8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Disney+ is officially launching in M'sia. Finally!, No need VPN

SUSChekusan2019
post Feb 4 2021, 01:32 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Jan 27 2021, 05:38 PM)

Pray tell sir

Don't u have to pay the streaming service first b4 u can access their content

Even with VPN?

So how does that equal copyright pirates?
treblecase
post Feb 4 2021, 01:35 PM

IHI
779 posts

Oooiiii mana Disney+??????
bbbuuuggwp
post Feb 4 2021, 01:42 PM

news too early. pancut dy
submergedx
post Feb 4 2021, 02:58 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Chekusan2019 @ Feb 4 2021, 01:32 PM)
Pray tell sir

Don't u have to pay the streaming service first b4 u can access their content

Even with VPN?

So how does that equal copyright pirates?
Half right, half wrong. You paid for Malaysia region content, not the globally. If yes why not netflix open broad to worldwide?
Going via VPN nothing wrong, that said, the fault are which content you browsing after you get through it.
Both action(watch extra content at VPN & pirate software) are breaching the law.

Of course im not saint la, i do pirates also
but i dont promote my fault action.

The concept are different.

This post has been edited by submergedx: Feb 4 2021, 03:01 PM
SUSChekusan2019
post Feb 4 2021, 04:09 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Feb 4 2021, 02:58 PM)
Half right, half wrong. You paid for Malaysia region content, not the globally. If yes why not netflix open broad to worldwide?
Going via VPN nothing wrong, that said, the fault are which content you browsing after you get through it.
Both action(watch extra content at VPN & pirate software) are breaching the law.

So you are saying that those paying streaming services n using VPN is the same as the pirates who pay zero cent.

OMG mind blown
RoastedChicken
post Feb 4 2021, 04:11 PM

味噌チキン
1,277 posts

Goodbye Astro
SUSthepark
post Feb 4 2021, 04:18 PM

20 posts

Kesian astro. Can only have old people subsciber
touristking
post Feb 4 2021, 04:21 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Feb 4 2021, 07:58 AM)

How about this.

Using VPN, you go to Netflix USA website and paid USD for subscription.

After subscription, you use VPN to watch USA Netflix content.

Actually I did that with Disney+. I went to Disney USA website and paid in USD using BigPay card. Apparently Disney can't get the money so subscription cancelled by Disney. I think you must use a USA card or something.

This post has been edited by touristking: Feb 4 2021, 04:25 PM
plurbuddyskuppy
post Feb 4 2021, 04:29 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Feb 4 2021, 04:21 PM)
How about this.

Using VPN, you go to Netflix USA website and paid USD for subscription.

After subscription, you use VPN to watch USA Netflix content.

Actually I did that with Disney+. I went to Disney USA website and paid in USD using BigPay card. Apparently Disney can't get the money so subscription cancelled by Disney. I think you must use a USA card or something.
no need hard ur self.

both service is legal.
1st. u pay for vpn. not breaking any laws
2nd. u pay for netflix. not breaking any laws too.

then u watch USA content thru VPN service that u paid using Netflix account that also u paid.

done.

metalfire
post Feb 4 2021, 04:31 PM

1,303 posts

no thanks, still got lanun sites acessible.
wilstroth
post Feb 5 2021, 09:28 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(TrialGone @ Jan 24 2021, 10:37 PM)
Mandalorian........that's it. Can unsubscribe afterwards.

Any other shows afterwards will make your children gey.
bro... if you follow Mandalorian... you need to catchup on the Clone Wars (6 Seasons), Rebels (4 Seasons)... so you need to continue to subscribe...

Otherwise, your Mandalorian... no head no tail leh...

Clone Wars + Rebels ... lead to Mandalorian too..

This post has been edited by wilstroth: Feb 5 2021, 09:28 AM
raquinz
post Feb 5 2021, 09:47 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(wilstroth @ Feb 5 2021, 09:28 AM)
bro... if you follow Mandalorian... you need to catchup on the Clone Wars (6 Seasons), Rebels (4 Seasons)... so you need to continue to subscribe...

Read wikia enuffla..can know the whole backstory in just one night
SUSNB01
post Feb 5 2021, 09:50 AM

280 posts

Disney see what wor. MCU movies already all watched. Star Wars all sampah except Mandalorian. The coming MCU TV series doesn't sound so hot either.

At any rate, can watch on POPCORN TIME.

Netflix still way better with tons of varieties.

