haturaya
post Apr 9 2021, 10:08 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(IpohGuyz @ Mar 23 2021, 08:05 PM)
If outside cat lifespan 5 years i will be glad. From my experience it's 6months to 1 year.

Outside my house got alot of strays. I do put some buffet food for them at my porch. The rate is 9/12 cats are dead or missing within 1 year. Still got 3 cats roaming outside for 1 year+.

Dead reasons usually roll by car, bitten by stray dog. Some just goes missing. I assume they are dead too cause sometimes neighbour say they clean up corpse at garden few times d. Or kill by snake cause got snake incident in neighbourhood too.
Outside cat had to defend themselves from so many things as you mention. In our neighbourhood, there's a huge phyton lurking around eating cat for dinner. Cought the action on CCTV before. sad.gif Our neghbourhood CCTV also cought a pack of strays dogs ripped a cat into pieces. sad.gif
haturaya
post May 18 2022, 11:50 AM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(idless @ May 18 2022, 09:47 AM)
Hi everyone! I'm planning to adopt a kitten soon, want to ask some advice:

1. I have a 4-year-old dog, he generally ignores other animals (timid, he prefers hooman). How do I introduce the new kitty to the household so they get along well?

2. Any kitten food brand to recommend (preferably kibbles)? The kitten will be 100% indoor so would like to choose brand that produce less smelly poop. Kitten is currently on wet food + kibbles.

Thank you in advance!
1. Close monitoring, gradual introduction. Depends on your doggo personality.

2. go to Cat Supermarket, try multiple brand, find one that the kitten like / prefer and less smelly poop. Different cat - different poop sweat.gif As for me, I use Royal Canine. Pricey but the less poop smell.
haturaya
post Jun 24 2022, 11:28 AM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(twopiece @ Jun 24 2022, 12:33 AM)
hey guys.. rescued a kitten few months back...shd b around 6months old nw..she has a bad habit of bitting us but not toys..we r covered with little scars now @@ any advise from sifu sekalian for this matter ?
The kitten want to play, but doesn't know how to hide the claws. When the claws are out, play dead. Less attraction to claw you.
haturaya
post Jul 3 2022, 08:50 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(iOrange @ Jul 3 2022, 07:37 PM)
guys how do you provide care to your cats when you are on a short trip?
Cat hotel / boarding thumbsup.gif
haturaya
post Oct 5 2022, 03:37 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(Alert_RaZO @ Oct 5 2022, 11:47 AM)
Quite sad that if a cat is sick, it decides to hide and die itself.

One of my taman cat, disappear, even the bangkai also cannot be found. Just want a closure to find the corpse bury properly.
Happened to many of my cats. It's always like that. Old age, sick, hiding then puff gone for good. bye.gif
haturaya
post Oct 19 2022, 11:20 AM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(IpohGuyz @ Oct 19 2022, 10:20 AM)
It's better to have companion, different sex preferably. They can teman each other when you not available. I have 12 cats. Not worried leaving them alone when I go vacation/long period of times, since they got companions. Only problem is too much shits when return home
Same case with my 7 cats. Roaming freely in and out of our house. The have their own door to get in and out. The cat litter can 'overflow' if left them alone for 4-5 days. rclxub.gif
haturaya
post Nov 2 2022, 03:41 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 1 2022, 09:19 AM)
Hello guys. Any cheaper alternative to Blackwood that is still as healthy?
I always buy Blackwood indoor 6KG
Not sure, because my cats will gobble up any food. whistling.gif
haturaya
post Nov 16 2022, 09:37 AM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 15 2022, 09:12 PM)
I feed my cat wet food.

But I think I can compromise by giving the cats dried food to use with the auto food dispenser. Water is no issue too.

But what about the litter box? Buy extra litter boxes?

If it works, might be able to save a lot of money as pet hotels are pricey! Like RM70-80/night for a decently large room.
As for the litter box. I have 5 large litter boxes in my house's toilet. That toilet is dedicated for cat's toilet, off limit to human use. I clean them on daily basis. My cats' hates 'dirty' litter box. whistling.gif (I'm a hooman cat slave rclxub.gif )

I did install a ventilator, sucking toilet 'fume' straight to outside of the house. Very minimal smell in the house. thumbsup.gif
haturaya
post Nov 17 2022, 08:30 AM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 16 2022, 01:24 PM)
Do you have someone coming to check on your cats when you are away? Worried the auto feeder may not work, water fountain toppled over, cats got injured and bleeding, etc?
Nope, just rely on my 5 CCTVs whistling.gif

As for autofeeder, just use gravity based auto feeder. Zero failure. thumbsup.gif And I don't use water fountain, just a big bowl of water (bottom heavy design). Too heavy to be topled by my notty cats rclxs0.gif

If something wrong, then I'll ask my friend / neighbour to have a look. So far all good. sweat.gif
haturaya
post Nov 27 2022, 09:52 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(Amaru @ Nov 27 2022, 09:48 PM)
How often should I bathe an adult cat?

Right now I just apply spot-on treatment (Advocate). Should I also give them baths?

Any cat shampoo to recommend?
Why would you? Cat is a clean freak. They spend most of their time grooming themselves. whistling.gif
haturaya
post Nov 28 2022, 07:27 AM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(Amaru @ Nov 27 2022, 10:04 PM)
Oh okay. So once per month spot on flea treatment is enough? No need any other maintenance for their fur, right?
Yup.

