Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

kok_pun
post Aug 9 2021, 06:59 PM

Mortgage Expert
854 posts

QUOTE(ping325 @ Aug 7 2021, 09:35 AM)
Prudential Malaysia & PruBSN finally covers all covid treatment start from todays onwards , applicable to all medical cards rclxms.gif

Official Annoucement :
https://www.prudential.com.my/en/our-compan...an-coverage-en/
https://www.prubsn.com.my/en/campaigns-anno...-plan-coverage/

Some Highlight :
1. only can claim when doctor say immediate treatment / hospitalisation is needed
2. does not require any letter from KKM / government hospital anymore
3. can just walk in & subject to private hospital capacity
4. claim thru reimbursement / cashless according to your respective medical card limit
is there a limit or just follow the annual medical limit the insured chose?
sounds not bad... something to compete with A.A
kok_pun
post Aug 12 2021, 01:12 PM

Mortgage Expert
854 posts

I mean other than AIA and Pru, there aint any other insurance company offering such protection. some come with limited campaign coverages but pru is paying up to the annual limit, which imho, not bad.
kok_pun
post Aug 12 2021, 01:45 PM

Mortgage Expert
854 posts

QUOTE(timeekit @ Aug 10 2021, 07:23 PM)
Hi All,

I need your advice and clarification on how my medical policy works. Note the policy is from Great Eastern.
I receive this letter couple of months back asking me top up because my current monthly payment is unable to "sustain" my insurance plan.
My insurance agent explain to me that topping up is not required especially for my age demographic (late 20s), and my policy can still cover me to maybe age 70+(?)

I have a few questions :

1) What is the difference between increasing and not increasing the premium amount.

2) If i increase the premium amount, does it mean that the policy can maintain longer and vice versa ?

3) Scenario : Lets say i don't increase the premium amount, and the policy can "sustain" until I'm 70, what happens later if i reach to 71 age, does my policy suddenly lapse ? how will i be notified and how much should i increase the premium then ? (Touch Wood) Lets say if i'm hospitalised at age 71, does it mean that my insurance is effectively lapse and I'm not insured? What happen to all the premiums i payed previously, does it not cover any of my hospital bill ?

4) Scenario : Lets say i do increase the premium and policy can sustain longer, but what if (touch wood) I don't reach the supposedly extended period. What happens to the extra premiums I paid ? All wasted ?

Really sorry if I'm asking very noob-ish questions.
Appreciate your time in explaining this to me and much thanks in advance.

1) we need to understand why is this happening in the first place. BNM has this mandatory sustainability stress test announced HERE. Check it out

the bad news is this practice is also retrospectively applied to existing investment-linked plans. Since you are buying from GE, it is my territory.

An increase in premium IS NOT EQUAL to an increase in insurance charge. It is merely a piece of advice to ask you to allocate more funds in order to let GE deduct the insurance charge per month. (it is called unit-linked or unit deduction rider for a reason).

Now, you have the options to remain as it is or increase premium or reduce your benefits to allow the policy to sustain till its end of term. new plans signed after 1 July 2019 would not have the privilege to remain with the existing premium and are subject to mandatory review of premium.

2) Yes. but still very much depends on the performance of the fund(s) selected. check your investment portfolio under the policy

3) no need to wait till 71 years of age, GE will notify u via SMS, email, and snail-mail (remember to register all your info in eConnect) when you have a potential lapse date, u may check your annual statement. my advice to u, switch your portfolio to fixed income or balanced fund temporarily to safeguard your investments (switching is FOC)

Once, it is insufficient to sustain, you can do a "single premium top-up" or a permanent increase in premium

4) all money paid in premium will be first distributed to (i) unallocated premium and (ii) allocated premium channels. the first channel is for agency-related expenses etc and the rest will go to the allocated premium channel. and all the received money will be used to acquire units in your selected fund, then GE will gradually deduct the cost of insurance expenses monthly from your fund account (aka total investment value). so to answer your question, your money is still in the investment account under your name, it won't be forfeited whatsoever.

In conclusion,

if you are currently broke, stay as it is.
if you are ok with the increment in premium, reply to GE and adjust. it is much more beneficial in the long run.

kok_pun
post Aug 17 2021, 11:07 AM

Mortgage Expert
854 posts

QUOTE(vl319 @ Aug 16 2021, 11:13 PM)
Recently unable to get sms pin when want to login in to econnect GE. Anyone faces same problem?
Night time always like that one. Already feedback to improve on this. Morning normally work just fine
kok_pun
post Aug 24 2021, 08:34 PM

Mortgage Expert
854 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Aug 24 2021, 02:29 PM)
hey guys, I bought medical card from a friend's friend who is an agent for AIA.

