The car that would smoke even a Honda Accord of the era.
Hardly see any surviving examples these days.
Ford Laser TX3., Anyone here had one?
Feb 19 2021, 02:08 PM, updated 5y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
647 posts Joined: May 2020 |
Anyone here lucky enough to have owned a Ford Laser TX3 in the 90s?
![]() The car that would smoke even a Honda Accord of the era. Hardly see any surviving examples these days. |
Feb 19 2021, 02:11 PM
5,164 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
my teacher back then got one , hes one of the coolest teacher ever was
Feb 19 2021, 02:14 PM
2,141 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Muddy Banks |
i still remember my father's friend have one. Sat inside before too.
Feb 19 2021, 02:15 PM
150 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: Klang, Selangor D.E Status: Work Everyday |
oni unker know that sampan CyrusWong liked this post
Feb 19 2021, 02:16 PM
1,791 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
90s tons of thems. 2ks no more.
Feb 19 2021, 02:19 PM
1,471 posts Joined: Apr 2019 |
Feb 19 2021, 02:20 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
3,836 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: Cheras, Selangor |
My friend still have one, red color, 2 door, he wanna sell it, anyone up for it ?
Feb 19 2021, 02:20 PM
Feb 19 2021, 02:21 PM
Feb 19 2021, 02:22 PM
Feb 19 2021, 02:25 PM
0 posts Joined: Oct 2014 |
I am looking at fiat coupe 2.0 lol
Feb 19 2021, 02:28 PM
Feb 19 2021, 02:30 PM
467 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
One of my neighbours have, parked outside their house. Exactly like this picture, condition not as good la but stil. Always look at the car whenever going for a stroll.
Feb 19 2021, 02:30 PM
6,733 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Zion |
For the looks its was the one to have back then. It was fast courtesy of big engine 1.8L capacity. In fact got people transplant B8 turbo engine from the Mazda Familia 323 into it. But like all Laser in this era, prone to rust.
This post has been edited by netmatrix: Feb 19 2021, 02:32 PM |
Feb 19 2021, 02:32 PM
473 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Timbuktoo |
Real man's car, nearly bought it in 1991 but gf couldn't handle the power, ended up buying the mazda Astina for her instead. I bought 190E later.. jasonlim liked this post
Feb 19 2021, 02:34 PM
3,836 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: Cheras, Selangor |
Feb 19 2021, 02:41 PM
116 posts Joined: Apr 2019 |
Feb 19 2021, 02:42 PM
4,361 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: KL |
i think my MIL has this model till last year.
edited: oh wai..this is two doors. her's was 4 doors. This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Feb 19 2021, 02:44 PM |
Feb 19 2021, 02:43 PM
Feb 19 2021, 02:48 PM
3,666 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
fuuuuuuh!
tx3 power la with manual gearbox some more its a real drivers car. sadly spare parts availability / price killed it off..... |
Feb 19 2021, 02:51 PM
424 posts Joined: Sep 2015 |
Remember seeing this and the honda prelude a lot during the early-mid 90s. Shame coupes are not all that popular anymore these days.
Feb 19 2021, 03:13 PM
1,526 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
I still remember my dad's old Ford Telstar 1.8 from 1980s, a few occasion he tested top speed at highway, can reach 180km/h...
Damn, 30 years forward today our modern car with 1.6NA also only the same speed or little faster only nia. |
Feb 19 2021, 03:16 PM
445 posts Joined: Aug 2018 |
ya. Back in the days, this was my fathers car that my mum would drive us to kindergarten and activities. Great memories. cfa28 liked this post
Feb 19 2021, 03:27 PM
319 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
QUOTE(Asquith @ Feb 19 2021, 02:08 PM) Anyone here lucky enough to have owned a Ford Laser TX3 in the 90s? When I was studying in Fit, a fren had one slapped with jbl speakers and woofer. Cool dude and fast during those days. Another one with b8 turbo engine. Then wiralution and vtec came which pawned tx3.![]() The car that would smoke even a Honda Accord of the era. Hardly see any surviving examples these days. |
Feb 19 2021, 03:43 PM
398 posts Joined: May 2011 |
me ada bawa!!
