Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

MUM
post Aug 14 2025, 05:59 AM

14,855 posts

what insurance should you get to protect your house from floods?
To protect your house in the event of a flood, you will need to get both the houseowner policy and the householder policy.

Allianz, combine the two insurance policies into one encompassing policy.
The brochure.
https://www.allianz.com.my/content/dam/onem...rochure_ENG.pdf
More about it
https://www.allianz.com.my/personal/home-mo...ative0979019112

Here’s Everything You Need To Know About Flood Insurance Coverage
Published on November 29, 2024
by iMoney Editorial
https://www.imoney.my/articles/flood-covera...house-car-guide

MUM
post Aug 14 2025, 06:08 AM

14,855 posts

Investment-linked policies (ILPs) continued to set the pace, with weighted new business premiums rising 31.3 per cent to $1.28 billion in the first half. These policies accounted for 43 per cent of total new business.

LIA Singapore president Wong Sze Keed said the continued growth in annual premium policies and ILPs demonstrates Singaporeans’ focus on long-term financial planning and security.
“Amid existing global uncertainties and market volatility, consumers are seeking balance between protection and wealth accumulation,” she added.

https://www.straitstimes.com/business/spore...nt-linked-plans

JIUHWEI
post Aug 14 2025, 10:47 AM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(vvn0vvn @ Aug 13 2025, 03:44 PM)
I tried to renew my house insurance with Etiqa online but failed. I was told that they don't accept because my postcode is in flood risk area. Does anyone have similar experience? Which other insurance company is good for houseowner/householder insurance?
Every insurer also will do their own due diligence on such issues. With that said, it's only natural that the smaller players will be more sensitive to tiba2 don't invite you to renew with them anymore.

If you would like, we can explore ways to work together.
adele123
post Aug 14 2025, 10:56 AM

4,722 posts

QUOTE(vvn0vvn @ Aug 13 2025, 03:44 PM)
I tried to renew my house insurance with Etiqa online but failed. I was told that they don't accept because my postcode is in flood risk area. Does anyone have similar experience? Which other insurance company is good for houseowner/householder insurance?
Have you tried tune protect? They also have house insurance online. I buy from them, cause same thing but cheaper than etiqa.

If both also cannot, then I think you need to go through proper agent. Could be unlucky your postcode share with some high risk area but yours is quite safe.

This post has been edited by adele123: Aug 14 2025, 10:57 AM
vvn0vvn
post Aug 14 2025, 03:32 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Aug 14 2025, 10:56 AM)
Have you tried tune protect? They also have house insurance online. I buy from them, cause same thing but cheaper than etiqa.

If both also cannot, then I think you need to go through proper agent. Could be unlucky your postcode share with some high risk area but yours is quite safe.
Thanks. Will check out on Tune.

How's the service with Tune? Just wondering which insurer is better? My concern is also on the efficiency of their processing. Of course this is only if we need to make a claim but that's the crucial time when u need them the most sweat.gif

The funny thing with Etiqa is that i tried different postcode all also cannot be processed rclxub.gif

adele123
post Aug 15 2025, 12:22 AM

4,722 posts

QUOTE(vvn0vvn @ Aug 14 2025, 03:32 PM)
Thanks. Will check out on Tune.

How's the service with Tune? Just wondering which insurer is better? My concern is also on the efficiency of their processing. Of course this is only if we need to make a claim but that's the crucial time when u need them the most sweat.gif

The funny thing with Etiqa is that i tried different postcode all also cannot be processed  rclxub.gif
Then etiqa system problem.

I don't think too much about claims processing. Ini fire insurance, not car or travel insurance. I Don't want to overthink. There is no way fire insurance claim will be a smooth claim.
JIUHWEI
post Aug 15 2025, 11:02 AM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Aug 15 2025, 12:22 AM)
Then etiqa system problem.

I don't think too much about claims processing. Ini fire insurance, not car or travel insurance. I Don't want to overthink. There is no way fire insurance claim will be a smooth claim.
That, I cannot agree with you.

Just like any insurance claim, insurers will have to justify what is the basis for rejecting a claim.
Every insurer is more afraid of compliance than a claim.
Be it Life Insurance or General Insurance.
Ewa Wa
post Aug 18 2025, 03:17 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jul 29 2025, 10:34 AM)
Great Eastern now has THREE medical insurance riders on-shelf. As I recall in the past, they only ever had one such product at any one time. E.g. SmartMedic, then SmartMedic Xtra, then SmartMedic Million, and then SmartMedic Shield.

