Outdoor Daikin AC unit making loud noise

TSgjunhao
post Mar 3 2021, 01:17 AM, updated 5y ago

52 posts

Ayam not sure whether this is normal outdoor AC unit noise.. Just bought it less than 3 weeks ago. I bought two unit, 1hp and 1.5hp. The 1.5hp is noisy. Any sifu can advice whether your outdoor AC is making noises this loud?

https://youtu.be/9MaoEYiwEFA
SUSceo684
post Mar 3 2021, 01:23 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(gjunhao @ Mar 3 2021, 01:17 AM)
Ayam not sure whether this is normal outdoor AC unit noise.. Just bought it less than 3 weeks ago. I bought two unit, 1hp and 1.5hp. The 1.5hp is noisy. Any sifu can advice whether your outdoor AC is making noises this loud?

That sounds noisy. Even my 1990s Toshiba also just a whooooo wind noise blowing hot air.

When you press in the ODU fan cover gently (spread your palm like starfish), does it quiet down?
Also try pressing down from the top gently (sign of not fastened correctly to the bracket).
Could be poor electrical contact at the MCB (less likely, but u can cycle on and off the MCB a few times at the DB box for the aircon circuit).

This post has been edited by ceo684: Mar 3 2021, 01:25 AM
metalfire
post Mar 3 2021, 01:23 AM

1,310 posts

i also got the 1.5hp daikin, so far don't have this sound. Better check with daikin after sales service to double make sure.
TSgjunhao
post Mar 3 2021, 01:37 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 3 2021, 01:23 AM)
That sounds noisy. Even my 1990s Toshiba also just a whooooo wind noise blowing hot air.

When you press in the ODU fan cover gently (spread your palm like starfish), does it quiet down?
Also try pressing down from the top gently (sign of not fastened correctly to the bracket).
Could be poor electrical contact at the MCB (less likely, but u can cycle on and off the MCB a few times at the DB box for the aircon circuit).
Hmm I tried but still the same, noisy af sleep.gif.
SUSceo684
post Mar 3 2021, 01:55 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(gjunhao @ Mar 3 2021, 01:37 AM)
Hmm I tried but still the same, noisy af sleep.gif.
Time to call them tomorrow to lodge a warranty claim.
SUSslimey
post Mar 3 2021, 08:45 AM

6,914 posts

sounds like an inverter unit running higher than 100 percent capacity.

if the sound lowers down when it reaches the set temp.......or if you set a higher temp.......it might be normal behavior.
lyt25_1234
post Mar 3 2021, 09:35 AM

1,152 posts

Fuiyoh, super noisy!
It's inverter ka?
blanket84
post Mar 3 2021, 11:41 AM

1,521 posts

My panasonic also make the same loud noise, but the sound become very quite after it reaches the set temperature. I suspect because the outdoor unit is sitting loose on the bracket as my stupid contractor never put any bolt attaching the outdoor unit to the bracket.
SUSceo684
post Mar 3 2021, 12:18 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Mar 3 2021, 11:41 AM)
My panasonic also make the same loud noise, but the sound become very quite after it reaches the set temperature. I suspect because the outdoor unit is sitting loose on the bracket as my stupid contractor never put any bolt attaching the outdoor unit to the bracket.
Can use felt pads or cut up a used belt to form washer-like feet to insulate the ODU against metal bracket so it doesn't make the metal on metal noise, before attaching bolts to secure it. Bolts also very cheap but still they cut corners.
blanket84
post Mar 3 2021, 12:24 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 3 2021, 12:18 PM)
Can use felt pads or cut up a used belt to form washer-like feet to insulate the ODU against metal bracket so it doesn't make the metal on metal noise, before attaching bolts to secure it. Bolts also very cheap but still they cut corners.
It's more like they were lazy to put on bolts then saving money to supply bolts. My previous AC installer also so lazy only put 2 bolts on the bracket. This one even worse never put bolts at all. To make it worse, the holes on the ODU weren't aligned with the holes on the bracket, hence I have to study whether trying to align the ODU myself would have effect to the copper connection.
SUSceo684
post Mar 3 2021, 12:27 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Mar 3 2021, 12:24 PM)
It's more like they were lazy to put on bolts then saving money to supply bolts. My previous AC installer also so lazy only put 2 bolts on the bracket. This one even worse never put bolts at all. To make it worse, the holes on the ODU weren't aligned with the holes on the bracket, hence I have to study whether trying to align the ODU myself would have effect to the copper connection.
Else, worst case scenario - you can still make another 2 holes accordingly on the bracket if needed (when your drill arrives) brows.gif
blanket84
post Mar 3 2021, 12:33 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 3 2021, 12:27 PM)
Else, worst case scenario - you can still make another 2 holes accordingly on the bracket if needed (when your drill arrives) brows.gif
Good idea! TBH I have never used a drill before in my life. The only "power tools" I have ever use is a mini drill with screw driver attachment. I have practice first before attempting that.
SUSceo684
post Mar 3 2021, 01:40 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Mar 3 2021, 12:33 PM)
Good idea! TBH I have never used a drill before in my life. The only "power tools" I have ever use is a mini drill with screw driver attachment. I have practice first before attempting that.
Yup metal will need HSS bits. U can practise on old tin can. Mark the center dot, punch a depression using nail n hammer, then the drill bit won't runaway.
lyt25_1234
post Mar 3 2021, 02:25 PM

1,152 posts

Happy DIY!
Don't end up messing things up...haha
SUSslimey
post Mar 3 2021, 02:29 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Mar 3 2021, 12:33 PM)
you can use self drilling screw if you dont have a drill.

use metal washer and rubber washer accordingly. and dont overtighten.
nexona88
post Mar 3 2021, 03:38 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,588 posts

good luck DIY..
just don't do wrongly.... ended up extra cost tongue.gif
TSgjunhao
post Mar 4 2021, 06:17 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Mar 3 2021, 09:35 AM)
Fuiyoh, super noisy!
It's inverter ka?
Ya inverter mah so noisy useless shit
keyser soze
post Mar 4 2021, 06:19 PM

570 posts

still under warranty can call their hotline, they will send technician to check.
TSgjunhao
post Mar 4 2021, 06:31 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Mar 4 2021, 06:19 PM)
still under warranty can call their hotline, they will send technician to check.
Ya I already raised a ticket to them, maybe next week only they arrange to come
Momo33
post Mar 4 2021, 06:34 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(gjunhao @ Mar 3 2021, 02:17 AM)

you have 2 ODU on that wall ya or ??

This post has been edited by Momo33: Mar 4 2021, 06:34 PM

0.0212sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:38 AM