Aircon Service, Aircon not cold

TSatrashcan
post Mar 1 2021, 07:46 PM, updated 5y ago

100 posts

Hi guys

So I usually dismantle my wall mounted Aircon and wash the blower, filter and top housing with Dettol myself.

Currently my Aircon is not cold.

What service do I need from the Aircon technician? Just add Aircon gas?
SUSrtk74
post Mar 1 2021, 07:53 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

Possibly got leak, how old is the aircon

Outside unit needs to be cleaned as well
haturaya
post Mar 1 2021, 07:58 PM

2,556 posts

QUOTE(atrashcan @ Mar 1 2021, 07:46 PM)
Hi guys

So I usually dismantle my wall mounted Aircon and wash the blower, filter and top housing with Dettol myself.

Need gas topup perhaps.
keyser soze
post Mar 1 2021, 08:09 PM

569 posts

how old is the AC? When is the last time you have technician to service your AC?
kw
post Mar 1 2021, 08:27 PM

781 posts

Hi guys

You dismantle the whole indoor unit for cleaning or you only dismantle the plastic casing & cleaning the cool & blower by pouring water on it?
If it's latter, better ask a proper aicond technician to do a through cleaning, most likely the cooling coils are clogged
SUSslimey
post Mar 1 2021, 08:42 PM

6,914 posts

tons of reasons.

unless you have the diy skills or the knowledge of how aircon and electricity works.......no point for me to list them out.
eddievh
post Mar 1 2021, 08:53 PM

3,219 posts

Outside condenser also need to clean, no clean can't dissipate heat good enough overall pressure high will cause not that cold inside and high current power usage.
TSatrashcan
post Mar 1 2021, 09:22 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Mar 1 2021, 07:53 PM)
Possibly got leak, how old is the aircon

Outside unit needs to be cleaned as well
QUOTE(keyser soze @ Mar 1 2021, 08:09 PM)
how old is the AC? When is the last time you have technician to service your AC?
QUOTE(kw @ Mar 1 2021, 08:27 PM)
You dismantle the whole indoor unit for cleaning or you only dismantle the plastic casing & cleaning the cool & blower by pouring water on it?
If it's latter, better ask a proper aicond technician to do a through cleaning, most likely the cooling coils are clogged
QUOTE(eddievh @ Mar 1 2021, 08:53 PM)
Outside condenser also need to clean, no clean can't dissipate heat good enough overall pressure high will cause not that cold inside and high current power usage.
Aircon is maybe 10 years old? Never serviced. Just routine DIY cleaning of the indoor blower, housing and filter with Dettol (I'm a bit ocd and have sinus issues) maybe 3 times a year. That's the only basic "servicing" I know how to DIY.

With the MCO now I've got reduced income therefore don't want to spend much on unnecessary service. Any idea on what services I need from the aircon technician? There seems to be many:

1. Chemical service (indoor?) I don't think I need this.
2. Normal service?
3. Gas top up

This is the catalogue from the technician:
https://sites.google.com/view/nazrancataloque/home

kamfoo
post Mar 1 2021, 09:25 PM

847 posts

Better do chemical clean
keyser soze
post Mar 1 2021, 09:33 PM

569 posts

QUOTE(atrashcan @ Mar 1 2021, 09:22 PM)
Aircon is maybe 10 years old? Never serviced. Just routine DIY cleaning of the indoor blower, housing and filter with Dettol (I'm a bit ocd and have sinus issues) maybe 3 times a year. That's the only basic "servicing" I know how to DIY.

With the MCO now I've got reduced income therefore don't want to spend much on unnecessary service. Any idea on what services I need from the aircon technician? There seems to be many:

2. Normal service?
3. Gas top up

Top up gas if there is a leak. Now a day technician found not enough gas, they just top up only. Never check where is the leak. If they fix the leak, they lost future business. Finding leak is also very tedious.
If 10 years didn't dismantled the pipe joint then your problem most likely is not leak, if it's leak then possibly the outdoor coil or indoor coil corrosion which is wasting money to repair.
If not leaking then there are many possibilities. Indoor thermistor, outdoor thermistor, outdoor fan motor, capacitor or even the compressor.
If AC is 10 years old, my advice is to replace a new inverter AC (if yours is non-inverter).
Did your AC got any light that blinking? You can search the manual to see the fault code from blinking light.
burn22
post Mar 1 2021, 09:35 PM

398 posts

once in a while, kena call aircon services specialist to do it!! they know best.

