Software Engineering in Malaysia, hi-pay ? have better life ?

TSchuinhooi
post Aug 23 2007, 11:20 AM, updated 19y ago

424 posts

As i know, nowadays software engineering there is not so valuable as much as like b4,
if you are not studying in overseas (software engineering) but in malaysia,
your "price" will not get very high only.....

i dunno how much is the basic salary for software engineering now,
and do they are very needed in malaysia ?

thx for your opinions and advice~
bryan829
post Aug 23 2007, 02:25 PM

96 posts

I just get an offer from Software company for software engineer post. They just willing to pay me RM2100, I am still considering...

Seems like programming is not getting high pay in malaysia.
alwajdi
post Aug 23 2007, 02:43 PM

327 posts

AFAIK, currently if you are applying for a job as a software engineer and you are a fresh graduate, they'll put you to a series of test. If you really impressed the interviewers, you can be sure that you'll get your expected salary or somewhere near it. But it depends on the company though.

If you get a rm2100 offer and you're a fresh grad, you should be thankful as it is above the average here in Malaysia for your current level. But don't worry, it'll surely increase after you've finish your probation period, but still, that depends on the company.

to put it simple, it all depends on the company that you've applied. LOL
zeeshah24
post Aug 23 2007, 03:09 PM

62 posts

Its true, pay in IT industry in masia is low, compare to India and Middle East.
In India, My friend s are getting 8000 to 12000 RM, where the freshers may get 2000 to 3500 Rm, this is considered high pay among others in india.
Where in Middle East like UAE and saudi the pay for supporting role may get 8000-20000RM simply.

So, My frends from India reluctant to come to Malaysia for work.
nelss
post Aug 23 2007, 05:35 PM

123 posts

dunno u guys heard b4 or not, INTELl will pay rm2600++ for a fresh graduate? but it depends on ur graduation grade, if not mistaken, CGPA should be at least 3.5 and above
TSchuinhooi
post Aug 23 2007, 08:59 PM

424 posts

i am currently study software engineering in taiwan university(2nd year),
i heard that the salary in taiwan for fresh graduate is around RM2500..
but it is very easy for increasing your salary in few months...
and about 4 years++, if you done your job very well...u will be promoted into team leader,salary is about RM6000-RM8000..

my lecturer said that nowadays it is too many university student,
so if can,get a master degree in india in this field...then u will become higher pay..

so i am still considering about aftere graduate, bek to malaysia ? or staying oversea...... blush.gif
blue_heaven
post Sep 2 2007, 12:28 AM

22 posts

Just wonder, if RM 2100 in Malaysia consider low then which field is higest pay in Malaysia( fresh grad) ? Enginering / Business Management / Sales ?

I felt is not IT is low pay maybe avearage all the field - fresh grad is around this pay. Pls correct me if I am wrong
TSchuinhooi
post Sep 4 2007, 02:28 AM

424 posts

QUOTE(blue_heaven @ Sep 2 2007, 12:28 AM)
Just wonder, if RM 2100 in Malaysia consider low then which field is higest pay in Malaysia( fresh grad) ? Enginering / Business Management / Sales ?

I felt is not IT is low pay maybe avearage all the field - fresh grad is around this pay. Pls correct me if I am wrong
i think so..if u have experience more than 5-10 years..
your salary will be 2x or higher,
and relatively, the probability of expelled by company are more higher,
hire 3-4 fresh grad (RM2000 x 3/4) are more save cost than hire a veteran who have 10 year experience (RM10,000) laugh.gif laugh.gif
kyon22
post Sep 4 2007, 09:34 AM

141 posts

I remember reading at an ads in the newspaper that a company offering RM8XX salary for software engineer....
Correct me if im wrong...
TSchuinhooi
post Sep 4 2007, 10:50 AM

424 posts

QUOTE(kyon22 @ Sep 4 2007, 09:34 AM)
I remember reading at an ads in the newspaper that a company offering RM8XX salary for software engineer....
rm8xx ?? blink.gif blink.gif
really? software engineering really is a low-pay job in malaysia ,
if in china or western country, it is very high pay...
fyire
post Sep 4 2007, 05:13 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(kyon22 @ Sep 4 2007, 09:34 AM)
To keep things in perspective, there's always ppl out there who's only willing to pay peanuts to get a good job done. So yeah, it may be true that there's jokers out there offering only RM8xx salary, but the question remains of if they're able to find anybody or not.

chuinhooi: When you had mentioned that u were told that the market is flooded with too many graduates right, that's only partially true. There's always a huge demand for good IT ppl, but the problem is more to do with too many places churning out graduates of dubious quality these days. Compared to something like Engineering, IT is a relatively new discipline, and still lacks the QC stuff that's required for engineering, of which adds to more and more dubious IT courses being offered all over the place.
Jabber
post Sep 5 2007, 12:05 AM

91 posts

there r plenty of IT jobs out there....and it comes with pretty decent pay too.

n there r plenty of IT grads out there too.