But now, in addition to SmartMedic Shield, they have:
- Smart Health Protector
- Great MediValue

Can anyone differentiate between the 3 plans? I upgraded from SMX to SMS previously - should I upgrade to SHP or GMV?

Any idea why they are having so many different products now, when in the past they consolidated into a single offering?
Yes, we have 3 riders on the shelf now to meet different segment of customers. Smart health protector (SHP) and Great medivalue, (GMV) both offer almost the same in terms of benefits but GMV has 20% COI savings and 2years no claim 10% COI to be refunded into TIV. But must must fulfilled certain terms and conditions. TBH, after I’ve presented the t&c to few customers, they still prefer to go with SHP instead of GMV after hearing the terms. Company trying ways to control the repricing happen.

JC999
post Aug 20 2025, 02:56 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jul 25 2025, 09:46 PM)
fyi, baby medical insurance is very expensive.

if you ignore all the noises, medical insurance is the same for kids and adult. after all, what you need is someone pay the hospital bill if you are sick. now the problem is babies get sick alot when they are younger. so this resulted in frequent hospitalisation and thus resulting in more expensive medical insurance.

looks like you have tried searching online, so i summarise to a few potential option (realistically). we are not here to debate why babies masuk hospital often and whether those hospitalisation is necessary because that's beyond me and that wont be helpful to your question anyway.

1) you buy medical insurance from agent. this is likely to cost AT LEAST 150 a month if you want low deductible amount like 300 500. If you are ok to go higher deductible, i may be cheaper. how much higher deductible. 5k 10k... etc... but this is probably not something suitable for you.
2) you probably need to buy as family plan, as you have pointed out above (not sure what's the cost, you do your own maths)
3) as cruel as it sounds, private medical insurance may not be the option for you. you can consider this maybe after your child grows abit older, the cost of medical insurance starts to dive around age 5 to 6 also.
You can buy standalone medical which is a cheaper option, most insurers have it and it covers to 80-100 years old.

Take note of your sustainability if you buying from agents, and they always come with investment link which may not be best the difference put it in your epf and you get best returns and standalone medical. Best from both
adele123
post Aug 20 2025, 05:43 PM

4,722 posts

QUOTE(JC999 @ Aug 20 2025, 02:56 PM)
You can buy standalone medical which is a cheaper option, most insurers have it and it covers to 80-100 years old.

Take note of your sustainability if you buying from agents, and they always come with investment link which may not be best the difference put it in your epf and you get best returns and standalone medical. Best from both
Actually most insurers dont have standalone medical. Even with standalone, age 0 is gonna cost alot too. Cost more than adults.
JC999
post Aug 22 2025, 11:57 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Aug 20 2025, 05:43 PM)
Actually most insurers dont have standalone medical. Even with standalone, age 0 is gonna cost alot too. Cost more than adults.
Nope, stand alone is always the cheapest.

Inside insurance plan there is 2 element, insurance premium + investment or savings

But standalone only has insurance premium, and insurance premium is standardize across the company.

I have never seen a standalone medical card more expensive than those all in one

Holocene
post Aug 23 2025, 08:39 AM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

For female.

Just for fun.
adele123
post Aug 23 2025, 09:25 AM

4,722 posts

QUOTE(JC999 @ Aug 22 2025, 11:57 PM)
Nope, stand alone is always the cheapest.

Inside insurance plan there is 2 element, insurance premium + investment or savings

But standalone only has insurance premium, and insurance premium is standardize across the company.

I have never seen a standalone medical card more expensive than those all in one
You are saying ILP is more expensive than standalone.

My original post to that person was saying age 0 medical insurance is not gonna be cheap.

You do realise we are talking about different things right?
JC999
post Aug 25 2025, 02:12 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Aug 23 2025, 09:25 AM)
You are saying ILP is more expensive than standalone.

My original post to that person was saying age 0 medical insurance is not gonna be cheap.

