Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro Users Thread, Share your joy and your pain here

zealless
post Jan 15 2008, 11:46 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(-Jonathan- @ Jan 11 2008, 09:29 PM)
Bluetooth is paired to something else, i've tried having two, devices to work with the bluetooth, doesn't work.

Oh yes, i need more than a MB to do my work, i'm already considering to upgrade it, but until then, i will still have to cope with the additional slots for personal use.

Work hardware varies from bar code scanners to RFID readers.

Spending $50 (AUD) for the hub might work fine than a $2999 MBP at the moment smile.gif
just wait for mac expo, see got what goodies come out ... you might buy something as an upgrade ... lol

hmm, home work ... clayton has good linux machine lying around ... just use their lab ?
i have no idea how much it has changed since i left, so i guess you are my junior ?

zealless
post Jan 16 2008, 11:58 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(-Jonathan- @ Jan 16 2008, 07:29 AM)
Don't we all know it comes with just 2 USB port. When i bring it out, i need no more than 2 slots anyway.
Its just home usage, or when i have it at work. It'll be good that maybe in the middle of the year, an innovation by apple to get notebooks to work with workstation. That'll be joygasm for working people like me.
Their lab is a good 30 mins walk away from uni, and there's only one lab that is open 24/7. Considering that previous semester's i have been programming non-stop for 4 days straight,  i reckon the home comfort is inevitable

Clayton hasn't changed much, unless you left 10 years ago.
well, now you have "time capsule", you can have a wireless remote hard disk. (just don't put your private sex video inside, lol) but it is also pricey, damn RM1K for 500mb ... no wire HDD save on usb slot ... lol .. its cool, i am considering getting one. security is an issue ...

ya, bro, have to sacrifice abit lor, if you want to use their facility; i used to stay in labs for weekds, especially research project (3 weeks, other than sleep, eat and weekend) .

clayton changed alot when i was there 2000 - 2004, at least you guys have a new CSE building. They have private facility for research, computer are damn good ... i work in there before ... are you in master ? you should able to access those labs ...

Added on January 16, 2008, 12:00 pm
QUOTE(kahlen @ Jan 16 2008, 12:31 AM)
hello world,

I'm a new user of macbook pro, frankly I'm noob at everything about mbp.
The first problem encountered seems to be the heating problem.
my intention is to use my mbp to speed up my archicad drawing, but since i haven't installed the software, haven't had a tried on the software yet, its already so 'hot' when i'm doing normal surfing on internet and playing itunes. is that normal?
well, get a good cooling pad, should relief some heat ....
work in cool room ... should be better

This post has been edited by zealless: Jan 16 2008, 12:00 PM
zealless
post Jan 16 2008, 12:13 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(-Jonathan- @ Jan 16 2008, 12:03 PM)
We have a new CSE building? I didn't know that.

Private facility for research? Good computers?

Where.is.this.coming.from????????

I've got friends in Masters, just had a talk with them, and i don't see them talking about this ub37 higher end computers. Which building is it located? Ima go hunt it.

Wireless remote hard disk is a good product
but the price is not a good practice
hmm ... the CSE building at middle of car park, near engineering faculty, computer lab and opposite bio-medical faculty ... that was new 2003 or 2004, it wasn't there during year 2000. the IT faculty was near at engineering lab, near footy field ...

MAster, is he doing course work or research, if you doing research as Master, yes, you will get you own room and good computer, if he is doing course work, then he have to share crappy linux with the others, but they got their master room...

price is insane ... for time capsule ... x2

Added on January 16, 2008, 12:44 pmsorry, i know this is off topic, just this message only
>> -Jonathan-

where is your CSE main office now ? is it building 75 ? because my time it was building 75 during my final year ... previously it is at building 63

This post has been edited by zealless: Jan 16 2008, 12:44 PM
zealless
post Jan 28 2008, 01:24 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(smashpOp @ Jan 27 2008, 03:00 PM)
for your information,,,. when i ask you guys to help me decide. i dont mean to ask you guys to walk around

i have already walked and stated my options (which u might not see since u guys were busy replying snobbishly on how u dont want to help by walking around kl)

all i hope was just for u to read my previous msg and just say (option 1.. or option 2)
its ok . i dont need help anymore. appreciate your attitudes and wish you will have mroe friends in the future
just ignore those fags ...

Added on January 28, 2008, 1:28 pm
QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Jan 27 2008, 06:42 PM)
Have you seen Dell's XPS and Alienware's laptop range ? Not fugly in my opinion. biggrin.gif

Well it doesn't have to be a powerful graphic card but a decent one to help ease things off on the graphics side.
waiting for 8800M GTS ... please MBP, please include that in their update ... please. ..

