Single storey terrace becomes 2 storey
SUSrtk74
Feb 15 2021, 07:07 AM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Feb 13 2021, 08:51 AM) I am giving my wife A10k for my retirement present as i have never expected to get a golden handshake. She saw a nice Chanel bag (cost about A$10,500) and wanted to buy it with the A$10k i gave her. I now tell her not to buy the bag as the future is very unpredictable - she is now a bit upset with me  !! Can't understand women - why need so many handbags (she already got about 5 Chanel handbags - all very costly eventhough we bought it quite a few years ago. I really cannot understand women  Women are like that one. But also the virus has kinda made everyone feel lower than ever. Maybe having the bags gives her a sense of security that everything is still as is. You can either get it for her or take her mind off of it. I can't really say to take a vacation together due to current situations. What I can really say is to possibly cut down on your own expenses and maybe buy the Bag "used" from carousell. Give it to her on your anniversary or some other important date for both of you. Carousell Aus is still a good place for these kinds of stuff as the younger (read:gullible) people kept buying stuff they can't ultimately afford. You can bring it to a Chanel store to confirm its authenticity. Or buy a new one if she's the type that's very picky on it. Though losing $250k must have been frustrating for you. But I'll assume most if not all your commitments are cared for prior to that. PS. Fam member was an avid upcar shoe collector. Buy 50+ odd shoes but never really use em. In the end left the leather to dry rot.
SUSrtk74
Feb 15 2021, 07:47 AM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Feb 15 2021, 07:27 AM) My wife has already got 5 Chanel bags and 2 Chanel purses (started buying about 20 years ago)  . I told her even if she has 50 Chanel bags also not enough to satisfy her 'greed'. I actually promised my wife A$20k angpow but with the condition that my payout is more than A$300k but because my payout was less than A$300k, she only got A$10k ang pow. I used to have a few Rolex in my younger days (Day/Date, Datejust 2 tone, Submariner) but now i am just wearing a simple Seiko (bought rm650 about 10 years ago). I have sold off/given away to my relatives all my Rolex and i am a simple man who don't crave for designer brands anymore. I can afford these luxuries but i feel i have no more craving anymore (maybe i am getting older now). I look back and saw i had a lot of 'greed' in my earlier days. Greed isn't all that bad though, it give a sense of motivation to push harder and earn more. But being happy with whatever you have is great as well, taking care of face in front of others is tiring. And really if you think 5 Chanel bags are bad.... you haven't met my grandma. Thank god ayam put more emphasis on function rather than aesthetics. inb4 buy her a pasar malam chaplang Channel bag
SUSrtk74
Feb 15 2021, 08:55 AM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Feb 15 2021, 08:05 AM) When i told my wife angpow may be A$20k if i get more than A$300k in my payout, she took me to see Hermes Birkin bags in the Hermes shop here in Sydney(King/Castlereagh Street corner). Aiyoh  ! The cheapest handbag there was about A$14k - i only sat on their couch and she spent about half an hour going through all the Birkin selection. There was even a queue to go into the shop as they could only allow in a small number of customers due to Covid restriction. After viewing all the bags, the French salesgirl took us to see all the other Birkin stuff - homewares, furniture, scarfs, etc.. (3 floors in total). Told us we must join their membership (free to join) and once we show we have an interest in Birkin products, we will be given priority when we buy Birkin stuff. Aiyoh. All their stuff have at least four zeros (Aussie)  . After that i told my wife to keep the angpow i gave her and buy some bank shares, she wouldn't want to talk to me. I tell her every 6 mths can still get a bit of dividend - she gave me the ugly look!! Sorry but that was funny, she's just sulking She's on her track to becum liek bijan's wife? Chanel ok lah but Birkin... GG
SUSrtk74
Feb 15 2021, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Feb 15 2021, 09:15 AM) That's why - cannot never finish buying loh. After that, she will ask - why your retirement savings every year so much more extra? Why don't go buy another Birkin? She bought 2 Classic Chanel bags in 2015 (Jumbo Classic and another called GST model). One was A$6,250 and the other GST was about A$3,500. The GST is no longer being produced and the Jumbo which costs A$6,250 is now selling for about A$12,500. She then challenges me - tell you sure make money before, you don't believe..... Aiyoh  I told her just because the price has gone up doesn't mean she made money. She kept insisting she has made money!! How to argue like that? Haven't asked her to sell it? Bet she'll be furious and annoyed with you throughout the day