But very little capable IT grads to fill the gap in the demand.....
TSchuinhooi
post Sep 5 2007, 12:30 AM

424 posts

what is the difference between software engineering and IT ?
software engineering = IT ??
nameless
post Sep 5 2007, 07:31 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(chuinhooi @ Sep 5 2007, 12:30 AM)
what is the difference between software engineering and IT ?
software engineering = IT  ??
IT is very general , which included everything bout computing. and SE is development of software. correct me if I'm wrong.

However , IT Personnel no longer one of the Top hottest employment opportunities, already out from Top 10, years agos. sweat.gif
unlike last time doing static HTML also can get rich (very long time agos) laugh.gif
GreenJellyBean
post Sep 5 2007, 07:51 AM

779 posts

Software engineering is not about programming. It is just a small subset. A software engineer is suppose to know about the Best Software Design Patterns for a particular requirement and common industry Practices, the various type of development processes, tools and the latest technology.

If you say software engineering is about programming then i suggest you go back to college smile.gif Best go back to a new college if you can, your last one definitely had mislead you.

TSchuinhooi
post Sep 5 2007, 10:22 AM

424 posts

QUOTE(GreenJellyBean @ Sep 5 2007, 07:51 AM)
Software engineering is not about programming. It is just a small subset. A software engineer is suppose to know about the Best Software Design Patterns for a particular requirement and common industry Practices, the various type of development processes, tools and the latest technology.

If you say software engineering is about programming then i suggest you go back to college smile.gif Best go back to a new college if you can, your last one definitely had mislead you.
then programmer is in IT field?
koisempoi
post Sep 5 2007, 11:18 AM

59 posts

there's a lot of IT graduate in Malaysia now. so that's why i think the salary nowadays too low. i remember my lecturer said when i was study that Software Engineer and System Analyst will get at least RM 3k minimum salary. but now its much cheaper. i started with 1900 as a software engineer at cyberjaya, now already two years i work as a software engineer, only get 2k++ salary..even my friend, network engineer, get 3k for 1 year experience. and also nowadays, software engineer and system analyst is a programmer also..too bad...

This post has been edited by koisempoi: Sep 5 2007, 11:20 AM
say_it
post Sep 5 2007, 02:04 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(zeeshah24 @ Aug 23 2007, 03:09 PM)
Its true, pay in IT industry in masia is low, compare to India and Middle East.
In India, My friend s are getting 8000 to 12000 RM, where the freshers may get 2000 to 3500 Rm, this is considered high pay among others in india.
Where in Middle East like UAE and saudi the pay for supporting role may get 8000-20000RM simply.

So, My frends from India reluctant to come to Malaysia for work.
Your statement is not really true. According to the salary benchmarks in zdnet, the salary offer in india is lower than Malaysia.

Otherwise, we won't see so many indian (from india) here.
Drian
post Sep 5 2007, 04:15 PM

4,999 posts

Wow if India is even more expensive than Malaysia,then Malaysia engineers are really dirt cheap.
koisempoi
post Sep 5 2007, 04:20 PM

59 posts

in singapore, a lot of programmer from india...in mrt i always saw indian with laptop doing his work..some of them reading or holding a books about programming (pl/sql,.net,c#..etc). they've been paid with a high salary.
Drian
post Sep 5 2007, 04:35 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(say_it @ Sep 5 2007, 02:04 PM)
Your statement is not really true. According to the salary benchmarks in zdnet, the salary offer in india is lower than Malaysia.

Otherwise, we won't see so many indian (from india) here.
are you comparing MNC in India vs MNC in Malaysia?
fyire
post Sep 5 2007, 09:02 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 5 2007, 04:15 PM)
Wow if India is even more expensive than Malaysia,then Malaysia engineers are really dirt cheap.
Depends really. Despite the stuff ppl say about Indian programmers, its just a myth. Just like from anywhere else, there's the good ones, ,and there's the bad ones.

In general, Indian programmers can be cheaper, but do keep in mind that cheaper does not mean cheap either. Sure its cheaper than bringing in somebody from the US, but that does not mean that u can get a good one for peanuts.

