. Besides, the fundamental of RM is actually quite weak.
spot on.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Aug 18 2010, 11:36 PM
wodenus
post Aug 19 2010, 10:31 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 14 2010, 06:56 PM)
Not necessarily so. In the case of the credit crunch in 2008/2009, key interest rates were reduced drastically across the globe mainly to spur spending.

But that was a temporary anomaly right? normally markets are efficient?

nokia2003
post Aug 19 2010, 11:06 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Aug 19 2010, 10:31 AM)
But that was a temporary anomaly right? normally markets are efficient?
but we are talking about 2.6 here (per USD) and not a drop of couple points.

2.6 is close to the pre 1997 asian crisis.
wodenus
post Aug 19 2010, 11:09 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Aug 17 2010, 09:13 PM)
Yes, australian banks will yield you one of the best returns globally, but it is also extremely volatile. hence, if the AUD depreciates to a level unacceptable to you, you can always opt to transfer the funds from your australian hsbc premier account to the malaysian equivalent at your discretion with no commission or fee.

But by then you'd have lost a ton. And spread isn't "technically" a commission or a fee, it's just a difference.

Added on August 19, 2010, 11:11 am
QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Aug 19 2010, 11:06 AM)
but we are talking about 2.6 here (per USD) and not a drop of couple points.

We were talking about the pre-recession market inertia.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Aug 19 2010, 11:11 AM
nokia2003
post Aug 19 2010, 11:31 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Aug 19 2010, 11:09 AM)
But by then you'd have lost a ton. And spread isn't "technically" a commission or a fee, it's just a difference.

of course, you are absolutely right.

nothing is risk-free.

what i meant earlier, mimics what you will do in a stock market.

if the stock that you are currently holding, is beginning to plunge, an automatic response would be selling them off, to recuperate as much as you can.

it all boils down to your own personal discretion on when to remit the money back

Added on August 19, 2010, 11:11 am

We were talking about the pre-recession market inertia.
hmm... not quite sure what you mean here.

but i was basically referring to bubbl3t3a's claim that a "close friend" has insider information that the exchange rate will be heading towards 2.6 by end of the year.

man, if it does go to 2.6, i will be so broke purchasing all those gadgets from the states. yum!

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Aug 19 2010, 11:34 AM
jphlau
post Aug 19 2010, 11:34 AM

1,202 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Aug 19 2010, 11:31 AM)
hmm... not quite sure what you mean here.

but i was basically referring to bubbl3t3a's claim that a "close friend" has insider information that the exchange rate will be heading towards 2.6 by end of the year.
with malaysia as an export based country, it is unlikely that Bank Negara will allow RM to appreciate so much that would made our products expensive. We still need foreign investment, thus RM should be maintained as it is now.
nokia2003
post Aug 19 2010, 11:39 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(jphlau @ Aug 19 2010, 11:34 AM)
with malaysia as an export based country, it is unlikely that Bank Negara will allow RM to appreciate so much that would made our products expensive. We still need foreign investment, thus RM should be maintained as it is now.
that's what i reckon as well.

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Aug 18 2010, 03:16 PM)
hmmm... i don't really buy into such speculations. besides malaysia is a still a FDI dependent nation and i doubt that the central bank will allow us to lose such comparative advantages.

my motto is just to invest with the diversification as a motive and hence don't place everything in australia.

by the way, if you do have NZD600 grand to spare, you really shouldn't be asking such questions in a public forum; opt for a financial planner instead.

i will only answer to questions pertaining to maneuvers and financial products over in australia, as i'm not an expert and do not hold an AFSL.

all my knowledge has been channeled through my degree and hence it may differ in actual life.
Muliku
post Aug 21 2010, 05:28 PM

274 posts

guys
imho my as an export based country is losing it's "marbles" aka competitive edge to neighbouring countries one by one have catchup and overtook her, some have even taken a leap farther away whilst others like vietnam are catching up damn fast; we have relinquished #1 producer of rubber, tin and palm oil even our FCPO exchange will soon be challenged just hope authorities have the strategic vision and take concrete remedial actions to prevent that eventuality.
think fdi would flow into countries that are labour cost competitive, productive, meritocracy and fdi friendly.
2.6x most unlikely, 2.9x possible although recently i read an analyst forecast of 3.0x by end 3Q and to re-bounce based on historical trend
happy investing biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Muliku: Aug 21 2010, 05:31 PM
heliora
post Aug 22 2010, 10:50 PM

