Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro Users Thread, Share your joy and your pain here

jakesean
post Oct 16 2008, 12:16 PM

1,361 posts

but still the heat will affect the lifespan of the notebook..
jakesean
post Oct 19 2008, 09:04 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(hapa @ Oct 19 2008, 07:17 PM)
thanks for the link.. really good info.. at page 15 now smile.gif .. really good stuff for someone who really wants to get the new MBP, e.g. me biggrin.gif ..

jakesean
post Oct 19 2008, 10:05 PM

1,361 posts

anyone knows how much apple is charging to upgrade the mbp to 4gb ram??
jakesean
post Oct 20 2008, 12:51 AM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(hapa @ Oct 19 2008, 11:10 PM)
so you adi decide to get the new mbp?? i still cant deicide between the high end mb or the base model mbp....
not sure yet.. will decide later in nov/dec.. biggrin.gif .. but of course if im getting one ill get the lower end one.. since i dun really need the extra specs on the higher end mbp.. dun really need that much disk space coz i have all my movies burnt on my dvds..
jakesean
post Oct 21 2008, 12:34 AM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(zealless @ Oct 21 2008, 12:25 AM)
epicentre, they throw in soft fabric case 15.4" and 4mb pendrive
rm500 deposit ... hehe  blush.gif
wah? rm500 deposit? machines accepting orders with a deposit of RM100.. hmmmm... but no freebies i think, coz the guy never mentioned anything about freebies....

This post has been edited by jakesean: Oct 21 2008, 12:37 AM
jakesean
post Nov 2 2008, 10:00 AM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(aidid @ Nov 2 2008, 01:41 AM)
From my survey, 3 out of 5 of my friends said the new macbook pro is ugly, the only consolation that
the new macbook pro have is a better graphic chipset, so for those who want to buy macbook pro and
install "windows" to play games, this is your good option.
i think the new macbook pros are sexy.. smile.gif .. a new class of its own..
jakesean
post Nov 5 2008, 05:46 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(Criollo @ Nov 5 2008, 06:20 PM)
You can check how long your warrenty is valid by keying in your Serial number at Apple.com. Be sure to purchase your ACPP within that period.

The good thing about purchasing it with your mac is that some resellers bundle it along with the mac and you can get the ACPP at a cheaper price.
just to add in, https://selfsolve.apple.com/GetWarranty.do .. smile.gif

This post has been edited by jakesean: Nov 5 2008, 05:47 PM
jakesean
post Nov 5 2008, 06:19 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(keccik @ Nov 5 2008, 07:04 PM)
i have a problem with my magsafe adapter. It wont charge my mb although it is plugged in.. the green led is not turned on. from my desktop it shows "Battery is not charging"...

i've been searching for solutions over the net, but all the problems are just questions on asking how to solve... and none replied how they solve it , or izzit solved perhaps leaving the questions upon questions.

does anyone encountered this problem? Im planning to bring it to machines, but meanwhile if anyone can help me to solve this problem? some tips maybe?
off topic abit.. i see that ur using the deathadder, and i assume its the mac edition.. any problems with it ?? can the driver disable the mouse acceleration thing?? mouse acceleration is a pain in the ass, at least for me....
jakesean
post Nov 6 2008, 08:31 AM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(keccik @ Nov 6 2008, 08:36 AM)
its not the mac edition. its the first edition (blue)... nope, no problem with it.. i didnt install any driver. just detect thru usb, coz im used to high mouse acceleration..

btw, what the diff with mac edition? driver & white in color? thats all rite?
hmm i think its just the driver... engines on the blue and white should be the same.. can be used for the pc and mac i guess...

if i were u i would call up apple care and ask while waiting for feedbacks on the forum..

This post has been edited by jakesean: Nov 6 2008, 08:33 AM
jakesean
post Nov 8 2008, 12:03 AM

1,361 posts

anyone experiencing this prob with the new macbook/macbook pros?

hold down shift, and hold down any letter... let the keys start running.. do u guys get something like this?/

aAAAaaaaaaaaaaaaaAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAaaaaaaAAAAAAAAAAAaaaaaaaaaaaaAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAaaaaaaAAAAAAAAAAAaaaaaaaaaaaaAAAAAAAAA

sometimes it gets capitalized, sometimes not... faulty keyboard or/???
jakesean
post Nov 8 2008, 04:19 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(mysticxin @ Nov 8 2008, 05:01 PM)
Hmm.. will I get a MacOSX installation disk along with my new MBP?
of course... u'll get 2 discs.. mac osx dvd and applications dvd..

jakesean
post Nov 8 2008, 10:41 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Nov 8 2008, 11:35 PM)
but 2.0 and 2.4Ghz i think fast in mili seconds only?

besides the backligth keyboard what about the lcd quality is it the same as 2.4Ghz series?
i think the MBs have the same LCD..
jakesean
post Nov 12 2008, 12:21 PM

1,361 posts

anyone knows how much is the mStand going for in malaysia?

