Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

Ewa Wa
post Feb 2 2021, 09:55 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(TaiGoh @ Jan 31 2021, 08:19 PM)
Hi guys,

Currently holding a SmartProtect Essential with SmartMedic Xtra plan with Great Eastern since 2012. Thinking to spend some time to review the insurance plan that I bought because normally I just follow what insurance agent suggested.
Currently is 32 years old, working low risk job, non-smoker. Want to ask a few questions hope sifus here can clear my doubts:

1. If my company provide a company medical card with 80k annual limit, is that okay to sign up for deductible plan with deductible 80k for example? I assume I can change plan in the future to non-deductible plan without issue right (For example when I retired)?
2. Just wondering is there a way we can 'DIY' to compare the plans offered by different companies, or we straight talk to agent and ask for quotation then compare?
3. Personally prefer Prudential or AIA over Great Eastern. Just wondering is that still worth to switch since I already holding a policy with Great Eastern? I assume the benefits, premium, and claiming process should be almost the same across these three companies right?
4. What is the recommended R&B, I assume RM150 will be too low and RM200 onwards should be acceptable right?
Thanks a lot!
You said u were having Smart Medic Xtra (SMX) series in 2012? 2012 we were still using Smart Medic (SM) only which 10% co-insurance. SMX was launched in year 2015-2016. Better check via E-connect. If u r holding SMX actually this plan not too bad. This plan without any co-insurance.

Q1: If u downgrade the existing plan to a 60K or 90K, or 100K deductable amount then obviously ur premium can be as low as RM100/m. When u reach 60yo then u want a deductible plan, you need to undergo the underwriting process based on the current health. As age grow especially 60yo, be frank lots of exclusion and loading.

Q3: not worth bcoz u need to start paying commission to company A or P agent again. bcoz ur current policies has passed 9 years and 100% allocation. No more commission payout. another risk is the waiting period recalculated.

Cant comment on the preference of companies or agents. Can google and check which companies has higher assets and market position.

Ewa Wa
post Feb 3 2021, 03:46 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(TaiGoh @ Feb 2 2021, 11:32 PM)
Thank you so much for your reply, appreciate it!
Indeed there is a upgrade made in 2018 to SmartMedic Xtra.
I did a check the premium difference between SmartMedic Million and SmartMedic Xtra for age 32 is just RM26 for R&B200. So far I see the only drawback is SmartMedic Million with deductible RM300 I guess? Or maybe something that I did not aware of.
Also it does come with regular increment to the R&B just in case R&B getting more expensive in the future.

Yes, agreed with all the sifus said here, I forgotten about if reduce deductible in the future will need to undergo another round of underwriting and subject for approval. So definitely will be out for my considerations for now.

I am actually curious how the commission works here, I would assume that if I did an upgrade of medical card, the commission for that agent will be restarted correct?
And does it matter for consumer point of view? FOR EXAMPLE the medical card premium is 1000 annually, the commission is 30% second year is 25%, I am still paying 1000 annually correct?

Will try to compare the plan out there and see whether there is a worth to make a switch, because thinking better do the decision now than later, but if there is no justification to do that, most likely will continue stick with GE.
Thanks again.
SMX has a revise of pricing last year onward after it has launched for 5-6years. Now SMM is a new medical rider which the cost of insurance of this rider about the same for SMX after my own analysis. benefits wise in SMM is much better. Yes SMM has the room and board increasing every 3 years. Sadly, we can’t attach this rider on the existing SPE2 plan. Need to waiting for company further updates later.

Commission works on existing policy: back in 2018 when u did ur upgrade, let said u top up RM 30-50/m, then the commission 30-50/m*25% only.

Ewa Wa
post Feb 3 2021, 04:04 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Feb 3 2021, 10:05 AM)
This is a plan for those want a high deductible amount, pic said 60yo onwards become non deductible. Can it be earlier for example 50yo? Possible or the option only in 60yo?
Ewa Wa
post Feb 3 2021, 10:53 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(KLlang @ Feb 3 2021, 10:08 PM)
Thanks lifebalance. Not to mentioned new sign-up, my concern is long time existing policy holder with same company. Company are expose to higher risk since customer may recovered from COVID but didn't declare to company.

