Replace tiles with broken marble

TSComingBackSoon
post Jan 19 2021, 03:09 PM, updated 5y ago

787 posts

Hello all.

My old tiles are popping out and I am replacing them with broken marbles.

Contractor 1 said just hack off the tiles and about 1 inch of the cement, then can start render and install marble liao.

Contractor 2 said must hack off the tiles and everything until the concrete level (almost 6 inches), then only can start to render and install marble.

Contractor 1 said don't need to hack so much - waste time and waste sand/cement to render back the 6 inches.

Contractor 2 said the other guy is lazy, don't want to hack and re-build. In the future, the marble will easily crack.

Anyone got any idea?
SUSceo684
post Jan 19 2021, 03:18 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

One will do.
Coz he hack into existing cement layer already minus 1 inch. If existing cement layer is not those tao kung kam liu like school cement all sands no cement then OK. Else if all sands cut corner 1..need to hack till concrete. Technically existing cement shud be very stronk as it cured many years d right?
nexona88
post Jan 19 2021, 03:59 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,588 posts

another question..

Contractor 1 - cost how much

Contractor 2 - cost how much

which one profits more? I mean $$$ to be given...
TSComingBackSoon
post Jan 19 2021, 05:00 PM

787 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jan 19 2021, 03:18 PM)
One will do.
Coz he hack into existing cement layer already minus 1 inch. If existing cement layer is not those tao kung kam liu like school cement all sands no cement then OK. Else if all sands cut corner 1..need to hack till concrete. Technically existing cement shud be very stronk as it cured many years d right?
I have no idea whether they got cut corner last round or not...

I don't know what you mean "cured many years" but the house very old and I'm not the first owner... Probably 25 or even 30 years old.

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 19 2021, 03:59 PM)
another question..

Contractor 1 - cost how much

Contractor 2 - cost how much

which one profits more? I mean $$$ to be given...
Contractor 1 bao ka liao RM8k including work and material

Contractor 2 RM5k for labor only, sand cement and material I buy

Area is around 650 sq ft

This post has been edited by ComingBackSoon: Jan 19 2021, 05:05 PM
nexona88
post Jan 19 2021, 05:30 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,588 posts

QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Jan 19 2021, 05:00 PM)

Area is around 650 sq ft
hmm...
I feel like expensive.....
try ask another contractor... see what the option available & cost involved...
ElvisMoo
post Jan 19 2021, 08:00 PM

196 posts

I don't know what you mean "cured many years" but the house very old and I'm not the first owner... Probably 25 or even 30 years old.

Area is around 650 sq ft
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...03704&hl=Marble

WhatsApp /Call me : 0176783376
sonerin
post Jan 19 2021, 09:16 PM

8,740 posts

Go with contractor 2
SUSceo684
post Jan 19 2021, 10:34 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Area is around 650 sq ft
Cured many years means already ripe and hard
Concrete need 4 weeks to fully ripen so to speak
The older the concrete the stronger it is.. drilling in 10 years concrete wall is not the same as drilling in 60 year old concrete

But that depends on the underlay.. the safest is to hack all.. if it is still strong i.e. not loose sand with sprinklings of cement (cement is exp, sand is dirt cheap) then no need hack all.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jan 19 2021, 10:36 PM
choowh
post Jan 20 2021, 05:14 PM

15 posts

Area is around 650 sq ft
sand and cement is cheap. you need about 2 tonnes broken marble. 1 tonnes cost around RM300-RM400.

0.0186sec    0.93    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:52 AM