Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

Guitars Acoustic Guitar Recommendation for a beginner

views

TSalexwj P
post Jan 28 2021, 10:53 PM, updated 4y ago

Probation
6 posts

Hi guys, I'm new here.

I'm looking for an acoustic guitar to start my journey but I have no knowledge of how to choose a guitar so I need some help from you guys 🙏🏻

My budget is around RM600 +/-

Thank you so much for your time.
Alpina
post Jan 28 2021, 11:13 PM

Getting Started
89 posts

yamaha f310 or higher that came with pickup...
Ramin
post Jan 29 2021, 05:51 PM

Getting Started
147 posts

QUOTE(alexwj @ Jan 28 2021, 10:53 PM)
I'm looking for an acoustic guitar to start my journey but I have no knowledge of how to choose a guitar so I need some help from you guys 🙏🏻
You may find terms like dreadnought or jumbo etc. being used to describe the shapes of various acoustic guitars, so it would be advisable to start by reading this article: Acoustic guitar body shapes explained

The various shapes affect a guitar's sound, comfort, playability for different people - it's a matter of personal preference really... For instance, I dislike dreadnoughts and jumbos as I generally find that these shapes are uncomfortable to practice with, and I gravitate towards grand auditoriums with a cutaway as I find these easier to play (more comfortable)... So I (personally) would not buy a Yamaha F310 dreadnought-shaped guitar as I know that I wouldn't be comfortable with it. And I'd buy a Yamaha APX500 instead. As I mentioned earlier, just a matter of preference. If a guitar is comfortable to play, then you'd likely practice more and progress quicker as a guitarist.

Check out other brands like Cort, Ibanez, Takamine etc. also. Pay attention to the shapes and figure out which one you prefer.
HaleYeah
post Mar 11 2021, 12:03 PM

Getting Started
65 posts

Like Ramin said, it's up to you.
You can start by going to shops and try out a few different body shape guitars and see which is more comfy for you.