55 posts

IMHO, bankwest typically offer very attractive products and is backed by commonwealth bank of australia (one of the big four). also bear in mind that these products are not precisely term deposits/fixed deposits and hence there is no commitment needed. statements in the spoiler below are quoted from bankwest's website.

yes, australian banks will yield you one of the best returns globally, but it is also extremely volatile. hence, if the AUD depreciates to a level unacceptable to you, you can always opt to transfer the funds from your australian hsbc premier account to the malaysian equivalent at your discretion with no commission or fee.

interests earned are non-taxable if total income earned is kept below AUD6000 per annum. further explanation of personal assessable income tax brackets can be found from the ATO website
You can also look into UBank Online Savers which offers 6.01% standard variable interest rate and 6.51% if you have regular deposits of at least $200 a month, UBank is a division of NAB. And as far as I know when I last closed bank accounts last year, NAB's bank account is the only one without monthly service fee.

I checked the BankWest regular savers, you can only open at a maximum of $500 deposit, and save a maximum of $500 per month, so if you have a large amount of money you can't put all in. UBank has no such restriction.

As for the interest earned, if you are a non-resident you will only have to pay withholding tax at 10% and that's all, this applies to interest and dividends received. The bank automatically withholds it when they pay you interest.
jack2
post Aug 23 2010, 07:25 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(heliora @ Aug 22 2010, 10:50 PM)
You can also look into UBank Online Savers which offers 6.01% standard variable interest rate and 6.51% if you have regular deposits of at least $200 a month, UBank is a division of NAB. And as far as I know when I last closed bank accounts last year, NAB's bank account is the only one without monthly service fee.

I checked the BankWest regular savers, you can only open at a maximum of $500 deposit, and save a maximum of $500 per month, so if you have a large amount of money you can't put all in. UBank has no such restriction.
As for the interest earned, if you are a non-resident you will only have to pay withholding tax at 10% and that's all, this applies to interest and dividends received. The bank automatically withholds it when they pay you interest.
Can we open those account without physical attendance to bank?

Added on August 23, 2010, 7:54 am

the usual disclaimer rule applies as i'm not providing any personal advice.

you are definitely, what they call a risk-adverse investor; unwilling to participate in risky products and made obvious with questions like Do you think this is the best time to put money in AUD? Will the currency have chances to still going down?

seeing that you actually have NZD600 grand to spare, i would definitely recommend that you first open a malaysian hsbc premier account (however it is likely that you already have one based on your previous statements). but always maintain that account to avoid hefty monthly charges.

then instruct your relationship manager to assist you to open an australian equivalent of hsbc premier account.

with an existing, recognised australian account, you are then exposed to an array to other financial products offered by other banks/financial institutions.

IMHO, bankwest typically offer very attractive products and is backed by commonwealth bank of australia (one of the big four). also bear in mind that these products are not precisely term deposits/fixed deposits and hence there is no commitment needed. statements in the spoiler below are quoted from bankwest's website.

yes, australian banks will yield you one of the best returns globally, but it is also extremely volatile. hence, if the AUD depreciates to a level unacceptable to you, you can always opt to transfer the funds from your australian hsbc premier account to the malaysian equivalent at your discretion with no commission or fee.

interests earned are non-taxable if total income earned is kept below AUD6000 per annum. further explanation of personal assessable income tax brackets can be found from the ATO website
Wonder why need to open account with HSBC premier, then australian equivalent HSBC premier?

Can we just direct open with Bank West?

This post has been edited by jack2: Aug 23 2010, 07:54 AM
heliora
post Aug 23 2010, 10:22 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Aug 23 2010, 07:25 AM)

Wonder why need to open account with HSBC premier, then australian equivalent HSBC premier?

No you can't open a bank account without being physically there, my limited understanding is that you can apply online and they will open one for you provisionally, but you would still need to be there physically to verify your ID to open it fully, something like that.

However it's different for HSBC premier, if you have one in Malaysia, you can automatically open one in Australia without the need to go there, that's the advantage. The other main reason is you can transfer funds in between Australia and Malaysia free of charge and instantly if i'm not wrong, i'm in the process of opening my Australia's premier account heh.