laser s (fuel injection-imported ver.), tx3 1.6 (lampu bulat), tx3 1.8. semua 2 pintu. almost got a tx5 second, but tak jadi, owner nak jual mahal. a very powerful car. just need minor modifications, and it can speed like hell... This post has been edited by burn22: Feb 19 2021, 03:44 PM |
Feb 19 2021, 03:53 PM
Feb 19 2021, 04:29 PM
2,508 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
The Mazda familia 323 turbo will pwn this including wiralution
Feb 19 2021, 04:35 PM
659 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Russia with Love |
My dad has one back then, sold it for Eg dolphin. Then he bought the lynx tx3 bug eye, still keep it till today.
Feb 19 2021, 04:57 PM
562 posts Joined: Oct 2012 From: Out of the world... |
I have one, originally owned by my late uncle & then given to me.
Unfortunately, the car is still under my late grandfather name & can't renew the roadtax now. Currently planning to sell it off as spare part.. |
Feb 19 2021, 05:00 PM
QUOTE(XXXOOOXXXOOO @ Feb 19 2021, 02:43 PM) Sorry was confused there for a bit. The other 5cyl of the era I was thinking of was the Volvo C70 which had a 4 and 5cyl. Fiat Coupe had 1.8, 2.0 NA 16v, 2.0T (Same engine used in a Lancia Delta Integrale) and some also had the 5spd and some were 6spd. Finally there were the 2.0l 20v available in NA and Turbo, though all that were sold here are 6 speed other than a few very early models that were NA 5 speed. |
Feb 19 2021, 05:02 PM
1,206 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Feb 19 2021, 05:02 PM
Feb 19 2021, 05:04 PM
Feb 19 2021, 05:09 PM
Feb 19 2021, 05:12 PM
4,553 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Shah Alam |
TX3 Lynx
Feb 19 2021, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(phas3r @ Feb 19 2021, 05:04 PM) Yes, when it comes older contis, the cheapest one or the only one you can find is likely to be crappy. Specs and condition is everything, dont look at the price Haha yes, I know someone that recently bought one for RM60k fantastic and well cared for example. What he said is there are plenty out there that could be half that amount but you could easily spend RM40-50k just to sort it out especially if the wire harness is buggered. |
Feb 19 2021, 05:15 PM
QUOTE(voscar @ Feb 19 2021, 03:13 PM) I still remember my dad's old Ford Telstar 1.8 from 1980s, a few occasion he tested top speed at highway, can reach 180km/h... My mum had the Mazda 626 hatchback as a company car in the late 80s. Digital instrument panel just like Knight Rider and that car really could run.Damn, 30 years forward today our modern car with 1.6NA also only the same speed or little faster only nia. |
Feb 19 2021, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(Asquith @ Feb 19 2021, 05:00 PM) Sorry was confused there for a bit. The other 5cyl of the era I was thinking of was the Volvo C70 which had a 4 and 5cyl. Fiat Coupe had 1.8, 2.0 NA 16v, 2.0T (Same engine used in a Lancia Delta Integrale) and some also had the 5spd and some were 6spd. Finally there were the 2.0l 20v available in NA and Turbo, though all that were sold here are 6 speed other than a few very early models that were NA 5 speed. QUOTE(phas3r @ Feb 19 2021, 05:02 PM) 20v version come in later n those day selling prices around 160k ++16v version selling at 130 to 140k at brand new prices. volvo t850 t5 also around that prices. |
Feb 19 2021, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(XXXOOOXXXOOO @ Feb 19 2021, 05:49 PM) 20v version come in later n those day selling prices around 160k ++ We had one that was brand new 20VT registered in 2008. 16v version selling at 130 to 140k at brand new prices. volvo t850 t5 also around that prices. Cannot believe Torino kept it in stock for so damn long. Recently sent on to a new home as we no longer wanted to keep any cars that were built after 1980. This post has been edited by Asquith: Feb 19 2021, 05:53 PM |
Feb 19 2021, 05:53 PM
Feb 19 2021, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(Asquith @ Feb 19 2021, 05:53 PM) We had one that was brand new 20VT registered in 2008. there a lot NOS car in the market, which many dont realize .....Cannot believe Torino kept it in stock for so damn long. Recently sent on to a new home as we no longer wanted to keep any cars that were built after 1980. |
