First time ipad buyer question!, ipad or ipad air

TSinfiniti123
post Feb 7 2021, 09:09 AM, updated 5y ago

560 posts

hello all! sorry if this question has been asked a million times but i cant decide on which one to get.
My requirements are:

Daily email usage
Web Whataspp
Sign or edit PDF
do Notes taking as i'm currently doing a language class (hence 20-30mins of notes taking per session)

The ipad bezel is quite a turn-off for me as i'm so used to the full screen as of most phones provide in 2021.
However with close to a 1k price gap, is it wise to go for the AIR with my minimal usage requirements?

palgo47
post Feb 7 2021, 09:16 AM

462 posts

get the regular iPad more than enough for basic daily use, besides the A12 bionic chip is still faster than many android phones made in 2020.

save that Rm1k for rainy day

TSinfiniti123
post Feb 7 2021, 10:04 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(palgo47 @ Feb 7 2021, 09:16 AM)
get the regular iPad more than enough for basic daily use, besides the A12 bionic chip is still faster than many android phones made in 2020.

save that Rm1k for rainy day
Thanks for the advice buddy! Yes the 1k is a big deal breaker for me
PrinceJoe
post Feb 7 2021, 10:11 AM

410 posts

IPad 8th is Gooding 😍

Just gotten 1 for 128gb with 4yrs warranty, after wait for sometime due to no stock.
TSinfiniti123
post Feb 7 2021, 10:21 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(PrinceJoe @ Feb 7 2021, 10:11 AM)
IPad 8th is Gooding 😍

Just gotten 1 for 128gb with 4yrs warranty, after wait for sometime due to no stock.
Haha really ah? Does the thick bezel affect your usage anyhow?
waghyu
post Feb 7 2021, 10:23 AM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(infiniti123 @ Feb 7 2021, 09:09 AM)
hello all! sorry if this question has been asked a million times but i cant decide on which one to get.
My requirements are:

Daily email usage
Web Whataspp
Sign or edit PDF
do Notes taking as i'm currently doing a language class (hence 20-30mins of notes taking per session)
The ipad bezel is quite a turn-off for me as i'm so used to the full screen as of most phones provide in 2021.
However with close to a 1k price gap, is it wise to go for the AIR with my minimal usage requirements?
Better go iPhone Xs Max
faiz293
post Feb 7 2021, 11:41 AM

Working from Home
623 posts

For ur usage if got budget i'll go with ipad mini. If no budget, 8th gen. No need to go for air.
svchia78
post Feb 7 2021, 11:47 AM

976 posts

QUOTE(infiniti123 @ Feb 7 2021, 09:09 AM)
My requirements are:

Daily email usage
Web Whataspp
Sign or edit PDF
QUOTE(infiniti123 @ Feb 7 2021, 10:21 AM)
But... but... Any Android tabs without bezel to start with?

iPad is a significantly bigger device than a phone and wouldn't be possible to hold with just one stretched-out palm. In such case, the bezel has its purpose.
mycolumn
post Feb 7 2021, 01:16 PM

2,085 posts

For ur usage, personally i think iPad 8th gen is good enough. However, if you mind the thick bezel, then go for iPad Air, but need to fork out 1k extra. So it depends on ur budget and how much are u willing to spend on an iPad.

I just bought an 8th gen iPad and it works great. It’s currently sold out everywhere though, except online stores, so maybe u can research further before buying one.
alesi616
post Feb 7 2021, 10:05 PM

810 posts

hi all,

Tumpang thread ask for me. my usage requirements as below:

1. microsoft excel/word (this is a must!)
2. open shopee / lazada seller page to edit info
3. webpage browsing
4. connect to android TV and computer monitor (via HDMI).

I will use keyboard & mouse when do the above tasks. And probably connecting a converter/docking when wanted to connect to monitor.

So should I go for Ipad 128GB (rm1.8k) or the Ipad Air 256GB (3.2k)?

Also what kind of accesories I need to purchase (can I get those 3rd party keyboard/mouse/docking) ?

This post has been edited by alesi616: Feb 7 2021, 10:06 PM
PrinceJoe
post Feb 7 2021, 10:06 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(infiniti123 @ Feb 7 2021, 10:21 AM)
Been using iPad Air 2 for 5years iinm. Never bother about bezel.
It's been good n very reliable and updated to latest iPadOs.

SenQ got option to add 3more yrs warranty for a price. Peace of mind for me.

Wondering why android even samsung kenot keep updates for old devices like fruit company. Devices like my Galaxy Note 8 still no lag, but no more OneUI update 😔. If not, maybe can try android tablet...

