4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro Users Thread, Share your joy and your pain here

-Jonathan-
post Sep 11 2007, 04:00 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

I've just gotten the new macbook, and am posting through it

sadly i can't post up any photos because my n73 installation setup don't work on mac, or at least thats what i think
-Jonathan-
post Sep 11 2007, 09:33 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

Severely need some getting used to

Any thing for mac newbies like me?

This post has been edited by -Jonathan-: Sep 11 2007, 11:52 PM
-Jonathan-
post Sep 12 2007, 12:03 AM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

I was wondering, now that i've gotten my new macbook, there are several issues that is bugging me. I know i should've googled it out, but if anyone here wouldn't mind assisting me, that'll be great

#1 How do i transfer files from the old notebook (Windows XP) into the new macbook. I can't exactly find the thing to search for computer. I have a wireless router in my unit, and i can connect both notebooks through the wifi.

#2 I downloaded the 400 mb file of bootcamp, and i've got an XP pro CD, do i just install the bootcamp and then subsequently install XP? How are the drivers installed in XP?

#3 MSN Messenger on mac doesn't have the features i was actually wanting (Webcam feature). I downloaded the newest MSN messenger for OSX, it doesn't have webcam features, and also i can't format my contact list according to groups eh?
-Jonathan-
post Sep 12 2007, 02:22 AM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

apparently the step to find computer doesn't work.

I can't google this up, but anyone know the shortcut key to "Show the desktop"

In windows, its the windows button + D

Sadly, adium doesn't support voice/video system. aMSn seems to be having problem with the video chat.

Some compilers are windows compatible only, i've got no choice as well
-Jonathan-
post Sep 12 2007, 01:04 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

QUOTE(yetieater @ Sep 12 2007, 03:43 AM)
Go to System Preferences and set up your Dashboard and Expose settings.  You can bind a keystroke to show the desktop through this.

Follow the instructions on the Boot Camp site to install Windows.  Or read the included readme file.  It's a fairly simple process.  Install the Boot Camp Assistant, burn a CD with driver files, use the Boot Camp Assistant to partition your harddrive, install your Microsoft Windows XP/Vista OS of choice, run the driver installation CD.

I've been using Adium for chatting, but it certainly does have its limitations. :\
Ill give that a good try, binding the keystroke wink.gif

Yea, problem is that i dont have a blank CD here, yikes...i have to get the driver files from the net eh?

QUOTE(allvin @ Sep 12 2007, 11:57 AM)
of cos it won't la..  sweat.gif

Try aMsn..  wink.gif
even aMSN video chat doesn't really work for me...something i tried going after
-Jonathan-
post Sep 12 2007, 01:13 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

Not MSN, aMSN, a protocol for MSN on OSX

It has the webcam button, but it has problem connecting

Anyone has used this before?
Well, sadly but truly i have iChat (not a .MAC account though), but my family member uses MSN Messenger

Anyone still know how to search for computers within the network?
-Jonathan-
post Sep 13 2007, 12:55 AM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Sep 12 2007, 01:50 PM)
Do u have a cross cable? just connect both notebook n just set an ip address on both notebook. For example , Notebook 1 IP Address 10.10.10.1 Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0 n MAC IP Address 10.10.10.2 Subnet MAsk 255.255.255.0

I think it is pretty straight forward.
Its pretty straightforward in Windows, but i can't use a function in mac to find computers. Having cross cables doe nothing at all because i can't find computer heh

Anyhow, just another question, is it important to actually remove the battery when im using power directly from the source?
-Jonathan-
post Sep 13 2007, 02:15 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

Great feedback tinkerbel. I've actually tried that before posting it up, thats why i was pretty much frustrated. I couldn't find the computers in the network. Pretty ackward ,but if thats the only way around it, no worries ill use terminal to transfer items :S

Just worried about the battery issue, last thing i want is my battery to be dead in 2 months because of "over" charging
-Jonathan-
post Sep 13 2007, 02:24 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

Yup, my macbook will be at used at home mostly, unless i need to bring it out for my projects or assignment. But other than that, it'll mostly lie at home. So you reckon i should remove it eh?

Alrighty then..
-Jonathan-
post Sep 13 2007, 03:19 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

That's great mate.
I was told that battery technology might have improved, but i aint wanna risk it. I'm just worried that the comp might be abit faulty if battery's removed and the source always comes from the main power supply.

Great
-Jonathan-
post Sep 13 2007, 08:58 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

All right, ill go research it up and see which one best fits.

Anyhow, there is something i notice, is that sometimes when i save files to the desktop, it doesn't show up in the desktop. But when i check using the terminal, the file exists. What could be the problem?
-Jonathan-
post Sep 14 2007, 09:56 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

I reckon that too, but i'm worried that this will shorten the battery life cycle. This issue has trifled me as my previous fujitsu notebook's battery could only last 4 month before it dysfunctioned. From a 2 hour duration, down to only 30 mins.