TSatrashcan
post Mar 1 2021, 09:41 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Mar 1 2021, 09:33 PM)
Top up gas if there is a leak. Now a day technician found not enough gas, they just top up only. Never check where is the leak. If they fix the leak, they lost future business. Finding leak is also very tedious.
If 10 years didn't dismantled the pipe joint then your problem most likely is not leak, if it's leak then possibly the outdoor coil or indoor coil corrosion which is wasting money to repair.
If not leaking then there are many possibilities. Indoor thermistor, outdoor thermistor, outdoor fan motor, capacitor or even the compressor.
If AC is 10 years old, my advice is to replace a new inverter AC (if yours is non-inverter).
Did your AC got any light that blinking? You can search the manual to see the fault code from blinking light.
This is very helpful thank you. It's a Panasonic inverter. Yup got light blinking and its red colour light. Then turn off and turn on again the red light will go away. But after awhile it will turn on again and start flashing. This usually happens during the day when its really hot outside. At night very rarely the red light will blink.

I think the manual throw away already lol.

mikeeeee
post Mar 1 2021, 10:06 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

I just chemical cleaning for my 10 years old ac also. The technician dismantle wall unit to wash filter, coil and fan separately. Also washed the outdoor unit and top up gas. From the need to set 18c , now only need to set 24-25c and it's cooling faster.

Only cost me rm160, regretted didn't do this earlier lol
fox_shinoda
post Mar 1 2021, 10:12 PM

1,001 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Mar 1 2021, 10:06 PM)
I just chemical cleaning for my 10 years old ac also. The technician dismantle wall unit to wash filter, coil and fan separately. Also washed the outdoor unit and top up gas. From the need to set 18c , now only need to set 24-25c and it's cooling faster.

Same like me, just did a full aircond service for only Rm160, coolhero. They clean up the indoor unit, outdoor unit using chemical, and top up gas. Now faster cooling
TSatrashcan
post Mar 1 2021, 10:19 PM

100 posts

Can share your contact bro? Chemical cleaning + outdoor unit + gas top up only 160?
TSatrashcan
post Mar 1 2021, 10:20 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(fox_shinoda @ Mar 1 2021, 10:12 PM)
Same like me, just did a full aircond service for only Rm160, coolhero. They clean up the indoor unit, outdoor unit using chemical, and top up gas. Now faster cooling
Wah chemical cleaning + gas top up only 160? That's alright. Cheaper than mine I guess.
keyser soze
post Mar 1 2021, 10:31 PM

569 posts

QUOTE(atrashcan @ Mar 1 2021, 09:41 PM)
This is very helpful thank you. It's a Panasonic inverter. Yup got light blinking and its red colour light. Then turn off and turn on again the red light will go away. But after awhile it will turn on again and start flashing. This usually happens during the day when its really hot outside. At night very rarely the red light will blink.

Google the manual with the model.
mikeeeee
post Mar 1 2021, 10:32 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

QUOTE(atrashcan @ Mar 1 2021, 10:19 PM)
Can share your contact bro? Chemical cleaning + outdoor unit + gas top up only 160?
Yes, rm160 all in

Go facebook search for JC air cond Eng

The best part is, they dismantle the wall unit to do the chemical cleaning not do it on the wall.
SUSslimey
post Mar 1 2021, 11:18 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(atrashcan @ Mar 1 2021, 09:41 PM)

highly likely it is the indoor unit coil sensor issue.
TSatrashcan
post Mar 2 2021, 12:04 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Mar 1 2021, 10:32 PM)
Yes, rm160 all in

The best part is, they dismantle the wall unit to do the chemical cleaning not do it on the wall.
Wow not bad thank you!
zAlyN
post Mar 2 2021, 09:05 AM

107 posts

Since this topic is up, Im so new with aircond last year only started to own one. My aircond is LG inverter 1.5hp. I know Daikin/panasonic is the best but that time I have zero knowledge about aircond just bought from surveying and available stock in the shop possibly next room will be different brand.

