Feb 17 2022, 01:20 PM
1,649 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 17 2022, 01:18 PM) Not hitting alderlake? https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/B660I-...-DDR4-rev-1x#kf For low end stuff bios shouldnt matter at all i suppose, so gigabyte should be fine. |
Feb 17 2022, 01:30 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
24,340 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Setapak, Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 17 2022, 01:20 PM) Not hitting alderlake? Nope. I'll jump into ITX for my existing 12600K when there is decent price/performance/features for it.https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/B660I-...-DDR4-rev-1x#kf For low end stuff bios shouldnt matter at all i suppose, so gigabyte should be fine. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Its overpriced. Single M.2 for RM1k board. This post has been edited by TristanX: Feb 17 2022, 01:34 PM |
Feb 17 2022, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 17 2022, 01:30 PM) Nope. I'll jump into ITX for my existing 12600K when there is decent price/performance/features for it. But it is very good price performance especially against AMD right now despite DDR5. It's basically pitched against a much more expensive 5800x rig with a board with more expansion ports than x570 and faster wifi. Its overpriced. Single M.2 for RM1k board. Cant really make a better ITX rig than this now for the same price. Also DDR5 is now cheaper than samsung bdies already... can find below 1.2k liao for 32gb.... but all i find are still samsungs zzzz This post has been edited by Bonchi: Feb 17 2022, 01:38 PM |
Feb 17 2022, 01:38 PM
QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 17 2022, 01:37 PM) But it is very good price performance especially against AMD right now despite DDR5. It's basically pitched against a much more expensive 5800x rig with a board with more expansion ports than x570 and faster wifi. I can wait. Its not a problem for me.Also DDR5 is now cheaper than samsung bdies already... can find below 1.2k liao for 32gb.... but all i find are still samsungs zzzz ![]() This post has been edited by TristanX: Feb 17 2022, 01:41 PM |
Feb 17 2022, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 17 2022, 01:38 PM) If wait, may as well go raptorlake already This post has been edited by Bonchi: Feb 17 2022, 01:45 PM |
Feb 17 2022, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 17 2022, 01:42 PM) If wait, may as well go raptorlake already Yeah, paying double to triple the price of DDR4 is too much if I want a good DDR5 kit.Z790 ITX may work with my 12600K. |
Feb 17 2022, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 17 2022, 01:44 PM) Yeah, paying double to triple the price of DDR4 is too much if I want a good DDR5 kit. DDR4 after going through multiple kits... micron and hynix, i wont bother with any kits unless it's samsung B die. And they're almost RM1.5K nowadays. So those kits i wont bother at all unless if it's building rig for my sister. Z790 ITX may work with my 12600K. Likewise will do the same with DDR5. Aint gonna waste time with other kits even if the bin is good. A cheap fury beast 5200c40 hynix that is currently 390sgd will easily get the job done (i was quoted RM1100 but turns out to be samsung haiyaaa). |
Feb 17 2022, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 17 2022, 01:47 PM) DDR4 after going through multiple kits... micron and hynix, i wont bother with any kits unless it's samsung B die. And they're almost RM1.5K nowadays. So those kits i wont bother at all unless if it's building rig for my sister. Be patient. Eventually it will come.Likewise will do the same with DDR5. Aint gonna waste time with other kits even if the bin is good. A cheap fury beast 5200c40 hynix that is currently 390sgd will easily get the job done (i was quoted RM1100 but turns out to be samsung haiyaaa). I just go budget i5 just to play around for my ITX rig. Its no big deal. |
Feb 17 2022, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 17 2022, 01:49 PM) Be patient. Eventually it will come. Everytime i go office once a week, will drop by simlim and walk every pc shop to see their fury beast SKU to find the hynix one lolol. Until some shop can recognize me and started treating me coldly I just go budget i5 just to play around for my ITX rig. Its no big deal. |
Feb 17 2022, 01:56 PM
QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 17 2022, 01:52 PM) Everytime i go office once a week, will drop by simlim and walk every pc shop to see their fury beast SKU to find the hynix one lolol. Until some shop can recognize me and started treating me coldly IF you sit on their shoes, you will start getting annoyed too. Maybe give them your number and ask them to whatsapp or call you when that specific model arrives. |
Feb 17 2022, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 17 2022, 01:56 PM) IF you sit on their shoes, you will start getting annoyed too. Maybe give them your number and ask them to whatsapp or call you when that specific model arrives. They dont do such thing cuz they dont want people to pick kits :/ just like shopee many shops will blur out the SKU. cawan liked this post
Feb 17 2022, 07:19 PM