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Rain%20Design/10032/
jakesean
post Nov 16 2008, 10:46 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(Mythras231 @ Nov 16 2008, 10:54 PM)
Its like 117 pages and I can't possibly read it all ...
Here's the question ... Can MacBookPro like ... Can we install warcraft III or other games in it ? Maybe other softwares like Adobe Premier ...

Thank you for your help
looks like warcraft 3 and adobe premier can be installed on the mac osx, but u have to get the right files.. elsewise u can always install windows on the macbookpro.. i have both mac osx and windows so that i can run windows based games and some of my ms excel docs that have macros on them...

theres a software called CrossOver by CodeWeavers, allows u to install windows softwares on the mac osx using windows setup files, but then it doesnt fully support ALL windows softwares properly.. only some...

anyhow u cant go wrong with the macbook pro.. i guess software compatibility wise u shudnt worry.. worry more on ur hardware requirements and $$ budget..

This post has been edited by jakesean: Nov 16 2008, 10:47 PM
jakesean
post Nov 17 2008, 05:44 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(mysticxin @ Nov 17 2008, 12:39 PM)
U can't possibly install windows apps/games in Mac. They won't even run. Mac installation files end with .dmg while Windows ends with .exe. Totally different, however there are a lot of mac software out there which are equivalent to their Windows counterpart. Google em up.
actually u can.. with crossover u can install windows aka .exe files on the mac.. but thing is that theres no guarantee that it will work perfectly.. some softwares will run, some may run, some may not.. i have steam installed on my mac, but its slow as hell - which is also pointless..

Added on November 17, 2008, 5:47 pm
QUOTE(Mythras231 @ Nov 17 2008, 11:48 AM)
Hmm ... CrossOver by CodeWeavers ... Do I have to pay ? Is it easy to get the mac setup files ?  I wanna do everything in ONE windows ... Like Im using mac ... SO I wanna use mac software to do everything with my computer . IF I install the game using windows setup files ... What will possibly happen ?
u have to pay.. but its pointless.. my advice, dont get it, unless its free.. i got the free copy coz there was once they distributed it out for free.. anyhow, i dun use it at all now.. whenever i wanna game i boot into windows.. takes 1-2 minutes to boot windows from mac osx, which is ok for me.. can reboot and go piss, then come back can play games d.... so, get a mac, install windows on bootcamp, problem solved.

but anyways, mac osx is seriously good.. way better than windows..

This post has been edited by jakesean: Nov 17 2008, 05:48 PM
jakesean
post Nov 17 2008, 08:23 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Nov 17 2008, 09:06 PM)
If we use the VM fusion, how we install the windows?
virtual machine.. go read up... hard to explain...
jakesean
post Nov 20 2008, 01:36 AM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(eviljonz @ Nov 20 2008, 01:50 AM)
singapore Singtel promotion new subscription free new macbook, dunno which telco in msia will follow tongue.gif
msia give u free diary... the typical "notebook" ..
jakesean
post Dec 1 2008, 07:15 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Dec 1 2008, 04:11 PM)
Any ways to remove oil stains from keyboard?
just wipe it with the microfibre cloth...

anyone having cracks on their new macbook pro hinge?? i found 2 hairline cracks on mine.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
jakesean
post Dec 2 2008, 04:09 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(damos_csui @ Dec 2 2008, 11:06 AM)
wow that's horrible.. what kind of crack r u talking about..?? can u post some pic..
looked many times on mine and seems still clean.. wink.gif

jakesean
post Dec 2 2008, 07:25 PM

1,361 posts

im afraid that this small hairline crack will lead to bigger cracks.. same thing is happening on my iphone 3g.. from 1 small 0.5mm crack, 2 months ago, its now at least 3mm crack, and its getting bigger.. and theres at least another 6 or more hairline cracks on it..

0.0472sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:51 AM