OSRAM Nightbreaker Halogen Bulb, Are they worth the price?

TSThrust
post Feb 18 2021, 04:51 PM, updated 5y ago

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

As per topic above, are the OSRAM Nightbreaker Halogen bulbs worth the premium price?

Normal halogen bulbs cost around RM10 a piece, OSRAM Nightbreakers are around RM80-90 for 1 pair.

Are they worth it? Share user opinion please.. Thanks.
La2yboy
post Feb 18 2021, 04:54 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 18 2021, 04:51 PM)
As per topic above, are the OSRAM Nightbreaker Halogen bulbs worth the premium price?

Normal halogen bulbs cost around RM10 a piece, OSRAM Nightbreakers are around RM80-90 for 1 pair.

In my book they aren't lasting , few months of usage suddenly one side K.O then few months later another side K.O as well.
Now i'm using Philips Ultinon LED , about 1 1/2 years plus now
TSThrust
post Feb 18 2021, 04:56 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(La2yboy @ Feb 18 2021, 04:54 PM)
In my book they aren't lasting , few months of usage suddenly one side K.O then few months later another side K.O as well.
So risky meh? They are expensive bulbs.. My original OEM halogen bulbs after 10 years still haven't burn out.
mcchin
post Feb 18 2021, 06:04 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 18 2021, 04:56 PM)
So risky meh? They are expensive bulbs.. My original OEM halogen bulbs after 10 years still haven't burn out.
ways to get brighter light

thinner filament or driving the bulb at higher wattage

both also will make the bulb dies faster than default

the burning of filament is not because of high heat alone
mainly is vibrations when heated up

potholes and bumps will cause the soft heated filament to move and vibrate until it gives away
La2yboy
post Feb 18 2021, 06:08 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 18 2021, 04:56 PM)
Those bulbs burn brighter , hence heat killed them .
i bought the same range of bulbs for my GF's car as well .. sames goes with the same lifespan .. doesn't lasted a year also .. now change to standard bulbs better still with no issue
TSThrust
post Feb 18 2021, 06:10 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(La2yboy @ Feb 18 2021, 06:08 PM)
Those bulbs burn brighter , hence heat killed them .
i bought the same range of bulbs for my GF's car as well .. sames goes with the same lifespan .. doesn't lasted a year also .. now change to standard bulbs better still with no issue
Then I better replace with standard bulbs.. much cheaper also.
mot88
post Feb 18 2021, 06:48 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 18 2021, 06:10 PM)
Then I better replace with standard bulbs.. much cheaper also.
Philips bulbs usually longer lasting than Osram for performance range, also Philips is much more expensive. Worth or not is individual, if one is driving whereby streetlight is dim or trunk road, then it worth it.

Performance bulb throw important lighting at critical zone, such as "hotspot" at front and also side line marker. Not just bright per say, but also the focus area.

For bang for buck, get the +30% Philips Premium Vision abt rm10 for H4.
TSThrust
post Feb 18 2021, 06:54 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(mot88 @ Feb 18 2021, 06:48 PM)
Philips bulbs usually longer lasting than Osram for performance range, also Philips is much more expensive. Worth or not is individual, if one is driving whereby streetlight is dim or trunk road, then it worth it.

Performance bulb throw important lighting at critical zone, such as "hotspot" at front and also side line marker. Not just bright per say, but also the focus area.

For bang for buck, get the +30% Philips Premium Vision abt rm10 for H4.
Thanks for the info.. RM10 per bulb, suits my budget nicely thumbsup.gif
mot88
post Feb 18 2021, 07:11 PM

141 posts

Dont expect much as it is not a performance bulb. It is slightly better that stock in term of cut off line focus. Brightness maybe 10% more.

This post has been edited by mot88: Feb 18 2021, 07:11 PM
SUSceo684
post Feb 18 2021, 08:52 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Recoat the plastic headlamp with fresh clearcoat about RM230 will give much better clarity like new.

Then only you can see better. I use these nightbreakers since my taman has pitch dark roads, can see very well.
TSThrust
post Feb 18 2021, 09:18 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Feb 18 2021, 08:52 PM)
Recoat the plastic headlamp with fresh clearcoat about RM230 will give much better clarity like new.

Then only you can see better. I use these nightbreakers since my taman has pitch dark roads, can see very well.
Did that already. Now just want to replace the bulb to make it as bright as new with minimal cost.

I don't mind paying for Nightbreaker but knowing it won't last long made me avoid it.