This post has been edited by zealless: Jan 28 2008, 01:28 PM
zealless
post Aug 13 2008, 11:36 AM

542 posts

dunno whether they will update the MBP or not ...
so expecting the sept release, i need a new laptop ... old one too slow ...
zealless
post Oct 14 2008, 03:21 PM

542 posts

whuahaha, finally ...
Hybird SLI for MBP

zealless
post Oct 15 2008, 10:43 AM

542 posts

anyone know m'sia price ?
zealless
post Oct 16 2008, 02:05 PM

542 posts

from Epicentre

MBP 15.4" 2.4 = RM7199
MBP 15.4" 2.53 = RM 8999

zealless
post Oct 20 2008, 01:27 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(hapa @ Oct 19 2008, 11:10 PM)
so you adi decide to get the new mbp?? i still cant deicide between the high end mb or the base model mbp....
dunno abt him, i ordered mbp 2.4 ...
zealless
post Oct 21 2008, 12:25 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(vailance @ Oct 20 2008, 09:43 AM)
where u ordered?
epicentre, they throw in soft fabric case 15.4" and 4mb pendrive
rm500 deposit ... hehe blush.gif

Added on October 21, 2008, 12:26 am
QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Oct 20 2008, 09:35 AM)
Let's say are the 512mb 8600M GT could be par to 256mb 9600M GT in terms of graphics performance setting for those intensive games like Crysis & COD 4?

I followed the link. It used 512mb 9600M GT to run the test.

Any insight?!
if gaming right, i think rm1800 difference can get a real good deal on PC stuff ...

Added on October 21, 2008, 12:27 am
QUOTE(hapa @ Oct 20 2008, 01:40 AM)
wow, u adi ordered? the base model??
i think i will wait until the demo unit is available in the store and i can try it out b4 decide..
yawor, need one laptop, not going to wait anymore, waited for more than half a year ...

This post has been edited by zealless: Oct 21 2008, 12:27 AM
zealless
post Oct 21 2008, 04:09 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(jakesean @ Oct 21 2008, 12:34 AM)
wah? rm500 deposit? machines accepting orders with a deposit of RM100.. hmmmm... but no freebies i think, coz the guy never mentioned anything about freebies....
well consider 7200 machine, 500 is not a lot ... hehe ... and freebies ... of coz ... i mean i will get it anyway, so deposit is not a matter

Added on October 21, 2008, 4:11 pm
QUOTE(hapa @ Oct 21 2008, 12:41 AM)
haha, so desperate huh?? but with rm500 deposit, that alot...
nv buy a mac b4, which shop i should go?? hmm.gif machines? epi? or switch?
act, mostly all the store will gv the almost same freebies rite?
hmm epicentre allen seems to know the spec and updates and so on ... and they call me up when i left my num.
the other shops didn't call me back, so ... i order from them ...

well price is all the same, is abt service and freebiez
no, other shop didn't offer me freebies

Added on October 21, 2008, 4:12 pm
QUOTE(myxery @ Oct 21 2008, 01:58 PM)
me, will continue to wait for the next 3 months, wanna hear review from earlier buyer like u 1st.. hahaha  drool.gif  , i waited for half year already
ya, i am the first white mice for lab test ... icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by zealless: Oct 21 2008, 04:12 PM
zealless
post Oct 22 2008, 12:47 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(yawhong @ Oct 22 2008, 12:40 AM)
well i guess  i will get mine faster than you do
lol
well looks like it ... LOL ... drool.gif

This post has been edited by zealless: Oct 22 2008, 12:48 AM
zealless
post Nov 3 2008, 01:09 PM

542 posts

i got mine mbp 2.4 ...
quite nice
zealless
post Nov 4 2008, 02:14 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Nov 3 2008, 10:55 PM)
Thanks bro for the clarification, im think is it sure that old MBP has better screen compare to new MB? i thought the new MB comes with Led backlight where old MBP does not?

Old MBP comes with nVidia 8600 GC with 256MB (2.4Ghz spec) whereas new MB comes with 9400 256MB where 8600 GC is much better than 9400 GC?

Thanks  smile.gif
ermm .. ? Old MBP come with 8600M GT /GC, is better than new MB 9400M GC ... ? i think is GT vs GC ... not GC vs GC right ? not sure
but 8600 is medium spec , 8800 is hi spec, 8400 is low spec ... same as 9 series ...
i think let me choose 8800GT or 9600GT, i will still pick 8800GT

so 8600 vs 9400, i think 8600 is higher spec than 9400
confusing topic ... rclxub.gif

Added on November 4, 2008, 2:21 am
QUOTE(pristina @ Nov 3 2008, 08:56 PM)
why mac is more expensive then windows much???
ya it is, but is something like why camry is more expensive than perdana ?

This post has been edited by zealless: Nov 4 2008, 02:26 AM
zealless
post Nov 4 2008, 02:28 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(chizzu @ Nov 4 2008, 02:24 AM)
old MBP does have LED backlight (except 17" iinm)

The whole old MBP has better screen is because Apple give lame excuses to ditch the matte screen tongue.gif Its very subjective. Some people (like me) prefer matte than glossy screen (which is the only choice on current mb and mbp line)

as for the GC. current MB has 9400 integrated graphics (sharing memory with your processor) whiele 8600 on the old mbp is a dedicated GC (has dedicated memory)
new MBP cant run Hybtid SLI (yet)...
agree with u ... 8600 still better than 9400 ..

... i wonder why it can't run SLI ..... although nvidia say it can .. .hmmm .... software or hardware?
zealless
post Nov 9 2008, 10:30 AM

542 posts

well, i don't have much complain for my new 2.4 mbp ...
only problem is the touch pad ... something ... it malfunction
i guess many ppl already send complain to apple about this ... and steve jobs promise software update on this ... other than that ... it is ok

0.0967sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:28 PM