For other health history/ claims, company will receive claim and records from policy holder. But for COVID, customer may recover before yearly renewal and not submit any claim at all since is cover by gov.

How agent handle this actually?
U should also ask, what if it’s not Covid. Like other illness choose to go government and recovered didn’t declare to the insurance company for those policy inforced some years d.

Or u may also ask, kena diabetics or hypertension after 3 years purchased of policies and didn’t declare later on kena stroke? How? Or even changing gender?

Insurance is a contract, all the clauses mentioned are valid and not arguable. Looking for the clause said about “Guaranteed
Renewal” unless the polices u r selling don’t have this clause. Then I can’t help u.

Read policies terms and conditions again and again and highlight it to customer. If one day unable to renew then report this to BNM.

QUOTE(Ryuluvlia @ Feb 3 2021, 08:51 PM)
Hi, does anyone know any life insurance plan that will give higher cashback then what we have paid when reach maturity like 70 years old?
Look for those par and non par products in the insurance companies. As I know not many companies promoting this kind of products. Nowadays mainly on ILP.

Par plans give cash bonus and maturity bonus so at the age of 70 usually the policy has higher value

Whereas non par gives guaranteed surrender value.
Ewa Wa
post Feb 7 2021, 01:58 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(copterbandito @ Feb 6 2021, 10:51 PM)
Hi all, wanna ask, my insurance is GE SMARTPROTECT ESSENTIAL INSURANCE 2. Quarterly premium is about RM600. In this insurance my Lion Strategic Fund has about RM8,000.

Spoken to my agent that I can choose not to pay the premium as it will deduct from my fund 8K. Is it true it will not affect my coverage and what's the cons if I choose not to pay?

Another question is can this GREAT IDEAL LIVING  about RM800 yearly payment also can be pay up from my fund 8K?

Sorry Covid time am exploring option to keep more cash in hand. If my understanding is right this premium payment from my FUND can last me more than 1 year. Any advice? Thanks
Spoken to my agent that I can choose not to pay the premium as it will deduct from my fund 8K. Is it true it will not affect my coverage and what's the cons if I choose not to pay?
Yess, you can choose not to pay and let the policy enter premium holiday. Do monitor your cash value from time to time to avoid policy lapse. However, if your mobile number tie up with GE system should be receiving SMS from GE is policy about to lapse.

Another question is can this GREAT IDEAL LIVING about RM800 yearly payment also can be pay up from my fund 8K?
GIL cant auto deduct premium from SPE2, if u choose to stop premium for GIL do check how much cash bonus you have in ecoonect. After that, sign up the form called option from to shift to option 2. Option 2 means taking the Cash bonus to pay for the premium. Using Cash Bonus (CB) will not charge u 7% interest. If not this option, then policy will use surrender value for premium payment and 7% interest incurred. Do take note.
After CB account exhausted then premium will deduct from surrender value.

If possible, I'll advice continue your premium for GIL.

Ewa Wa
post Feb 10 2021, 09:59 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 10 2021, 08:10 AM)
Any AIA agents here can confirm whether Covid is categorized as infectious disease or not?
Do note that Covid has 5 category: 1-5 (1 is mild 5 is very severe that on ventilator.) We need the AiA agent Rajan CFP to clarify which category is cover and which is not cover.

As I heard 1 & 2 admission to private hospitals is non-coverable.
Ewa Wa
post Feb 12 2021, 05:31 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(clowve @ Feb 11 2021, 02:08 PM)
Hey guys, I'm very new to this and have a few questions to ask.

Some background info: I have an insurance plan that is an "Investment Linked Policy" by Great Eastern Life called "SmartProtect Essential 2". As my mother was the one to secure this for me, I am unsure as to what degree this insurance covers me. The agent that sold this to her is her friend and is chinese-speaking and I am unable to communicate my questions.

