Gamers lead the way to fuck up wallstreet, Gamers did what communists failed.

TrialGone
post Jan 28 2021, 10:13 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Buffalo Soldier @ Jan 28 2021, 09:52 PM)
What Rarely Happens (but happening now with Gamestop)

- A loaf of bread is priced at RM20/loaf

- You "borrow" a loaf of bread from Ali. Promising to return it back in 7 days (with some interest, of course)

- You sell it to Kassim. Kassim gets the bread, you get RM20.

- After a few days, the price jumps to RM45/loaf. Now you have to make a difficut decision. All options sucks.

Option A

- You buy a loaf of bread from Raju. Raju gets RM45, you get a loaf of bread, and loss of RM25.

- You "return" a loaf of bread to Ali plus some interest.

- You end up with loss of RM25 + interest

Option B

- Hold from buying and keep paying hefty interest to Ali
The extraordinary part with Gamestop is that:
- greedy "investment" company over short Gamestop
- redditors (common people + smaller companies) bought a lot of real Gamestop stock and refusing to sell at any price
- the price gets pushed up gila-gila
- Either option A or B... those investment companies kaw2 rugi
There's more to the story but I dont know how to describe it since it's more to do with the investment company overpromising stock that doesnt exist cause they greedily trying to rake in more money which is actually illegal. It is also the reason why it cause a cycle of buying and repeat by the people shorting like an infinite glitch which forces the stock price to jump. Short squeeze they call it.

This post has been edited by TrialGone: Jan 28 2021, 10:13 PM
TrialGone
post Jan 28 2021, 10:21 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(empyreal @ Jan 28 2021, 10:11 PM)
If some people believe that a perpetually loss making company with not much growth prospect is worth 300usd a pop, id say theyre brave.
It's not "some people" though. Cause of short squeeze ironically it's the investment companies themselves who tried to shortsell that is causing the stock price to rise. That's what make this investment story so interest and case study.

This post has been edited by TrialGone: Jan 28 2021, 10:21 PM
TrialGone
post Jan 29 2021, 01:00 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(happyking4ever @ Jan 29 2021, 12:41 PM)
I see people happily go buy derivatives like call put warrants, and hope that will make them rich, while it is actually hedging which make such things possible in the first place. they don't see it as exploit then.

but for some reasons, they consider this to be exploits:

A hedge fund is an investment fund that trades in relatively liquid assets and is able to make extensive use of more complex trading, portfolio-construction and risk management techniques to improve performance, such as short selling, leverage, and derivatives.[1] Financial regulators generally restrict hedge fund marketing except to institutional investors, high net worth individuals and others who are considered sufficiently sophisticated.

Hedge funds are regarded as alternative investments. Their ability to make more extensive use of leverage and more complex investment techniques distinguishes them from regulated investment funds available to the retail market, such as mutual funds and ETFs. They are also considered distinct from private-equity funds and other similar closed-end funds, as hedge funds generally invest in relatively liquid assets and are generally open-ended, meaning that they allow investors to invest and withdraw capital periodically based on the fund's net asset value, whereas private-equity funds generally invest in illiquid assets and only return capital after a number of years.[2][3] However, other than a fund's regulatory status there are no formal or fixed definitions of fund types, and so there are different views of what can constitute a "hedge fund".

Although hedge funds are not subject to many restrictions that apply to regulated funds, regulations were passed in the United States and Europe following the financial crisis of 2007–2008 with the intention of increasing government oversight of hedge funds and eliminating certain regulatory gaps.[4]

Although most modern hedge funds are able to employ a wide variety of financial instruments and risk management techniques,[5] they can be very different from each other with respect to their strategies, risks, volatility and expected return profile. It is common for hedge fund investment strategies to aim to achieve a positive return on investment regardless of whether markets are rising or falling ("absolute return"). Although hedge funds can be considered risky investments, the expected returns of some hedge fund strategies are less volatile than those of retail funds with high exposure to stock markets, because of the use of hedging techniques.
It's not about hedge funds existence la. It's about them being too greedy by shorting more stocks than what is available and trying to actively bankrupt gamestop (manipulating market) so they can profit.

This post has been edited by TrialGone: Jan 29 2021, 01:00 PM
TrialGone
post Jan 29 2021, 02:10 PM

603 posts

As far I can tell........doesnt seem like the "big boys" of wallstreets have learn anything from 2008 financial meltdown.
TrialGone
post Jan 29 2021, 02:18 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(whyamiblack @ Jan 29 2021, 02:12 PM)
Why would they? Bailed out and at best get a slap on the hand. Everyone else pays for the bailout for the next decade.
Well, that depends if that company doesnt end up being the scapegoat. Someone has to take the fall. That's why they are now working very hard to pin blame on redditors.

Either way there is going to be casualty, even big firms who is getting bailout is not exempted.

TrialGone
post Jan 29 2021, 07:24 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(ichigo_6091 @ Jan 29 2021, 07:20 PM)
Melvin Capital play dead only, maybe waiting price die down then cash out minimal losses
Again that's not how shorting works. You cant just hold a borrowed shares without paying interest to the broker. Also if that's the case, melvin capital wont be this panic buying back shares.