To open a bank account in Australia you need to fulfil 100 points for the ID requirement, which can be your passport, credit card, bank statement, driving license etc. Check at the bank's website.
MilesAndMore
post Aug 23 2010, 11:08 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(heliora @ Aug 23 2010, 10:22 AM)
However it's different for HSBC premier, if you have one in Malaysia, you can automatically open one in Australia without the need to go there, that's the advantage. The other main reason is you can transfer funds in between Australia and Malaysia free of charge and instantly if i'm not wrong, i'm in the process of opening my Australia's premier account heh.
The me-to-me transfer via your HSBC online Global View is instant only if the HSBC in the other country is not observing a holiday and the office has not closed when you do the transfer or else, the money will only be credited into your account when the office opens next.

smartinvestor01
post Aug 23 2010, 01:09 PM

Saving and Investing for Retirement (The SIR Concept)
1,423 posts

The banks are now paying high interest for Foreign Fixed Deposit for Australian dolar, but i have this kind of mindset.

I was thinking about putting it to a term of 1-Month, instead of 12-months (1 year) term because i think putting it untouched for 1-year is just too risky due to the longer term.

Any advise or suggestion for this perception.

Thanks. rolleyes.gif
nokia2003
post Aug 23 2010, 01:22 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(heliora @ Aug 22 2010, 10:50 PM)

to be honest, i'm actually an ubank customer and i have that said accounts.

however, despite being no fee account, i would still prefer bankwest because they do have actual, physical branches here in melbourne.

furthermore, i merely link my bankwest accounts to a primary account of mine; i don't like the idea of multiple accounts (harder for me track them)

having said that, i should be closing my ubank account shortly upon graduation.

Added on August 23, 2010, 1:27 pm
QUOTE(jack2 @ Aug 23 2010, 07:25 AM)

i was suggesting that in relation to bubbl3t3a.

quoting my statement above; with an australian account, bubbl3t3a can then proceed to link these bankwest accounts to his/her australian hsbc premier account.

that way, bubbl3t3a can mitigate his/her risks better.

bankwest -> australian hsbc premier -> malaysian hsbc premier (with no transfer fee/commission)

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Aug 23 2010, 01:30 PM
SUSDavid83
post Sep 14 2010, 06:35 PM

52,874 posts

Hi all sifus,

May I know the advertised per annum rate is overall return rate or the return in the denominated currency before converting back to MYR?

I'm a little confused. Take AUD as per example from PB Campaign: 6.5% p.a for 1-month tenure.
gark
post Sep 14 2010, 09:17 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 14 2010, 06:35 PM)
Hi all sifus,

May I know the advertised per annum rate is overall return rate or the return in the denominated currency before converting back to MYR?

I'm a little confused. Take AUD as per example from PB Campaign: 6.5% p.a for 1-month tenure.
The promotion is only valid for denominated rates.

For example the 6.5% AUD rate, it is only applicable for the funds converted from 12 month PLUS FD in RM to AUD, then you will get 1-12 months of promotion, but the rate differs. The 6.5% promotion is for the first month only, then after that you get the standard rate. If you do not convert the money from RM to Foreign currency, you will not get the promotion rate. Expect to lose about 1%-2% each time you convert. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Sep 14 2010, 09:18 PM
SUSDavid83
post Sep 14 2010, 10:48 PM

52,874 posts

OK then.

How about these rates:

Currency | 1-month | 3 months | 6 months | 12 months

AUD | 4.50 | 4.65 | 4.85 | 5.30

Still, do these advertised per annum rates refer overall return rate or the return in the denominated currency before converting back to MYR?
howszat
post Sep 14 2010, 11:01 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 14 2010, 10:48 PM)
OK then.

How about these rates:

Currency | 1-month | 3 months | 6 months | 12 months

AUD | 4.50 | 4.65 | 4.85 | 5.30

Still, do these advertised per annum rates refer overall return rate or the return in the denominated currency before converting back to MYR?

Definitely "return in the denominated currency".

You bear all the currency exchange risks yourself, when you convert back. If the exchange rate is bad, the last thing you want is to have to convert back because you need the cash. A less evil alternative is to keep it in the foreign currency earning interest until you are ready to convert.

53 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:07 AM