Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

Ramjade
post Jan 5 2024, 07:07 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 5 2024, 07:03 AM)
Some years ago there had been told by many that the ILP returns are at approximately on par with FD rate in the end.
The medical cost inflation had been way much above that.
If you look at some ILP, their returns actually suck below FD. Not many people know this and not many bothered to look. I did. That's why I lol on taking up ILP.

That's why I said dump buy standalone, dump money into EPF.
Ramjade
post Jan 5 2024, 07:25 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 5 2024, 07:18 AM)
If you dump into epf, if you die after 2 years, you only gets the money you dumped into epf + some dividend.
You hit the jackpot if you were to had dumped that money in insurance 2 yrs ago

What is the rate of premium increases of standaloneĀ  medical insurance VS ILP medical insurances?
Same??
Statistically, how many die with 2y of taking insurance? Very rare if young person. Also if you up your life insurance, your COI also increase. Nothing is free.

Definitely lesser as you don't have additional baggage of poor investment. Cause now you are dealing with only pure insurance and cost of insurance alone.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 5 2024, 07:31 AM
Ramjade
post Jan 5 2024, 07:52 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 5 2024, 07:37 AM)
If you based on statistic... why do you buy insurance??
What is the statistic that you will claim all of the amount that you had covered?
Why pay for some thing that you statistically won't need to claim it YET or need to claim all the covered amount?
That's why I buy medical and critical insurance only. My critical illness insurance is also just to mitligate in case I can't work and it's not for life. It's until retirement age. People will get sick and you don't know how sick you will get. So you know you are going to use it in the future. I buy it cause I know I will use it. It's not something that I won't use.

You don't need to claim everything. You just need to make sure that you have enough coverage. All those 100k+ coverage is enough actually but when you are old, it won't be enough.

Lots of people already have good returns with medical insurance. That is why medical insurance is one area that many companies are losing money.
1. People admitting cause having insurance
2. One operation easily 5 digit
3. You get sick multiple times. Not one time thing. From dengue to food poisoning to accident

Death is certain. It's a one time thing. Unless you do risky thing, or don't take care of your health, death comes sooner of course there is always outlier. Does it make sense to pay for life insurance coverage of millions where likely your family claim the amount at the end of your life Vs putting money into say EPF and give your next of kin the EPF? For me I rather choose the EPF over life insurance. Illness is recurrent. I am paying RM200k+ for 1m+ coverage (entire term) I think is decent. One or 2 admission easily RM20k which is like 10% return.

No right or wrong.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 5 2024, 08:00 AM
Ramjade
post Jan 5 2024, 09:01 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 5 2024, 08:03 AM)
You did not die, or are discharged from hospital but cannot fully work, ... money in kwsp not able to touch...

That is why I would never ask people to dump into kwsp instead of insurance.
Insurance is for risk mitigation.
We just don't know when we will need it.

Not a MUST have thing but just a GOOD to have thing especially in Malaysia.
Thus, when it is just a good to have thing, then the more the better, just like many other things in life.....to a limit that one can afford it and willing to get it
Same with life insurance. You didn't die. So family didn't get pay out. As long as money in KWSP, your family payout will be higher with time. This is not the case with life insurance. Your payout is fixed. If you die early then consider bonus. You die later not so much.

Ramjade
post Jan 5 2024, 11:46 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 5 2024, 11:44 AM)
If you did not die but not able to work like normal or needed constant periodic medical treatment, ....
Money in kwsp is locked....but will just continue to grow.

The chances of die, vs chances of needing medical care which one is higher?.
You die, beneficiaries profits
You did not die but needed medical cares and financial assistance, ....who suffer?
That is where critical illness come in. If you want to protect yourself more there is disability insurance in Singapore. They cover you as long as you cannot work.
Ramjade
post Jan 5 2024, 11:52 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 5 2024, 11:48 AM)
Regarding medical insurance that you bought in Spore, ...do they issue GL to Malaysia private hospitals? Or you need to pay MYR first claim later?
I bought critical insurance from Singapore side cause cheaper, better coverage but no cash benefits. I choose term coverage Vs whole life coverage.

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 5 2024, 11:49 AM)
So simply cannot says put in kwsp better than insurance..
I am saying kwsp Vs life insurance.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 5 2024, 11:53 AM
Ramjade
post Jan 5 2024, 01:02 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 5 2024, 12:09 PM)
Eventhough for life insurance, ...not necessarily put in kwsp better than insurance UNLESS you sure knows that you won't need to claim it in under the next 10 yrs...

