Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

jayreekazin
post Jul 29 2021, 01:57 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(TaiGoh @ Jul 17 2021, 07:27 PM)
Thanks lifebalance for the quick reply!
Looks like Allianz more suitable for me although Prudential COI looks lower.

May I know for Allianz, if I receive medical treatment in Singapore, will it limited to charges that equivalent local treatment in Malaysia? And whether it is pay and reimburse or it will be cashless as well?

Also, can we choose to invest GLOBAL ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE FUND or ALL CHINA EQUITY FUND?
Thanks again!
I also did a comparison of PRUmillionMed and Allianz Medisafe Infinite with deductible last month. In the end I chose Allianz because terms seem more favourable imo. Eg longer pre & post hospitalisation coverage, include genomic testing, etc. There is also a “no claims refund” to cash value which i find it useful if you are generally healthy. Especially when you are older next time, the cash refund (based on coi) will be greater if assume no claims. These were the plus points that made me decide AZ over Pru. Personally, i feel my agent is quite good. Can intro to you if you want. Hope it helps.
jayreekazin
post Jul 29 2021, 11:34 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jul 29 2021, 09:13 AM)
Thanks for sharing, don't mind to ask if you're your agent's Friends of allianz trying to earn 50% commission? 😉
You can feel free to refer back to your policy on the projected return on the funds performances whether its between 2% - 5%
Yes now allianz have a friend of allianz program to earn 50% of agents commission. But i also bought for my parents and child insurance from AZ before the FoA program was launched. Why i say my agent is good because she does not just try to push sales to me, and try to cater to my needs instead (i get annoyed with pushy people). The FoA is just a bonus income during this hard times 😂
jayreekazin
post Jul 29 2021, 12:24 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jul 29 2021, 11:44 AM)
biggrin.gif guess I caught ya red-handed tongue.gif.

That being said, there is enough Allianz representative in here including myself.
Do you want to pay off your insurance in 20 years time ?
Haha but honestly i dont mind to dont earn that foa commission. It is too little. Say people normally buy insurance at Rm200-300, agent commission is 20% so rm60 a month. Then u share half, so rm30 a month for 12 months. Too much hassle for the small return. Rather let the poor agent earn, they need to earn a living also.

Insurance is a funny thing, most people dont want to spend money on it. But when u need it the most, u cant get it anymore. I was like that also, hesitant to commit myself to insurance, have to pay few hundred each month. If you go to the shop buy cake, u pay money, u bring back a cake. But if u buy insurance, every month u pay money, but u dont bring anything back home. Im still young, but i recently got to know i have early stage cancer. Didnt have any signs or family history. Luckily i have bought mine although it took me a few years to decide. So i would say i have experienced both side and i reiterate, insurance is really important because when u really need it that time, u cant get it anymore.
jayreekazin
post Oct 23 2021, 03:00 AM

40 posts

Hi, does anyone know whether medical report fee is claimable from insurer when we submit claims report ?

Specifically, i bought a CI attached together with my house loan/mrta with AIA. Now when i am making a claim, they request for all sorts of supporting and many doctor statements (so far already more than 5). They also asked me to provide the original copy of the receipt (for the medical report fee) to them. Would they ask for the receipts eventhough it is not claimable? I understand normally it is not claimable or am i wrong ?
jayreekazin
post Oct 23 2021, 12:33 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 23 2021, 06:34 AM)
Not an insurance expert or expert of any thing.
Just ksy poh abit while waiting for real sifus to response.
Reading from this,.....
“If requested for personal usage or through personal means, the patient would have to pay for the medical report himself.

“If he had gone through legal aid, the legal company would have to pay, and if through insurance claim from an insurance company, then the insurance agent would have to pay.”

The spokesman said the system was the same for any hospital in Malaysia."

Patient irked over medical report fee
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.nst.com.my...ical-report-fee

My take is,
If the agent pay, then I am sure he will hv to be able to claim it back from the company.... Thus my guess is medical report fees is claimable for claim purposes.
Thanks for sharing, I understand from my PRU agent that if it is a medical report fee for new business, then it is climable. But if medical report fee for claims, then it is not claimable.

But my current scenario is CI attached to bank loan, hence im not sure if the rules/procedures are different from individual insurance. Because if not, why are they asking for my original official receipts to be sent to them? In my case both AIA and PBB claimed that they do not have agent to serve me hence i have to get all the documents myself. Earned the commission but dont need to serve. 🤔

jayreekazin
post Oct 23 2021, 01:26 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 23 2021, 12:35 PM)
do you have problem getting the original receipt and submitting to them?
There are few more doctor statement to get. If not reimbursable, i was thinking to send them the signed consent form and let them get directly. It is also more credible from audit/claims investigation point of view.
jayreekazin
post Oct 23 2021, 05:06 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Oct 23 2021, 02:41 PM)
I'd like to shed some light on this issue on medical report fees.
I assume that there is a cashless facility on your medical insurance, correct?
What was the reason it was not utilized?