It also very much depends on the nature of the work to be done as well. For example, one of my clients had paid AUD2k per day for a Oracle specialist to troubleshoot some data migration issues that they're having, but they still consider it money well spent. That AUD 14k (for 7 days work) is still far cheaper than the other proposed solutions, of which the fastest will still take up to 2 months to resolve the issue.
callmepaper
post Sep 6 2007, 01:17 AM

书到用时方恨少
1,319 posts

QUOTE(fyire @ Sep 5 2007, 09:02 PM)
Depends really. Despite the stuff ppl say about Indian programmers, its just a myth. Just like from anywhere else, there's the good ones, ,and there's the bad ones.

In general, Indian programmers can be cheaper, but do keep in mind that cheaper does not mean cheap either. Sure its cheaper than bringing in somebody from the US, but that does not mean that u can get a good one for peanuts.

It also very much depends on the nature of the work to be done as well. For example, one of my clients had paid AUD2k per day for a Oracle specialist to troubleshoot some data migration issues that they're having, but they still consider it money well spent. That AUD 14k (for 7 days work) is still far cheaper than the other proposed solutions, of which the fastest will still take up to 2 months to resolve the issue.
having said that, most indian professionals in m'sia are contracted with recruitment agencies or bound by contract terms. they could be paid peanuts although the client is paying well. the company gets the majority share, that's it.
fyire
post Sep 6 2007, 01:32 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(callmepaper @ Sep 6 2007, 01:17 AM)
having said that, most indian professionals in m'sia are contracted with recruitment agencies or bound by contract terms. they could be paid peanuts although the client is paying well. the company gets the majority share, that's it.
Oh yeah, and those recruitment agencies can cost hell of a lot. There r those that can charge up to RM20k per person per month. (the figures taken from one of my clients), while the actual person gets paid substantially less than that.
zeeshah24
post Sep 6 2007, 03:43 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(callmepaper @ Sep 6 2007, 01:17 AM)
You are correct. Our company recruited a Indian programmer for the specific skill thru the consultancy.The agent charged our company Rm7000 per month and my colleague was getting only Rm3000.Still the guy was not good enough to show his skills so fired la.
The same agent supply a Indian programmer to the client with the same amount. but he is a genius.(sometime he helps my clear my technical doubts without charge).simply "BODY SHOPPING".
callmepaper
post Sep 6 2007, 05:58 PM

书到用时方恨少
1,319 posts

QUOTE(zeeshah24 @ Sep 6 2007, 03:43 PM)
You are correct. Our company recruited a Indian programmer for the specific skill thru the consultancy.The agent charged our company Rm7000 per month and my colleague was getting only Rm3000.Still the guy was not good enough to show his skills so fired la.
The same agent supply a Indian programmer to the client with the same amount. but he is a genius.(sometime he helps my clear my technical doubts without charge).simply "BODY SHOPPING".
i have had once worked with an experienced indian programmer, was being charged RM10k per month for providing .net services. he's good and helpful, we think it's cost-effective to engage this type of resource for fast-pace project with straight-forward requirement. no surprise that the indian programmer is transparent of the consultation fee that my company is paying. from my conversation with him, he seem getting < 50% of the total amount paid. well, let's minus work permit, accommodation, bonus (if any), the company is still making big bucks. sometimes, outsourcing is a very good business.
say_it
post Sep 7 2007, 10:58 AM

521 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 5 2007, 04:35 PM)
are you comparing MNC in India vs MNC in Malaysia?
Not only MNC, the benchmark show the average salary among all the participant.

By the way, talking about indian programmer.....US is thier dream. Normally those good one already working in US.
I'm surprise that the IT department in some company in US is flood with indian instead of american....
Those come to south east asia mostly consider as second grade and they see this as thier stepping stone to US....
hmchan911
post Sep 7 2007, 11:05 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(bryan829 @ Aug 23 2007, 02:25 PM)
I just get an offer from Software company for software engineer post. They just willing to pay me RM2100, I am still considering...

Seems like programming is not getting high pay in malaysia.
2100 for fresh grad is consider good lo
usually will be 1600 - 1800 only
fyire
post Sep 7 2007, 11:32 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(zeeshah24 @ Sep 6 2007, 03:43 PM)
RM7k per month is actually a pretty common charge for those 'body shops' as they're called, even when they're sending in a local person to do the job.
callmepaper
post Sep 7 2007, 11:53 AM

书到用时方恨少
1,319 posts

QUOTE(fyire @ Sep 7 2007, 11:32 AM)
RM7k per month is actually a pretty common charge for those 'body shops' as they're called, even when they're sending in a local person to do the job.
"body shops"?? interesting term..

off hand, working as an outsourced programmer / contract for services may give u "more" money in short time, with the drawback of limited career advancement opportunity.
zeeshah24
post Sep 7 2007, 12:21 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(say_it @ Sep 7 2007, 10:58 AM)
Not only MNC, the benchmark show the average salary among all the participant.

