227 posts

Accountant loses RM25k to person impersonating her friend
By ANDY CHUA
NATION
Friday, 22 Jan 2021
https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2021...ting-her-friend
4:00 PM MYT

SIBU: A 50-year-old accountant lost RM25,000 after being cheated by a man who claimed to be a friend of hers named “Kevin”.

Sibu OCPD Asst Comm Stanley Jonathan Ringgit said the victim received a call on Wednesday (Jan 20) from a man who said he was her friend named “Kevin”, adding that he asked the victim for financial assistance claiming he had problems with his business.

“He also told her that his wallet and mobile phone were lost, ” said ACP Stanley on Friday (Jan 22).

Believing that the suspect was her friend, she made an online transaction of RM25,000 into three different accounts.

"However, she became suspicious when the suspect's phone was not reachable after she had transferred the money to him," ACP Stanley added.

The complainant finally realised that she had been cheated when her friend told her that he had never contacted her to ask for money.

In a separate case, a 28-year-old woman was duped of RM2,010 by a bogus car dealer.

ACP Stanely said the woman saw an advertisement on Facebook about a second-hand car for sale.

"She contacted the suspect and chose the car she was interested in buying. She was asked to send photocopies of her personal documents," he said.

Having done that, she was then told to pay RM2,010 as a processing fee, which she did from Jan 11 to 13 but the suspect was no longer contactable after getting the money.

"Both cases are being investigated under Section 420 of the Penal Code for fraud," Stanley added.

dest9116
post Jan 22 2021, 07:35 PM

495 posts

Transfer until 25k, must have smtg she not telling la
Chanwsan
post Jan 22 2021, 07:39 PM

सोहम
1,406 posts

Police nice name
JimbeamofNRT
post Jan 22 2021, 08:01 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Jan 22 2021, 07:35 PM)
Transfer until 25k, must have smtg she not telling la
might be old flame
SiewLee30
post Jan 22 2021, 08:02 PM

46 posts

Olang kita scam
drug5
post Jan 22 2021, 08:03 PM

107 posts

So easy transfer 25k to a friend meh 3 different account somemore
SUS2feidei
post Jan 22 2021, 08:08 PM

Ayam tatau, ayam virgin (c)
3,158 posts

ayam pernah kena....but, not yet scam....call ayam

burn22
post Jan 22 2021, 08:10 PM

398 posts

had that xperience b4, thru whatsapps!!
was truly surprised. but gua ignored, since i know the person memang ada lui. own few condo units, and all fully rented out. moreover, he is not the type that suka minta tolong.

This post has been edited by burn22: Jan 22 2021, 08:10 PM
Capt. Marble
post Jan 22 2021, 08:10 PM

221 posts

Modus operanti :

Scammer : Hi, I changed my phone number. So long never call you. Still remember me?
Victim : Sorry, I don't know...
Scammer : Try to guess...
Victim : Kevin..
Scammer: Wah so good... yes, it's me Kevin.
Victim : Oh.. hi... long time no see...
Scammer: Yeah... blah blah blahb albh...

Few days later...

Scammer : Hi, remember me Victim? I am Kevin... sorry to disturb, I am at xxx. need some help... (keluar sad story... to ask for money...)

This post has been edited by Capt. Marble: Jan 22 2021, 08:11 PM
Strike
post Jan 22 2021, 08:29 PM

51 posts

Parameter less interesting laugh.gif

This already become normal nowadays

Stori also sometimes weird af

niakulah
post Jan 22 2021, 08:30 PM

Senior Artisan
1,277 posts

QUOTE(Capt. Marble @ Jan 22 2021, 08:10 PM)
Modus operanti :

Scammer : Hi, I changed my phone number. So long never call you. Still remember me?
Victim : Sorry, I don't know...
Scammer : Try to guess...
Victim : Kevin..
Scammer: Wah so good... yes, it's me Kevin.
Victim : Oh.. hi... long time no see...
Scammer: Yeah... blah blah blahb albh...

Few days later...

Scammer : Hi, remember me Victim? I am Kevin...  sorry to disturb, I am at xxx. need some help... (keluar sad story... to ask for money...)
My colleague kena too. Even more complicated coz they use info from his SocMed.

Day 1 was just uncle X he really know IRL, a family friend, telling him he lost his phone and this is new number. Totally innocent right?

Then next day invite him to his shop grand opening next week. If your <brother's name> is ok, invite him too. He did post that his brother got into an accident on FB. He also did help this uncle to promote his shop opening in FB.

Then next day say that since he lost his phone he can't do online transaction. Can you help me to pay my vendor first for the grand opening? This is the vendor account number.

And the rest is history...only found out accidentally when Mrs X call him the next day and he told her he helped uncle x...Mrs X say where got uncle lose his phone...
statikinetic
post Jan 22 2021, 08:32 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

When kena scam...

Professionals like accountants and managers lose 25k.
But teachers and clerk can lose until 1M.

Now I realize golongan professional actually is B40.
GonnersKL
post Jan 22 2021, 08:36 PM

114 posts

my boss pon kena before ...

pretend to be a customer boss ....

almost want to transfer few /k i heard ....

in the end he call him up first so very lucky ...

heard after that they guy still calling him pretending to be the same guy....
Capt. Marble
post Jan 22 2021, 08:44 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jan 22 2021, 08:30 PM)
My colleague kena too. Even more complicated coz they use info from his SocMed.

Day 1 was just uncle X he really know IRL, a family friend, telling him he lost his phone and this is new number. Totally innocent right?

Then next day invite him to his shop grand opening next week. If your <brother's name> is ok, invite him too. He did post that his brother got into an accident on FB. He also did help this uncle to promote his shop opening in FB.

Then next day say that since he lost his phone he can't do online transaction. Can you help me to pay my vendor first for the grand opening? This is the vendor account number.

And the rest is history...only found out accidentally when Mrs X call him the next day and he told her he helped uncle x...Mrs X say where got uncle lose his phone...
Yup... they will lure you in with the innocent 'lost phone' or 'change phone' and then keep talking about how are you.., how is your work... apparently trying to get to know you.. then end the conversation with a catch up soon and good bye.

Few days later he called back explaining how he is in a fix and need some money and since he change phone, he only got a few numbers blah blah blah...

The one I wrote above is my actual experience... I gave an unexpected answer to him.
I just said "Sorry I don't even know if it's really you."
He continued with his friendliness... and I persisted on the 'no' and 'sorry'

He eventually gave up and end the call abruptly.

0.0167sec    1.07    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:46 PM