Cement is not an issue, can import as well when price is too high.
The problem is always sand aggregate.
🧱【Top 6】Cement Companies in Malaysia 🇲🇾
Mar 6 2021, 08:45 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
91 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Cement is not an issue, can import as well when price is too high. The problem is always sand aggregate. dest9116 liked this post
Mar 6 2021, 09:01 AM
[quote=plouffle0789,Mar 6 2021, 08:55 AM]
[quote=Angelic Layer,Mar 6 2021, 08:45 AM] Cement is not an issue, can import as well when price is too high. The problem is always sand aggregate. Do you means this?? Cement very cheap at malaysia What brand they brought from foreign company? [/quote] Because you need to use river sand for aggregate, if you salt water sand the concrete will crack. Lousy or songlap contractor will use "washed" sea water sand, but it is never clean, that's why you see a lot of building with crack or compromised concrete. Malaysia all river sand kena exploited and sell either to Singapore or China company. |
Mar 6 2021, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(Mike3 @ Mar 6 2021, 09:07 AM) dont think cement is imported in west malaysia. not sure about east tho. Yes, you mean fly ash.i heard CMS business is so good that during long maintenance they buy from west malaysia as well to sustain the consumption. producing will be cheaper unless in countries like myanmar. even if import/export they usually do clinker . they will still need to grind at the respective places to produce cement. Edit: if im not mistaken , clinker from japan abit cheaper as in japan cement is usually the byproduct. they actually use the cement kiln to burn of waste( something like alam flora). they earn money from the waste disposal. clinker they jsut sell off as a byproduct to earn more money. not sure about the quality tho. I am not familiar with commercial construction here, but residential wise people uses steel frame mostly for new build modern house, either panel based construction or light weight foam concrete, so there isn't much use for fly ash but for maybe commercial buildings. I have heard that volcanic ash is even better, but so far I never heard it being used in Japan, there is a pioneering company into this I read in the book "Concrete planet" and was surprised it was actually a German company based in Malaysia! |
Mar 6 2021, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(Mike3 @ Mar 6 2021, 11:40 AM) there is special cement called fly ash cement. some grinding plant use it. meaning they buy those fly ash from power plant then mix with with clinker at a certain ratio to produce fly ash cement. It probably has more use in prefab than on site construction in Malaysia.i remember it has a longer curing time but less heat during curing so we can cast at bigger block size without cracking (i hear before as one of building uses it) im not involved in construction. Malaysia still relied on poured on mold concrete while overseas uses foam concrete (I just learnt that it uses fly ash mixture as well) when it is strong enough for residential. In fact foam concrete will be cooler for Malaysia weather, I wondered why constructor/developer isn't more open minded to developments. |
Mar 6 2021, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(bobowyc @ Mar 6 2021, 11:57 AM) Whoa. I didnt know different sand will cause these problems in concrete. lol. So for plastering new wall, sand also plays a factor in it? Because I have seen new wall plastered and within months crack again.. :\ No problem with plastering, maybe they are only shrinkage crack, not structural unlike concrete.That's why Cantonese say shoddy construction as "ham shui lou" - salt water building - earlier cases uses salt water sand as aggregate, not only concrete crack, the steel bar inside also corroded. |
Mar 6 2021, 08:05 PM
QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Mar 6 2021, 07:47 PM) No, but my late father is.I do personally involve with an architect in investigating modern alternative construction techniques for my own project, even when it didn't come to be after many months of hard work, I learn a lot about materials and technique in the process. |
Mar 6 2021, 08:14 PM
Mar 6 2021, 09:03 PM
QUOTE(bobowyc @ Mar 6 2021, 08:36 PM) Most people don't know, unless people do electro conductivity test bobowyc liked this post
May 14 2021, 05:57 AM
QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 14 2021, 12:09 AM) Many reasons, maybe they want to reduce group debt on balance sheet, maybe group synergy, maybe accounting or tax play. |
| Change to: | 0.0242sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:31 AM |