First time ipad buyer question!, ipad or ipad air

TSinfiniti123
post Mar 13 2021, 07:23 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(XXXOOOXXXOOO @ Mar 12 2021, 03:46 PM)
i have similar question so i just ask here.
I need a ipad for work purposes (apps testing) nothing else.
Currently i have old ipad mini (acc cause tons of headache) iphones 7 (but not latest IOS).

my requirement is pretty direct - cheap n latest IOS.

Update: Went with an iPad Air in the end! Just couldn’t shake off the price value it gives!
19 Degree South
post Mar 14 2021, 11:48 AM

1,480 posts

QUOTE(infiniti123 @ Mar 13 2021, 07:23 PM)
Update: Went with an iPad Air in the end! Just couldn’t shake off the price value it gives!
Ok la. My iPad 3 cost almost the same 9yers back. The only letdown is the screen resolution, me coming from S20+.
kel32
post Apr 4 2021, 12:22 AM

199 posts

care to share usage reviews?
TSinfiniti123
post Apr 4 2021, 10:17 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(kel32 @ Apr 4 2021, 12:22 AM)
care to share usage reviews?
Hello ! Firstly I’ll start with the cons: not the iPad itself but the Apple Pencil 2. The tip went flat and became unresponsive only after 2 weeks of usage . Thanks fully was able to get warranty claim. Online reviews did recommend to get a silicon protection tip.

Pros:
1 it’s still not a laptop replacement but is able to handle 90% of my work stuff ( email, browsing, google related apps). Microsoft office is convenient for file viewing but I still prefer laptop for editing.
2 Battery life is amazing, full 8 hours usage per day, only charge once every 2 days.
3 Usb c charging is very very fast.
4 Split screen multi tasking smooth and convenient

Conclusion : after using the air, I don’t think I’ll be able to go back to the Normal iPad with the thick bezel. I know many buyers are in a dilemma on whether to get The air or the basic iPad, I would say even if you’re using it for basic functionality such as email checking and what not, the air would be worth the extra buck.

kel32
post Apr 5 2021, 12:32 AM

199 posts

short review 1 week Ipad Air 4 usage, and first apple product use.

1. great stereo speaker on mobile devices
2. limiting customization option
3. Same apps but reduced functionality compare to android version
4. No notification icons although got big screen.
5. Touch ID is good but can be better, 2 steps to unlock instead of single step like Android phones.

Usage experience compare with Galaxy Tab 7

This post has been edited by kel32: Apr 5 2021, 12:19 PM
officeBoy
post Apr 9 2021, 08:24 PM

788 posts

Bro, bluetooth can support how many device?

QUOTE(PrinceJoe @ Feb 7 2021, 10:18 PM)
My iPad Air 2,
I'm using China-made keyboard with touchpad - Gooding !
Have backlight colorful, rechargable micro-usb.
Mouse i use logitech m590. Both using bluetooth.

Going for logitech pebble for ipad 8th gen.

I think apple have lightning to hdmi adapter also for your purpose.
officeBoy
post Apr 9 2021, 08:29 PM

788 posts

Mind to share more on Ipad air ?

i need one to use for teaching and pdf editing

I got your review, thanks for that

This post has been edited by officeBoy: Apr 9 2021, 08:31 PM
officeBoy
post Apr 9 2021, 09:35 PM

788 posts

Hey Sifu,
May i know pencil 1 and pencil 2 got huge differences? I need it for teaching and my daughter want it for drawing
PrinceJoe
post Apr 10 2021, 08:18 AM

396 posts

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Apr 9 2021, 08:24 PM)
Bro, bluetooth can support how many device?
Apparently, as many as u can pair thumbup.gif
I am using 3 at once normally,
earphones + keyboard + mouse

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Apr 9 2021, 09:35 PM)
Hey Sifu,
May i know pencil 1 and pencil 2 got huge differences?  I need it for teaching and my daughter want it for drawing
If you don’t mind not having pressure-sensitivity (which I don’t really notice the difference between Note 4 & note 8 stylus pen),
you may want to look at goojodoq brand apple-pencil 11th or 12th gen.

I bought 11th gen for the 3LEDs and usb charger.
My daughter loves drawing, and she likes the pencil ✏️

officeBoy
post Apr 10 2021, 04:29 PM

788 posts

Thanks bro for guidance !

