cracked ipad

TSnate_nightroad
post Jan 24 2021, 12:10 AM, updated 5y ago

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

Hi guys, i accidentally dropped my ipad pro 11 gen 2. Needless to say, the screen cracked, and side dented. Touch screen and face ID still ok.

It's under warranty but i am sure accidental damage and cracked screen is not covered.

I checked switch and machines fees, around 3k for an entire unit replacement. which is insane…

What are my options? sell it, fix it?

Thanks guys.
jichuen
post Jan 24 2021, 12:41 AM

628 posts

Depends if you still have warranty or not. However, I might be wrong, but i think you warranty kinda voided, if you bring in and say something wwrong the next time, they will blame it to you mistake of ddroppin it

Or it there is a recall program, they will ask you to fix the screen together.

Either way, sounds like third party replacement is your only option
TSnate_nightroad
post Jan 24 2021, 01:40 AM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

It’s still under warranty. And cracked screen is not covered

Anyway i will go to a shop tomorrow and get a quotation on third party repair

Any other suggestions are welcome!
TSnate_nightroad
post Jan 24 2021, 12:03 PM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

Question: if I use third party repair, can apple lock my ipad or can I update my ipados without any consequences?
Baconateer
post Jan 24 2021, 12:06 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(nate_nightroad @ Jan 24 2021, 12:03 PM)
Question: if I use third party repair, can apple lock my ipad or can I update my ipados without any consequences?
should be no problem..

ur only concern should be the quality of the screen and repair..
TSnate_nightroad
post Jan 24 2021, 12:07 PM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

Double post

This post has been edited by nate_nightroad: Jan 24 2021, 12:07 PM
TSnate_nightroad
post Jan 24 2021, 02:29 PM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

I came back, the third party quoted about 2k to replace the screen and he said apple can detect a screen replacement and show up a warning occasionally while using
Gold_Moderator
post Feb 14 2021, 07:28 PM

3,135 posts

QUOTE(nate_nightroad @ Jan 24 2021, 12:10 AM)
Hi guys, i accidentally dropped my ipad pro 11 gen 2. Needless to say, the screen cracked, and side dented. Touch screen and face ID still ok.

It's under warranty but i am sure accidental damage and cracked screen is not covered.

I checked switch and machines fees, around 3k for an entire unit replacement. which is insane…

What are my options? sell it, fix it?

Thanks guys.
Then just repair the outer glass.

0.0155sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:12 PM