1) I would like to ask how often should service the aircond? once a year enough?
2) What is the cost should I be expecting for servicing ?

This post has been edited by zAlyN: Mar 2 2021, 09:06 AM
Momo33
post Mar 2 2021, 06:06 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(zAlyN @ Mar 2 2021, 10:05 AM)
Since this topic is up,  Im so new with aircond last year only started to own one. My aircond is LG inverter 1.5hp. I know Daikin/panasonic is the best but that time I have zero knowledge about aircond just bought from surveying and available stock in the shop possibly next room will be different brand.

1) I would like to ask how often should service the aircond? once a year enough?
basic service need to do every 3 months if you use the AC... daily .

try DIY if you have time .
clean filter
spray WD AC cleaner on the fins .
turn ON to wash down the AC cleaner

done..

many tips on youtube.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ghh-_h7OAlM

This post has been edited by Momo33: Mar 2 2021, 06:08 PM
westlife
post Jun 10 2023, 06:04 PM

14,307 posts

what is the HP of ur aircon?
Momo33
post Jun 10 2023, 06:36 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(atrashcan @ Mar 1 2021, 10:22 PM)

2. Normal service?
3. Gas top up

deleted.

This post has been edited by Momo33: Jun 10 2023, 06:37 PM
alexchew_2020
post Jun 10 2023, 06:38 PM

MOD
3,363 posts

QUOTE(zAlyN @ Mar 2 2021, 09:05 AM)
Since this topic is up,  Im so new with aircond last year only started to own one. My aircond is LG inverter 1.5hp. I know Daikin/panasonic is the best but that time I have zero knowledge about aircond just bought from surveying and available stock in the shop possibly next room will be different brand.

1. services depends... mostly no cold ald only seeking for services. ordinary service self do lo. depends how dusty on your area also.
2. they charged based on horse power. cuci+topup probably rm1xx+ . some dismantle indoor n outdoor unit, some not using dismantle method to clean. dismantle one will be clearner.
mikeeeee
post Jun 10 2023, 07:59 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 10 2023, 06:04 PM)
what is the HP of ur aircon?
1hp
doremon
post Jan 16 2024, 06:44 AM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,621 posts

Yes, rm160 all in

https://www.facebook.com/JCACENG

This is the one ? Are they reliable ?
mikeeeee
post Jan 16 2024, 08:58 AM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Jan 16 2024, 06:44 AM)
https://www.facebook.com/JCACENG

This is the one ? Are they reliable ?
So far, based on personal experience, yes they are reliable
iZuDeeN
post Jan 16 2024, 09:07 AM

3,466 posts

whats the running rate of aircond service?
doremon
post Jan 16 2024, 09:17 AM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,621 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jan 16 2024, 08:58 AM)
So far, based on personal experience, yes they are reliable
Still using their service till today ?
guailow83
post Jan 16 2024, 09:55 AM

579 posts

Yes, rm160 all in

seems pretty good reviews around

will check them out

doremon
post Jan 16 2024, 09:58 AM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,621 posts