By the way, talking about indian programmer.....US is thier dream. Normally those good one already working in US.
I'm surprise that the IT department in some company in US is flood with indian instead of american....
Those come to south east asia mostly consider as second grade and they see this as thier stepping stone to US....
Exactly, Their first aim is US.Who can make up 20000-40000 H1B visa for India out of few millions of IT guys.
There is a easy tactics is, In US there is a Indian HR consultancy, they act as a US company hiring the Indian IT guys and outsource the employees according to the client need and eventually the guys managed to getting their own future there.
AlexQ
post Sep 7 2007, 03:45 PM

QUOTE(hmchan911 @ Sep 7 2007, 11:05 AM)
2100 for fresh grad is consider good lo
usually will be 1600 - 1800 only
some MNC would only pay 1500 for a freshie shakehead.gif
So, u really should be thankful that u can get more than 2k per month as a freshie. By the way, don't just compare with the high pay fresh grad, they either have great result (1st class or CGPA 3.75/4), good interpersonal skills with fluent english or both. That's the reason of getting high pay. sweat.gif
kyz89
post Sep 7 2007, 09:49 PM

30 posts

sleep.gif software engineering so kesian ar nowadays ?? sleep.gif Habis lah me since I taking ISE course.. oh my god rm1600-2000+ enough feed myself cannot feed family de hahaha ~! How to improve from here ? Can we build our own company :? Future so dark >.<
nwolve
post Nov 10 2011, 11:37 PM

18 posts

lets revive the topic... im taking Software Engineering for my studies currently... wonder if SEs r paid with nice amount now?
BaboonZ
post Nov 11 2011, 10:50 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(nwolve @ Nov 10 2011, 11:37 PM)
lets revive the topic... im taking Software Engineering for  my studies currently... wonder if SEs r paid with nice amount now?
A good software engineer can be many times better than an average software engineer. Hence they are being valued by their employers as such.

I was told by a professional recruitment consultant that she has client from this industry who can request for RM8000 after only 4 years of working experience.

At the other end, an average software engineer can expect as low as 5% increment per year even when working for an MNC. Not to worry though, there are plenty of options in online job hunting websites for this industry. Its common for these employees to jump ship if they're not satisfied with their increments. They can get up to 20% increment for each switch.
DarkAeon
post Nov 11 2011, 11:24 PM

774 posts

imho in order to get good pay as a developer, you need to be very good at what you do. in order to be good at what you do, you need to love what you do. if you love what you do, pay is really secondary

brian12988
post Nov 13 2011, 11:06 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(BaboonZ @ Nov 11 2011, 10:50 PM)
A good software engineer can be many times better than an average software engineer. Hence they are being valued by their employers as such.

I was told by a professional recruitment consultant that she has client from this industry who can request for RM8000 after only 4 years of working experience.

At the other end, an average software engineer can expect as low as 5% increment per year even when working for an MNC. Not to worry though, there are plenty of options in online job hunting websites for this industry. Its common for these employees to jump ship if they're not satisfied with their increments. They can get up to 20% increment for each switch.
this or consider working for companies that have projects overseas.. nod.gif
shenngau
post Nov 14 2011, 12:18 AM

154 posts

There are too many factors that could affect the salary for Software Engineering such as skills, experience, working attitude, social networking, etc.

From the person that I know who working in MNC, their average salary are:
Fresh graduate (2nd upper or 1st class) - rm2500 ~ RM3500
2 yrs exp - at least rm3300
4 yrs exp - at least rm4500
6 yrs exp - at least rm6000

These people that I know do not have any professional certification such Java, Oracle DBA, Unix, etc. But their skills are great.

Their skills not only means programming/technical skill. They having good communication skill, positive working attitude, hardworking, friendly, etc.

husz
post Nov 16 2011, 03:52 AM

QUOTE(shenngau @ Nov 14 2011, 12:18 AM)
There are too many factors that could affect the salary for Software Engineering such as skills, experience, working attitude, social networking, etc.

From the person that I know who working in MNC, their average salary are:
Fresh graduate (2nd upper or 1st class) - rm2500 ~ RM3500
2 yrs exp - at least rm3300
4 yrs exp - at least rm4500
6 yrs exp - at least rm6000

These people that I know do not have any professional certification such Java, Oracle DBA, Unix, etc. But their skills are great.