My NFLX just went up last night. Cukur. Free Netflix for a few more years.
SUSNB01
post Feb 5 2021, 09:52 AM

280 posts

I only watch Mandalorian. What no head no tail? Easy to understand. Only need to know Asoka is from Clone Wars. No need to watch all those.
drowning
post Feb 5 2021, 09:56 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(thepark @ Feb 4 2021, 04:18 PM)
Kesian astro. Can only have old people subsciber
Not true. My parents has long abandoned ASTRO. Only keep that free astro thingy because they want to watch local news.
SUSNB01
post Feb 5 2021, 09:59 AM

280 posts

Actually i agree. But it is not a great sin. So please continue. I do likewise.
SUSNB01
post Feb 5 2021, 10:04 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(drowning @ Feb 5 2021, 09:56 AM)
Not true. My parents has long abandoned ASTRO. Only keep that free astro thingy because they want to watch local news.
Now can watch terresitial TV in HD liao via Digital Broadcast. No need Nnjoi sampah.
happyking4ever
post Feb 5 2021, 10:15 AM

354 posts

If you look at the parties that get affected by VPN bypassing geoblock:

1. Netflix: they don't care, they already get your payment from subscriptions

2. The content owner: they don't truly care, sort of. They license the content to Netflix and already get the payment from Netflix. However, they does not license to Netflix to serve Malaysia region and therefore getting less payment from Netflix, instead, they want to license such content to Malaysia content provider such as Astro to earn additional money. If Astro already license that and pay the content owner, then the content owner don't really care how the users get their content from, VPN or Astro, because to them the earnings are already the same. And if Astro does not license that content, then there is no way for the content owner to make additional money even if the user VPN and stream a region block content. Or rather, they may still make some money, by either selling bluray or DVD disc, which has already gone bankrupt in Malaysia, or persuade Astro to license the content and hence getting extra money from it. But it is a bit of a long shot so it is likely that they know it won't truly make much differences. Nowadays the content owner focus is more on launching their own streaming service, and then cut off Netflix and get the user to subscribe directly from them.

3. Astro: they care. because they already pay for the content and it is supposed to be their selling point to persuade more people to sign up for Astro and buy premium package from them. But does /k care about Astro? tongue.gif
Also, if the titles are already very old and Astro does not pay for the content, then they don't care also.

Compare to this to someone simply pirates instead of paying VPN to bypass region block:

1. Netflix gets nothing
2. Content owner gets nothing
3. Astro gets nothing

It is quite obvious all the stakeholders care more about someone pirating than bypassing region block.

This post has been edited by happyking4ever: Feb 5 2021, 10:16 AM
TrialGone
post Feb 5 2021, 11:13 AM

603 posts

Disney gonna retcon the entire starwars anyway. Who cares.
dogsick
post Feb 9 2021, 01:21 PM

19 posts

All this VPN thing-ie and whether if it's legal or not has to do with licensing and distribution rights.

In the good old days before the Internet, content owners (people who owns content including the intellectual property of those content including characters, plots, etc) monetise their assets by working with content producers (film studios, etc) and getting those produced content (film, series, animation) to users via distributors who then hawk them to exhibitors (tv stations, cinema chains, etc). So it's a complex value chain where rights are all over the place.

The most common distribution model has been carved out based on geographical windows (for example, SEA is one, China is another, North America, etc). So even though for some company as powerful as Disney who tends to own not only the intellectual property but also the production companies and also their own distribution, this is still a fractured system. For example, certain produced content were promised exclusively to certain exhibitors (eg. Astro) for an agreed period of time. Compounding the matter in the past is that digital distribution rights in the past were often not separated or they are bundled in together with broadcasting rights, etc. So that is why the catalogue is different from region to region (and in some cases, country to country).

Now that Netflix has shown the power of streaming, most content owners are slowing clawing back their rights so that they can get into the direct to customer streaming game. The reason why you can't see the content that you want on your local Netflix versus say an American Netflix is often due to the rights not being available for Netflix to show in Malaysia as they probably belong to someone else in this region.

It all has to do with economics- whether if the content owners/producers believe that they can make more money licensing the content to a 3rd party or keeping/buying-back the rights for themselves to offer on their streaming platform.

While it is legal for anyone to subscribe to the streaming providers via VPN, there are some differences which you should take note:-

1. The local Malaysian pricing is usually the cheapest. We are in the part of the world where the subscription cost is lower due to our "developing" status. This is not some "look-down-at-you" situation but more reflective of the market situation where content is "freely" available and these companies have to scale up legal viewership quickly to make up the revenue. The fastest way to do this is to price the service where people can decide that a properly curated streaming service with consistent quality and also accurate recommendation engine can convince you to pay rather than to torrent the content that you want.

2. A local Malaysian account still means that you can VPN to where you want around the world and enjoy the content from there (without paying the country's subscription price). For example, Malaysian Netflix subscription is still cheaper than a US subscription. I have tested this (Netflix, HBO Go) during the good old days when we still get to travel overseas.

For Disney+, this is a little complex. The Disney+ that we will be getting here (like Indonesia) will no doubt be even cheaper than the US one BUT the caveat here is that it is provided by Hotstar. Hotstar is a streaming provider based in India. It was owned by Fox which was subsequently acquired by Disney. Since April 2020, it has been offering Disney+ content on its platform in India and later in Indonesia. It is believed that this will be the vehicle (see the news on their Instagram account handle which is registered as disneyhotstarmalaysia) that will be used by Disney to expand to the Asian markets.

So far, as the service is not launched, it is not clear if a Hotstar subscription (username/password) allows you the same access to the Disney+ platform from across the world and vice-versa. However, you can peruse their Indian and Indonesian website to see the content that we can get. I don't think that it will be same as the US one but from what I can see, Star Wars, Marvel and the Disney libraries are there.

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0212sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:51 PM