Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

tornado dot com
post Sep 15 2021, 12:03 PM

79 posts

Hi all,

I'm looking for insurance for my newborn. However, he has been diagnosed with hypo-thyroidism, a condition where the thyroid gland is not producing enough of the thyroid hormone.

Current treatment is a daily dose of oral medicine that boosts the hormone. Is he insurable?
tornado dot com
post Sep 17 2021, 10:19 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 15 2021, 12:10 PM)
While waiting for real insurance sifus to response, I kay poh abit here.
I think it is insurable, but the coverage may excludes this preexisting illness n it related illnesses. Even if it is covered, there maybe extra loadings (extra premium cost).
Would you still want to get insurance knowing that?
Yes, I'm looking for quotations currently. Will be willing to provide details
tornado dot com
post Sep 18 2021, 08:08 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 17 2021, 10:29 AM)
You had already seek quotation outside? Or you want forummers,(real insurance sifus) here to quote you?
Yes, I'm looking for some insurance sifus to quote or to direct me to some agents. I already have for Pru. Open to look at other Insurance Co. quotations as well.
tornado dot com
post Sep 19 2021, 12:36 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Sep 18 2021, 09:50 AM)
It'll be easier if you can share your particulars.

Namely
Your child DOB, gender

Your DOB, gender, occupation, smoker or not.
Pre-existing condition for baby: Hypo-thyroidism (Lack of thyroid hormone)
Monthly follow up at Hospital Putrajaya
Daily oral medication to up the hormone needed.

Child:
DOB 29/6/2021, Male

Me:
DOB 11/5/1986, Male, IT professional, non-smoker

Preference & Focus:
Medical card (co-insurance is OK) CI, minimum sum assured.
Life product, unit-linked.

Budget: Below RM 200

Companies quotations I already have: GE, Pru, Allianz
tornado dot com
post Sep 20 2021, 12:28 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Sep 19 2021, 12:46 PM)
At this point, it's just the advisor you want to pick with. I can practically quote for all the insurance companies you've mentioned. For your budget range, Pru/HLA would be able to meet below RM200 while able to provide a comprehensive coverage as I just did for lapland.
Can kindly quote HLA for me?

Thanks for replies also from everyone. All the info provided here is helpful.
My main purpose at the end is just to get coverage for my little one. And as I've suspected, it'll either be extra loading or just handle as pre-existing condition.

0.0318sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:39 AM