Public Mutual, PM/PB series fund

SUSDavid83
post Sep 28 2007, 11:29 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Sep 28 2007, 11:23 PM)
Don't worry, it still has more upside to go, maybe it can't outperform ITTIKAL, but it will still outperform most of its peers..
I might be considering it, but I'm still waiting for the facts of SEA fund to be mailed to me tomorrow..
Then I'll see which fund to get..
What about you..?
Any info on the SEA fund..?
I'm not agent for first.

I asked my agent and he said the new SEA fund will be like PFES and it will be a redundant to my portfolio.

Not much info I could dig from him. Perhaps some forumer in here who is an agent could post more details.
Jordy
post Sep 28 2007, 11:36 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 28 2007, 11:29 PM)
I'm not agent for first.

I asked my agent and he said the new SEA fund will be like PFES and it will be a redundant to my portfolio.

Not much info I could dig from him. Perhaps some forumer in here who is an agent could post more details.
Waiting for ejleemy.. laugh.gif
But I think I'll be getting some technical info on it tomorrow..
Then hopefully I can share it here..
I'll have 2 days to make my decision.. wink.gif
Darkmage12
post Sep 29 2007, 12:39 AM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

lol you have 3 weeks la dude.....the promotion period until 22nd of october whistling.gif
ejleemy
post Sep 29 2007, 02:45 AM

435 posts

Maybe this can help with your fund selection.

http://ejleemy.blogspot.com/2007/09/public...tober-2007.html

Taken from my blog, you could see the key risks and potential growth of the fund.

Some Key factors that drive ASEAN growth
1. Exports
2. Domestic consumption
3. Robust private investment
4. Competitive currencies

Some Key factors to watchout for (RISK)
1. Liquidity and interest rate
2. Global and regional GDP growth
3. Oil prices and regional inflation
4. Equity market valuation
5. Forex risk

Ok, little insights on PFES and PFEDF funds. These 2 funds only invest around 10% in ASEAN ex Malaysia. What does it mean ? Say you have 10k in PFES, the actual investment into ASEAN exclude Msia is around 1k only.

If you wish to gain more exposure to ASEAN region alone, PSEASF and the other PB series fund - PBADF (a dividend fund) are the 2 best funds.

For those who are interested with this ASEAN market cake, moderate risk investor can consider PBADF, aggressive risk investor can consider this PSEASF.
Jordy
post Sep 29 2007, 07:04 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(ejleemy @ Sep 29 2007, 02:45 AM)
Maybe this can help with your fund selection.

http://ejleemy.blogspot.com/2007/09/public...tober-2007.html

Taken from my blog, you could see the key risks and potential growth of the fund.
Ok, little insights on PFES and PFEDF funds. These 2 funds only invest around 10% in ASEAN ex Malaysia. What does it mean ? Say you have 10k in PFES, the actual investment into ASEAN exclude Msia is around 1k only.

If you wish to gain more exposure to ASEAN region alone, PSEASF and the other PB series fund - PBADF (a dividend fund) are the 2 best funds.

For those who are interested with this ASEAN market cake, moderate risk investor can consider PBADF, aggressive risk investor can consider this PSEASF.
I have PBADF, and it's underperforming..
So, I'm going to repurchase it when it reaches my target of 10%..
Now already 6%, so 4% more to get my money.. brows.gif

Maybe I'll pass out on this SEA fund, because ASEAN fund can't perform very well now..
I'll definitely go for asia fund though, more growth opportunities.. icon_idea.gif
SUSDavid83
post Sep 29 2007, 07:57 AM

52,874 posts

ASEAN market is relatively volatile after China. Perhaps PSEASF is good for aggresive player.
Darkmage12
post Sep 29 2007, 08:50 AM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Sep 29 2007, 07:04 AM)

Maybe I'll pass out on this SEA fund, because ASEAN fund can't perform very well now..
I'll definitely go for asia fund though, more growth opportunities.. icon_idea.gif
if it wasn't for the subprime loan i think PBADF would have been the best fund for this year
ejleemy
post Sep 29 2007, 10:01 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Sep 29 2007, 07:04 AM)

Hmmm... from where did you see it's underperforming ? Refer to the chart, the fund began trading only at around beginning of the june and the benchmark already scored ~4% gain that time. Despite the disadvantage of the 4%, the fund still managed to outperform the index by yesterday prices. I think they were doing an awesome job.

Asia/Far East funds target market are more broad, whereas this is more specialized on ASEAN only. From the last 5 years benchmark, ASEAN index did perform a bit lower than Far East Ex Japan, it is because the majority growth were from China. China GDP growth = ~10% consistently for the last few years, no country could beat that.

MSCI Far East Ex Japan Index - 170.1%
Public ASEAN Index - 155.7%
KLCI - 79.1%

Jordy
post Sep 29 2007, 12:40 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(ejleemy @ Sep 29 2007, 10:01 AM)
Hmmm... from where did you see it's underperforming ? Refer to the chart, the fund began trading only at around beginning of the june and the benchmark already scored ~4% gain that time. Despite the disadvantage of the 4%, the fund still managed to outperform the index by yesterday prices. I think they were doing an awesome job.

