Company did not contribute to EPF during probation

TSBlackblade0303
post Jan 29 2021, 07:24 PM, updated 5y ago

139 posts

Hi all, just realized my cousin did not have EPF contributed (the company did not contribute / register) for the last 4 months when he worked for a small clinic. He’s still working there currently. He showed me the appointment letter that he signed and there’s a clause where it says “Confirmed staff will be entitled to EPF and Sosco according to the labour Law and Table”. If I remembered correctly probation period also entitled for EPF right? He’s a freshie that’s why didn’t know all these.. can we still report to KWSP office regarding to this matter even though he signed the letter already?
seather
post Jan 29 2021, 07:33 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

Yes. You can report. Regardless of position, if u receive a salary from a company, u get epf

Hell, when I started to do part time uni tutoring back when I was 19 years old I pun dapat epf from the college.
Alpina
post Jan 29 2021, 07:36 PM

96 posts

err... my place probation only get socso...
cempedaklife
post Jan 29 2021, 08:03 PM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

Got deduct his salary or not? Got deduct sure can fight
Redshelf411
post Jan 30 2021, 03:22 PM

818 posts

By right yes, entitled to socso and epf. Unless you are intern, which most likely you will get nothing besides PH entitlement at the most.
john123x
post Jan 30 2021, 03:24 PM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jan 29 2021, 08:03 PM)
+1 Agree

SUSAccord2018
post Jan 30 2021, 03:59 PM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(Redshelf411 @ Jan 30 2021, 03:22 PM)
By right yes, entitled to socso and epf. Unless you are intern, which most likely you will get nothing besides PH entitlement at the most.
lol written confirm staff only get ah. maybe now no position or jus intern. if letter no position stated how?
TSBlackblade0303
post Jan 30 2021, 04:46 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jan 29 2021, 08:03 PM)
QUOTE(john123x @ Jan 30 2021, 03:24 PM)
+1 Agree
No deduct salary, full salary banked in to him every month lo

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Jan 30 2021, 03:59 PM)
lol written confirm staff only get ah. maybe now no position or jus intern. if letter no position stated how?
The letter got mentioned his position, but yeah letter written when confirmed only got :/ still can argue? Since he already signed the letter over 4 months ago..

sidthesloth
post Jan 30 2021, 04:52 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(Blackblade0303 @ Jan 30 2021, 04:46 PM)
No deduct salary, full salary banked in to him every month lo
The letter got mentioned his position, but yeah letter written when confirmed only got :/ still can argue? Since he already signed the letter over 4 months ago..
Doesn't matter he sign letter 10 years. Still need to pay EPF. It's already illegal. It's like you signing a letter saying Rob Bank during probation and you sign but now you don't want to rob Bank and want to report if it's illegal.

See the point I'm making bro?
meghamtaro
post Jan 30 2021, 05:18 PM

433 posts

Even my previous cinaman company pays EPF & Socso during my 6 months probation period.
Redshelf411
post Jan 30 2021, 05:28 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Jan 30 2021, 03:59 PM)
Did your offer letter say what is your position/job role with the company? If no, ask your HR.
taiping...
post Jan 30 2021, 08:00 PM

1,056 posts

What does ur payslip say?

Is there stated EPF employee contribution there
Same time, did employer contribute as well

Check

Or take a pic here and sensor the numbers
Pikichu
post Jan 30 2021, 08:34 PM

2,278 posts

Probation means a try out period for a full time position then employer is legally required to contribute EPF.

If you do not want to jeapordize confirmation then raise this matter after you receive confirmation letter.
post Jan 30 2021, 08:56 PM

67 posts

check your payslip, should state a compulsory EPF deduction from you, and EPF contribution from your employer.
Sedih
post Jan 30 2021, 09:31 PM

99 posts

Part time also get epf socso wtf probation dont have
ktek
post Jan 30 2021, 09:35 PM

小喇叭
13,207 posts

got deduct got lo
no deduct also cannot fight
marquis
post Jan 30 2021, 09:36 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

Check the offer letter. If it states anywhere that they are hiring your cousin as a "consultant" or a "service provider", then they can actually choose not to contribute for EPF as your cousin is not considered as an employee, but instead someone rendering services to the company.

