post Jul 18 2009, 02:48 PM

594 posts

Lucky you! I've only got RM36 mil.
wirelessdude
post Dec 26 2009, 11:39 PM

594 posts

I have questions for PM agents about bond funds, specifically Public Islamic Bond Fund:

1. what affects bond funds?

2. are bond funds 100% safe, e.g. is it safe to switch from equity to bond to wait for market correction?

3. what is the average return for bond funds?

4. which is the best performing and safest PM bond fund?
wirelessdude
post Dec 28 2009, 09:41 PM

594 posts

I'm not so concerned about the charges because I don't buy bond funds per se, but look at it as somewhere to "park" my money while waiting for a market correction. FYI, I'm Mutual Gold so I get a number of free switching per year.

Hence, what I'm really asking is which PM bond fund is safe to "park" my money and what kind of returns am I looking at. Because lately, I've seen the Public Islamic Bond Fund actually dropping and also with the recent talk of bond risks from possible interest rate hike next year.

QUOTE(thenightcrusader @ Dec 28 2009, 12:39 AM)
Actually all PM bonds are of the high grade type. they don't invest in grade B bonds and below. However, you're right on the understanding the risk before investing part. Every investor must understand the risk involved in their investments.
wirelessdude
post Jan 3 2010, 07:26 PM

594 posts

Why would you have to choose? Personally, I think it's wiser to NOT put all your eggs in one basket ...especially this year, when the market's already ran up a lot and interest rates are poised to be raised (i.e. bonds are also not safe).

I bought RM100k of PM funds in 2Q last year and my total's now about RM113k - so I've already made back my sales fees. But I've also placed RM50k in MYR FD, and RM120k in AUD FD in case our gomen somehow screws up with some stupid new policy.

The thing I like about PM is that it's a very established company, most of their funds are doing well, and I can do the switching myself online.

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jan 3 2010, 04:30 PM)
I think it's the same in terms of "where can we put this pile of money?". For instance you have 100K. You can't put the 100K in FD and mutual fund, you have to choose. I know you can split it, but even if you do, the 50K you put in MF, you can't put in FD. So we need to consider both and determine which one is better, since we can't put the same money in both at the same time. If you make the wrong choice, even if you make money, you will have lost the opportunity to make more money with the money you invested, so its important to compare both FD and MF and other investment ideas that are competing for the same chunk of cash.
wirelessdude
post Jan 3 2010, 07:37 PM

594 posts

I split them equally into Public Australia Equity Fund, Public China Select Fund and Public Far East Select Fund. And I switched them in and out to/from Public Islamic Bond Fund.

Haha... but I flunked my Bursa stocks thanks largely to one "Msports". Actually, I didn't lose ...just didn't make much ...maybe about 10%. I should've just held on to my REITs instead of trying to be smart. But I made practically double on my US stocks by betting on energy options.

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 3 2010, 07:28 PM)
Yeah, that's another minus point. The dividend given out will be reflected by a lower NAV, just like stocks.

So how then? Is buying unit trust good or not?  rclxub.gif

Cool! You have smallcap? How's your return so far?  hmm.gif

Added on January 3, 2010, 7:30 pm

Which fund is that? 100k to 113k over 2Q? That's good leh.....  hmm.gif
wirelessdude
post Jan 3 2010, 10:19 PM

594 posts

Think you misunderstood me - because of the money I lost on Msports, I only made 10% overall for Bursa stocks. I managed to catch the upswing for Msports and Xinquan, but they were not enough to cover for the losses on the down-swing ...no more Malaysian-listed China stocks for me. smile.gif

I picked those 3 equity funds because I wanted overseas exposure, specifically exposure to China's growth.

Actually, I have another RM50k in CIMB's Global Titan fund (US, Europe, Japan) and HSBC's NEAT2 (north-east Asia) but they are poor performers - perhaps only 3% up.

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jan 3 2010, 08:09 PM)
Good for you if you could make 10% on that even. Msports is interesting, I don't see how anyone could have made much on that except if the commissions were really low or he caught the push/caused the push.
wirelessdude
post Jan 3 2010, 10:24 PM

594 posts

30% a year boring? You're kidding right?

I'd be happy to maintain an average 10% a year!

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jan 3 2010, 10:20 PM)
I can introduce you to our broker, but we're fairly conservative, we don't gamble or punt or speculate. We invest, our time frames are typically five years or more, and we're only targeting about 30% a year. It's quite boring actually.
wirelessdude
post Jan 6 2010, 10:37 AM

594 posts

Don't scare the guy with wrong info lar. smile.gif

You need to buy a minimum RM100,000:
http://www.publicmutual.com.my/page.aspx?n...tualgoldelite01

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 6 2010, 09:36 AM)
You can need to achieve certain amount Mutual Gold points. I think should be 1 million.

Your statement should have displayed what is your current MGQP (Mutual Gold Qualifying Points).

0.0440sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:25 AM