Is there a lot of differences btw pencil 1 & 2 ?

in term of smoothness, how does it compare to apple pencil 1&2 with goojodog 12 gen(presume 12gen better)? the price of goojodog much affordable

QUOTE(PrinceJoe @ Apr 10 2021, 08:18 AM)
Apparently, as many as u can pair  thumbup.gif
If you don’t mind not having pressure-sensitivity (which I don’t really notice the difference between Note 4 & note 8 stylus pen),

19 Degree South
post Apr 11 2021, 11:15 AM

1,480 posts

QUOTE(PrinceJoe @ Apr 10 2021, 08:18 AM)
Apparently, as many as u can pair  thumbup.gif

i am using Goojodog12th gen. No good! I am having hard time getting ipad to recognize my writing. Maybe i got poor handwriting ! lol! E.g/ i & l is quite difficult to get recognized using Goojodog pen! Think still need to fork out Rm500 plus for the real experience! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by 19 Degree South: Apr 11 2021, 11:16 AM
officeBoy
post Apr 11 2021, 05:30 PM

788 posts

Thanks for sharing Bro !

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Apr 11 2021, 11:15 AM)
i am using Goojodog12th gen. No good! I am having hard time getting ipad to recognize my writing. Maybe i got poor handwriting ! lol!  E.g/ i & l is quite difficult to get recognized  using Goojodog pen!  Think still need to fork out Rm500 plus for the real experience!  laugh.gif
19 Degree South
post Apr 12 2021, 10:41 AM

1,480 posts

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Apr 11 2021, 05:30 PM)
Thanks for sharing Bro !
ipadair4 is good enough in my opinion! Pro is overkill unless you are into drawing, designing or pro editing. Coincidentally ,this is also my 4th ipad ! laugh.gif But really, if u really need the pencil , get the ori apple pencil!
officeBoy
post Apr 13 2021, 10:44 AM

788 posts

Ipad air-4 is current latest ipad air right ? any reason why basic ipad not to consider? is it because pencil 2 much better than pencil 1 ?

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Apr 12 2021, 10:41 AM)
ipadair4 is good enough in my opinion! Pro is overkill unless you are into drawing, designing or pro editing. Coincidentally ,this is also my 4th ipad !  laugh.gif  But really, if u really need the pencil , get the ori apple pencil!
Savor_Savvy
post Jun 27 2021, 07:38 PM

2,743 posts

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Apr 10 2021, 04:29 PM)
Thanks bro for guidance !

Is there a lot of differences btw pencil 1 & 2 ?

in term of smoothness, how does it compare to apple pencil 1&2 with goojodog 12 gen(presume 12gen better)? the price of goojodog much affordable
Depends on the ipad you are using. Apple pencil 1 doesn’t support latest gen of ipads, esp ipad pro and ipad air 4.
officeBoy
post Jun 28 2021, 07:04 PM

788 posts

Thanks for reply, i got my ipad air4 with pencil 2 , so far so good

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jun 27 2021, 07:38 PM)
Depends on the ipad you are using. Apple pencil 1 doesn’t support latest gen of ipads, esp ipad pro and ipad air 4.
miyakochan89
post Jun 29 2021, 12:36 AM

Wut?
6,615 posts

QUOTE(infiniti123 @ Apr 4 2021, 10:17 AM)
Hello ! Firstly I’ll start with the cons: not the iPad itself but the Apple Pencil 2. The tip went flat and became unresponsive only after 2 weeks of usage . Thanks fully was able to get warranty claim. Online reviews did recommend to get a silicon protection tip.

Pros:
1 it’s still not a laptop replacement but is able to handle 90% of my work stuff ( email, browsing, google related apps). Microsoft office is convenient for file viewing but I still prefer laptop for editing.
2 Battery life is amazing, full 8 hours usage per day,  only charge once every 2 days.
3 Usb c charging is very very fast.
4 Split screen multi tasking smooth and convenient

Conclusion : after using the air, I don’t think I’ll be able to go back to the Normal iPad with the thick bezel. I know many buyers are in a dilemma on whether to get The air or the basic iPad, I would say even if you’re using it for basic functionality such as email checking and what not, the air would be worth the extra buck.
How does it feel to have iPad in your life since you are first time buyer. Does it change anything? Is it more convenient?
TSinfiniti123
post Jun 30 2021, 10:10 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Jun 29 2021, 12:36 AM)
How does it feel to have iPad in your life since you are first time buyer. Does it change anything? Is it more convenient?
i think its just an average experience. still prefer to go back to the laptop to be honest. With no more business trips or outstation, the ipad has turn to be just a show watching device for my family members and some casual browsing on shopping app.

0.0140sec    0.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:06 AM