Their skills not only means programming/technical skill. They having good communication skill, positive working attitude, hardworking, friendly, etc.
I have 2 vacancies right now

Senior Java Programmer KL - 5 years OOP development exp - RM8K max
Senior IT Executive Kuantan - 6 years system and network maintenance - RM8K max
LightEnchanter
post Nov 16 2011, 05:51 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(husz @ Nov 16 2011, 03:52 AM)

are you from recruitment agency? mind to share what is the company in KL?
shenngau
post Nov 16 2011, 11:08 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(husz @ Nov 16 2011, 03:52 AM)

Wow.. I din know can get 8k in Kuantan..
edenhazard
post Apr 27 2012, 03:18 PM

QUOTE(chuinhooi @ Aug 23 2007, 11:20 AM)
As i know, nowadays software engineering there is not so valuable as much as like b4,
if you are not studying in overseas (software engineering) but in malaysia,
your "price" will not get very high only.....

i dunno how much is the basic salary for software engineering now,
and do they are very needed in malaysia ?

thx for your opinions and advice~
just sharing smile.gif http://afterschool.my/courses/info.php?cou...g&cid=7&spid=38
DontHurtMe
post Mar 30 2013, 08:34 PM

Actually, I got a question. Recently, i have got a scholarship to pursue my study in any engineering programme in two country UK and US. So, i decided to pick software engineer as my course but i dont know which country is better in SE. I hope you guys can help me to solve this problem.

This post has been edited by DontHurtMe: Mar 30 2013, 10:15 PM
alexa
post Mar 25 2015, 05:33 AM

Big Boss
1,456 posts

QUOTE(shenngau @ Nov 16 2011, 11:08 PM)
Wow.. I din know can get 8k in Kuantan..
Too low for 6 years experience..
KayShif
post Apr 1 2015, 01:02 AM

76 posts

Now days fresh grad can get easily starting from RM 3500-3600. More and more companies now are willing to hire fresh grad. If any fresh grad is willing to join company out of his forte field to learn internal programming language, then offered salary will be more higher even for fresh grad.
KayShif
post Apr 1 2015, 01:05 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(alexa @ Mar 25 2015, 05:33 AM)
Too low for 6 years experience..
I know some companies, are paying 10k for programmer with 1-3 years exp, knowledge in C, C++, Java, Xamarin, gaming development. Snr programmer is 18k. work location for both at KL. Multinational company.
KayShif
post Apr 1 2015, 01:08 AM

76 posts

If you are fresh grad can get easily starting salary from RM 3500-3600. More and more companies now are willing to hire fresh grad.
If any fresh grad is willing to join company who offers to learn different software or language, then offered salary will be more higher even for fresh grad for same role compare other one.

sendomike
post Apr 1 2015, 09:38 AM

855 posts

QUOTE(KayShif @ Apr 1 2015, 02:08 AM)
If you are fresh grad can get easily starting salary from RM 3500-3600. More and more companies now are willing to hire fresh grad.
If any fresh grad is willing to join company who offers to learn different software or language, then offered salary will be more higher even for fresh grad for same role compare other one.
I'd really like to know which company gives fresh grad RM3.5k..
coz from my experience, it's still hard to get that amount.
mind letting us know a few companies that pay that well?
(plz don't include OnG and Accenture, cause ppl already know that.)
jeff85@
post Apr 1 2015, 01:35 PM

83 posts

I'm exactly 6 years experience with sr software engineer for .net mvc. My current BASIC salary is around 8k, but I already resigned cause I got the even better offer. If u cant get higher pay in this position, I think u nd to improve ur skillset n catch up with the latest technogy to survive in this industry.
KayShif
post Apr 1 2015, 02:58 PM

76 posts

ya there are companies. I was having a chat with my friend , told that there are companies now days willing to offer this much. Other than the one you mentioned. Even asking me if I have good talented people to refer. (any one interested? smile.gif )

As I was saying, there is one company international company , who is hiring now days for programmer and snr programmer. Offering 10k for programmer and snr 18k.
Candidate should have knowledge in c, c++, java, xamrin, more like game development or 2d ,3d stuff. Jobs are there, just need to dig in.
If you want , I can help to refer you there smile.gif

jeff85@
post Apr 1 2015, 03:03 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(KayShif @ Apr 1 2015, 02:58 PM)
ya there are companies. I was having a chat with my friend , told that there are companies now days willing to offer this much. Other than the one you mentioned. Even asking me if I have good talented people to refer. (any one interested? smile.gif )