I am not happy with this agent's services as this agent is usually hard to be contacted and less than willing to help me with my queries on the claims.

Any idea on how to change agent for my policy? Is there any drawbacks on doing so? How would her commission from me will be transfered to the new agent?
commission cannot be transferred without the consent of the original agent, however, you can switch the agent of your choice to enjoy better service

kok_pun
post Aug 25 2021, 05:59 PM

Mortgage Expert
854 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Aug 25 2021, 03:30 PM)
I think the option to terminate and re-purchase is not viable because it will be subjected to under-writing again with the cooling period for no claims.

I just felt it is unfair for the new agent that takes over the bad agent who is not performing.
Actually, servicing/follow-up is the most important element to consider when buying a policy. As you know the market is so competitive now.

Every now and then, different insurers will come out with different packages.

Say Covid-19 coverages:

AIA has it, then prudential came up and HLA and Etiqa follow suit, now GE claimed they have the best package by waiving the KKM referral letter and opening a separate risk pool to not affect the medical repricing. God knows if tomorrow Tokio Marine or Zurich came up with a better plan.

So consider this:
1) need
2) suitability of the solutions/plan
3) company
4) agent service

If the agent is no good, but in your case, AIA is your chosen insurer, and your need is fulfilled and the solution is the correct one, I do not think you need to cancel your policy.

Life comes full circle. If he is bad, he will be eventually get punished accordingly. One thing you can do: gather evidence and make an official complaint to AIA
kok_pun
post Aug 26 2021, 12:15 PM

Mortgage Expert
854 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Aug 26 2021, 12:08 AM)
Just a random question if insurer A decides to apply loading due to pre existing condition  (let say 50%) on a policy.if I try to apply for same policy at another insurer, would the other insurer decision will be the same as insurer A I.e. apply same rate of loading or there is a chance it might be lower
Good question. This depends on the depth and the claim experience, the more policies under one's management, the lower the cost would be, and the higher the claim rate the higher the cost would be.

Looking at the cost, it tells u 2 things:

1) higher claim payout is a good thing but the overall price will go up
2) low participation rate (like old medical plans) will eventually reprice (naik harga) to meet the claim needs

So the loading/ pricing etc, depends on the above explanation, it might not be the same, cos different insurers have different REinsurers. and the costing also tak sama... hence u better get a few quotes.

Loading, on the other hand, is a good thing. That means insurers are accepting your condition and would pay accordingly should you befall with a sickness related to the condition. Meaning to say, if you bring your reports to another insurer, you might get different results, Decline/ Postpone etc.

This post has been edited by kok_pun: Aug 26 2021, 12:20 PM
kok_pun
post Aug 26 2021, 12:48 PM

Mortgage Expert
854 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Aug 26 2021, 12:29 PM)
Thanks for the answer
The bad news is the current quote I get from my current insurer comes with special condition with loading and also not paying a single cent should there be a need for hospitalisation/surgery related to pre existing condition. I asked my agent to appeal and still waiting for the outcome and I am also looking for plan B should appeal fail I.e. get a quote from another insurer
Previously my medical and life insurance also comes with the loading but since it was low around RM10/month so I just asked the agent to proceed
sir, compare the cost, not the premium.

even the loading part will show you the premium increment of rm20/m or more. But the RM20/m premium is actually constituting the cost of insurance and a portion of the investment placement (for policy sustainability)

so, get the cost and the % of loading and you will see the difference. When u bring the same report to another insurer, u get a diff result. This is because the risk exposure of each insurer also not same...

You can look for life_balance, our regular contributor in this thread
kok_pun
post Aug 26 2021, 12:59 PM

Mortgage Expert
854 posts

QUOTE(avelian @ Aug 25 2021, 12:21 PM)
I guess calling each company is the only way.. SIGH.,..
passed away a long time or just recently?

All insurance companies and banks have a Data Warehousing Department to collect death data and bankruptcy data etc...
So after you have applied the death certs from JPN, the insurance companies and banks will be notified and the policies and bank accounts will become inactive.

After some time, it will become dormant and one way to check it is thru the Accountant General's Department of Malaysia.
Search for unclaimed money, and by doing so, you wont miss out on any entitlement

the client portal is this one :eGUMIS . key in your data CORRECTLY , you only have 2 tries per day

This post has been edited by kok_pun: Aug 26 2021, 01:00 PM

0.0276sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:33 PM