This post has been edited by Thrust: Feb 18 2021, 09:19 PM
mushigen
post Feb 18 2021, 09:24 PM

4,954 posts

I installed a pair of H4 Osram Nightbreaker on my ex Vios. They really made a big difference. Lasted more than a year before I removed them when I sold the car. The last few nights with stock bulbs made me appreciate them more.

I don't drive much at night, so it may explain the longevity. I also read that thermal cycles shortens the life, hence before I switched them on I flashed my high beam (whenever possible) to warm them up before switching on the dipped beam.
SUSceo684
post Feb 18 2021, 09:40 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 18 2021, 09:18 PM)
Did that already. Now just want to replace the bulb to make it as bright as new with minimal cost.

I don't mind paying for Nightbreaker but knowing it won't last long made me avoid it.
Frequently used (prior to MCO) they usually lasted about 1.5-2 years

QUOTE(mushigen @ Feb 18 2021, 09:24 PM)
I installed a pair of H4 Osram Nightbreaker on my ex Vios. They really made a big difference. Lasted more than a year before I removed them when I sold the car. The last few nights with stock bulbs made me appreciate them more.

I don't drive much at night, so it may explain the longevity. I also read that thermal cycles shortens the life, hence before I switched them on I flashed my high beam (whenever possible) to warm them up before switching on the dipped beam.
The stock bulbs are kinda useless..
if on budget get the philips +30% for around 12 bucks or so.. used to get one at eneos 1U and just DIY replacement in the carpark safely
coz its the only place open late after work (was about 930pm) and its dangerous to drive home as a lady driver if can't see shit.. might end up arrested for killing kids sad.gif
amad108
post Feb 18 2021, 10:10 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

as long its halogen, its uses high watt to get higher lumens unit.. so need to upgrade the socket and cable too to prevent wire burning because high voltage current..
TDUEnthusiast
post Feb 18 2021, 10:12 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

Bought a pair of Osram Night Breaker Plus H4 before a long time ago. It is definitely much brighter than standard halogens.

They do make it clear that the lifespan of such bulbs are shorter than the standard ones, and in return you get a better light output. I think the lifespan they claimed that it has is 800 hours or up to.

If you need help convincing yourself to spend a bit more money, it only costs you 13 myr every month if your bulbs only last for 6 months. A year then it's only 7 myr a month
intel_centrino33
post Feb 18 2021, 10:50 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 18 2021, 04:51 PM)

super worth it but sounds expensive if last less than 6 month to some ppl
kllonely1
post Feb 18 2021, 10:57 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(La2yboy @ Feb 18 2021, 04:54 PM)
thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif
TSThrust
post Feb 19 2021, 07:32 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

I ordered the Philips Vision +30 bulbs already.

Cheap bulbs and hope it restore the brightness back to OEM standard.
ayamxxx
post Feb 19 2021, 08:53 AM

4,061 posts

used this osram night breaker last time on waja. not last long max 1 year.
i then swap to Mr DIY blue coated halogen bulb. Much better light output vs stock and cost rm20+
unitron
post Feb 19 2021, 09:06 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

Hmm... possibly fake Osram bulbs, maybe if you still have it... can try to check with below website.

https://www.osram.com/am/the-trust-program/index.jsp
intel_centrino33
post Feb 19 2021, 09:11 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 19 2021, 08:53 AM)
i then swap to Mr DIY blue coated halogen bulb. Much better light output vs stock and cost rm20+
The life span also depending on the number of hours u switch on the light. I used to switch on about 1 hour daily on average including weekend. Lifespan almost the same ranging to 11 month - 14 month (I've used 2 - 3 pair of Osram Night Breaker Plus).
intel_centrino33
post Feb 19 2021, 09:12 AM

59 posts

posted twice

This post has been edited by intel_centrino33: Feb 19 2021, 09:12 AM
ayamxxx
post Feb 19 2021, 10:39 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(intel_centrino33 @ Feb 19 2021, 09:11 AM)
The life span also depending on the number of hours u switch on the light. I used to switch on about 1 hour daily on average including weekend. Lifespan almost the same ranging to 11 month - 14 month (I've used 2 - 3 pair of Osram Night Breaker Plus).
agreed it depend on hours using it. but generally the osram bulb life shorter vs stock. but light output > stock
kevinlim001
post Feb 19 2021, 11:36 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

i changed my stock h4 to osram nightbreaker.. i paid for rm130 per pair.. kena chop gao gao by accessories shop.. but the color are not so yellowish and definitely more bright compare to stock H4.. it was working even after 4-5 years until i crash the front lamp and exposed the bulb to rain water and one of the bulb ko while another one still working doh.gif

