Hardware Hackintosh Thread, The Official OSX86 Thread

cktan27
post Mar 12 2009, 05:56 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(bizkutrai @ Mar 12 2009, 05:20 PM)
This is a guide how to create a bootable Chameleon Powered USB Drive. You need a working Mac to do this. Hackintosh or a real Mac.

1. Put your Mac OS X Installer DMG on the desktop

2. Insert your USB Flash Drive

3. In Disk Utility, click on the Flash Drive (the root, not the partition name)

a. Click on the Restore tab
b. Select your Mac OS X Installer DMG as the Source (you can drag-anddrop the files for both this and the next step)
c. Select your Flash Drive (the partition name, not the root this time) as the Destination
d. Check the "Erase Destination" box
e. Click the Start button

4. Upon completion, install Chameleon EFI to the USB Flash Drive using UInstaller  (for simplicity) . Please select a right drive to install. get it from here http://pcwizcomputer.com/index.php?option=...d=149&Itemid=48

5. Reboot from USB

You need, at minimum, a 4GB USB Flash Drive or more. External USB drive can be used.
Thanks for the guide
cktan27
post Apr 22 2009, 11:41 AM

59 posts

i finally have my Mac Pro..clone of course tongue.gif smile.gif up yestrerday

i'm using Leopard Original Retail DVD install using bootloader download from the forum.. i read and follow all the step carefully from insanelymac forum..of course hardware compatible list is most important.

my hardware list;
Gigabyte ep45-ud3r ( forum have all the ktext ready on this board thumbup.gif )
Q9400
4GB hyper x ram
XFX 8800GT
Leopard Original Retail DVD (this is the soul)..i try use clone DVD but not working.

bios setting also very important using this trick, i stuck on this b cos not follow the step early, and No IDE drive..only SATA make you less hassle,
this already save me some $$ to get the EFI-X dongle plan early.

so far the system run faster/smoother then my macbook pro..will install the design software tonite and c what happen.
+ point is it can update all software from apple update natively.

cktan27
post Apr 27 2009, 11:58 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Apr 24 2009, 09:20 AM)
Great to hear your success.  thumbup.gif
I may want to start on this project instead of waiting for all working i7 MacHack. Don't mind but can you post the correct link to the steps from insanelymac forum.
How the design software doing? CS4, Final Cut Pro? hmm.gif
Follow this link and you will find alot of resources..just follow step by step the setup you wont go wrong nod.gif

first get the idea from here:
ihackintosh

then follow this threat..(try read all threat before you start):
insanelymac

hope this can help

all credit from link above

** Yes..it run 2x faster then my macbook pro 2.5ghz now..just install n test d CS4 and very happy with tat speed, wil upgrade to 8g ram soon.

Added on April 27, 2009, 12:03 pm
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Apr 25 2009, 10:18 PM)
Hahaa..  laugh.gif  Now, both of us owned HacPro, powaaful than the real Macpro tongue.gif
Also can update easily with official Apple update patches  brows.gif

Gratzz d0od
biggrin.gif yes..it powerful then the real MAC Pro (4 core) tongue.gif ..dun think this can beat 8 core..i hope can get mobo which fit with 2 proc.

me stil have 1 more thing not solve yet..: WIFI

Gratzz dood : your network use LAN or WIRELESS adapter card?

This post has been edited by cktan27: Apr 27 2009, 12:03 PM
cktan27
post Apr 27 2009, 04:29 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 27 2009, 02:52 PM)
Make sure your card is compatible

I bought D-link GWL520-G and it works fine. Its a PCI card FYI and it uses atheros chip

If you want to work it as airport , get broadcom or atheros chipsets (which are compatible) and OSX will work fine with them !
Thanks for the info..but i prefer N card (cos am using N router)..look like Dlink DWA-556 pci express use atheros chipset too..hope this work straight out of d box
cktan27
post Apr 30 2009, 12:07 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Apr 28 2009, 08:45 PM)
Thanks for the poison ...err...link  laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
Is your CS4 with Premiere Pro? or you are using Final Cut Pro?
just finish install n tested CS4 (master collection) and i tell you i love the speed compare to my macbook pro nod.gif

powerful AI cs4 now will automatic search the missing font fr local HD and it will open the file even u not install the font .. rclxms.gif
but cs4 did alot restructuring..need time to re-study where d function goes.. rclxub.gif
cktan27
post May 3 2009, 12:00 PM

59 posts

my another happy day again with Hack-Mac-Pro project..

was search tru insanelymac d whole afternoon abt d native working wireless on my Hack Mac pro..but only found Latest linksys WUSB600N wich work out of d box...but i went linksys dealer shop they say " u saw fr net us site rite..1 year later la in Malaysia"... mad.gif

go home search search again..found this Dlink DWA-140 using ratlink chipset.. rclxms.gif

quick quick rush to IT mall n get this stick back to try out with d download driver...

install driver > restart > plug in d stick > preference pane select USB wireless > key in wireless password > ..................nothing happen shocking.gif

check again....was miss out check the apple talk in preference pane sweat.gif

try connect with DHCP again....IS WORKING GREAT rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif ..say bye bye to my 60ft long cable.

for those who need WIFI N for hack Mac or even Real Mac Pro..this baby not bad (compare to airport extreme card is much more cheaper lo)

thanks for ratlink chipset.

0.0517sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:53 PM