PrinceJoe
post Feb 7 2021, 10:18 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Feb 7 2021, 10:05 PM)
hi all,

Tumpang thread ask for me. my usage requirements as below:

1. microsoft excel/word (this is a must!)
- can download and use if u subscribe. MS office got free 5 device license for education.
- old iPad Air 2 MS Office still free bcoz below 10" size.

2. open shopee / lazada seller page to edit info
3. webpage browsing
- of coz can !
4. connect to android TV and computer monitor (via HDMI).

I will use keyboard & mouse when do the above tasks. And probably connecting a converter/docking when wanted to connect to monitor.

So should I go for Ipad 128GB (rm1.8k) or the Ipad Air 256GB (3.2k)?

Also what kind of accesories I need to purchase (can I get those 3rd party keyboard/mouse/docking) ?
My iPad Air 2,
I'm using China-made keyboard with touchpad - Gooding !
Have backlight colorful, rechargable micro-usb.
Mouse i use logitech m590. Both using bluetooth.

Going for logitech pebble for ipad 8th gen.

I think apple have lightning to hdmi adapter also for your purpose.

This post has been edited by PrinceJoe: Feb 7 2021, 10:20 PM
alesi616
post Feb 7 2021, 10:26 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(PrinceJoe @ Feb 7 2021, 10:18 PM)
My iPad Air 2,
I'm using China-made keyboard with touchpad - Gooding !
Have backlight colorful, rechargable micro-usb.
Mouse i use logitech m590. Both using bluetooth.

Going for logitech pebble for ipad 8th gen.

I think apple have lightning to hdmi adapter also for your purpose.
May I know the keyboard with touchpad you have is like those Apple-type flip cover ? Roughly how much is that?

I'm dilemma between Ipad and Ipad Air becoz of the USB-C on the Ipad Air that give much more expand flexibility. But not sure that extra 1.4k worth it or not.

This post has been edited by alesi616: Feb 7 2021, 10:36 PM
PrinceJoe
post Feb 7 2021, 10:30 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Feb 7 2021, 10:26 PM)
May I know the keyboard with touchpad you have is like those Apple-type flip cover ? Roughly how much is that?
https://shopee.com.my/product/271764483/413...50-1612708096.9

I use this one.
alesi616
post Feb 7 2021, 10:47 PM

810 posts

another question, can I connect usb portable harddisk to ipad/ipad Air? If possible then what kind of accessory needed for it?

Sorry newbie to Apple ecosystem.

I'm dilemma between Ipad and Ipad Air becoz of the USB-C on the Ipad Air that give much more expand flexibility. But not sure that extra 1.4k worth it or not.

This post has been edited by alesi616: Feb 7 2021, 10:47 PM
PrinceJoe
post Feb 7 2021, 10:53 PM

410 posts

from what i read in internet, seems possible.

For ipad lightning port, have to buy original Apple Lightning-to-USB 3 connector, then u can connect self-powered USB hub to it.

The portable hard disk need to be self-powered also, and must be of SSD type, not old spinning hard drive type.

But not so sure bcoz myself haven't try yet.
alesi616
post Feb 8 2021, 10:00 AM

810 posts

QUOTE(PrinceJoe @ Feb 7 2021, 10:53 PM)
from what i read in internet, seems possible.

For ipad lightning port, have to buy original Apple Lightning-to-USB 3 connector, then u can connect self-powered USB hub to it.

The portable hard disk need to be self-powered also, and must be of SSD type, not old spinning hard drive type.

But not so sure bcoz myself haven't try yet.
Thanks for the insight, too bad mine is spinning type harddrive so I think it may not possible to connect it.

wingdover
post Feb 8 2021, 10:20 AM

85 posts

Ayam disappointed the ipad is for email whatsapps, so ayam suggest buy normal few hundred ringgit tab.
19 Degree South
post Feb 9 2021, 10:04 PM

1,682 posts

My IPad 3 is coming to the end of its life cycle soon as the speakers had given way. I like the air but not the price and the specs . The 8th gen iPad is outdated in design but cheap! Really Delima! I hated the home button so much since the IP 4 and 4s. Both failed me! Lol!
SUSXXXOOOXXXOOO
post Mar 12 2021, 03:46 PM

1,471 posts

i have similar question so i just ask here.
I need a ipad for work purposes (apps testing) nothing else.
Currently i have old ipad mini (acc cause tons of headache) iphones 7 (but not latest IOS).

my requirement is pretty direct - cheap n latest IOS.

0.0201sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:52 AM