This post has been edited by kevinlim001: Feb 19 2021, 11:37 AM
StevenL
post Feb 20 2021, 12:48 AM

732 posts

QUOTE(intel_centrino33 @ Feb 19 2021, 09:11 AM)

That's really short§lifespan
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 19 2021, 10:39 AM)
agreed it depend on hours using it. but generally the osram bulb life shorter vs stock. but light output > stock
Which is why I go led for replacement and last much longer and brighter 😜
speedy3210
post Feb 20 2021, 11:21 AM

520 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 19 2021, 08:53 AM)
I thought waja is infamous for short-lived headlamp bulbs? due to its ori wiring.
mushigen
post Feb 20 2021, 11:53 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Feb 19 2021, 11:36 AM)
i changed my stock h4 to osram nightbreaker.. i paid for rm130 per pair.. kena chop gao gao by accessories shop.. but the color are not so yellowish and definitely more bright compare to stock H4.. it was working even after 4-5 years until i crash the front lamp and exposed the bulb to rain water and one of the bulb ko while another one still working doh.gif
RM130 including installation is not that bad, online pun RM100-plus iirc.
artificialRAGE
post Feb 20 2021, 02:06 PM

134 posts

I have been using Osram Nightbreaker since 2013. Started with NB Plus, then Unlimited and now first gen Laser (current ones are Laser next gen). H4 bulb on 2006 Myvi.

Used the NB Plus and NB Unlimited for over 2 years. Also I switch on my headlights even during the day so it got a lot of use. If your bulb dies quickly something is wrong with the car's wiring.

Definitely brighter than standard halogen. Tried Philips +30% and it was too dim and too yellow for me. Got used to the NB being brighter and slightly whiter.
ayamxxx
post Feb 21 2021, 09:23 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Feb 20 2021, 11:21 AM)
I thought waja is infamous for short-lived headlamp bulbs? due to its ori wiring.
not sure. but on waja or old model proton is ok. except newest like Preve do has this issues.
ayamxxx
post Feb 21 2021, 09:24 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(artificialRAGE @ Feb 20 2021, 02:06 PM)
I have been using Osram Nightbreaker since 2013. Started with NB Plus, then Unlimited and now first gen Laser (current ones are Laser next gen). H4 bulb on 2006 Myvi.

Used the NB Plus and NB Unlimited for over 2 years. Also I switch on my headlights even during the day so it got a lot of use. If your bulb dies quickly something is wrong with the car's wiring.

Definitely brighter than standard halogen. Tried Philips +30% and it was too dim and too yellow for me. Got used to the NB being brighter and slightly whiter.
in my case, it is on old proton waja mitsu. the stock bulb life is higher than Osram NB based on my experience. car is totally stock
intel_centrino33
post Feb 21 2021, 09:46 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 21 2021, 09:24 AM)
in my case, it is on old proton waja mitsu. the stock bulb life is higher than Osram NB based on my experience. car is totally stock
Stock bulb lifespan surely much better than any performance bulb lifespan
TSThrust
post Feb 21 2021, 10:24 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

I just tested the Philips Halogen Vision + 30... Not bad I would say if compared to my old halogen bulb. For RM15 a pair, I am quite satisfied with its performance.

Brightness was restored and the beam seems to shine further and brighter. Probably because my old bulb got dimmer throughout these 11 years.

I know the Nightbreaker will be better but I am those that want the best bang for money and last long too. I don't mind paying for the Nightbreaker if it has the lifespan of an normal halogen bulbs.

This post has been edited by Thrust: Feb 21 2021, 10:26 AM
intel_centrino33
post Feb 21 2021, 11:08 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 21 2021, 10:24 AM)
I just tested the Philips Halogen Vision + 30... Not bad I would say if compared to my old halogen bulb. For RM15 a pair, I am quite satisfied with its performance.

Brightness was restored and the beam seems to shine further and brighter. Probably because my old bulb got dimmer throughout these 11 years.

I know the Nightbreaker will be better but I am those that want the best bang for money and last long too. I don't mind paying for the Nightbreaker if it has the lifespan of an normal halogen bulbs.
Nightbreaker lifespan will lower for sure so it wont be best bang for money. biggrin.gif

Good that u have change your 11 years old bulb.
DM52
post Feb 21 2021, 09:30 PM

406 posts

Stock bulb is the best yo. Got times when u will fedup and revert back to stock bulb. mark my words
TSThrust
post Feb 21 2021, 09:40 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(DM52 @ Feb 21 2021, 09:30 PM)
Stock bulb is the best yo. Got times when u will  fedup and revert back to stock bulb. mark my words
I would say the original headlight that came with the car will be the best.