You do realise we are talking about different things right?
Yes doesn't matter if its age 0 or age 70, ILP will cost more than standalone medical insurance. ILP has the investment/savings element where you would need to pay insurance premium + investment/savings. So the total cost will definitely go up.
Jason
post Aug 27 2025, 01:51 AM

6,354 posts

ayam very confused, I think these ILP stuff is hiding a lot of things behind the scenes and agents misrepresenting stuff to sell.

tolong advise
1. I got existing life+ci with medical rider with GE. If I ONLY want to drop the medical rider do I need to cancel the whole policy? or just drop the rider and maintain the existing policy. And if I drop the medical rider, premium logically should go down right? why my agent quote me a new policy.. I just want to remove the medical rider and buy a new medical policy. Or insurance so stupid must cancel my existing policy just because I wanna remove a rider. If my old policy remove and start from 0 again.. fk this insurance I just go other company lah

2. how come same insurance (GE) same policy, same waiver, same deductible, same rider.. 1 agent quote Rm300/month another agent RM200/month... coverage same, benefits same.. everything same but such huge discrepancy..

1st agent.. show as age progress..premium increase..but the rm200 show same monthly premium up to age 100..not possible kan..

MUM
post Aug 27 2025, 06:25 AM

14,855 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Aug 27 2025, 01:51 AM)
ayam very confused, I think these ILP stuff is hiding a lot of things behind the scenes and agents misrepresenting stuff to sell.

tolong advise
1. I got existing life+ci with medical rider with GE. If I ONLY want to drop the medical rider do I need to cancel the whole policy? or just drop the rider and maintain the existing policy. And if I drop the medical rider, premium logically should go down right? why my agent quote me a new policy.. I just want to remove the medical rider and buy a new medical policy. Or insurance so stupid must cancel my existing policy just because I wanna remove a rider. If my old policy remove and start from 0 again.. fk this insurance I just go other company lah

2. how come same insurance (GE) same policy, same waiver, same deductible, same rider.. 1 agent quote Rm300/month another agent RM200/month... coverage same, benefits same.. everything same but such huge discrepancy..

1st agent.. show as age progress..premium increase..but the rm200 show same monthly premium up to age 100..not possible kan..
While waiting for responses and comment here, I would be happy to hear the comments and explanations provided by both your agent 1 and 2.
Have you asked them since they had full details of what they quoted you from full details they got from you?
JIUHWEI
post Aug 27 2025, 10:06 AM

1,307 posts

tolong advise

Frankly among all the products in the market, ILP is about the most transparent.
You don't have to rely on the agent for these info, it is widely available online.

To answer your question:
1. There must be the option to only change the riders as opposed to surrendering the whole policy since it is an ILP policy.
This is a standard MO across the industry.

2. Which one do you think makes more sense? Go with the one that makes more sense je

This post has been edited by JIUHWEI: Aug 27 2025, 11:26 AM
Rinth
post Aug 27 2025, 11:53 AM

1,261 posts

tolong advise

Show the RM 200 policy to the RM 300 agent and vice versa, if they want your business they’ll explain the difference to you
Jason
post Aug 27 2025, 11:54 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 27 2025, 06:25 AM)
While waiting for responses and comment here, I would be happy to hear the comments and explanations provided by both your agent 1 and 2.
Have you asked them since they had full details of what they quoted you from full details they got from you?
QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Aug 27 2025, 10:06 AM)
Frankly among all the products in the market, ILP is about the most transparent.
You don't have to rely on the agent for these info, it is widely available online.

To answer your question:
1. There must be the option to only change the riders as opposed to surrendering the whole policy since it is an ILP policy.
This is a standard MO across the industry.

2. Which one do you think makes more sense? Go with the one that makes more sense je
got my answer already, my first question, just do proposal to illustrate since removing rider no way to show me a pdf of the new premium. but yes just removing medical rider not new policy.

2nd question.. the 2nd agent simply quote.

So far from my own survey.. AIA most expensive for similar coverage followed by PRU. Allianz and GE seems comparable. I am still deep diving.

This post has been edited by Jason: Aug 27 2025, 11:57 AM
dannychen
post Aug 27 2025, 02:37 PM

1,263 posts

tolong advise

1. can go to customer service to submit request to remove medical rider, no need to cancel entire policy. of course agent ask to buy a new policy, new policy new commission, old policy no more commission.

2. perhaps different term of medical card? cover up to age 80 and age 100?

381 Pages « < 367 368 369 370 371 > » Top

0.0767sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:01 PM