timing belt, alternator bearing ?

SUSsentro2020
post Aug 23 2007, 08:12 PM, updated 19y ago

903 posts

guys, i just changed my timing belt today

After change, i notice my clucth go very very high ... even they didnt set it. last time i release a bit my car can move adi. now release 1/2 baru car can move ...
is it normal thing after change timing belt ???

What else will affect after change belt ? is it fuel consumption ?

=======

after change everything, the foreman told me my alternator bearing is almost kong. can hear the sound 'kring kring kring' iron sound when my car rev ... its from alternator there.

he advice me change the bearing asap... cos once spoilt it'll jam... then gonna change whole alternator

how much does the bearing cost ? n how bout alternator itself ?
fantagero
post Aug 23 2007, 08:17 PM

[ToFish4RepliesLikeYours]
2,723 posts

QUOTE(sentro2020 @ Aug 23 2007, 08:12 PM)
guys, i just changed my timing belt today
After change, i notice my clucth go very very high ... even they didnt set it. last time i release a bit my car can move adi. now release 1/2 baru car can move ...
is it normal thing after change timing belt ???

What else will affect after change belt ? is it fuel consumption ?

=======

after change everything, the foreman told me my alternator bearing is almost kong. can hear the sound 'kring kring kring' iron sound when my car rev ... its from alternator there.

he advice me change the bearing asap... cos once spoilt it'll jam... then gonna change whole alternator
how much does the bearing cost ? n how bout alternator itself ?
last time,, alternator kong completely,,
changed for rm200 oni..
notworthy.gif
ataris
post Aug 23 2007, 08:19 PM

Eyes of a Gamer
1,635 posts

my kancil bearings, last time cost me about 90-110 a piece.
spana
post Aug 23 2007, 09:44 PM

1,018 posts

for auto cars...better take care of the alternator carefully as when it kong, ur battery wont get recharged and will die within few hours oni...

i kena once...while driving, my car suddenly shut down. no power at all, so thought that battery kong, go ask my brother buy new battery (200 plus)...after change battery everything work as normal...thought everything okay, but then after few hours driving, the engine shut down again with no power at all...so i suspected the alternator must be the culprit...change a second hand alternator set (RM200 plus ), and it still working till today...
Malkor
post Aug 24 2007, 01:54 AM

69 posts

I dont know why changing the timing belt would cause problems to your clutch. I have had my timing belt changed before and it didn'
t give me any problems with the clutch. Perhaps your mechanic made some adjustment to the clutch while changed your timing belt. Cos if your car is a front wheel drive, which it probably is, it would be quite easy for the mechanic to make adjustments to it.

Regarding your alternator, well if it is truly the alternator then you should get it changed, coz you don't wanna be driving around when suddenly you realize that the battery didn't charge and you cant start the car. It shouldn't cost you much if you only need to change the bearings. My best advise to you is whenever they change anything in your car, make sure you have a look at the problem and see what it is that was broken. Ask the mechanic to show you the broken parts etc. Hope this helps.
sinhg
post Aug 24 2007, 08:26 AM

101 posts

who know timing belt price for kenari???
i want to change it end if the month...
Malkor
post Aug 24 2007, 07:20 PM

69 posts

It should be less then RM 100, probably close to about RM60. Coz the ones for the saga,iswara and wira is RM60. Its a set by the way
SUSsentro2020
post Aug 25 2007, 03:25 PM

903 posts

if i heard the 'krikk krrikkk' iron sound near the alternator belt area ...

is it bcos the bearing problem ???
Malkor
post Aug 25 2007, 05:44 PM

69 posts

hard to say, but if you say it is an iron sound which would really indicate that its something mechanical in the alternator. which can only be the bearing or perhaps a part of the alternator that is loose and bouncing around in there.

Just have your mechanic take the alternator out and have it checked, it wont take long so you can stay and watch. If it is a minor problem then you can have the part changed. However if you are in need for a new alternator then you have 2 choices

1. Get a brand new one, which will cost quite a lot
2. Get a recon, which basically means second hand but vital parts have been changed with new ones. And it has been cleaned up to look like new.

Also if you replace the old one, you can sell off the old alternator back to the suppliers as they will take it for reconstruction. So you would probably save a good RM 30, but selling the old one.

SUSsentro2020
post Aug 25 2007, 06:24 PM

903 posts

i ask spare part shop ... they say it cost about rm120 onli for new alternator wor ... like apm brand. for wira 1.3 lor

issit reliable ??
soitsuagain
post Aug 25 2007, 10:48 PM

Let's do it together!
3,815 posts

I will say that the mechanic screw something up. If he did it on purpose, I won't know.
Malkor
post Aug 26 2007, 12:47 PM

69 posts

Yeah, I know what you mean. It can be a b**** when the mechanics screw around on purpose. What I normally do is only ensure that the mechanic makes does the workmanship and I would purchase the parts myself

neosaint99
post Aug 27 2007, 01:32 PM

^RedbluE^
1,216 posts

QUOTE(Malkor @ Aug 24 2007, 07:20 PM)
It should be less then RM 100, probably close to about RM60. Coz the ones for the saga,iswara and wira is RM60. Its a set by the way
all in will be more
coz when you change timing belt you also have to change the tensioner bearing and the oil seals
all in should be about 200+ ...close to 300...depending on wat brands u buy

and regarding the clutch thing, the timing belt and the clutch have nothing to do with each other
there is no way that the clutch setting could have changed if the timing belt was changed
the mechanic must have (be it unintentionally or intentionally) touched something else
the clutch is usually adjusted by a hand nut on the (when facing the engine from the front) left of the engine
for it to be accidentally moved (to make such a drastic change no less) would be quite unlikely hmm.gif

This post has been edited by neosaint99: Aug 27 2007, 01:36 PM
cheeann
post Aug 27 2007, 01:39 PM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

normally i'll stay there n c their workmanship s i dun trust them on thier workmanship cuz who knows tat they'll screw up lil lil things tat u might not even expected le. . .

0.0181sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:53 PM