The medical report fees on claims is charged to the patient. Even the receipt is issued in the name of the patient.
If the cashless facility is utilized, the medical report fee will be charged directly to the insuring company, and the report is then released to the insuring company for the purpose of documentation and subsequently paying the bill.

Secondly, I also wish to ask why is there no servicing agent?
Did you purchase the policy from a bank or online?
I ask because I refuse to believe any agent today will risk a complaint as it will affect their BSC.

Should you have bought the policy from a bank, then the one failing to provide the service is the bank. Banks act as corporate agencies selling bancassurance products, they then owe the service to you.
Should you have bought the policy direct from the insurance company, there are no commissions paid to anybody. Hence, you gta do these runs on your own because nobody owes the service to you. The insuring company is only liable to the amount being claimed.
Should you have bought the policy from an intermediary like myself, then he/she owes the service to you.
Thanks jiuhwei. I took a housing loan from PBB. At that point, they asked me to also sign up the insurance for death and CI (2 policies) which is insured by their panel insurance, AIA. This is for me to get a lower interest rate on my house loan, 4.xx%. Otherwise, the rate will be higher @5.xx%. So, there is no medical card/cashless facility as it is only life and CI. The forms were brought to me to sign by PBB mortgage team, and masterholder policy is PBB. So I assume PBB has earned the commission via bancassurance channel. But they decline to service me as they said I have to get the supporting myself.

The doctor statements submitted were from my specialist who treated me. Now they further asks for statements from quite a few GPs. Probably claim investigation coz my loan was in effect slightly more than 1.5 yrs when diagnosed. I am almost at the point of filing a complaint to bnm as there has been quite many instances happened that i was not happy about, but still trying to be patient as dont want to give people a hard life also.

jayreekazin
post Oct 25 2021, 11:13 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Oct 23 2021, 07:40 PM)
You're being investigated, therefore you're required to submit the additional document to be reviewed.

Complaining this matter to BNM will not help. Everything has a process, living in a microwave era where you expect everything to be instant, skip from A to Z instead of going through A - B - C ... Z.

If everyone wants to have their way on claims done, might as well make BNM as a claim department, everything deal direct to BNM is answerable sounds good?

I'd suggest you to be more patient and comply with whatever they ask for and it'll get by faster than you procrastinating and nothing is progressing
Complain because i submitted my claim form+ supporting to PBB and they hold it for 1 month because they forgot to submit to AIA. When i call them to ask for status, then only they realised they forgot to submit. Because commission earned but so servicing. Because forcing people to buy CI and taking credit card for your loan to be approved is also against bnm regulation. Not because need to do claims investigation.
jayreekazin
post Oct 25 2021, 11:16 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(ping325 @ Oct 23 2021, 07:49 PM)
hi your case quite similar with me. I purchased a house , loan with public bank and the banker insists to sell me AIA life insurance in order to get a cheaper interest rate.

I have no choice but to adhere with it.After I obtained the policy document , insurance agent part is actually the banker name. I guess he earn commission out of it. After that whenever I want to perform claim or servicing , this banker won’t help and he also not familiar with claim process flow / operation at all. End up everything is deal with aia customer service to resolve it.

Furthermore bank policy unable to transfer to another servicing agent 😅 both aia and prudential also the same , cannot be transferred.

It took me around 2 months for a claim of rm7000. I have to walk in and email aia customer service , plus self pay all the documentation in between which cost around 100-200 , I don’t think that can be reimburse back.
Yea similar case, mine so far 3 months plus already 😭. Did you try to submit the receipts for documentation costs to them last time?
jayreekazin
post Nov 11 2021, 01:29 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(ronron @ Nov 10 2021, 01:28 AM)
Hi all master.

Thinking to upgrade / adjust for this policy.

PRULink Assurance Account
RM 160,000.00
-
Rider(s) / Rider(-rider)
Crisis Cover Benefit
RM 80,000.00
-
PRUDisability Provider Benefit
RM 20,000.00
-
PRUMed Benefit
3 Unit(s)
-
PRUPayor
RM 2,604.00 p.a.
-
PRUMajor Med Benefit
Plan 200
-

Any suggestion? Age 45
Is that a lifetime limit of RM160k? If yes, I would suggest to upgrade to those yearly renewable limit of xx mil as lifetime limit rm160k barely enough if diagnosed of anything. If cost is concern, can also opt for deductible during your working years, and with option to remove this deductible upon retirement (since companies normally provide hospitalisation benefits as staff benefit, so can use this to offset the deductible amount). Allianz have this feature, but im not sure if other insurers have this as well.

Of course there other thing to consider like any exisiting medical conditions that developed since you bought this prulink card, which would be excluded when u opt to buy a new upgraded card.

0.0270sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:15 AM