Undecided [ 13 ] ** [11.50%]
Total Votes: 113
Guests cannot vote 

TSmatty
post Jan 27 2021, 11:24 AM, updated 5y ago

347 posts

Now we are in the middle of 4G and might be able to enjoy 5G in a very near future.
So when buying a new phone, will 5G be one of your buying criteria?
NoobboyZzZ
post Jan 27 2021, 11:25 AM

317 posts

If u planing chg phone 1-2 year no need
xperiaDROID
post Jan 27 2021, 11:28 AM

K
3,966 posts

It's not even a "very near future", govt will only plan to launch 5G by 2022 - 2023.

If you're gonna be using the phone for long term, then yes, go for the 5G. Otherwise, go for anything that's cheaper at the moment.

But then again, 5G phones are getting cheaper, so many phones that will be offered in the near future will come with 5G support anyways. Currently in our market, you can already get a 5G phone at around RM 1.2k - 1.4k cheapest, such as Realme 7 5G and Huawei Nova 7 SE 5G.

If you have a 5G phone right now, you will just disable 5G to save battery, I'm also using a 5G phone btw.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Jan 27 2021, 11:31 AM
Higgsboson8888
post Jan 27 2021, 11:29 AM

362 posts

Sometimes I still get 3G... Good to have but you wouldn't use it daily, just look at how it drains the battery then you know... For me personally, no
Baconateer
post Jan 27 2021, 11:30 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

TBH...you dont really get to choose whether you want 5G or not if you are buying a phone in the future.

Almost all of it comes with 5G..
hightechgadgets8
post Jan 27 2021, 11:33 AM

\(^o^)/
6,020 posts

buy 4g, 5g not even out
LarryPizzaGuy
post Jan 27 2021, 11:38 AM

/k 20k Club (Verified)
880 posts

5G currently have limited coverage and connectivity is inconsistent due to its mmWave easily blocked by a thin drywall...

Current implementation is slow, and the only way for 5G to be fully mature (the same way it took 4G LTE 4 years to reach its current state), telco will need to deploy multiple 5G cell sites every city block (which also incur huge running power cost).

Conclusion, no. Unless you're in it for the hype and bragging rights. Stick with 4G and then consider getting 5G phones 4 years later (at the current 5G rollout rate in Malaysia).
DesRed
post Jan 27 2021, 04:50 PM

Delta Echo Sierra Eight Five
2,867 posts

Noticed that phones released late last year and this year are touting 5G, but haven't seen much news about the 5G rollout plans here. Furthermore, like what the others had mentioned, this current crop of 5G phones seem to suffer from battery draining issues when using this mode, so maybe best to wait for 2 or 3 iterations before this stabilises.

Probably gonna hang on to my 4G/LTE phone for the time being until something better comes along.
choon.v2
post Jan 29 2021, 02:44 PM

58 posts

Malaysia's 4G is already matured so you won't lose out from getting a 4G phone. Even if you want to futureproof, 5G will take time to be fully implemented and matured. Personally, I don't mind a 4G phone. Connection is fast, stable and I can still play online games without a hitch.
TSmatty
post Jan 29 2021, 04:12 PM

347 posts

It look like 5G spec is really not so important in another 2 years or so. In that case, OS version, chipset, processor, RAM and ROM is still the main point when looking for a phone within one own budget.
JLA
post Jan 30 2021, 09:19 AM

2,795 posts

good news. less 5G smartphone release this year

Samsung Electronics said a global semiconductor shortage that has hit global carmakers could also disrupt orders for the memory chips used in smartphones, as manufacturers rushed to respond to the ...
TSmatty
post Feb 1 2021, 08:30 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Jan 30 2021, 09:19 AM)
good news. less 5G smartphone release this year

Samsung Electronics said a global semiconductor shortage that has hit global carmakers could also disrupt orders for the memory chips used in smartphones, as manufacturers rushed to respond to the ...
This really make 5G taking a back seat. Personally, I don't mind the our current 4G speed at all. It still get thing done with a decent time. Sometime we really need to slow thing down. more and more people are really short on patient in recent time.
Created On 21/1/2021
post Feb 1 2021, 11:03 AM

1,347 posts

QUOTE(matty @ Feb 1 2021, 08:30 AM)
This really make 5G taking a back seat. Personally, I don't mind the our current 4G speed at all. It still get thing done with a decent time. Sometime we really need to slow thing down. more and more people are really short on patient in recent time.
Faster is always better.

I want to have an internet speed where we can seamlessly load multiple 4k videos, gaming with low latency.
DesRed
post Feb 3 2021, 06:38 PM

Delta Echo Sierra Eight Five
2,867 posts

If there is a need for faster speeds to stream multiple 4K videos or uninterrupted online gaming sessions, do yourself a favour and subscribe to a fast broadband connection which is WiFi 5/6 capable.

Don't get the appeal to do this on a small screen such as a smartphone. Prefer to play games and view videos on a laptop/PC with a monitor or a 4K TV.
nexona88
post Feb 14 2021, 11:38 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,576 posts

Just stick to 4G first...
Because 5G won't be available in Malaysia next 1 or 2 year...

So buy later...
And lower price with better spec 👍
SKYjack
post Feb 20 2021, 11:02 AM

367 posts

Personally I dislike using the phone for browsing the net, everything is too small even on my 6inch samsung.

I will stick with 4G as long as I can. My requirement is only whatsapp,mudah.com & phone! Waze when I drive outstation to warn me the hiding hantu under the bridge with the speed trap gun!
HaleYeah
post Feb 21 2021, 10:46 AM

65 posts

Too early to ask and tell imo.
Theoutspokenguy
post Feb 21 2021, 10:57 AM

I buwee ktards ke ke
4,602 posts

QUOTE(matty @ Jan 27 2021, 11:24 AM)
Now we are in the middle of 4G and might be able to enjoy 5G in a very near future.
So when buying a new phone, will 5G be one of your buying criteria?
Do you know as of today 4G is still not stable and very weak signal. It took nearly 7 years still crap. So 5G expect another 7 years so most flagship phone can last max 5 years so no rush.
TSmatty
post Feb 22 2021, 10:11 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Novogratz @ Feb 22 2021, 12:11 AM)
5G roll out in Malaysia very slow. No pressure to buy 5G phone now.
seem like our PM announcement is just like a teaser saja la.. Anyway decided to get 4G only. no point getting the 5G and right now or in near future most of the time we will also stuck in the house. get a better wifi will be a wiser choice.
touristking
post Feb 23 2021, 04:52 PM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Novogratz @ Feb 23 2021, 03:09 AM)
Once again Malaysia complicates 5G with single provider.
no point everybody having the their own tower when 1 will do. Save money.

And existing telco and spend their money to improve 4G. And buy 5G from government.

0.0583sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:01 PM