Feb 19 2021, 05:59 PM
496 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(juzmafia @ Feb 19 2021, 04:57 PM) I have one, originally owned by my late uncle & then given to me. can try get a lawyer to sort it out.depends on the lawyer fee whether the car is worth it or notUnfortunately, the car is still under my late grandfather name & can't renew the roadtax now. Currently planning to sell it off as spare part.. |
Feb 19 2021, 06:14 PM
562 posts Joined: Oct 2012 From: Out of the world... |
QUOTE(yibaandre @ Feb 19 2021, 05:59 PM) Actually, we did do all the necessary things for the name transfer until AmanahRaya ask us to do Puspakom test as one of the requirements but there is no guarantee that it will be successful so we decided not to proceed coz the cost to ready the car for the test is not worth it..😅Even though the car still can run & the engine is really good but unfortunately the car body is not in good shape. Need to repaint, rewire & some part need to be welded again.. This post has been edited by juzmafia: Feb 19 2021, 06:16 PM |
Feb 19 2021, 06:26 PM
QUOTE(juzmafia @ Feb 19 2021, 06:14 PM) Actually, we did do all the necessary things for the name transfer until AmanahRaya ask us to do Puspakom test as one of the requirements but there is no guarantee that it will be successful so we decided not to proceed coz the cost to ready the car for the test is not worth it..😅 Puspakom inspection for name change only makes sure that the numbers on the chassis and engine matches the one in the registration card as well as that there is no evidence present that the car is a "kereta sambung" Even though the car still can run & the engine is really good but unfortunately the car body is not in good shape. Need to repaint, rewire & some part need to be welded again.. Does not need to be in roadworthy condition. |
Feb 19 2021, 07:07 PM
1,526 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(Asquith @ Feb 19 2021, 05:15 PM) My mum had the Mazda 626 hatchback as a company car in the late 80s. Digital instrument panel just like Knight Rider and that car really could run. Ford/Mazda of that period really high tech. My dad's car aircond can swing horizontally. Bulb rosak, low wiper fluid got chime and meter light alerting. Asquith liked this post
Feb 19 2021, 07:59 PM
4,403 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Johor Bahru |
My mum's first gen TX3 still have. Although cannot move already.
Feb 19 2021, 08:01 PM
406 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: 3°50'**.**"N - 103°16'**.**"E |
Feb 19 2021, 10:19 PM
Feb 19 2021, 10:23 PM
3,761 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Feb 19 2021, 10:27 PM
282 posts Joined: May 2019 |
QUOTE(Asquith @ Feb 19 2021, 02:08 PM) Anyone here lucky enough to have owned a Ford Laser TX3 in the 90s? Used to drive it's older sibling the ford telstar v6. That car was truly unbelievable. Damn powerful beast. Still have good memories of it.![]() The car that would smoke even a Honda Accord of the era. Hardly see any surviving examples these days. |
Feb 19 2021, 10:30 PM
65 posts Joined: Aug 2020 |
QUOTE(voscar @ Feb 19 2021, 07:07 PM) Ford/Mazda of that period really high tech. My dad's car aircond can swing horizontally. Bulb rosak, low wiper fluid got chime and meter light alerting. My dad had a Mazda 626 with those swinging AC vents, and with the digital instrument cluster it was da bomb - very futuristic. Our next door neighbor had a TX3 and the guy was super chilled (either doped up or tripping most times) taught his son and us how to drive.. good memories in an awesome era. |
Feb 19 2021, 10:30 PM
2,027 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Greenwood, GBK |
my bro got 1.. he bought it 2nd.. one day i drove it without a license and bang rear wira and paid 250.. when he want to sell the car and find out it actually kereta potong
Feb 19 2021, 10:36 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,222 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Feb 19 2021, 02:42 PM) This is the TX3 with a1.8 DOCH powerplant. The 4 door version was the 1.6 Sohc that came in sedan and hatchback versions. Back then, it was obligatory to fit JRD fan design of rims to this car. Those who know this car back then would know |