That critical insurance that you bought in Spore covers "can still work but just too tired after work for full normal work"?
Like example, you can still work to earn a living but cannot stand or sit too long or gets consistence coughing etc etc?
I didn't buy disability insurance but I know you can get it. Eg. You are a guitarist. You fracture your hand. So you can't work. They will pay you monthly until your bone heal and you can resume work. Then payment stop.

If you break your hand again, then they start paying you again. But pay only around 70% of your pay. Not full pay.
Ramjade
post Jan 5 2024, 04:23 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Jan 5 2024, 04:12 PM)
any allianz insurance agent here, want to buy medical insurance for daughters
Allianz ILP. Keep in mind. Just go to allianz website and leave your contact. Someone will contract you.

Pro tip. Do not take the first agent that contacted you. Shop around and see which agent is worth giving your money to. I shopped like 10 agents. Sometimes 2-4 agent per company.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 5 2024, 04:24 PM
Ramjade
post Jan 5 2024, 04:27 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Jan 5 2024, 04:25 PM)
2-4 agents per company is a lot for you to cover every company in m'sia, i am just thinking of choosing 1 for each
Now you know why I know so much on insurance. Cause some agent are just wasting my time and fear mongering. Some agent die die want to sell me ILP even after I told them no. First option is show me ILP. Never even tell me got standalone. When I asked about standalone their face become black straight away.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 5 2024, 04:28 PM
Ramjade
post Jan 6 2024, 12:39 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jan 6 2024, 12:34 AM)
Most normal people dont have the capacity to go with 2 to 4 agents per company. And not for every company also. It will be too time consumibg. If you have a clearer idea of what you want, you probably should list it down and let the agent know. This way, you dont waste your own time listen to their long sales pitch also.

I would say if you meet say 2 agents from AIA, GE, Pru, you probably has seen alot. These 3 are kinda like the bigger 3. You can throw in another one not from any of the 3 stated above to give you a different flavour.

One thing i notice my brother and SiL does enjoy. Both have the aia vitality membership due to their employment, so the employer helps pay for it. Both happen to shop at jaya grocer consistently. Even if they have to pay rm10 per month, they get savings from jaya grocer plus other perks from being somewhat active in using the aia vitality thing. This is something unique to AIA.
That's why I took like 4 months,+ to finally buy my medical insurance. You want the best deal, you need to shop around.

Agent who are pushy or dishonest or using fear mongering, sorry you won't get my money.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 6 2024, 12:40 AM
Ramjade
post Jan 6 2024, 07:56 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 6 2024, 05:54 AM)
Just a note though, ...
Medical premium increases are a common occurance.
There are a few threads in lyn.
Here is an example of those thread, ....
medical insurance cost sudden increase 29%, normal !?
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4753108

Thus I think I would be very fruitless efforts and disappointing for those that had spend alot of time and efforts trying to get the best price when buying medical insurances in Malaysia.
They may just have the initial satisfactions of thinking they got the 'best " cheapest price at that time of buying..
It's not about getting the cheapest medical insurance. It's about getting the right one. AIA for me was not the cheapest.
Ramjade
post Jan 6 2024, 08:10 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 6 2024, 08:04 AM)
Your "right" one may not be right from the view of others.
Your right one may not be the right one few years later
Your right one may not be the right one when your life stage differs.

What is cheap or not cheap now may differs after the next premium increases
Everyone got different right one. But when you narrow it down to only standalone medical insurance, there really isn't much choice and all more or less the same. Difference is room, premium, number of post hospitalisation days, annual coverage. That's about it.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 6 2024, 08:10 AM
Ramjade
post Jan 6 2024, 08:25 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 6 2024, 08:14 AM)
Is the quantum of premium increases SAME for standalone VS ILP?
Don't know. Let's us see. It increase yearly due to age. Something people may not be comfortable with it. But it's normal. All insurance does it. Let see if the increase follow the projected table. Logically without the lousy investment part definitely lesser. Cause there is no sustainability element/investment portion which will trigger the increase. It's purely from medical inflation.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 6 2024, 08:26 AM
Ramjade
post Jan 6 2024, 11:47 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 6 2024, 11:23 AM)
In the end, will it be the same amount of money paid?
Unlikely. Cause standalone you are paying for medical repricing alone. ILP you are paying double. Medical repricing and poor performance.