Situation: I have a lump that I have found that I would like to get checked out. But seeing as I am very new to all this, I am unsure how to go about this process or if it is even covered by this particular insurance. The condition is suspected to be a sebaceous cyst but I have not seen a doctor about this as of yet as I am unsure how and where the insurance steps in. I am also concerned as I have been told over the phone that this policy only covers "36 critical illnesses" and offers no coverage on "early detection". This worries me.

Questions:
1. Is it possible for process of diagnosis to be covered by this insurance? I'm afraid to be stuck with a preliminary bill prior to actual treatment. Any experienced people, kindly advice.

2. If it is not possible to have the process of the diagnosis covered by the insurance, how do I go about this? Is it possible to go to a GP in say, a small clinic, and then continue onto one of the "Panel of Hospitals"? If the process of diagnosis is not covered, I would like to minimize the costs as much as possible prior to actual hospital admission.

3. What are the necessary information I would need to obtain from the diagnosis phase to progress onto the admission/treatment phase? Which ones will have involvement of the insurance company?

Apologies if these are silly questions to some of you. I am very new to this and the entire process has been such a blur to me. Hopefully some of you will be able to help shed some light and guide me.
After google the internet "sebaceous cyst" = Sebaceous cysts are common noncancerous cysts of the skin. Cysts are abnormalities in the body that may contain liquid or semiliquid material. Sebaceous cysts are mostly found on the face, neck, or torso. Best is check with Doctor and don't suspect and self diagnose.

For any claim inform pls call this number: 1300130088 (you can ask about admission process, claim process and whether this condition is claimable? The line is 24 hours/7days. Better than asking us here which clueless about ur policy. They only providing medical card information and not 36 CI information ya.
Ewa Wa
post Feb 18 2021, 11:19 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(pharaoh5312 @ Feb 18 2021, 08:26 PM)
2. Thanks. Really helpful advice  thumbup.gif

3. Haha who knows later suddenly kena accidental findings. Nowadays so many opportunities to make young people get diabetes and hypertension lmao.
Yeap. Plan to tell the truth. Cuz I still young, no point doing health checkups so I am healthy  brows.gif
What's your thoughts between AIA, GE and Prudential? Or any other companies you would recommend?
Few points to look into:
1. Which company cost of insurance lower in quotation.
2. Which company claim ratio lower to cut down the frequent of repricing.

Ewa Wa
post Feb 19 2021, 10:20 AM

685 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Feb 19 2021, 08:17 AM)
1. Cost of insurance is not guaranteed, how are you going to make sure it stays the same?

2. Kindly share how you obtain such data, I'm very interested to know.
It's a form, you'll have to search within that soft copy you've received.
1. agreed that cost of insurance is not guaranteed but each company cost of insurance for medical card is not the same. Do refer to the quotation from each company then u will know.

2. The more claim a company made obviously the chances of insurance repricing happen very frequent. no date shown but is a common sense. up to everyone in the forum to take this point or ignore when choosing their desire insurance company.
Ewa Wa
post Mar 4 2021, 09:54 AM

685 posts

QUOTE(ping325 @ Mar 1 2021, 09:18 PM)
what age is your sustainability ? i mean policy maturity

for example im 33 as well , but my need are totally different with yours
i dont mind go government hospital , so i only have average life , accident but heavily covered on critical illness as income replacement.
i do not have any medical card , therefore the chances of my policy getting repricing also very rare.
Just wondering, selling medical card but didn’t buy medical card? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Ewa Wa: Mar 4 2021, 09:55 AM
Ewa Wa
post Mar 5 2021, 04:25 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(strategist @ Mar 4 2021, 07:31 PM)
I am with Prudential investment-linked policy. Been with for a few years now.

If I want to change it to non-ILP , what prices I need to pay?

Do i need to start over and pay commissions all over again? I am almost done with paying commissions past the 6 years
A few questions to ask urself b4 u want to change the current plan to a new plan.

