Hardware Hackintosh Thread, The Official OSX86 Thread

tarpaucase
post Mar 8 2009, 12:15 PM

3,469 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Mar 2 2009, 12:06 PM)
All hackintosh sifus, do I have to read all 51 pages to find out which mobo & graphic card that can be bought locally, best suitable for OSX86?
Ya I visited http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/index.php/HCL_10.5.6 and found GA-EP45-DS3L is most compatible but have other people complaint about it also. So right now I am confused.
So far what is the best graphic card, source locally, do you guys recommend?
My personal experience with this mobo is that it works. However I am on the efix usb thingee so I haven't had much problems. Updating the firmware on that thing on vista64bit is a bit problematic, you need to reboot and go into some funky windows mode to do it.. but once you got mac osx installed it's hassle free. I'm installed 10.5.4 and upgraded to 10.5.6 without having to go through any kext installing and all those funky stuff. It works just like a real mac would. Haven't had any problems thus far.. am using a 9800gtx+ for it too (was previously on a 4850 but couldn't wait for 10.5.7 so.. )

be sure to upgrade the bios of the mobo to the latest ..some 9800gtx+ card don't like the old firmware for some strange reason.
tarpaucase
post Mar 10 2009, 07:01 PM

3,469 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Mar 8 2009, 12:52 PM)
well, if u got the bullets to be spend, why not? or u kinda lazy to figure out the chameleon method, then this EFiX suit u much, but u also need the hardware that official support by them tongue.gif

there is many way to proper install retail OS X, just select your favor smile.gif
I've always been curious - with the chameleon method, what do you guys do when there's a new software update? Do you just "Software Update" everything as a real Mac would ? No messing around with kext and stuff? or is that required? I've heard about Chameleon before but I'm just a lazy sod who can't really keep up with these modifications nor do I have time for it tongue.gif

0.0203sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:48 PM