This post has been edited by TrialGone: Jan 29 2021, 07:25 PM
TrialGone
post Jan 29 2021, 07:45 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(ichigo_6091 @ Jan 29 2021, 07:33 PM)
I get that interest is being paid, and ideally that shares brokered on a short position would need to be paid according to current share price
I'm looking at it ominously / bodoh view, such that eventhough publicly they declare that they are in deep shit, but whos to say that they didnt beg/cut a deal with their broker to hold off on closing the position first, but play dead to the public hoping that they run out of steam to the share price at least normalizes a bit.
From where I'm standing, they look pretty panicky to me. Even if they try to demonize redditors, majority investors not that stupid and look at one sos only.
TrialGone
post Jan 29 2021, 07:47 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(lawliet88 @ Jan 29 2021, 07:29 PM)
also when u see certain billionaire lose their temper on live news you know how much its hurting em  rclxms.gif
yep can tell. one thing I learn, if they earn lots of money, most wont go around boasting how much profit they make. They will only go public if a) they want to influence market like Elon's tweet b) they in deep shit and trying to pin blame.
TrialGone
post Jan 29 2021, 07:49 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(herrkolisch @ Jan 29 2021, 07:42 PM)
Hahaha, the genius who thought of the plan "hey, why not just short it till the price is $0 so we don't have to pay anything at all?" deserves to be a case study of wall street idiots in school textbooks.
Not that surprising. Blockbuster, toy r us, radioshack went bust cause of changing time. Wont be surprise if they hoping it will follow suit. You know the rest.
TrialGone
post Jan 29 2021, 11:07 PM

603 posts

Lol, I just heard someone say I dont care if I lose a hundred or a thousand dollar, I just want to see this hedge funds crash and burn. It's not just about the money.

Yeah, it's going stonk.
TrialGone
post Jan 30 2021, 12:58 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Jan 30 2021, 12:21 PM)
Yesterday Friday, NY time, GME/Gamestop share closed at around US$325 each. Are those who bought at this price, the Hedge Funds covering their short-sells or Retail investors hoping to cash in at coming prices of >US$500 to US$5k.?
....... What if the price does not increase above US$325 on Monday but instead crashes back to US$10 in the next week or two.?
Well that just means retail only lost the share they bought. They know the risk. Retail buy 10, he only lose 10.

Greedy HF short sellers on the other hand risk losing way way way more than retails. HF shortsell 10, he potentially lose 10000000000---

This post has been edited by TrialGone: Jan 30 2021, 01:00 PM
TrialGone
post Jan 30 2021, 01:06 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Jan 30 2021, 01:02 PM)
https://markets.businessinsider.com/news/st...21-1-1030020684 - short-sellers-sitting-on-19-billion-of-(paper) losses-on-gamestop-data-shows - 6 hours ago
... Melvin Capital and Citron Research both said this week that they had closed their short positions, but they did not disclose any losses incurred. ....

What if most of the affected Hedge Funds have already closed most of their short-sells on GME/Gamestop at about US$300 per share yesterday, Friday.? If so, the price will likely crash next week or two.
Well stock price then should be dropping........but it didn't. What that tell you?
TrialGone
post Jan 30 2021, 01:44 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Jan 30 2021, 01:20 PM)
On Thursday, 28 Jan 2021, GME/Gamestop share price dropped 44% to US$197 after many online brokerage, eg Robinhood, stopped the buying of very-shorted GME and other shares. It can drop again. Will Retail investors who bought at >US$300 per GME share, be catching the falling knife.?
ummmmmmm that drop is different since it is caused by robinhood stopping the buy. Im answering to you asking about the potential drop due to Melvin capital and citron closing short positions......why u trying to twist this?

Sound like you really wish for GME to crash some reason.

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Jan 30 2021, 01:02 PM)
https://markets.businessinsider.com/news/st...21-1-1030020684 - short-sellers-sitting-on-19-billion-of-(paper) losses-on-gamestop-data-shows - 6 hours ago
... Melvin Capital and Citron Research both said this week that they had closed their short positions, but they did not disclose any losses incurred. ....

What if most of the affected Hedge Funds have already closed most of their short-sells on GME/Gamestop at about US$300 per share yesterday, Friday.? If so, the price will likely crash next week or two.
This post has been edited by TrialGone: Jan 30 2021, 01:46 PM
TrialGone
post Jan 30 2021, 03:13 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Slowpokeking @ Jan 30 2021, 03:02 PM)
This.

I believe the forum already been infiltrated and there areΒ  distraction campaign going on.

Their main goal is only GME.

To the moon πŸš€πŸš€πŸš€πŸš€πŸš€πŸš€πŸš€πŸš€
Actually they targeting any shorted stocks >100%. GME just happen to be one and as iconic as blockbuster and more memeable than other shorted companies. I mean the news even get picked up by gaming news sites even though stock trading not their theme. It further gets propelled by elon musk tweet.

This post has been edited by TrialGone: Jan 30 2021, 03:13 PM
TrialGone
post Jan 31 2021, 11:59 AM

603 posts

............Is HF chief meme CEO "lurkingaround" here? Didn't know /k is popular amongst wallstreets, lol.

TrialGone
post Jan 31 2021, 02:21 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(nigerian prince @ Jan 31 2021, 01:09 PM)
in order to pull down a few hedge funds, many small retail investors will burn in the process. stupid and inevitable.
..................that's what wallstreetbets community are.

They describe themselves as "Like 4chan found a bloomberg terminal." with "7.2million degenerates".

You can call them stupid but what does that make HF who is getting owned by stupid people?
TrialGone
post Jan 31 2021, 06:12 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(nigerian prince @ Jan 31 2021, 04:34 PM)
i'm just saying price of gme is overblown. is that fair market?
doh.gif Go read the news what it is all about. You clearly no idea what is going on.
TrialGone
post Feb 1 2021, 08:37 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(nigerian prince @ Feb 1 2021, 07:56 AM)
i did. and i don't think it's a good idea to invest in an overvalued stock.
i tell you a wise sage, invest in undervalued stock only.  laugh.gif
No one disagreeing with you. But you clearly still dont get what is going on. READ THE NEWS

0.0597sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:43 PM