Secondary School in PJ recommendations?, Looking for opinions of Secondary School

iSean
post Feb 4 2021, 01:34 AM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(toolkit21 @ Feb 3 2021, 12:15 PM)
Am doing research on SECONDARY school for my boys (10 & 8 years old) for them to enrol in a couple of years.
Currently both studying in Lick Hung Primary in Subang Jaya; along with nephews, friend's kids, and other neighbours.
I live in Subang Jaya area and keen for schools in PJ as well, don't mind sending them to school in the wee hours.
Have been out of touch with schools nowadays and seeking some advice about new recommendations.
Trying to go with quality government schools or chinese secondary, instead of private (exception Sri KL coz nearby) or international school.

Have a few in mind;
1) SMK Seafied (USJ)
2) Catholic High School (PJ)
3) Sri KL

Looking for academic and co-curricular emphasis, not so much on being straight A all the way but an all-rounder.

Glad to have some usable advice here.
Well no point of sending kids so far too study la.
If you plan to bring your kids to tuition, will recommend going to Seafield.

Catholic High School PJ is okay too.
But I think with the current change of education landscape right now, being all online hmm.gif I think it is best your kid can just study in CHS, PJ.
My siblings went there gotten straight As for PMR/SPM, (not for STPM) whistling.gif

But I didn't manage to went there, due to bad UPSR results and not attending BM/BC tuition classes.

Anyhow, Malaysia schools koko system are kinda shit if you go to kampong secondary school like mine, where students events often very horrible not fun and waste of time. CHS's koko macam quite good.

But then I doubt it is whether "useful" in terms of HR sense.
Main purpose of Koko is just force you to be social-able, join events, make profile cantik2 for scholarship applications to cover up bad Academic Grads.
Sadly Malaysian Koko doesn't make kids to be challenging tasks, more towards for the sake of getting the minimum marks to be admitted into university.

This post has been edited by iSean: Feb 4 2021, 01:34 AM
iSean
post Mar 7 2023, 09:35 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(MiniCooperS1275 @ Mar 7 2023, 02:05 PM)
Reviving this thread that was updated 2 years ago.

Does anyone have any recent experience and insights with Catholic High School PJ:

1. Are Science and Mathematics still taught in English according to the DLP? And would the SPM examination papers be available with an English option?

2. Is Chinese Literature (華文文學) still offered as a subject for SPM? (Note: Chinese Literature, not Chinese Language - they are two (2) different subjects, and the latter is a compulsory SPM-examinable subject for SMJK's).

3. One of the forumers above mentioned that "the standards have dropped", is this true and has it been a significant drop?

4. Do most CHS students attend tuition at TTC just outside the school, and for what subjects in general?

5. Any comments regarding their extra-curricular activities? I was told that their uniformed groups are very active.

Chinese Language as a compulsory subject all the way till SPM is actually what I want for my kids, which is why I am keen on CHS. In terms of language proficiency, SMJKs probably achieve the best balance, and I gather that if one completes SPM Chinese Language with a decent grade, you will have achieved a very good proficiency in the language to utilise it in a professional context, and the standard is pretty comparable to that of the Chinese Independent High Schools.
1. I think dependent on school selection. SPM for all Maths and Science will be still bilingual might be a difference starting from these past few years where Malay first row and English in the second row starting SPM 2021.

I think English will still be in most STEM papers, except for Sains Komputer syllabus.

2. Chinese Literature still subject is still offered in SPM syllabus, depending on whether the school wants to have teachers to teach and offer this subject.
There are many subjects combinations offered in school now. Depends what subjects you want your kids to take or to mask out bad grades.
Back then alot of students in Science Stream took Pendidikan Seni Visual and Prinsip Akaun to mask their weaker subject, just to get 9A+ in SPM with one A/A- there floating there.

3. Hard to say, since students intakes and teachers might retires as it goes. So fluctuation and environmental factors plays a roles.
But if you see the Penajaan SPM 9A+ awards. SMJK Katholik alumni students are still there, as long students willing to work hard and master the syllabus, brush through all the Past Year and Trials papers, I think no problem :
https://pocketdatav2.jpa.gov.my/public/pdf/...0PPN%202022.pdf

4. Depends what your kids is bad at or needs polishing and find the correct tutor for the job.
Maybe if find correct friends in tuition may push your kids to better grades and long lasting friendships with the tutors or students there.

5. Compared to others regular high schools, most high school won't bat an eye, since most of the time CCAs are under funded. Located at awkward hours after schools, clash with those tuition centres time tables. (or atleast at my area back then)

0.0132sec    1.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:23 AM