Feb 20 2021, 06:46 AM
QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Feb 19 2021, 08:01 PM) YesQUOTE(RagingBalls @ Feb 19 2021, 10:27 PM) Used to drive it's older sibling the ford telstar v6. That car was truly unbelievable. Damn powerful beast. Still have good memories of it. That Telstar could really run and handle well for a car of that era. Unbelievable it was actually not that expensive a car when compared to a Honda Accord of the era. QUOTE(subliminal_dreams @ Feb 19 2021, 10:30 PM) My dad had a Mazda 626 with those swinging AC vents, and with the digital instrument cluster it was da bomb - very futuristic. Our next door neighbor had a TX3 and the guy was super chilled (either doped up or tripping most times) taught his son and us how to drive.. good memories in an awesome era. That Aircond vents was indeed a fascinating feature. Cannot believe that did not become mainstream.Fun era to grow up indeed. Now everyone glued to their phone. QUOTE(anep @ Feb 19 2021, 10:30 PM) my bro got 1.. he bought it 2nd.. one day i drove it without a license and bang rear wira and paid 250.. when he want to sell the car and find out it actually kereta potong Tragic.What happened then? QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Feb 19 2021, 10:36 PM) This is the TX3 with a1.8 DOCH powerplant. The 4 door version was the 1.6 Sohc that came in sedan and hatchback versions. Back then, it was obligatory to fit JRD fan design of rims to this car. Those who know this car back then would know Haha yes that wheels. |
Feb 20 2021, 06:47 AM
209 posts Joined: May 2007 From: mars |
Feb 20 2021, 07:11 AM
QUOTE(XXXOOOXXXOOO @ Feb 19 2021, 05:53 PM) Those cars were at a very different price point even when new and the same goes for now. Sierra RS Cossie last one I know sold for £70k while the Escort RS cheapest is upwards of £15k for a good one. |
Feb 20 2021, 07:34 AM
1,291 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Is this the same as escorts? The only time I came near a Ford was when choosing my 1st car, the choice then were escort, Accord and saga. All second hand and I chose the cheapest, the Accord. The only Non-conti car I ever owned.
Feb 20 2021, 07:51 AM
QUOTE(biggie @ Feb 20 2021, 07:34 AM) Is this the same as escorts? The only time I came near a Ford was when choosing my 1st car, the choice then were escort, Accord and saga. All second hand and I chose the cheapest, the Accord. The only Non-conti car I ever owned. This one is known as a Ford Laser. Built off a Mazda 323 platform. It was sold as the Ford Escort GT but only in USA. |
Feb 20 2021, 07:54 AM
2,227 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: cheras |
Why nobody like lynx
Design not bad |
Feb 20 2021, 08:29 AM
4,830 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
Another classic was the citroen zx especially the 16v version
It was fast and cornered well |
Feb 20 2021, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Feb 20 2021, 07:54 AM) It was overshadowed by the Mk1 Focus which was a way better car.QUOTE(cfa28 @ Feb 20 2021, 08:29 AM) Yes surprised still quite many ZX are running about here.The 16v always has a special place for me because that was my first car. Dark blue, Even in 1.9l form that car could run and cornered very well. Definitely set the benchmark for a good handling everyday car but let down by electrical issues. Still a fun car to drive. Would love to have that ZX 16v again but difficult to source for a good one. |
Feb 20 2021, 11:34 AM
157 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(Asquith @ Feb 20 2021, 11:29 AM) It was overshadowed by the Mk1 Focus which was a way better car. I sold my 1997 zx to a Citroen collector 2years.Yes surprised still quite many ZX are running about here. The 16v always has a special place for me because that was my first car. Dark blue, Even in 1.9l form that car could run and cornered very well. Definitely set the benchmark for a good handling everyday car but let down by electrical issues. Still a fun car to drive. Would love to have that ZX 16v again but difficult to source for a good one. Sold to him at rm700. Still in good running condition and was my daily car. Was supposed to send this car to the scrapyard. At least now I know the car is in good hands. |
