What are hobby degrees?

TSStarbucki
post Feb 7 2021, 05:49 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Feb 7 2021, 05:27 PM)
Hobby degrees are those degrees that people study the course with no real world contribution but just for self interest...

For example... Music, Film, Tourism and Hospitality, mass comm, sports...

all these you do not really need to have a degree to actually work but more for self interest.... for example ....you don't need a degree to be a musician or composer
Another definition is the globally accepted "useless degree"..... basically... after you get the cert... you are unlikely to get jobs in the field you studied in..
Lastly... people who study the course are people who already do these things as their past time.... so most likely an easy way to get a degree...

No one in their right mind would study dry courses like business, finance, management, law, acturial science etc. for fun....  whereas music, film, tourism etc.... it is very obvious they are "for fun" degrees....
What do you think of social sciences like geography, history, politics etc? Some thinks these are useless, but i dont think these are hobby degrees tho

holypredator
post Feb 7 2021, 06:51 PM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Feb 7 2021, 05:49 PM)
What do you think of social sciences like geography, history, politics etc? Some thinks these are useless, but i dont think these are hobby degrees tho
Geography is not a hobby degree.... town planners, landscape architects and environmental consultants normally require them... in Malaysia maybe it is rather niche but in some countries... they are in demand for cartographer....

History... archeologist perhaps?? a rather niche job but when it comes to the occupations in demand... you need the said degree...

political science is actually required in some countries if you want to work in the ministry department.... they would normally require either law/political science/economics/business management etc. as requirement.... but con9lan7firm would reject music/tourism degree holders...

Most industry would accept degree of any kind for general jobs EXCEPT leisure degrees like music/tourism/film/sports...

Honestly speaking... you are pretty safe studying any kind of degree so long as it is not leisure degrees like music/tourism/film/sports... whereby in people's mind know it is a "for fun" degree.... cause most industry will just take any sort of graduates...

This post has been edited by holypredator: Feb 7 2021, 06:54 PM
holypredator
post Feb 7 2021, 07:02 PM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

In my personal opinion at least....

the worst hobby degree ever exist is tourism and hospitality....

ma kai hai... even music and other hobby degree etc. they are at least still can have some sort of knowledge gained in that specific field...

but what is tourism and hospitality even good for?? I saw the modules that they study.... basic general management... basic language courses... basic culinary.... basic hotel management....(basically the first 2 YEARS.... cover all the BARE BASICS of business, culinary and hotel management) then the rest is about tourism & hospitality development studies ...which includes level 1 language studies doh.gif pukimak... they even got field trips as part of their modules ....

Tourism industry itself don't even need graduates and could hire part timers... it is pretty much a suicide course from the get go... mega_shok.gif

Hence... i believe tourism and hospitality is like being design just to take in students who cannot study at all but want a certificate...

This post has been edited by holypredator: Feb 7 2021, 07:24 PM
lopo90
post Feb 7 2021, 07:06 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Feb 7 2021, 03:19 PM)
Bachelor of Laws.

I went to law school, damn a lot of working professionals like accountants and drs, along with retirees in my class.
How's law school like? Are the subjects tough?

Thinking of learning law as well. Can use it against corrupted people
KuzumiTaiga
post Feb 7 2021, 07:12 PM

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,317 posts

QUOTE(lopo90 @ Feb 7 2021, 07:06 PM)
How's law school like? Are the subjects tough?

Thinking of learning law as well. Can use it against corrupted people
lots of students, not many graduate and even fewer get called to the bar.

You get a nice badge to slap on your car plate, though.
TSStarbucki
post Feb 7 2021, 07:19 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Feb 7 2021, 07:02 PM)
In my personal opinion at least....

the worst hobby degree ever exist is tourism and hospitality....

ma kai hai... even music etc. they are at least still can have some sort of knowledge gained in that specific field...

what are they even good for?? I saw the modules that they study.... basic general management... basic language courses... basic culinary.... basic hotel management....(basically the first 2 YEARS.... cover all the BARE BASICS of business, culinary and hotel management)  then the rest is about tourism & hospitality development studies ...which includes level 1 language studies  doh.gif  pukimak... they even got field trips as part of their modules ....

Tourism industry itself don't even need graduates and could hire part timers... it is pretty much a suicide course from the get go... mega_shok.gif

Hence... i believe tourism and hospitality is like being design just to take in students who cannot study at all but want a certificate...
Would sports mgmt, office admin, library science count to be useless too?

Quantum Geist
post Feb 7 2021, 07:22 PM

109 posts

managing a kitchen is not easy, not sure if the degree covers all the aspects though
raymancantona
post Feb 7 2021, 07:22 PM

73 posts

/k got degree

professional keyboard warrior
holypredator
post Feb 7 2021, 07:23 PM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Feb 7 2021, 07:19 PM)
Would sports mgmt, office admin, library science count to be useless too?
based on google search result for most useless / unemployed degree... then I guess I would have to say yes...
KimiLau
post Feb 7 2021, 07:25 PM

589 posts

HOTEL MANAGEMENT, BACHELOR OF INTERNATIONAL HOSPITALITY MANAGEMENT
TSStarbucki
post Feb 7 2021, 07:37 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Feb 7 2021, 07:23 PM)
based on google search result for most useless / unemployed degree...  then I guess I would have to say yes...
Tbh i think most people just whack wadever course they can easily enrol into without thinking ahead. Thats why everything is a mess.
Izzam98 P
post Feb 7 2021, 07:39 PM

Probation

Business admin should be considered as one.
blanket84
post Feb 7 2021, 07:39 PM

1,521 posts

Engineering. Me last time like to watch how engineering documentary.
holypredator
post Feb 7 2021, 07:42 PM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Feb 7 2021, 07:37 PM)
Tbh i think most people just whack wadever course they can easily enrol into without thinking ahead. Thats why everything is a mess.
For the most part.... at the very least they could still get general office jobs... even English literature... is still considered "hirable" for general jobs by HR...

not so much if you end up with leisure degrees like music/film/tourism etc.