But let us wait and see if I kena repricing by AIA
Ramjade
post Jan 6 2024, 12:23 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 6 2024, 12:16 PM)
I think,
The agents or those promoting standalone plans as a better plan "should" have those data for comparison.
I am no agent. But here's where you are paying extra Vs standalone.
1. Fund fees in terms of annual expenses
2. Additional charges for life insurance which cannot be removed. Even your it at min amount also you are paying for it.
3. Lousy fund performance (can't blame them totally, ? BNM fault)

Very easy. Make sure you have passive income or ready cash that can cover you until whatever age you want. My passive income today can pay my medical insurance premium at age of 80. So no issue for me to continue until 80.

How much ready cash? Around RM300k should be sufficient to last until 80.
Ramjade
post Jan 6 2024, 01:26 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 6 2024, 12:34 PM)
So from our recent discussion, ...I believes readers should weight in more than just "standalone is better" as "ILPĀ  is not worth the extra money being paid for it" narratives.

The images about the quantum of rise of premiums for a standalone plan is just an example.
So buyer be prepare and hope that you can well sustain it in future under whatever circumstances..
One can easily forsee and plan now, but future can be unknown, loss of business, unemployed to current pay level, kena scammed, etc etc
Wiser men than me have already said standalone is better choice Vs ILP. Who am I to argue with people that actually crunch numbers? Lol.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 6 2024, 01:27 PM
Ramjade
post Jan 6 2024, 03:38 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(ryansxs @ Jan 6 2024, 03:24 PM)
I am currently paying around RM5k annually for critical Illness coverage of RM230k at Prudential.

Can someone advice me, if i can get more/better coverage for the amount im paying?

Please drop me a PM directly, i am open to chat with insurance agents for advice. TYIA

Note : I have other policies that cover CI as well, but not as high as 230k
See my previous reply. RM7k for RM500k coverage with multiplier, cover early stage cancer, cover cancer relapses. RM7k until age of 60. Fixed. Won't increase unlike medical insurance. You can choose longer or more coverage or more early critical illness but it will become more expensive.

Only issue is you need to travel down to Singapore and sign the contract and it is priced in SGD.

They accept all medical reports from Malaysia side but have must notary chop.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 6 2024, 03:46 PM
Ramjade
post Jan 8 2024, 01:03 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Jan 8 2024, 01:00 AM)
But will you send your best and brightest, or will you send the company idiot...?
How little respect do you have for your own time?
Or is it just that cheap that it is insignificant, can easily write off?
Company seems to send me idiots. I already specify English speaking, they send me Chinese speaking. I already specify no ILP, send me those pushing for ILP.
Ramjade
post Jan 8 2024, 06:06 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Jan 8 2024, 01:24 AM)
Well you seem to be the kind that prefer to play a certain character when meeting with these intermediaries sent your way.
It is your way of sizing up the intermediary kan?
You said it yourself.
Would you put out your numbers for the intermediary to have a thorough discussion, if you attend to the appointment with that in mind?
My assumption, certainly not.

So if nobody is talking, what is the next logical thing is the intermediary to do?
Nothing really, other than to become a broken recorder and regurgitate whatever he/she remembers from their latest product training about their latest product.
And what is the industry trend? ILP loh... Latest shiniest product will be an ILP.

Ni nak buat macam mana nih?
Syok duduk Shah Alam hobi pusing roundabout ka?
I just act dumb and see what agent recommend. See what's is their first choice.

That's what I did will all the agent. Give them a test.

Ramjade
post Jan 10 2024, 02:40 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Jan 9 2024, 11:59 PM)
Actually dont need to buy medical Insurance one. Can just go to government hospitals and pay few bucks. U still can get medical treatment. And money saved can be invested elsewhere and grow faster than pay monthly for insurance premiums.

There is no right or wrong to buy ILP and atandalone... Juat dont understand why can relate insurance with fund performance blablabla... Can switch funds if not satisfied... Simple as that.. Adui..
True. But some stuff govt hospital super slow. Another thing is govt overcrowded so you mix with all the sick people. You admitted for disease A, get disease B in the hospital pulak due to overcrowding.

If everyone think like you, insurance no business already. Lol.

32 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.1711sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:01 PM