As I was saying, there is one company international company , who is hiring now days for programmer and snr programmer. Offering 10k for programmer and snr 18k.
Candidate should have knowledge in c, c++, java, xamrin, more like game development or 2d ,3d stuff. Jobs are there, just need to dig in.
senior developer wit 18k impossible la bro. for software architure still possible. for developer pay max at around 10k.
KayShif
post Apr 3 2015, 02:19 AM

76 posts

send me your resume , will forward your resume to them. If you have all the requirement they need, they will call you for interview.
for snr they looking for 5-7 years exp, if just programmer then around 3 yrs can also.
If you interested , I get you requirement details.
:-)
BRC
post Apr 3 2015, 02:30 AM

555 posts

QUOTE(jeff85@ @ Apr 1 2015, 03:03 PM)
senior developer wit 18k impossible la bro. for software architure still possible. for developer pay max at around 10k.
thats typical Msian mentality
before anything... already say impossible...

do you know that Msians in general are one of the lowest paid employees in the world?
Some Fresh programmers in FB in San Fran gets USD100-120k PA
minimum for fresh grads in US is USD30k PA (average about 45k PA)
and we are still telling others impossible.... you cant earn so much...
not just the employers discriminate... the employees themselves do it ttoo...

what if i tell you that 7 yrs experience engineer (non-IT) gets RM22k salary per month in Msia? Office based
you think its impossible as well?

frozendreamsky
post Apr 5 2015, 04:13 PM

72 posts

-

This post has been edited by frozendreamsky: Jan 26 2022, 01:27 PM
BRC
post Apr 6 2015, 09:40 PM

555 posts

fact is MYR depreciated 20% since August 2014 as compared to USD...
people don't realize this
kazarboys
post Apr 7 2015, 10:10 PM

537 posts

QUOTE(KayShif @ Apr 1 2015, 01:05 AM)
I know some companies, are paying 10k for programmer with 1-3 years exp, knowledge in C, C++, Java, Xamarin, gaming development. Snr programmer is 18k. work location for both at KL. Multinational company.
wow can i know which company is that?
KayShif
post Apr 7 2015, 10:19 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(kazarboys @ Apr 7 2015, 10:10 PM)
wow can i know which company is that?
Sure,
if you are interested ,
drop me inbox message.
bristlebb
post Apr 7 2015, 11:01 PM

575 posts

wow, u guys are sure rich...
i was earning nearly 5k only when i was doing cobol programming as a senior exec (6 years plus experience, jump ship twice). sad.gif
cannyeo
post Apr 7 2015, 11:53 PM

Looking Up
609 posts

QUOTE(sendomike @ Apr 1 2015, 10:38 AM)
I'd really like to know which company gives fresh grad RM3.5k..
coz from my experience, it's still hard to get that amount.
mind letting us know a few companies that pay that well?
(plz don't include OnG and Accenture, cause ppl already know that.)
I can give you a list of companies that pay 3.5k for fresh grad, in fact all Management Trainee/Graduate Trainee program has standard rate of RM 3500. And its not just IT industry.

Graduate/Management Trainee Program
1. Uniqlo - They start with 4k basic, the only setback is the travelling and working hour.
2. Nippon Paint - 3.5k
3. Prudential - 3.5k
4. Daimler AG (Mercedes Benz) -3.5k with allowances
5. Unilever - 3.2k - 3.5k
6. British American Tabacco - 3.2k - 3.6k with allowances
7. DHL - 3.2k - 3.5k with travel allowance of RM 700
8. Toyota UMW - 3.5k and above
9. Sime Darby Auto - 3.2k to 3.5k ( depending on which premium brand you work on, they have BMW, Porsche, Hyundai, McLaren, Ford etc...)

IT Graduate Trainee Program
1. AMD Malaysia - 3.5k start off with 1 year contract
2. HP Malaysia - 3.2k -3.8k depending on the role, those under infra support gets lower, those under application development gets higher.
3. Quintiq - 3.6k with allowances
4. Global Intelligence - 3.8k with sign on bonus and training trip to US. CGPA 3.9 will get 4k
5. Microsoft Malaysia - 3.8k - 4.5k, training trip to U.S.
6. Petronas ICT - 3.6k with allowances and expensive training course
7. Shell IT - undefined
8. Experian - 3.2 -3.6k with allowances
9. Oracle Corp - 3.5k

All the above are subject for graduates with excellent academic records, and it means CGPA 3.5 above, especially for IT industry.
Theres many more I cant list out because they are my clients cool2.gif
Well, i will leave it to your discrete whether or not its true icon_idea.gif whistling.gif
cannyeo
post Apr 8 2015, 12:02 AM

Looking Up
609 posts

QUOTE(KayShif @ Apr 1 2015, 03:58 PM)

QUOTE(jeff85@ @ Apr 1 2015, 04:03 PM)
18k should be project manager that handles whole SDLF or Java Architect(this refers to technical manager). Unless the company pay them USD.