A few companies (especially big ones) tend to do this for probation staff to avoid paying EPF and SOCSO.

Since you've already mentioned that they paid the salary in full, it means that they did not contribute to the EPF funds.

If the offer letter just mentions probationary period, then he is fully entitled for EPF payment. Even if the letter states that, the company is required to contribute, by law. In fact, if he goes to EPF to pursue payment for the contribution, all he needs is proof that he HAS worked at the company. Bear in mind this will create a lot of friction, so consider this the "nuclear" option.

Source: For the former, have talked in depth to an HR person in an MNC (Malaysian Region) & for the latter, I have personally dealt with a KWSP officer.
FirstOne
post Jan 31 2021, 03:14 PM

168 posts

First 3 months no need pay epf
TSBlackblade0303
post Feb 2 2021, 06:20 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(Redshelf411 @ Jan 30 2021, 05:28 PM)
Did your offer letter say what is your position/job role with the company? If no, ask your HR.
Not me leh hahah, cousin working in a Small clinic only hahah, don’t think there’s any “HR”

QUOTE(taiping... @ Jan 30 2021, 08:00 PM)
What does ur payslip say?

Is there stated EPF employee contribution there
Same time, did employer contribute as well

Check

Or take a pic here and sensor the numbers
QUOTE(11674896 @ Jan 30 2021, 08:56 PM)
check your payslip, should state a compulsory EPF deduction from you, and EPF contribution from your employer.
Not my payslip leh hahah.. The offer letter stated my cousin is offered a Job as optometrist in an eye clinic, however there is a clause stating no EPF during probation period (which I find odd), and no deduction for EPF in payslip also (salary paid full)..

QUOTE(marquis @ Jan 30 2021, 09:36 PM)
Check the offer letter. If it states anywhere that they are hiring your cousin as a "consultant" or a "service provider", then they can actually choose not to contribute for EPF as your cousin is not considered as an employee, but instead someone rendering services to the company.

A few companies (especially big ones) tend to do this for probation staff to avoid paying EPF and SOCSO.

Since you've already mentioned that they paid the salary in full, it means that they did not contribute to the EPF funds.

If the offer letter just mentions probationary period, then he is fully entitled for EPF payment. Even if the letter states that, the company is required to contribute, by law. In fact, if he goes to EPF to pursue payment for the contribution, all he needs is proof that he HAS worked at the company. Bear in mind this will create a lot of friction, so consider this the "nuclear" option.

Source: For the former, have talked in depth to an HR person in an MNC (Malaysian Region) & for the latter, I have personally dealt with a KWSP officer.
Yuppp, agree that this is a “nuclear” option la, told him about this option and the consequences dy.. see how he wants to proceed lo
fearless_kiki
post Feb 2 2021, 06:28 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(Blackblade0303 @ Jan 29 2021, 07:24 PM)
Hi all, just realized my cousin did not have EPF contributed (the company did not contribute / register) for the last 4 months when he worked for a small clinic. He’s still working there currently. He showed me the appointment letter that he signed and there’s a clause where it says “Confirmed staff will be entitled to EPF and Sosco according to the labour Law and Table”. If I remembered correctly probation period also entitled for EPF right? He’s a freshie that’s why didn’t know all these.. can we still report to KWSP office regarding to this matter even though he signed the letter already?
Yes, entitled no matter what the letter said. It is wrong for companies to do that. Even if the payslip not deducted, companies are still liable to pay for their part of contribution.

This post has been edited by fearless_kiki: Feb 2 2021, 06:31 PM

0.0192sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:20 AM