Feb 20 2021, 12:04 PM
2,227 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: cheras |
Feb 20 2021, 05:41 PM
Feb 20 2021, 05:43 PM
8,025 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Planet Boleland |
Feb 21 2021, 02:17 AM
Feb 21 2021, 02:18 AM
Feb 21 2021, 02:29 AM
QUOTE(Asquith @ Feb 19 2021, 05:53 PM) We had one that was brand new 20VT registered in 2008. A brand new in 2008? Damn a great find at the time. 2000-2002 car i assume?Cannot believe Torino kept it in stock for so damn long. Recently sent on to a new home as we no longer wanted to keep any cars that were built after 1980. Every car before 1980? Damn haha. As much i like old cars, i cant live without bluetooth audio. I dont like old cars with new headunits. Too out of place/spoils the classic interior The closest to a time machine i can find is just looking at youtube videos all day long. This post has been edited by phas3r: Feb 21 2021, 02:32 AM |
Feb 21 2021, 07:03 AM
QUOTE(phas3r @ Feb 21 2021, 02:29 AM) A brand new in 2008? Damn a great find at the time. 2000-2002 car i assume? Yes it was brand new and unregistered in 2008. It was a 2001 manufactured car.Every car before 1980? Damn haha. As much i like old cars, i cant live without bluetooth audio. I dont like old cars with new headunits. Too out of place/spoils the classic interior The closest to a time machine i can find is just looking at youtube videos all day long. Believe it or not Torino had over 20 units to choose from though most were yellow. Good? Nah. It was far from new car condition, all the rubber parts had hardened and suspension parts had flat spots, the engine needed a rebuild after 7000km, turbo bearing seized and that is just what I could remember off the top of my head. Yes we got rid of all post 1980 cars in our collection as many of them were not in best of shape and parts for them are even more difficult to come by than a car built in 1960. |
Feb 21 2021, 07:32 AM
139 posts Joined: Jun 2019 |
I bought 2door tx3 back in 2013 for 5k from neiber uncle.....
I sold it after 2 years because the car drink oil like water |
Feb 21 2021, 07:33 AM
Feb 21 2021, 07:44 AM
QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Feb 21 2021, 07:33 AM) I drove the exact ZX 16v that I had in my younger days. Car was mostly the same minus the 2 digit plate it used to bear and it has a new paint job. I got to admit it really did make me feel a certain something that you cannot find even in new Citroens. The agility it could corner, the ride comfort and strangely even the way the seats were supportive without it being heavy. Why did you give it away ? |
Feb 21 2021, 08:09 AM
QUOTE(Asquith @ Feb 21 2021, 07:44 AM) I drove the exact ZX 16v that I had in my younger days. Yes, love the seats.Car was mostly the same minus the 2 digit plate it used to bear and it has a new paint job. I got to admit it really did make me feel a certain something that you cannot find even in new Citroens. The agility it could corner, the ride comfort and strangely even the way the seats were supportive without it being heavy. Why did you give it away ? Hardly used it as I ride to work and I have another 2 cars. And then parts are hard to find, and I didn't have the time for this car. It was left unused ( almost ) for almost 2 years plus. But I'm really glad that the car is in good hands now, a Citroen fan. Was gladly let it go for rm700. Asquith liked this post
Feb 21 2021, 12:59 PM
2,027 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Greenwood, GBK |
QUOTE(Asquith @ Feb 20 2021, 06:46 AM) Yes sold cheap2 to our uncle, he just use in his kampung.That Telstar could really run and handle well for a car of that era. Unbelievable it was actually not that expensive a car when compared to a Honda Accord of the era. That Aircond vents was indeed a fascinating feature. Cannot believe that did not become mainstream. Fun era to grow up indeed. Now everyone glued to their phone. Tragic. What happened then? Haha yes that wheels. |
| Change to: | 0.0299sec
5 queries
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:57 PM |