As for flea treatment, I do it on needed basis. If I see flea, then I'll do the treatment. One of my cats, hardly any flea but the other, like a flea magnet. sweat.gif All of them are 'free-range' cats. Indoor and outdoor as they wish.

For fur treatment - it depends on cat, long hair one maybe can send for grooming & trimming every 2-3 months. Nothing much. Cat groom their fur religiously tongue.gif

haturaya
post Dec 20 2022, 08:53 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Dec 20 2022, 08:23 PM)
any large breed owners here in malaysia?
looking for advise regarding larger breeds like maincoon and caracal?
What kind of advice? hmm.gif
haturaya
post Dec 21 2022, 02:00 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Dec 21 2022, 01:24 PM)
how is day to day life after the initial burst of excitement
Having a cat is a lifetime commitment. It's a companion. Not a toy / something to be a bragging right. It's like a close extension of one family member. So, on daily basis, it's like one of your family members that you have to attend to. sweat.gif
haturaya
post Dec 21 2022, 04:21 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Dec 21 2022, 03:33 PM)
hi thanks for the lecture but i need specifics for bigger cats
Not really a lecture, just sharing some experience. One of my cats even died on my lap. Sick. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

Okay, I used to have a Maine Coon. Bought it when he was 4 months old. Was with us for nearly 2 years. He was stolen. ranting.gif ranting.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

Having a big cat like Maine Coon is like having a cat. Not much different than any other cat. Cat will do cat thing. Respond to you at their own term. tongue.gif Talkative, eats a lot (we fed him Royal Canine Maine Coon dry food and boiled fresh chicken), loved to have a daily car ride.

Extra grooming is a must (extra long hair). Litter box must be clean twice a day. He's clean freak. He'll complaint all day long till it's clean. Meow meow meow.. my litter box... hooman - clean it...

haturaya
post Dec 21 2022, 04:44 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Dec 21 2022, 04:39 PM)
my considerations more like due to his size do i need to do anything extra
Nothing much. Maine Coon just a big & heavy cat. Gentle giant IMHO. Not hectic & notty like Bengal (used to have one too). thumbup.gif

Owh, forgot, Maine Coon can be train to be leash like a doggo. thumbsup.gif We used to bring our Maine Coon out on leash.

This post has been edited by haturaya: Dec 21 2022, 04:45 PM
haturaya
post Dec 21 2022, 09:03 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Dec 21 2022, 06:55 PM)
MC ok to swim i hear
It's rare for a cat to go near water. They normally like their fur dry and warm. sweat.gif
haturaya
post Mar 27 2023, 07:04 AM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(Amaru @ Mar 27 2023, 12:04 AM)
Is it normal for a female spayed cat to have mood swings.

Sometimes she is very affectionate. Other times she acts like she don't know me at all. She never hisses at me but one day she cannot be away from me and demands pets and cuddles. Other days if I try to pet she runs away.
It's a cat. Always like that. sweat.gif
haturaya
post May 29 2023, 08:37 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(zinniur @ May 27 2023, 10:20 PM)
guys,wana ask ur opinion whether what i'm doing is correct or not.

i have one female cat,not sure what breed but i think its just kampung type,now 2 years+ old, totally indoor cat.

i just fed her kibble,RC hair n skin and also TOTW,previously using blackwood...very rarely give wet food,maybe two or 3 months once. daily change her water cup.never peed outside litter box as i train her since small, i clean the litter box regularly.

until now i think went to vet 3/4 times just for checkup n injection,cat have been spayed since 1 year old if not mistaken.

my cat no problem,healthy and energetic,but like to bit everyone who disturb her,i guess its normal la.

what i'm asking is is the way i'm feeding her is correct? i assume since she still young she still healthy,but if what i'm doing is wrong in term of feeding her,i would like to avoid any problem in the future as my mom kinda growing fond of her and almost consider her as her grand daughter,haha.

last time i had small cat maybe few months old (too bad my lil bro lost her), i start feeding wet food n she poo everywhere in the house,i think she unable to control or maybe she's too young to eat wet food.
Should be okay, just give your cat boiled chicken / kembong once a week. thumbsup.gif
haturaya
post May 30 2023, 07:21 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(zinniur @ May 30 2023, 09:50 AM)
noted and thanks...will do as recommended.
Just beware with boiled fresh chicken / kembong, my cats don't want to eat any can wet food anymore... whistling.gif sweat.gif spoiled brats tongue.gif

I boiled about 80 grams chicken breast meat or a kembong fish per cat every 2-3 days. Can't afford for daily boil fresh food... too expensive rclxub.gif
haturaya
post Jun 1 2023, 10:10 AM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(idless @ May 31 2023, 12:43 PM)
Recently my cat (1 year+) refused to finish the food in her bowl, sometimes not eating at all in the evening. I'm feeding her RC Hair & Skin, followed the feeding amount for her weight.

She's game for (expensive) cat treats and rejects cheaper snacks though.

Should I be concerned that she's not getting enough nutrients, but she's still plump....
Becoming spoiled pusi. sweat.gif

Once she taste super tasty treats, the rest is just meh.... seriously. sweat.gif

0.0585sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:15 AM