And i notice, the alignment for the battery cell will not be correct after you remove it.

Mine has a slight bump now, can't seem to align it perfectly

Added on September 14, 2007, 11:05 pm
QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Sep 14 2007, 01:15 AM)
Click on any window in the Finder which is not currently in the front, and it should refresh files in all the windows.
I tried print screen,a nd it usually shows in the desktop. But this time, i did what you recommended, yet it doesn't show up
Again i had to go through the terminal.

This post has been edited by -Jonathan-: Sep 14 2007, 11:05 PM
-Jonathan-
post Sep 15 2007, 12:20 AM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

QUOTE(aaronchin @ Sep 14 2007, 11:36 PM)
Seriously guys, just keep the damn battery in. Why go through all the trouble of removing it and putting it back all the frigging time just to save some charge cycles? If by the time the battery deteriorates to a point where you absolutely need to get a new one and you still haven't upgraded to a better machine, the battery is only 500 bucks a pop. It's well worth the money. Mind you the Magsafe adaptor disconnects easily.

And I just don't like to use my laptop knowing there's a hole underneath it. tongue.gif
Chill mate, not knowing what effect it does to your notebook, i just wanted to use my past experience with having a battery plugged in as a reference. I might say that technology is better now, thats why i just wanted to know for sure. And i dont think its just "some" charge cycles. Maybe prasys has some enlightenment in this issue?

QUOTE(munky @ Sep 15 2007, 12:04 AM)
same here. It's not aligned properly, even after i tried a few times
Its something thats bothering me, very much...anyone else with this issue?

Oh, apparently those files appeared in the desktop only AFTER i restarted mac.
Again something i dont understand about the systems. Tried googling to no avail...

This post has been edited by -Jonathan-: Sep 15 2007, 12:21 AM
-Jonathan-
post Sep 16 2007, 05:09 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

yea lok, think macstudio has it. I just got mine in Auz tongue.gif, approximately AUD$30, so its about 90-100 malaysian ringgit. They dont have stock aye...try asking babyk

Yup, there is something i dont understand with the architecture of the main OS X. I dont know architecture, a bug, or just some configuration i've messed up.

Apparently the desktop/dock doesn't get refreshed sometimes.

#1 Occurence
- I print screen, files weren't in desktop, wasn't in finder. Went to other folders and back forth, couldn't find it. It comes out in terminal

#2 Occurence
- I deleted some files from the desktop, but it wasn't removed from the desktop, not available in terminal as well

#3 Occurence
- I clicked trash to empty bin, but it won't open. I had to right click, empty trash. Apparently even after doing so, the UI shows that there are still files within it but when there ain't anything in trash anymore. I still couldn't open trash

I had to restart my comp for all this things to be updated. I found a refresher button online as a wrapper around the applescript. Although its still not tested on this machine, i just need to know if anyone else experience this problem?

This post has been edited by -Jonathan-: Sep 16 2007, 07:39 PM
-Jonathan-
post Sep 17 2007, 12:44 AM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

Sadly but truly...yes...i have windows on my bootcamp. I have no choice but to use it for some **coughs** gaming purposes at the moment.

Heh, i notice that the speaker has some cracking sound towards the high frequencies..woohoo
-Jonathan-
post Sep 17 2007, 03:46 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

The problem is in bootcamp, i suspected it when i went through the disc utility

About my warping problem (alignment) for the battery, i will send it to the apple shop for replacement. They give a DoA issuement on this problem.

I need windows anyhow, i've got no choice, its not just games, but i want some "flexibility" running certain program on windows. Im loving mac, no doubt
-Jonathan-
post Sep 17 2007, 10:49 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

True, the ram by apple is jacked up simply because each are tested, and apple products are meant to be that way

As long as you get the same type of ram, rest assured you'll be ok.

One main reason why i need my windows is because i need printer to work on my mac machine. HP1020 laser jet installation can't be done on Mac OSX, pretty crappy, but yea..

Are the mac users using Open Office for your xls, ppt documents?

This post has been edited by -Jonathan-: Sep 17 2007, 10:57 PM
-Jonathan-
post Sep 17 2007, 11:22 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

I'm in Clayton. I bought my macbook in the clayton campus computer store

crazymoo

http://interfacelift.com/themes-mac/

Certain theme tends to eat up more resource.
-Jonathan-
post Sep 19 2007, 05:19 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

I had the same problem, and i had to use the refresh list script that serves as a wrapper around the applescript.

Boot camp, most likely the culprit
-Jonathan-
post Sep 20 2007, 12:47 AM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

you are getting the macbook black?

I've already gotten a STM bag, so i would take the cash rebate and upgrade the ram. I think you can talk with them in changing those 512's to 1 gig, and than you converting it to 2 gig by forking it a bit more (a lot more). Targus bag ain't cheap btw. No point getting mighty mouse, i've seen and used it, design wise, fantastic, price wise a killer

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1709sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:18 AM