QUOTE(Long88 @ Mar 11 2021, 07:44 AM)
no ip rating i guess?.
Nope
mois
post Mar 11 2021, 08:11 AM

Enemy Territory
3,165 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Mar 10 2021, 10:21 PM)
Wow...just noticed there is bypass charging mode where you can plug in the charger but it doesn't charge the battery , only charge the device .
Bypass charging already there for few months on rog 3. But i hardly use it because my headphone is type C. Cannot plug 2 usb C down there lol.
kahjye
post Mar 11 2021, 08:25 AM

4,453 posts

Good phone
edmund_yung
post Mar 11 2021, 10:15 AM

1,194 posts

It's all good until reading about Asus poor track record in Android updates.
lazyman@home
post Mar 11 2021, 10:18 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Mar 11 2021, 08:11 AM)
Bypass charging already there for few months on rog 3. But i hardly use it because my headphone is type C. Cannot plug 2 usb C down there lol.
that is one of the rog 3 flaw get rectified in rog 5, 3.5mm headphone jack is back smile.gif
TSghoss
post Mar 11 2021, 10:55 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Mar 11 2021, 10:15 AM)
It's all good until reading about Asus poor track record in Android updates.
Is there at least 2 years of updates?
edmund_yung
post Mar 11 2021, 11:19 AM

1,194 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Mar 11 2021, 10:55 AM)
Is there at least 2 years of updates?
https://www.androidauthority.com/android-11...racker-1155652/
https://piunikaweb.com/2021/03/01/asus-lags...its-android-11/
skylinelover
post Mar 11 2021, 01:38 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
10,509 posts

QUOTE(derthvadar @ Mar 10 2021, 10:04 PM)
Bruh... really? Same like triskaidekaphobia? Fear of 13?
Haha then we see if new iphone will use number 13 laugh.gif icon_idea.gif
zioburosky13
post Mar 11 2021, 02:40 PM

554 posts

I will wait the official release here which probably happens in Quarter 3 of this year, say September, based on the track record.

Currently on Rog Phone 2, while it is still powerful in the league, the lack of 5G connectivity support is what drives me planning to get the ROG Phone 5. Don't bother with ROG 3 for its lack of headphone jack.

This post has been edited by zioburosky13: Mar 11 2021, 02:43 PM
zioburosky13
post Mar 11 2021, 02:44 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(Long88 @ Mar 11 2021, 07:44 AM)
no ip rating i guess?.
From the experience, better to get a good case or waterproof smartphone pouch like those designed for outdoor activities to protect the phone, no matter what the IP rating is.
sonotme
post Mar 11 2021, 02:45 PM

1,523 posts

Do u guys use this phone as a daily driver or a 2nd phone for gaming?
I can't seem to get myself to commit to rog phone as i'm just a light gamer and uses camera once in awhile..
mois
post Mar 11 2021, 02:48 PM

Enemy Territory
3,165 posts

QUOTE(sonotme @ Mar 11 2021, 02:45 PM)
I can't seem to get myself to commit to rog phone as i'm just a light gamer and uses camera once in awhile..
Im using 2nd phone.
Tronoh
post Mar 11 2021, 03:03 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(sonotme @ Mar 11 2021, 02:45 PM)
I'm using the first ROG phone as my Work-From-Home phone. still handling it well despite some lagging here and there. since i don't care about camera, i know i didn't overpay anything i dont want for the phone. i would've bought Note if it wasn't for the Exynos processor.
TSghoss
post Mar 11 2021, 03:54 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Mar 11 2021, 11:19 AM)
Lol it's ok la. I'm used to not getting updates.

QUOTE(zioburosky13 @ Mar 11 2021, 02:40 PM)
I will wait the official release here which probably happens in Quarter 3 of this year, say September, based on the track record.

Currently on Rog Phone 2, while it is still powerful in the league, the lack of 5G connectivity support is what drives me planning to get the ROG Phone 5. Don't bother with ROG 3 for its lack of headphone jack.
It's supposed to be here by April. Pro / ultimate coming on May

TSghoss
post Mar 11 2021, 07:40 PM

957 posts

the pre order kunai gamepad gift is sold out. Direct D is giving powerbank instead.
Tronoh
post Mar 11 2021, 09:23 PM

225 posts

direct d can already preorder ultimate/pro. suddenly my hands are itchy. they're reliable bunch? I'm just worried the preorder might turn out later than the non preorder
zilch28
post Mar 11 2021, 10:07 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Mar 11 2021, 07:40 PM)
the pre order kunai gamepad gift is sold out. Direct D is giving powerbank instead.
I was thinking of pre-ordering since it gives the kunai, which looks kinda nice for mobile gaming. But what kind of powerbank are they giving that could possibly be of equivalent value?
jin_akira
post Mar 11 2021, 10:24 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

As a ROG3 user, you all better be ready to face some issues that may come along with it;

1. Black crush display; to be fair, other phone manufacturers are also facing issues (even the iPhone has display tint issues) but the fix or calibration is taking sooo long

2. Software support; the latest anticipated update you'll get is most probably Android 12. Historically ROG phones managed to get 1 major update, but even then it is slow. ROG 3 is still on Android 10. Even security updates are slow. It can be a pretty big deal if the phone has software issues, so don't take this lightly

3. Accessories; so hard to find 3rd party cases, have to rely on Aliexpress. Also avoid the Kunai, it does not support diagonal movements on the direction pad which is damn silly and makes it practically useless for emulators

If you can live with these issues (like myself with the ROG 3), then you should totally go for it cause the battery should be great and the phone should be super smooth if i am basing it off the current ROG 3's performance. And damn the white one looks good
TSghoss
post Mar 11 2021, 10:48 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(zilch28 @ Mar 11 2021, 10:07 PM)
I was thinking of pre-ordering since it gives the kunai, which looks kinda nice for mobile gaming. But what kind of powerbank are they giving that could possibly be of equivalent value?
Giving the Asus 4000mah slim powerbank laugh.gif

Others like PC image not giving anything

QUOTE(jin_akira @ Mar 11 2021, 10:24 PM)
As a ROG3 user, you all better be ready to face some issues that may come along with it;

1. Black crush display; to be fair, other phone manufacturers are also facing issues (even the iPhone has display tint issues) but the fix or calibration is taking sooo long

2. Software support; the latest anticipated update you'll get is most probably Android 12. Historically ROG phones managed to get 1 major update, but even then it is slow. ROG 3 is still on Android 10. Even security updates are slow. It can be a pretty big deal if the phone has software issues, so don't take this lightly

3. Accessories; so hard to find 3rd party cases, have to rely on Aliexpress. Also avoid the Kunai, it does not support diagonal movements on the direction pad which is damn silly and makes it practically useless for emulators

If you can live with these issues (like myself with the ROG 3), then you should totally go for it cause the battery should be great and the phone should be super smooth if i am basing it off the current ROG 3's performance. And damn the white one looks good
1. What's the black crush display?
2. I'm ok with slow updates
3. I'm also thinking hard abit to get cases. The kunai really that cacat?

QUOTE(Tronoh @ Mar 11 2021, 09:23 PM)
direct d can already preorder ultimate/pro. suddenly my hands are itchy. they're reliable bunch? I'm just worried the preorder might turn out later than the non preorder
I never dealt with them beforem I think this pro / ultimate is their own pre order.

Just now saw Oppo X3 pro. Price tag gila wei lol

This post has been edited by ghoss: Mar 11 2021, 10:50 PM

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0181sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:19 AM