But im still quite curious. Legit recruiter here, if you have the company name i can straight access Jobstreet or other job portals database to check.
sendomike
post Apr 8 2015, 09:50 AM

855 posts

Oracle only gives RM3k to its graduates.
I was offered 2 years ago.

This post has been edited by sendomike: Apr 8 2015, 09:55 AM
chengfei
post Sep 3 2015, 04:12 PM

28 posts

To those who is interested with Quintiq, please find below for more details

We are having career day at Quintiq Office. (LIMITED PLACE, please lock down the date and inform me) rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Who should come?

IT fresh graduates or going to graduate
Job seekers within the IT Industry

Why you should come? nod.gif nod.gif

Free tour around Quintiq ( We have 1,2,3... Pantries, See our entertainment rooms, enjoy a "wah" view from 28th floor.) cool2.gif
Listen to us ( What we do, What is the career progression, what is our term of "work - life" balance )
Talk to us (Our Qs (Quintiq Specialists will be here too! Ask them any questions!))
Take the objective test (Prove yourself how well you know about programming, you might secure a job here)

When?

Event will start 9am on 14th September 2015, Monday and ends at 12pm

Where?

Crown Penthouse, 1 First Avenue, Bandar Utama, 47800, Petaling Jaya, Selangor

What you should do if you are interested?

Call me or whatsapp me to book your place (Places are very limited) My number is 012-515 6441

CALL ME NOW TO SECURE YOUR PLACE!!!

Alternatively you can drop me an email at melvin.koh@3ds.com

See you guys on 14th September !
JosephChua
post Sep 28 2015, 02:01 PM

17 posts

I think HR field pays better than IT btw. Any advise on this?
Y-shapedTwig
post Sep 29 2015, 10:25 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(cannyeo @ Apr 7 2015, 11:53 PM)
I can give you a list of companies that pay 3.5k for fresh grad, in fact all Management Trainee/Graduate Trainee program has standard rate of RM 3500. And its not just IT industry.

Graduate/Management Trainee Program
1. Uniqlo - They start with 4k basic, the only setback is the travelling and working hour.
2. Nippon Paint - 3.5k
3. Prudential - 3.5k
4. Daimler AG (Mercedes Benz) -3.5k with allowances
5. Unilever - 3.2k - 3.5k
6. British American Tabacco - 3.2k - 3.6k with allowances
7. DHL - 3.2k - 3.5k with travel allowance of RM 700
8. Toyota UMW - 3.5k and above
9. Sime Darby Auto - 3.2k to 3.5k ( depending on which premium brand you work on, they have BMW, Porsche, Hyundai, McLaren, Ford etc...)

IT Graduate Trainee Program
1. AMD Malaysia - 3.5k start off with 1 year contract
2. HP Malaysia - 3.2k -3.8k depending on the role, those under infra support gets lower, those under application development gets higher.
3. Quintiq - 3.6k with allowances
4. Global Intelligence - 3.8k with sign on bonus and training trip to US. CGPA 3.9 will get 4k
5. Microsoft Malaysia - 3.8k - 4.5k, training trip to U.S.
6. Petronas ICT - 3.6k with allowances and expensive training course
7. Shell IT - undefined
8. Experian - 3.2 -3.6k with allowances
9. Oracle Corp - 3.5k

All the above are subject for graduates with excellent academic records, and it means CGPA 3.5 above, especially for IT industry.
Theres many more I cant list out because they are my clients  cool2.gif
Well, i will leave it to your discrete whether or not its true  icon_idea.gif  whistling.gif
Thanks for the list.

Is Global Intelligence or Microsoft Malaysia a great place to work?

I'm thinking to return to Malaysia after getting my Australian PR. I'm currently working at a company which uses super old technologies, currently in the process of moving from an ancient language to Java. cry.gif

What's the likelihood to be hired by one of the Malaysian companies you listed if my (first) previous job used obsolete tehcnologies? I'm proficient in Java and C++ though. Probably irrelevant: I received offers from a GLC, Intel, and Prudential, all with salary > MYR 3k, highest ~MYR 5k as a fresh graduate in Malaysia.

cannyeo
post Sep 30 2015, 10:12 AM

Looking Up
609 posts

QUOTE(Y-shapedTwig @ Sep 29 2015, 11:25 PM)
Thanks for the list.