If it uses Halogen, better stick with Halogen.

If it comes with LED, stick with LED.
Miracles
post Feb 21 2021, 10:02 PM

★ Detective /K ★
1,171 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 21 2021, 10:24 AM)

Mind sharing where you gotten Philips Halogen Vision bulbs?

Looking to change my stock bulbs too
TSThrust
post Feb 21 2021, 10:43 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(Miracles @ Feb 21 2021, 10:02 PM)
Mind sharing where you gotten Philips Halogen Vision bulbs?

Looking to change my stock bulbs too
From a shopee seller called twinklebigstar.

The product is genuine as i've verified through its qrcode scanner.

This post has been edited by Thrust: Feb 21 2021, 10:44 PM
ayamxxx
post Feb 22 2021, 09:00 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(DM52 @ Feb 21 2021, 09:30 PM)
Stock bulb is the best yo. Got times when u will  fedup and revert back to stock bulb. mark my words
For a simple car, like viva, old myvi, i prefer to use mr diy blue coated bulb. Cheap but good light vs stock

intel_centrino33
post Feb 22 2021, 09:09 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 22 2021, 09:00 AM)
For a simple car, like viva, old myvi, i prefer to use mr diy blue coated bulb. Cheap but good light vs stock
Rm8.40 for it, super worth to try. Can buy to try and compare with stock bulbs.
Miracles
post Feb 22 2021, 03:05 PM

★ Detective /K ★
1,171 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 21 2021, 10:43 PM)
From a shopee seller called twinklebigstar.

The product is genuine as i've verified through its qrcode scanner.
Thank you so much bro! Will check it out
fireballs
post Feb 23 2021, 12:04 AM

5,650 posts

really no.
the basic rm10 factory bulb stay brighter longer

the expensive bulb is brighter for just a few nights, then dim below stock bulb.
TSThrust
post Feb 23 2021, 07:29 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Feb 23 2021, 12:04 AM)
really no.

the expensive bulb is brighter for just a few nights, then dim below stock bulb.
Probably those are made from unknown manufacturers from China?

If you're buying from OSRAM, Philips, Hella, Bosch, these should be fine.
constant_weight
post Feb 23 2021, 07:47 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 23 2021, 07:29 AM)

bought one for my sis, osram nightbreaker, running stable for 2 years and sold along with the car.

one of my friend been using nightbreaker for over 8 years, still running strong.
fireballs
post Feb 23 2021, 08:18 AM

5,650 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 23 2021, 07:29 AM)

Bought from official osram distributor with qrcode checking for autenticity
My friend also have the same experience just I don't believe

There is nothing wrong about it. Just the it's overpriced for minimal effect

This post has been edited by fireballs: Feb 23 2021, 08:20 AM
intel_centrino33
post Feb 23 2021, 09:13 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Feb 23 2021, 08:18 AM)
Bought from official osram distributor with qrcode checking for autenticity
My friend also have the same experience just I don't believe

There is nothing wrong about it. Just the it's overpriced for minimal effect
The bulb brightness is there but not in a WOW brightness,by naked eye easily improve by 30% to 50% (personal opinion) but the price is consider far more expensive (5 to 6 times of normal bulb price) and at a much lower lifespan compared to normal bulb as well.

But to some people, an improvement by 30% to 50% means a lot to them especially dark road + raining.
speedy3210
post Feb 23 2021, 11:38 AM

520 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Feb 23 2021, 12:04 AM)
really no.

Really? But I have a different experience on this mix-n-match. Was using H7 NB Unlimited for 2yrs+ when 1 of it blew on my wife's Elantra. No backup NBU but still keeping the ori Philip Standard H7 that was around 4yrs old when it got changed out.

Obviously brighter on the 2yrs old dying NBU side than the 4yrs old Philip Std. Even my wife told me why her car's lights were weird. I just told her to close 1 eye until I can order new NBLaser online. That car is now on NBL.
fireballs
post Feb 23 2021, 12:14 PM

5,650 posts

Maybe I got a bad batch

Ciypher
post Feb 23 2021, 01:30 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Feb 23 2021, 12:14 PM)
Maybe I got a bad batch
Improper installation (touching glass with bare hands) will also affect lifespan..
fireballs
post Feb 23 2021, 02:32 PM

5,650 posts

QUOTE(Ciypher @ Feb 23 2021, 01:30 PM)
Improper installation (touching glass with bare hands) will also affect lifespan..
Yup. Even cleaned with isopropyl
My nbl is still working. Just not as bright as philips rm10

0.0465sec    1.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:42 PM