Asia/Far East funds target market are more broad, whereas this is more specialized on ASEAN only. From the last 5 years benchmark, ASEAN index did perform a bit lower than Far East Ex Japan, it is because the majority growth were from China. China GDP growth = ~10% consistently for the last few years, no country could beat that.
Oh, I was talking about it underperforming my other 2 funds..
Not referring to the benchmark.. tongue.gif
Yeah, I know it's slow because it's investing in the emerging markets..
Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia and Phillipines..
It's better to choose the broader asia funds that covers markets targetted by foreign funds now ain't it..?
SUSDavid83
post Sep 29 2007, 09:10 PM

52,874 posts

Emerging Asian markets will be China in the leading lead and then following by booming India and Vietnam. SEA market is very vulnerable to worldwide upset. Small news could create an economic havoc.
Jordy
post Sep 30 2007, 03:44 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

That's why it's better to choose Asian funds, but I might be putting some cash in this SEA fund as reserves..
SUSDavid83
post Sep 30 2007, 08:28 PM

52,874 posts

I'm thinking of switching some units from PSBF to PFEPRF. What you guys think?
TSdzi921
post Sep 30 2007, 08:57 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 30 2007, 08:28 PM)
I would if I were you smile.gif Market now heading up, better keep in equity than bond now
SUSDavid83
post Sep 30 2007, 08:58 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Sep 30 2007, 08:57 PM)
I would if I were you smile.gif Market now heading up, better keep in equity than bond now
Which fund would you suggest? PFEPRF is not a purely equity fund.
TSdzi921
post Sep 30 2007, 09:06 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 30 2007, 08:58 PM)
Which fund would you suggest? PFEPRF is not a purely equity fund.
Your PSBF is loaded? If loaded I will got for PAIF, if not loaded I not touch it

I have decided not to buy/switch once index exceed 1300 liao

This is me only. It's really up to ur guts

PS, seems like you do not have much local funds? Any reason?
SUSDavid83
post Sep 30 2007, 09:08 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Sep 30 2007, 09:06 PM)
Your PSBF is loaded? If loaded I will got for PAIF, if not loaded I not touch it

I have decided not to buy/switch once index exceed 1300 liao

This is me only. It's really up to ur guts

PS, seems like you do not have much local funds? Any reason?
All the units in PSBF are loaded. PAIF has been up for the last two weeks. It may be expensive to go in now unless I could assure that the market will be still going up. NAV for PAIF is 0.3239 as of September 28.

I don't have a local fund because my favourite fund, PITTIKIAL has been closed for more than a year. That's the only local fund I have in my investment history with PM.

This post has been edited by David83: Sep 30 2007, 09:13 PM
TSdzi921
post Oct 1 2007, 08:01 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

28/09/2007

KLCI
All Time & Current High: 24/07/2007 1392.18
Correction Low : 17/08/2007 1191.55
TSdzi921
post Oct 1 2007, 08:09 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

Hoho... a very good week smile.gif In one week go up 3.13% flex.gif

Investments (Valued On 21/09/2007):- FD (17.40%), PSMALLCAP (15.99%), PIOF (15.76%), PRSF (25.65%), PGF (23.68%), PIEBF (0.76%), PISBF (0.75%) = 100% (Net Profit = 11.25%)

Investments (Valued On 28/09/2007):- FD (16.92%), PSMALLCAP (16.13%), PIOF (15.72%), PRSF (25.86%), PGF (23.89%), PIEBF (0.74%), PISBF (0.73%) = 100% (Net Profit = 14.38%)

Jordy
post Oct 1 2007, 11:33 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 30 2007, 08:28 PM)
PFEPRF is slowly gaining pace now..
It's still relatively new, still not yet 3 months..
You can go into it, but not much though..
It should pick up after 3 months..
Also it invests in property developments too, so the return might be slower..
For the best bet now, invest in PIADF or PCSF..
Tomorrow HK market will be open but China markets will be closed for the whole week..
So, mainland investors will go into HK markets and start speculating there..
Taiwan market is still open, and it's also rising, which means HK might rise tomorrow too if DJ tonight is good..
PIADF and PCSF will rise the whole week through.. thumbup.gif

Should I be smiling now PIADF and PCSF 0.2704 and 0.2740 respectively..
Gained approximately 1.4k and 1.9k respectively, narrowed my lost in PBEPEF to -450 now..
I now at Ipoh, can't do any transaction for this whole week, can't join the wave of HK rise.. wink.gif
So overall doing ok, gaining around 1k a day..
I should be locking some profit starting next week on PIADF and PCSF..

This post has been edited by Jordy: Oct 1 2007, 11:36 AM
TSdzi921
post Oct 1 2007, 05:12 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Oct 1 2007, 11:33 AM)
PFEPRF is slowly gaining pace now..
It's still relatively new, still not yet 3 months..
You can go into it, but not much though..
It should pick up after 3 months..
Also it invests in property developments too, so the return might be slower..
For the best bet now, invest in PIADF or PCSF..
Tomorrow HK market will be open but China markets will be closed for the whole week..
So, mainland investors will go into HK markets and start speculating there..
Taiwan market is still open, and it's also rising, which means HK might rise tomorrow too if DJ tonight is good..
PIADF and PCSF will rise the whole week through.. thumbup.gif

Should I be smiling now PIADF and PCSF 0.2704 and 0.2740 respectively..
Gained approximately 1.4k and 1.9k respectively, narrowed my lost in PBEPEF to -450 now..
I now at Ipoh, can't do any transaction for this whole week, can't join the wave of HK rise.. wink.gif
So overall doing ok, gaining around 1k a day..
I should be locking some profit starting next week on PIADF and PCSF..
Fuyoh... thumbup.gif

128 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:32 AM