1. Why do you wan to change?
2. Do look into waiting period 120days

Ewa Wa
post Mar 24 2021, 11:42 AM

685 posts

QUOTE(Macam Yes @ Mar 24 2021, 11:16 AM)
Start from 1mil? Roughly how much ya monthly
As low as 150-200/m

Or standalone medical plan as low as RM1000/year.

Age range between 20-35yo.

Annual limit from 1mil to 3mil.
T&C applied.
Ewa Wa
post Mar 31 2021, 11:19 AM

685 posts

QUOTE(steventyy @ Mar 31 2021, 10:12 AM)
38, normal for daily life, under long term medication.
You may google about this product under great eastern called great life care. Unfortunately the plan will be closed by today.
Ewa Wa
post Apr 13 2021, 05:31 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(Hedgychat @ Apr 13 2021, 01:14 AM)
Hi all! Would like to ask, how do I decide how long should my insurance sustainability period be?
Most insurance agent that I talk to recommend a plan with sustainability until I am age 70, aka same premium until age 70. But I understand that the fixed premium is sustain frm cash value in the investment link product.. And may need to top up if the funds is finish..

Im only 24yrs old now. If I'm confident in doing my own investment, is it advisable for me to opt for maybe shorter sustainability ie until 50 yrs old, so that I pay lower premium, and use the extra amount for investment so that I can afford the higher premium when I extend my sustainability later on?

What are the cons of short sustainability period? If someone can elaborate?
You unable to shorten it to 50yo bcoz the new ruling from bank negara. All the companies have to follow this. Either sustain on 70, 80 or 90. So basically all the quotation premium generated from all the companies about or more or less the same.

Or u may opt for standalone medical card and par/non par life &CI which no investment involved.

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Apr 13 2021, 09:44 AM)
The insurance company that requested the doctor to provide the report.
1st thing 1st, did u ask the dc why don’t want to write for u? Dc personal issue?

This post has been edited by Ewa Wa: Apr 13 2021, 05:34 PM
Ewa Wa
post Apr 16 2021, 10:27 AM

685 posts

QUOTE(kimi0148 @ Apr 15 2021, 10:33 AM)
Hi sifus, I have below policy with monthly premium of rm200 with credit card debit automatic sustain till 70. My question is can i go econnect portal to pay more monthly so that it can sustain longer and maximize rm3k tax benefit? any reason not to do? Thank you!

SMARTPROTECT ESSENTIAL 3 MYR 50,000
SMARTMEDIC XTRA
SMART EXTENDER 90K(R&B150)
IL PREMIUM WAIVER EXTRA RIDER
IL CRITICAL ILLNESS BENEFIT RIDER

if without informing the company, additional premium will go to suspense acc where your money sit there and do nothing. So not advisable to do so.

If you wan to sustain longer sign this form PSF02 version 2020 to top up on the "GSR". This allow u to sustain longer but it wont help in getting higher tax benefits. Do report ur tax according to the premium statement where you can download from e-connect.

If you wan to maximize yr tax bracket, top up ur life sum assured, critical illness etc.

This post has been edited by Ewa Wa: Apr 16 2021, 10:28 AM
Ewa Wa
post May 5 2021, 10:17 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(shee1 @ May 4 2021, 04:36 PM)
Dear Sifu, i would like to review few insurance subscribed to. Mainly to ensure the coverage is sufficient and whether there are now policies that are better. Most of these insurance was chosen by my father long time back when i started working.

GE Endowment
Commence Date: 2004
Multicash Lion Endowment Series 2 with Cash Bonus (Sum Assured RM25,000)
Waiver of Premium Rider Plus (Sum Assured RM1,720)
AccidentCare benefit (Sum Assured RM25,000)
Living Assurance RIder with Total Permanent Disability Benefits (Sum Assured RM20,000)
Cash Bonus Balance: RM1.6k
Survival Benefit Balance: 15k (Option: Leave on deposit with company)
Net Surrender Value: 15k
Premium RM175.65 per month
Term: 53

GE Medical Card
Great Healthcare Plan
Commence Date: 2004
Balance Annual Limit: 60k
Balance Life Time Limit: 180k
RM703 per year

GE Whole Life
Great Ideal Living (Sum Assured: 100k)
Premier Medical Reimbursement and Hospitalization Benefit Rider (Sum Assured RM100)
Commence Date: 2012
Net Surrender Value: 23k
Cash Bonus Balance: RM1.8k  (Option: Leave on deposit with company)
RM320.70 per month
Term: 87
Sum Assured RM100k

Hope experts here can shed some light on any areas i need to increase or let go.