Is Global Intelligence or Microsoft Malaysia a great place to work?

I'm thinking to return to Malaysia after getting my Australian PR. I'm currently working at a company which uses super old technologies, currently in the process of moving from an ancient language to Java. cry.gif

What's the likelihood to be hired by one of the Malaysian companies you listed if my (first) previous job used obsolete tehcnologies? I'm proficient in Java and C++ though. Probably irrelevant: I received offers from a GLC, Intel, and Prudential, all with salary > MYR 3k, highest ~MYR 5k as a fresh graduate in Malaysia.
To my concern, Prudential is good enough. But there are better options.

Send me your resume?
chengfei
post Oct 2 2015, 03:59 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(JosephChua @ Sep 28 2015, 02:01 PM)
I think HR field pays better than IT btw. Any advise on this?
Depends though, I am an IT graduate but I was working in external recruitment firm, you guys call it Headhunters. The bonus/commission per quarter is about 5 figures but a lot of KPI to fulfill, anyway still a sales job. smile.gif
chengfei
post Oct 2 2015, 04:18 PM

28 posts

FIND OUT MORE ABOUT QUINTIQ!!!!

EVENT : Future with Quintiq

Who should come?

IT fresh graduates or going to graduate
Job seekers within the IT Industry

Why you should come? nod.gif nod.gif

Free tour around Quintiq ( We have 1,2,3... Pantries, See our entertainment rooms, enjoy a "wah" view from 28th floor.) cool2.gif
Listen to us ( What we do, What is the career progression, what is our term of "work - life" balance )
Talk to us (Our Qs (Quintiq Specialists will be here too! Ask them any questions!))
Take the objective test (Prove yourself how well you know about programming, you might secure a job here)

When?

Event will start 9am on 17th October 2015, Saturday and ends at 12pm

Where?

Crown Penthouse, 1 First Avenue, Bandar Utama, 47800, Petaling Jaya, Selangor

What you should do if you are interested?

Call me or whatsapp me to book your place (Places are very limited) My number is 012-515 6441

CALL ME NOW TO SECURE YOUR PLACE!!!

Alternatively you can drop me an email at melvin.koh@3ds.com

JosephChua
post Oct 3 2015, 11:22 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(chengfei @ Oct 2 2015, 03:59 PM)
Depends though, I am an IT graduate but I was working in external recruitment firm, you guys call it Headhunters. The bonus/commission per quarter is about 5 figures but a lot of KPI to fulfill, anyway still a sales job.  smile.gif
5 Figure for bonus, that's a lot man rclxms.gif mind to share some exp of becoming a headhunter? Do you hunt candidates by calling them from their job street resume? I also thought of want to start from the first phase of HR 1st which is the Recruitment process hmm.gif hmm.gif
JosephChua
post Oct 3 2015, 11:22 PM

17 posts

rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by JosephChua: Oct 3 2015, 11:23 PM
chengfei
post Oct 5 2015, 02:03 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(JosephChua @ Oct 3 2015, 11:22 PM)
5 Figure for bonus, that's a lot man rclxms.gif mind to share some exp of becoming a headhunter? Do you hunt candidates by calling them from their job street resume? I also thought of want to start from the first phase of HR 1st which is the Recruitment process  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
It depends on the headhunter firm, some company have very good referral program where a lot of candidates will refer their friends. Some of the companies only use job street, for example boutique firm. You need to take a big risk as you might not like it, please be mindful it is a very sales oriented company ya. "Selling People skills, Selling Company" if you get what I mean.
Explictz
post Oct 19 2015, 11:00 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(chengfei @ Oct 5 2015, 02:03 PM)
It depends on the headhunter firm, some company have very good referral program where a lot of candidates will refer their friends. Some of the companies only use job street, for example boutique firm. You need to take a big risk as you might not like it, please be mindful it is a very sales oriented company ya. "Selling People skills, Selling Company" if you get what I mean.
can pm me about your job laugh.gif

sounds interesting
chengfei
post Oct 30 2015, 11:53 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(Explictz @ Oct 19 2015, 11:00 AM)

sounds interesting
haha, I no longer with headhunter firm but you can write in to rachel.tan@robertwalters.com.my smile.gif
cannyeo
post Oct 30 2015, 01:54 PM

Looking Up
609 posts

QUOTE(Explictz @ Oct 19 2015, 12:00 PM)

sounds interesting
You should know why he is with Quintiq now brows.gif

(No offence intended.)
webdeveloper34
post Jan 1 2016, 01:59 PM