I notice reputable companies or big MNC... they tend to skip hobby degrees during filtering (whether it is fresh or experienced).... even though the job states "degree of any field"
TSStarbucki
post Feb 7 2021, 07:43 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Feb 7 2021, 07:42 PM)
For the most part.... at the very least they could still get general office jobs... even English literature... is still considered "hirable" for general jobs by HR...

not so much if you end up with leisure degrees like music/film/tourism etc.

I notice reputable companies or big MNC... they tend to skip hobby degrees during filtering (whether it is fresh or experienced).... even though the job states "degree of any field"
Eng litt is not bad. At least their english improves though not perfect. Makes them employable.
holypredator
post Feb 7 2021, 07:45 PM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

Medicine & dentistry – 99%.
Veterinary Science – 98%.
Subjects allied to medicine – 93%.
Architecture, building & planning – 92%.
Education – 90%.
Engineering & technology – 85%.
Computer Science – 80%.
Mathematical sciences – 79%.
Business studies – 75%.
Law – 74%

https://coursefindr.co.uk/degrees/articles/...oyable-degrees/

I'm not pulling facts out of my ass like other people here.... just google most employable degree...

so many stupid /k/... kept saying business... mathematics/actuarial... etc. to be "hobby degree".... I think they must have studied tourism degree and tak tau malu now wanna drag other people to their level.... can't drag those famous Lawyer/Engineer/Doctor jobs... so drag the next best....

bodoh betul these hobby grads..
mike9407
post Feb 7 2021, 07:49 PM

611 posts

Dota degree
holypredator
post Feb 7 2021, 07:51 PM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

I see many people hating on business admin degrees...

in terms of ease of study... I can say it is much easier than specialised business degree because business admin study all the basics of every other business degree (i.e. accounting/finance/management/economics)...

Hack... even their MBA is easier than specialised like MSc Finance or MSc International management because the thesis topic can be very broad and normally only rquire 10-11k word count...

whereas specialised like MSc Management/Finance/Marketing... they are much harder because they do the same research thesis but only limited to their field of study...

for example... if finance... you can only do research on finance related topic... and it is marked stricter because they expect you to be experts in the field... whereas they don't expect deeper discussions for MBA students who choose to write finance related topics

and their word count are normally 15k... 50% more than MBA

But no matter what people here is saying... BBA/MBA/DBA is still considered a business degree and is still employable.... so stop your bullshit..

This post has been edited by holypredator: Feb 7 2021, 07:52 PM
Zyrise5465
post Feb 7 2021, 08:14 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Feb 7 2021, 07:45 PM)
Medicine & dentistry – 99%.
Veterinary Science – 98%.
Subjects allied to medicine – 93%.
Architecture, building & planning – 92%.
Education – 90%.
Engineering & technology – 85%.
Computer Science – 80%.
Mathematical sciences – 79%.
Business studies – 75%.
Law – 74%

https://coursefindr.co.uk/degrees/articles/...oyable-degrees/
I'm not pulling facts out of my ass like other people here.... just google most employable degree...

so many stupid /k/... kept saying business... mathematics/actuarial... etc. to be "hobby degree".... I think they must have studied tourism degree and tak tau malu now wanna drag other people to their level.... can't drag those famous Lawyer/Engineer/Doctor jobs... so drag the next best....

bodoh betul these hobby grads..
First world country yes, in Malaysia no.

Courses like "subjected allied to medicine" such as biomed, biotech, bio, chem in Malaysia is very dead end, better seek for opportunity in other countries or else most likely will work in sales/insurance. Also, we dont have FAANG company for these Math/AppliedMath/Statistic grad as well, as these major tends to able to get into high tech company in first world country. Hell, even engineering is also doom and gloom in malaysia, where most of the grad just work in manufacturing industry jaga foreign workers/operators (good thing is engineering grad can easily get job than other majors)
SUSPohziliang96
post Feb 7 2021, 08:17 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Zyrise5465 @ Feb 7 2021, 08:14 PM)
First world country yes, in Malaysia no.

Courses like "subjected allied to medicine" such as biomed, biotech, bio, chem in Malaysia is very dead end, better seek for opportunity in other countries or else most likely will work in sales/insurance. Also, we dont have FAANG company for these Math/AppliedMath/Statistic grad as well, as these major tends to able to get into high tech company in first world country. Hell, even engineering is also doom and gloom in malaysia, where most of the grad just work in manufacturing industry jaga foreign workers/operators (good thing is engineering grad can easily get job than other majors)
Malaysia is a place that hardly brings out innovative initiatives. We don’t try. We only need Bangladeshi workers

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0200sec    0.97    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:27 AM