Thank You
Policy 1 & 3 can keep.

Policy 2 which is a medical plan. This plan is very old and been replaced by Great Medic Xtra. You may look into this policy called GMX2. Annual limit is 3 mil onward.

You current plan should have repricing 2 years ago. I think you shall look into a better annual limit medical plan.

As for the other 2. You may keep them especially policy 3. Sum assured can increase till 180%.

Ewa Wa
post May 11 2021, 05:49 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(shee1 @ May 7 2021, 11:30 AM)
My company currently provide medical card & covers only 35k per year.
In my 20 years, have done 5 surgeries, all using company card and never used my medical card.
I was planning to keep to this medical plan until a time when company no longer provide me with a medical card.
After that only upgrade my plan to GMX2. Upgrading to this GMX2 at my age now means paying double what i pay now.

1, Anything i need to consider or overlooked?
2, Does changing from my old plan to GMX2 exclude my previous illness coverage?

Serious look into ur medical card limit as now medical inflation and easily a cancer treatment can cost up to 100K.

2. Sorry, underwriting applied and based on all ur 5 surgeries medical record, never self underwriting. Will enocurage you to submit and let the underwritter to access the case 1st . definitely upgrade to GMX2 is about double ur premium but 10X+ ur annual limit.
Ewa Wa
post Jun 7 2021, 05:32 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(Oklahoma @ Jun 7 2021, 05:08 PM)
Per month...I don't exactly know much more more I need to pay to cover the additional 39 years..but I assume is a few hundreds more each month..
I'm assume your premium is sustainable till you are age 60, upon age 60 insurance company will send u a new adjusted premium for you to auto extend it to 70yo or 80yo. Bcoz most of the current medical card is till age 100. (recent 3-4 years in the market)

I would suggest if u r comfortable to start a lower premium now then just go ahead 1st instead commit a higher premium which sustain till 99yo and make ur feel burden and potential lapse it when financial difficulties happen along the years.

Then the addition RM400-500 monthly premium u're confidently invest somewhere for better return and be prepared for the 60yo new adjusted premium to continue the medical plan.
Ewa Wa
post Jun 8 2021, 10:03 AM

685 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 7 2021, 05:42 PM)
what about, will it be subjected the review & declaration of medical condition?
or it will just be auto acceptance regardless of preexisting med conditions?
This Auto Extension clause has written clearly in the policy contract without requiring any evidence of assurability. "Auto extension clause" only applied to policies inforced after Jun 2019. Just to take note ya.
Ewa Wa
post Jun 8 2021, 10:14 AM

685 posts

QUOTE(Oklahoma @ Jun 7 2021, 06:06 PM)
New adjusted premium to auto extend to 70-80 yrs old...

How much normally is this new adjusted premium? I can choose not to opt in right
ILP has non guaranteed feature. Unable to tell now how much will it be costing after 20-30 years. Medical card cost of insurance will revise based on the medical inflation and etc..

The plan u r signing up till age 60 the cash value only able to sustain till this age based on the system. You can opt out to the auto extension by not paying so policy will lapse slowly.

Recently one customer age 59 decided to buy anther medical card to replace his old medical which expired at the age of 70. The older we are the more we need the medical card. So by the age of 60 or 70 only u will 'realize' the medical card is important. now still early to decide to auto extension it or not. Just prepare some fund to pay the new adjusted premium if last minute u need it. icon_rolleyes.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1620sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:23 AM