QUOTE(guailow83 @ Jan 16 2024, 09:55 AM)
seems pretty good reviews around

will check them out

0139808278 (Whatsapp Ms Teh) for appointment
mikeeeee
post Jan 16 2024, 10:13 AM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Jan 16 2024, 09:17 AM)
Still using their service till today ?
Yeah, in fact I like their service so much I engaged them to purchase and install aircond for my new house 😂
doremon
post Jan 16 2024, 10:25 AM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,621 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jan 16 2024, 10:13 AM)
Yeah, in fact I like their service so much I engaged them to purchase and install aircond for my new house 😂
To be honest, I have my own favorite aircon service company (Wan Bin Air Conditioning Systems). I've been with them for almost 5 years. They have been super reliable, honest and trustworthy until they went missing this year cry.gif doh.gif ranting.gif bye.gif
Now, my company needs air conditioning service likewise my house also requires air conditioning maintenance. Therefore, I am currently looking for a reliable company and I think found 1 blush.gif blush.gif blush.gif
doremon
post Jan 16 2024, 10:32 AM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,621 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jan 16 2024, 10:13 AM)
Just to check, for each engagement, will they send the same people or will it vary depending on whoever is available on the day of the appointment?
mikeeeee
post Jan 16 2024, 11:42 AM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Jan 16 2024, 10:32 AM)
Just to check, for each engagement, will they send the same people or will it vary depending on whoever is available on the day of the appointment?
For my case which is consumer type service, it will be depending on their roster/availability as it's long apart between services 😂

For business, then it may make sense to have same people do but I have no experience with this ya
doremon
post Apr 19 2024, 02:34 PM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,621 posts

Yes, rm160 all in

Thanks bro for recommending them to me. They are really great. Prices are on the higher side but they are definitely worth it. I'm happy with their service.
mikeeeee
post Apr 19 2024, 02:57 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Apr 19 2024, 02:34 PM)
Thanks bro for recommending them to me. They are really great. Prices are on the higher side but they are definitely worth it. I'm happy with their service.
Good to hear that. I've also just recently asked them to service my airconds as well. Satisfy as always, very punctual too which is important to me 👍
dudester
post Apr 19 2024, 03:05 PM

1,229 posts

when cleaning blower, did you remove the cylinder blower to wash? most time cylinder blower accumulated dirt and not effective.
If the air is not cold, mostly need gas.

https://youtu.be/czk1TgaY9SM?feature=shared
refer to part 7 remove cylinder blower
stormer.lyn
post Apr 19 2024, 03:29 PM

1,132 posts

I know it seems counterintuitive, (eg "it's safer to fly commercial than to drive") but my professional opinion is to never break the flared seals of the copper pipes, if all you need is a cleaning and servicing of the air cond system.

True, taking the IDU off the wall and taking the unit apart for cleaning could result in a cleaner unit overall, but you should not do it when balanced against the future possibility of leakage, air or moisture in the system, or loss of gas, ie the unit will be cleaner, but it will work lousier.
hksgmy
post Apr 19 2024, 08:00 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Jan 16 2024, 10:25 AM)
To be honest, I have my own favorite aircon service company (Wan Bin Air Conditioning Systems). I've been with them for almost 5 years. They have been super reliable, honest and trustworthy until they went missing this year  cry.gif  doh.gif  ranting.gif  bye.gif 
Now, my company needs air conditioning service likewise my house also requires air conditioning maintenance. Therefore, I am currently looking for a reliable company and I think found 1  blush.gif  blush.gif  blush.gif
Hey.. a bit off topic, but I can’t help but notice you have Doraemon as your avatar too! Hahaha
SUSmrlive005
post Feb 8 2025, 12:06 AM

114 posts

You’re right. Breaking the flared seals of copper pipes isn’t worth the risk. While deep cleaning the IDU might seem beneficial, it can lead to leaks, moisture buildup, or refrigerant loss, making the system work worse over time. Instead, professional air conditioning repair focuses on cleaning filters, evaporator coils, and drainage lines without disturbing the sealed system. If your aircon is not cold, the issue could be clogged filters, low refrigerant, or a faulty compressor.
For a safe and effective fix, getting expert servicing is best. Check out air conditioning repair for reliable maintenance!

This post has been edited by mrlive005: Feb 10 2025, 06:31 PM
GamersFamilia
post Feb 17 2025, 03:41 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,856 posts

Hi guys

Gas top up, if still not cold then check if there a leakage

0.0298sec    1.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:07 PM