1,198 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Feb 17 2022, 01:29 AM) Asrock always makes entry level trash. It's whether they bother to make high end on the flipside that's another matter (they kinda didn't with Z490). Their Z490 ITX isn't that bad too right? E.g. B550 - they have both the B550M-ITX/ac (trash specs for entry level price) and the Phantom Gaming ITX/ax (nearly 100% identical VRM to the B550 Aorus Pro ITX, with better CPU socket placement, front USB-C, more usable USB ports and other board headers). Z690 has the Phantom Gaming ITX line too: https://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z690%20Phan...TXTB4/index.asp As for the topic of poor VRM, if I'm building a midrange with i5 with no CPU upgrade in mind, I guess those Asrock VRM is still acceptable since the 6-cores (or 10) won't stress the VRM so much? |
Feb 17 2022, 07:52 PM
1,943 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
Feb 17 2022, 08:24 PM
QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Feb 17 2022, 07:19 PM) Their Z490 ITX isn't that bad too right? It's the build quality and QC consistency for asrock. As for vrm Like many shown here, intel is not really power hungry in normal circumstances unless you everyday run cinbench so vrm no problem wan. As for the topic of poor VRM, if I'm building a midrange with i5 with no CPU upgrade in mind, I guess those Asrock VRM is still acceptable since the 6-cores (or 10) won't stress the VRM so much? So if you ok with lower build quality, abit difficult to overclock ram stable and have lower bandwidth due to cheaped out mobo pcb traces on the pcie lanes and ram then yeah, asrock no problem. |
Feb 17 2022, 08:24 PM
Feb 18 2022, 09:53 AM
1,198 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 17 2022, 08:24 PM) It's the build quality and QC consistency for asrock. As for vrm Like many shown here, intel is not really power hungry in normal circumstances unless you everyday run cinbench so vrm no problem wan. Sounds good. I also think midrange builder will just run their RAM on the XMP speed, and not anything beyond. So if you ok with lower build quality, abit difficult to overclock ram stable and have lower bandwidth due to cheaped out mobo pcb traces on the pcie lanes and ram then yeah, asrock no problem. As for the VRM, as long as can boost to the CPU top speed and won't throttle by VRM power or heat, good enough for gaming already. Most people who buys a i5 k-series is most probably going to use it mainly for gaming. |
Feb 18 2022, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Feb 18 2022, 09:53 AM) Sounds good. I also think midrange builder will just run their RAM on the XMP speed, and not anything beyond. Issue now is most mobo manufacturers today trying to increase the prices. B660 at RM1k is ridiculous. They raise price, I raise expectation.As for the VRM, as long as can boost to the CPU top speed and won't throttle by VRM power or heat, good enough for gaming already. Most people who buys a i5 k-series is most probably going to use it mainly for gaming. I miss high end boards at RM1k. This mobo sells like hot cakes on US. https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1670...lus_d4_lga.html 189.99 United States Dollar equals 795.11 Malaysian Ringgit Asus not bringing it here because it will affect their sales on other models. This post has been edited by TristanX: Feb 18 2022, 10:15 AM yimingwuzere and edmund_yung liked this post
Feb 18 2022, 08:59 PM
990 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Bolehland |
QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 18 2022, 10:03 AM) Issue now is most mobo manufacturers today trying to increase the prices. B660 at RM1k is ridiculous. They raise price, I raise expectation. Price creep mostly from higher end VRMs and more expensive AMD/Intel chipsets.I miss high end boards at RM1k. This mobo sells like hot cakes on US. https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1670...lus_d4_lga.html 189.99 United States Dollar equals 795.11 Malaysian Ringgit Asus not bringing it here because it will affect their sales on other models. Not just VRMs though - Asrock's Phantom Gaming 4 lineup has no business being where they cost considering how many corners are cut on those boards, to the point where they can't even handle anything more than a light overclock on a x600K core, let alone x700K/x900K. The mobo prices is also probably the reason why AMD can get away with less value for money desktop CPUs, as once the mobo and RAM are included they are still decently priced against their Intel counterparts. Anyway... not in the market for a desktop at the moment, this 5800X rig I built more than a year ago is still solid. Thinking of getting a laptop for work though, but I haven't seen any laptop in the Malaysian market with Alder Lake apart from the Alienware 14" that's light enough for the office commute (and that laptop is too pricey for my liking). This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Feb 19 2022, 01:27 AM |
Feb 19 2022, 09:46 PM
6,799 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 18 2022, 10:03 AM) Issue now is most mobo manufacturers today trying to increase the prices. B660 at RM1k is ridiculous. They raise price, I raise expectation. apa logic niI miss high end boards at RM1k. This mobo sells like hot cakes on US. https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1670...lus_d4_lga.html 189.99 United States Dollar equals 795.11 Malaysian Ringgit Asus not bringing it here because it will affect their sales on other models. b660 strix -e gaming >maximus z390 hero u are looking at the gen to gen market segment numbering expecting same price eventhough features are alot more. |
| Change to: | 0.0301sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:21 AM |